Orcs Must Die! PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 459 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 459

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    A lot of people have tried action/towerdefense or shooter/towerdefense hybrids, but the results are often a little on the shoddy end. I am so often disappointed by these hybrids, since they tend to do one of those two elements well and render the other element useless or boring. Orcs Must Die not only breaks away from that trend, it pretty much puts all past attempts at this kind of hybridA lot of people have tried action/towerdefense or shooter/towerdefense hybrids, but the results are often a little on the shoddy end. I am so often disappointed by these hybrids, since they tend to do one of those two elements well and render the other element useless or boring. Orcs Must Die not only breaks away from that trend, it pretty much puts all past attempts at this kind of hybrid to shame. The controls/gameplay/UI are all simple and intuitive. The tower defense elements are fun for all the reasons tower defense games are fun. The action elements are both fun and extremely useful. Orcs Must Die successfully makes you enjoy using both of these aspects of the gameplay and balancing the level design and difficulty so that it would be difficult to win without making use of both. I could not recommend OMD more. FINALLY, someone has done this hybrid well! Huge props to the devs! Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    A variation of tower defense where you have to place traps to defend cores from invading monsters. While there's lots of toys (with new ones being thrown at you every level), some get left in the dust/unused (boom barrel, steam trap), while others get progressively more broken as the game goes on (archers, paladins, decoys). My biggest complaint is it's missing the stat tracking most towerA variation of tower defense where you have to place traps to defend cores from invading monsters. While there's lots of toys (with new ones being thrown at you every level), some get left in the dust/unused (boom barrel, steam trap), while others get progressively more broken as the game goes on (archers, paladins, decoys). My biggest complaint is it's missing the stat tracking most tower defenses have to help you maximize your gold usage, leaving you to guesswork if your traps are laid out properly. The maps are uniquely constructed, often requiring specific tactics to clear effectively, making each map tense and engaging. About a third of your arsenal are weapons for your character which keeps you in the action most of the time, unlike most games in this genre. With 24 maps you're looking at a sizable tower defense game with plenty of crossbow-twitching, fireball-slinging, ice-shattering orc carnage. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    Orcs Must Die! is a fun diversion. They've combined FPS with tower-defense. The traps are fun to place and watch, and being in on the action takes away a lot of the tedium that eventually sets in with most TD games. There are quite a few mechanics at work, but I really wish they would have created alternative currencies or role-playing persistent upgrades (beyond the skull system where youOrcs Must Die! is a fun diversion. They've combined FPS with tower-defense. The traps are fun to place and watch, and being in on the action takes away a lot of the tedium that eventually sets in with most TD games. There are quite a few mechanics at work, but I really wish they would have created alternative currencies or role-playing persistent upgrades (beyond the skull system where you can get just one upgrade per trap). The coin currency is essentially the only currency you use throughout the game, and thus everything depends on it. This tends to make the first couple waves quite difficult to not let an enemy get through, and later waves too easy. In normal difficulty, the game doesn't feel particularly challenging, but once you unlock the nitemare mode (for which you unfortunately must complete every level on the normal difficulty), getting beyond the second level's pretty tough. The nitemare difficulty would have been a welcomed addition to the game, but it unfortunately is the same levels, dialogue, and cutscenes with much more difficult monsters. With many low-budget games, a good chunk of time has gone in to making the game look great without much processing power required, and Orcs Must Die! is a particularly good example of how good aesthetics will beat good graphics any day.

    Modding tools really would have turned this good, fun game into a massive and fantastic time sink. Unfortunately, you're stuck with DLC from the devs, and that's it. It seems a bit odd they'd do that, too, considering the TD genre became popular only by Blizz having their RTS games effectively be a platform, with very powerful modding & map-making tools allowing Starcraft/Warcraft to be a simulator, RPG, RTS, FPS, MMO, and just about anything else you can think of. It's certainly a game which could have been much better (and that's absolutely not to say it's at all a bad or unenjoyable game) with more dev time focused on giving consumers more choices. I suspect there'll be a sequel, and hopefully they'll add it in then. I look forward to it.
    Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    9
    The Defense game along with action-adventure is a formula that i would never imagine it would work this good. A thing to have in mind is that sometimes the camera doesn't do the best thing when moving arround. I hope for Co-op which is the main flaw of this game
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    I picked this game up on Steam when it was for sale at $2.79. I bought it not expecting much. What I discovered was a incredibly fun that is surprisingly tactical in nature. I found myself replaying level after level trying to improve my strategy to get a better score.
    In a nutshell this game has you laying down different types of traps in hallways that orcs will be coming down. Your job
    I picked this game up on Steam when it was for sale at $2.79. I bought it not expecting much. What I discovered was a incredibly fun that is surprisingly tactical in nature. I found myself replaying level after level trying to improve my strategy to get a better score.
    In a nutshell this game has you laying down different types of traps in hallways that orcs will be coming down. Your job is stop all of them using the arsenal of traps and special weapons. Watching orcs by the dozens get smashed, grinded, flung, burnt, pierced, and diced is pretty fun.
    So why did I give it a '7', because it's also not the type of game that you'll be playing for weeks on end. It will hold your attention for maybe a week before you move on. I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    Orcs Must Die! is an surprisingly fun and satisfying tower defense/action hybrid based around slaughtering hoards of Orcs in some very creative ways. Open pools of acid? Launch them in with a Spring Trap. Low hanging ceiling? Smash them to bits with a Pounder. Balconies on either side of a great hall? Place Archers to watch your back as you head straight into the fray. The possibilitiesOrcs Must Die! is an surprisingly fun and satisfying tower defense/action hybrid based around slaughtering hoards of Orcs in some very creative ways. Open pools of acid? Launch them in with a Spring Trap. Low hanging ceiling? Smash them to bits with a Pounder. Balconies on either side of a great hall? Place Archers to watch your back as you head straight into the fray. The possibilities may not be endless, but there sure are an awful LOT of them to work with.

    On the downside of things, I feel that the depressing lack of multiplayer and co-op in Orcs Must Die! was a missed opportunity on behalf of Robot Entertainment to make this already great game even better. The Apprentice has a variety of magical items in his arsenal to choose from, but sadly only the Bladestaff as an option for melee combat (the crossbow is non-negotiable as a ranged weapon).

    All in all, Orcs Must Die! is a great game worth every penny and more. For anyone that might be interested, there is a demo of the game currently available on Steam.
    Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Here's a little game that came out of nowhere and proved to be immensely fun. It has nice graphics, awesome music, a lot of humor and a lot of soul. Excellent game, worth every cent :)
  8. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    More and more shooter-td hybrids are popping up, though I can't say I really mind that. Orcs Must Die! perfectly blends the two genres in a way that requires you to take advantage of both the traps AND your weapons. You can't just shoot the orcs, nor can you can't just sit back and let your traps do the work. The difficulty curve is perfect, it never gets too hard or too easy. The gameMore and more shooter-td hybrids are popping up, though I can't say I really mind that. Orcs Must Die! perfectly blends the two genres in a way that requires you to take advantage of both the traps AND your weapons. You can't just shoot the orcs, nor can you can't just sit back and let your traps do the work. The difficulty curve is perfect, it never gets too hard or too easy. The game also has a lot of replay value, in the sense that you can go back to earlier levels with your new-found arsenal of traps and try and beat them in different ways. Basically every single little thing about this game is perfect. The only issue with this game is that there is no mid-level save, but most levels only last 10 minutes or so, so you won't lose much if you absolutely have to quit. All in all, Orcs Must Die! is a gem I highly recommend you buy. Oh, and both the DLCs are worth it too. Expand
  9. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    Great, Fun game. A bit on the easy side, but still fun. Would have liked for it to have been a little bit more varied in level design, and I don't understand why you need to be limited to 10 traps at a time. Also the scoring system is unexplained, making replayablity a bit questionable as you don't have an idea on how to improve your score. Overall though, a real value for 14.99, highlyGreat, Fun game. A bit on the easy side, but still fun. Would have liked for it to have been a little bit more varied in level design, and I don't understand why you need to be limited to 10 traps at a time. Also the scoring system is unexplained, making replayablity a bit questionable as you don't have an idea on how to improve your score. Overall though, a real value for 14.99, highly recommended. Expand
  10. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    Orcs must die? Sure they must! ... and they'll die in many ways ;) That's your job to find the most effective way to send them to the orcish afterlife! VERY fun game, colorful, funny, entertaining... But most of all - Orcs Must Die offers polished gameplay combining TPP and elements of tower-defence game. Sounds crazy and sure it is... But this game is like a chocolate cake - it's goodOrcs must die? Sure they must! ... and they'll die in many ways ;) That's your job to find the most effective way to send them to the orcish afterlife! VERY fun game, colorful, funny, entertaining... But most of all - Orcs Must Die offers polished gameplay combining TPP and elements of tower-defence game. Sounds crazy and sure it is... But this game is like a chocolate cake - it's good if we taste it in 'not-so-big' portions. Gameplay can be boring, if we play too long in one sitting. Maybe co-op or multiplayer would change it? ... Ok, but why so serious? Game is fun, lots of orcs to kill, lots of traps, achievements, upgrades. 10 euros is a steal so you should probably buy it! Expand
  11. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    What do you get when you combine A Tower Defense game, a FPS, and mix it up with some RPG elements, then set it all in Comical Med-evil era, This game. This is probably one of the best Casual games I have seen in a while. The Story line in this game is actually pretty funny, since you take on the role of the... Umm you should play the game don't want to ruin it.

    The graphics are
    What do you get when you combine A Tower Defense game, a FPS, and mix it up with some RPG elements, then set it all in Comical Med-evil era, This game. This is probably one of the best Casual games I have seen in a while. The Story line in this game is actually pretty funny, since you take on the role of the... Umm you should play the game don't want to ruin it.

    The graphics are cartoon-ish Kind of like WoW, but really does work well in this game, the controls are extremely good.

    There are several levels of difficulty, so even the most skilled players can find a challenge here. The fact that you can upgrade your traps is very handy especially as you move through the levels and there are several DLC for this game as well expanding this game even more. This is a need to have solo game, while it may not take long to beat the game on easy mode it will drive you crazy in the nightmare mode of the game.

    Also i thought it was quite funny that periodically the hero spouts of random things, making a fun game even more interesting. A couple things that was disappointment was there is no multi-player or vs mode, or even a map creation option though I do Know in the sequel they do have multi player, it would been nice to see it in this one as well.
    Expand
  12. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Orcs Must Die! is a natural evolution of flash's Tower defense games. The problem in tower defense style is that player assumes, in the most part of time, a role of spectator and anxiousness may occur. OMD brings us the feature that was missing, ACTION! Before the stage begin you have some weapons and traps to arrange trough the stage. New items are unlocked as you progress and your oldOrcs Must Die! is a natural evolution of flash's Tower defense games. The problem in tower defense style is that player assumes, in the most part of time, a role of spectator and anxiousness may occur. OMD brings us the feature that was missing, ACTION! Before the stage begin you have some weapons and traps to arrange trough the stage. New items are unlocked as you progress and your old arsenal can be upgraded. It is not an easy game, it ricquires some strategy skills, once the game is focused on defending. It is not about the action, it is about kill Orcs! In all aspects this game is awesome, BUT your aim is huge, and its drawing is blocking your vision all the time. It affects the gameplay and push you to improve your strategy to win. Expand
  13. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    Got this on sale on Steam for about $6 (with DLC), and for that price I can't say I'm disappointed. This is a very fun and funny game, one which is great for killing a few minutes or a few hours. As others have pointed out, its major flaw is that once you beat the story mode there's little else to do but try it on Nightmare mode or replay old levels with your newer toys. I would definitelyGot this on sale on Steam for about $6 (with DLC), and for that price I can't say I'm disappointed. This is a very fun and funny game, one which is great for killing a few minutes or a few hours. As others have pointed out, its major flaw is that once you beat the story mode there's little else to do but try it on Nightmare mode or replay old levels with your newer toys. I would definitely recommend this if you can find it for $10 or less. Hopefully the second installment will fix some of this game's shortcomings. Expand
  14. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    It took me about 12 hours to get through the 18 map campaign, and I've spent at least another 12 going back and replaying the levels to try to get more achievements and better level scores. Each map probably takes 10 minutes to play. You run around setting up traps (kind of tower defense-like) to kill the orcs, kobolds and ogres as they try to make their way through the map from the gateIt took me about 12 hours to get through the 18 map campaign, and I've spent at least another 12 going back and replaying the levels to try to get more achievements and better level scores. Each map probably takes 10 minutes to play. You run around setting up traps (kind of tower defense-like) to kill the orcs, kobolds and ogres as they try to make their way through the map from the gate to your rift. You have weapons as spells for direct combat. It's fun to see if you can build the best configuration of traps to stop all the monsters. Single player only. Very stable, I only noticed one very minor bug with a monster getting stuck in lava and not dying, but I was able to work around it. The character you play is very humorous in the things he says and does, as are the orcs. Expand
  15. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This game makes me laugh and smile- the Apprentice is a fantastic goofball faced with overwhelming odds, but he still manages to throw down some nice catch phrases. The gameplay is fantastic- it has all the benefits of a tower defense game (except that there is only one upgrade for tower, and the upgrade isn't necessarily a damage boost). However, the game mixes in the third-person actionThis game makes me laugh and smile- the Apprentice is a fantastic goofball faced with overwhelming odds, but he still manages to throw down some nice catch phrases. The gameplay is fantastic- it has all the benefits of a tower defense game (except that there is only one upgrade for tower, and the upgrade isn't necessarily a damage boost). However, the game mixes in the third-person action (my favorite part because now you don't just sit back and watch your traps destroy everything) and some RPG elements (the weavers are fantastic because they help you hone your strategy from the start, but yet they're a completely optional choice). The game presents a great challenge- while it is a short game, trying to get 5 skulls on each level will more than repay your investment in this game. Expand
  16. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    This is a fun game to pass the time, however I don't see anyone dropping more than ten bucks on this game; Steam sales are what keep a game like this alive. While each level is different and offers it's own challenges, soon you will meet the end of the game. The only replay value after that, is difficulty changes, which is a shame because a dungeon maker could have put a lot of life inThis is a fun game to pass the time, however I don't see anyone dropping more than ten bucks on this game; Steam sales are what keep a game like this alive. While each level is different and offers it's own challenges, soon you will meet the end of the game. The only replay value after that, is difficulty changes, which is a shame because a dungeon maker could have put a lot of life in this title. Until they include something like that, I suggest waiting to see this on sale. Expand
  17. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    What a great game!

    It's fun to play, controls are responsive and the graphics are good. I was quite surprised considering it's an indie title and a very good one too. Good variety of levels to play and a nice choice of traps/spells to use against those pesky orcs. I don't usually play these type of games but I've been watching this game since around April so decided to pre-order
    What a great game!

    It's fun to play, controls are responsive and the graphics are good. I was quite surprised considering it's an indie title and a very good one too. Good variety of levels to play and a nice choice of traps/spells to use against those pesky orcs.

    I don't usually play these type of games but I've been watching this game since around April so decided to pre-order and hope it didn't disappoint me, thankfully it didn't.

    A great game for your game collection :D
    Expand
  18. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    Incredible! Original, fun, well presented, great gameplay. This is a professional grade title at an indie price, from a small development team. I really didn't expect much, but this game has completely blown me away. Highly recommend
  19. Jan 5, 2013
    3
    The narrative is funny, modern and liberal which is refreshing. Unfortunately the gameplay does not support the good writing. Much of the game is spent levelling in order to unlock additional traps to make more fool proof kill systems, but surprisingly re-playability is ZERO. I anticipated being able to go back and improve upon my old scores using higher tier/alternative traps, but this isThe narrative is funny, modern and liberal which is refreshing. Unfortunately the gameplay does not support the good writing. Much of the game is spent levelling in order to unlock additional traps to make more fool proof kill systems, but surprisingly re-playability is ZERO. I anticipated being able to go back and improve upon my old scores using higher tier/alternative traps, but this is impossible as the lower level dungeons do not support the higher tier traps.

    The foundations of a really great game are here, but the levels weren't built with any kind of hindsight to completion. This could have been redeemed by a level editor feature, even if the levels were tile based like the original Timesplitter's. With community support the game could have lived up to its hype, but it did not.

    The balance is also a little off, the magic items reward less for kills and are harder to tech and mana heavy making it more of a liability; and the unlocks you can purchase through steam are clear "pay to win" elements as they are more powerful/useful than the base items.

    I really wanted to like this game, the narrative was great and the traps and levels started off fun, but i had hoped to keep playing this game after completion, only to find you can't mix and utilise the new traps in old dungeons in any meaningful way. You can place them because there's enough room, but not in any areas where they'll actually kill anything.
    Expand
  20. Oct 21, 2011
    6
    There is Nothing special about this game. The gameplay become boring very soon, and there are no interesting feature. You can spend some minutes with this game, but after that amount of time the fate of teh game is uninstall.
  21. Apr 6, 2012
    3
    Its a fun diversion for ~2 hours before it got repetitive and boring. It is really sad because the tower defense in 3D sounds like it could be an endless stream of creative levels and weaponry and this just feels so limited and repetitive.
  22. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    This game is so full of WIN. I spent countless of times enjoying it! Really great work Robot Entertainment. Traps are ingenious. Maps are fun and full of variety.
  23. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    I saw the sign on steam when the demo came out and i tested it...and i thought it was just awesome and fun,...so i bought the game and waited for it to release...and now after playing through this game i think that i want my money back...the whole fps/slash and TowerDefense thing looks great at first, but i got tired and bored of just shooting orks and playing the traps...sure, the trapsI saw the sign on steam when the demo came out and i tested it...and i thought it was just awesome and fun,...so i bought the game and waited for it to release...and now after playing through this game i think that i want my money back...the whole fps/slash and TowerDefense thing looks great at first, but i got tired and bored of just shooting orks and playing the traps...sure, the traps are funny and sometimes its just great to watch them work and send some orks fly through the room...but after the 11th lvl i was so bored of it that i really had to fight my way back at the computer so i could play this through... Expand
  24. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    A fun little game that will waste two, three hours at most of your time. It is incredibly addicting and the levels offer great challenges at times. The problem is that there is nothing after you beat the game. After you beat the final level you, you know, beat the entire game. It's a shame there is no multi-player (like co-op) aspect to it because that would've added some re-playability toA fun little game that will waste two, three hours at most of your time. It is incredibly addicting and the levels offer great challenges at times. The problem is that there is nothing after you beat the game. After you beat the final level you, you know, beat the entire game. It's a shame there is no multi-player (like co-op) aspect to it because that would've added some re-playability to it. I love this game, but it does have it's shortcomings. Expand
  25. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    Orcs Must Die! is a fun action/tower defense hybrid game. Playing as a wisecracking war mage, you use a combination of traps, weapons, and spells to beat back a horde of orcs, ogres and other bad guys. The game play is fun, and it's really satisfying to watch the enemies get ripped apart by your traps. Most of the replay-ability comes from playing the game on a harder difficulty orOrcs Must Die! is a fun action/tower defense hybrid game. Playing as a wisecracking war mage, you use a combination of traps, weapons, and spells to beat back a horde of orcs, ogres and other bad guys. The game play is fun, and it's really satisfying to watch the enemies get ripped apart by your traps. Most of the replay-ability comes from playing the game on a harder difficulty or trying to get a higher score, so the levels and dialog can get a bit repetitive. Overall though, I think this game a good value for your gaming dollar. Expand
  26. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    A nice Tower defense game in which you can spend 6-15 hours i strongly recommend it has something fresh that make your have a really good time (maybe the gore? or the good translation)

    I played it in spanish i will gave it a 9.4 but because i can't i gave it a 9.
  27. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    A pretty impressive game that doesn't disappoint you when you need to pass the time. There still is some work that can be done, but I can only see great potential for the future of this game.
  28. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Addictive game play! Recommend to anyone that like plant vs zombies game type!! Nice set of weapons and artifacts. Have a lot selection of traps and a huge levels to use your creativity.
  29. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    Gets old fast, but if you're into repetitive gameplay then be my guest! (Check out the demo to form your own opinion)
  30. Aug 1, 2012
    7
    My expectations were lower and lower, but sometimes with 1,80
  31. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    All I can truly say about this game, is its mediocrity at its best.

    However I listened to several people rave over its simple mechanics and repetitive dungeon-based 3rd-person tower defense action...and my wallet payed for it. Is the game simple and fun (if you enjoy repetition), absolutely. No story really, or maybe I was too busy falling asleep, pacing is best described as the
    All I can truly say about this game, is its mediocrity at its best.

    However I listened to several people rave over its simple mechanics and repetitive dungeon-based 3rd-person tower defense action...and my wallet payed for it.

    Is the game simple and fun (if you enjoy repetition), absolutely. No story really, or maybe I was too busy falling asleep, pacing is best described as the sound or phrase "Meh." which isn't necessarily a bad thing but I was never motivated to continue on killing these Orcs who I rather felt sorry for after a while. The sound/music was one good thing it had going for it and so was the UI, but other than that I'm thoroughly disappointed.

    So pick it up, but its not worth the full retail price. Hell from my understanding Orcs Must Die 2 is the equivalent of Borderlands 2 (that being an excellent sequel in every way, for example story, sound/music score, graphics, pacing, UI, expansion, presentation, accessibility, etc.), but I'm not taking that risk when I know i could have a better experience with a different game.
    Expand
  32. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    2/13/2012: I have played relatively few Tower Defense games, it being a genre that does not generally appeal to me. Orcs Must Die essentially said to me, "Okay, so you don't like sitting around watching towers kill things. How about if YOU get to kill things too?" And I was like "Okay OMD, I'm listening." And what fun I had. Orcs Must Die strikes an amazing blend of frantic third-person2/13/2012: I have played relatively few Tower Defense games, it being a genre that does not generally appeal to me. Orcs Must Die essentially said to me, "Okay, so you don't like sitting around watching towers kill things. How about if YOU get to kill things too?" And I was like "Okay OMD, I'm listening." And what fun I had. Orcs Must Die strikes an amazing blend of frantic third-person combat with the strategy of Tower Defense, creating a game that forces you to think and react with equal speed. It is challenging, occasionally frustrating but ultimately very rewarding, not every game leaves me feeling so satisfied when the credits finally roll. It's damn funny too, with its idiotic but endearingly determined protagonist and an Ork horde that's quite disenchanted with the whole marauding business and would rather not die horrible deaths in the service of their whiny sorceress. Expand
  33. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    My first try at "Tower Defence" kind of games and I absolutely love this game - the graphics, the gameplay ... everything - it's been a while since I've had this much fun and obsessesd like this over a game. A must play !
  34. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Extremely amusing and engaging game. I don't normally care for tower defense games, but the combination here of FPS and tower defense really works. (Note: I bought this on sale for about $10, at this price point it's phenomenal value for money.)
  35. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    it is rare to find a game that I really enjoy nowadays and this definitely one of them!!
    for some reason its very satisfying to see dozens of orcs being slaughtered by traps while you pick off the ones that managed to survive it. its fun, there are enough levels and it has a very reasonable price.
    the main complaint about the game is that its not hard to win a level, but that actually
    it is rare to find a game that I really enjoy nowadays and this definitely one of them!!
    for some reason its very satisfying to see dozens of orcs being slaughtered by traps while you pick off the ones that managed to survive it. its fun, there are enough levels and it has a very reasonable price.
    the main complaint about the game is that its not hard to win a level, but that actually helps the game as it allows you try different way to finish a level(a game doesn't have to be hard to be fun right?). there is no "only one way to win" to limit it and many will find that quite enjoyable. the large amount of different traps allows many combinations(like a spring trap flinging orcs into the slicing axes of the blade trap) and i still enjoy revisiting levels and try different combos with the traps ive earned and have upgraded. another nice thing is that the game isn't really demanding of your system. it should even run well on a budget notebook/high-end netbook and still look good. if you enjoy killing hordes of enemies and want to be able to experiment with the tools you get to aid you then you will really like this game and find it worth its price. However if you want a real challenge then you may want to pass on this game. my advise is to just try the demo first. if you end up replaying it multiple times (like i did)then you will probably enjoy this game a lot.
    Expand
  36. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    In its modest simplicity the game show for what it really is: a little gem in a sea of â
  37. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    Fun but repetitive, may be best played in short bursts. Once you have seen what each trap/attack does to each type of enemy it gets a little boring. The enemies themselves are not very varied either. Replayability is really lacking unless you really love beating your friends scores, in this respect the game is sorely missing Co-op mode something which has been addressed in the sequel. ButFun but repetitive, may be best played in short bursts. Once you have seen what each trap/attack does to each type of enemy it gets a little boring. The enemies themselves are not very varied either. Replayability is really lacking unless you really love beating your friends scores, in this respect the game is sorely missing Co-op mode something which has been addressed in the sequel. But for the Price of admission its a decent casual single player game to while away some time. Expand
  38. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    A very fun game that has the best sense of humor since Portal! I first thought OMD! was a low-quality indie game, but it is actually a fantastically made, very well-presented title! The graphics and art style are gorgeous, the animations are flowing, the controls are super smooth, and the traps and sound effects are very impactful (pun intended). Basically, the art, sound, and controlsA very fun game that has the best sense of humor since Portal! I first thought OMD! was a low-quality indie game, but it is actually a fantastically made, very well-presented title! The graphics and art style are gorgeous, the animations are flowing, the controls are super smooth, and the traps and sound effects are very impactful (pun intended). Basically, the art, sound, and controls outdo many AAA titles! Plus the humor, wow, this game is truly hilarious. I laughed so many times at the quirky humor. Although the defense aspect isn't super strategic and does rely on trial and error, it is very fun nevertheless. Plus, I love that I can employ my quick reflexes and twitch gaming skills to headshot Orcs left and right. Unlike other defense games where you often indirectly fight, there's always something to set up, shoot, or blow up. Overall, OMD! is nonstop carnage, mayhem, and hilarity! A true gem for fans of defense games, third-person action, and quality humor! A score of 8.5, between Great and Awesome. Expand
  39. Koo
    Aug 4, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed playing Orcs Must Die! It takes about 6 hours to complete the single player campaign at the Apprentice difficulty level - the only level available to you until you complete all the levels. Completing the Apprentice levels unlocks Mage, and from there, every level you pass unlocks a corresponding Warlock difficulty for that level. I like how the game is easy to pick up and funI enjoyed playing Orcs Must Die! It takes about 6 hours to complete the single player campaign at the Apprentice difficulty level - the only level available to you until you complete all the levels. Completing the Apprentice levels unlocks Mage, and from there, every level you pass unlocks a corresponding Warlock difficulty for that level. I like how the game is easy to pick up and fun to play. Some levels are very challenging as well. What I dislike is the low re-playability of the single player campaign, the lack of multiplayer, and the repetitive soundtrack (the same music is played for every level). For $10 on Steam this is a pretty good value, and many of the gameplay aspects I complain of here, have been fixed for Orcs Must Die! 2. You might want to go straight to the sequel, but this one is worth playing too. 7/10 Expand
  40. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Orcs Must Die! is one of the most unique games i have ever played. You don't see many games, if any out there that are "Trap Defense" games and that you take a direct part in defending your objective whether you are shooting, burning, freezing, or electrocuting them to death. The only game that is remotely like this is probably sanctum (also a good game). The game has a nice learningOrcs Must Die! is one of the most unique games i have ever played. You don't see many games, if any out there that are "Trap Defense" games and that you take a direct part in defending your objective whether you are shooting, burning, freezing, or electrocuting them to death. The only game that is remotely like this is probably sanctum (also a good game). The game has a nice learning curve to it and if you get through the whole game thinking, "that could of been harder", think again when you try out nightmare mode. Incredibly enjoyable gameplay combine with dozens of traps and levels with a small price tag makes it an especially good buy. I can forgive the game for not having multiplayer because of how fun it is and its low price tag, so it does not need it really. Highly recommended. Expand
  41. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Picked this up on a Steam sale a few months back and greatly enjoyed playing it. My only complaint is that after a while it all feels a bit samey and I lost interest after about 5 hours. Still a great game though and I hope to get back to it sometime.
  42. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    A new type of game, at least I have never tried a tps/rpg/td game before, with lots of possibility. It has some good humor and good different levels (both design and difficulty), but I find it lacks something. I am not sure whether it is the somewhat limited number of levels and traps or what, but it feels a bit shallow. I almost always end out using the same array of spells and traps andA new type of game, at least I have never tried a tps/rpg/td game before, with lots of possibility. It has some good humor and good different levels (both design and difficulty), but I find it lacks something. I am not sure whether it is the somewhat limited number of levels and traps or what, but it feels a bit shallow. I almost always end out using the same array of spells and traps and it gets kind of repetitive. Anyways, it's great when just passing time with something you don't have to commit to and you can play it through multiple times with higher difficulty settings, why I give it 7. Expand
  43. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    This game is one of my favorite tower defense games, period. The core mechanics are addictive, well balanced, and fun. This is no easy game, and the game balance starts to become less razor tight as you head into the unlockable harder modes. However the time I spent with this game was irreplaceable.
  44. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Great little game! Cool humor, smooth cartoony graphics and fun gameplay. Just when you think it's about to get boring the game throws more stuff your way to help you customize it further. There are different ways to pass each level, depending on your playing style so there is some replay value once you've finished it.
  45. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    Great fast paced game. Similar to tower defense mixed with an action game. Definitely makes you think and use your head to complete levels. Nightmare mode will keep players interested for quite a while too, as it's quite a challenge. Would be greatly improved with a custom level creator though.
  46. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Orcs Must Die! is a very nice TD based game set in TPS. It's a very nice twist on the normal TD games out there with some interesting ideas how to kill your various foes. It has a great variety of traps and magics with different specialisations and upgrades. It's nice graphics with a good story for this kind of game and good voice acting. Only problem I have with it is that after a whileOrcs Must Die! is a very nice TD based game set in TPS. It's a very nice twist on the normal TD games out there with some interesting ideas how to kill your various foes. It has a great variety of traps and magics with different specialisations and upgrades. It's nice graphics with a good story for this kind of game and good voice acting. Only problem I have with it is that after a while the Tar Pit and Your Fireball spell is enough to win pretty much all maps with 5/5 skulls. Other then that it's a great game! Expand
  47. Sep 23, 2015
    10
    Some games you can tell are going to be good from the first 10 minutes of playing them. Orcs Must Die is one of those games. From the moment you start playing, its slick presentation becomes very apparent, ranging from a charming artstyle, to nice fast-paced music, and a comedic tone.

    But presentation is not the only thing where the game shines. As a tower defence game it has some
    Some games you can tell are going to be good from the first 10 minutes of playing them. Orcs Must Die is one of those games. From the moment you start playing, its slick presentation becomes very apparent, ranging from a charming artstyle, to nice fast-paced music, and a comedic tone.

    But presentation is not the only thing where the game shines. As a tower defence game it has some pretty ingenious trap ideas, such as trapdoors that release scorching flames, spring pads that launch orcs into the air, as well as acid bombs and even knights and archers. The level designs are also very well made, at times providing very obvious spots for where traps are ideal. And in addition to traps, you also unlock weavers, which are sorceresses that provide you with passive skills for the duration of the level. Upgrading these skills makes either your abilities or your traps/guardians more effective at what they do.

    At the end of each level, you get a score (which is shown against scores of people on your friends list) and a rating out of 5 skulls. You can then use the skulls to upgrade some of your traps.

    Overall the game was loads of fun. I've had a blast. Perhaps the only minor criticism I have is that when starting a new level that has more than 1 enemy entrances, it's often impossible to tell where the enemy is going to come through first. But it's a very small nitpick. The game is fun. If you like tower defence genre, get it now.
    Expand
  48. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    Out of all the PC games I have played all year, this one is by far the most fun and original.There is a demo on Steam, go play it and see for yourself! There are still plenty of orcs that need to be slaughtered, so why are you still here reading reviews?! ENOUGH TAWLK! GO NOUWH! DOOEET!
  49. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I wasn't excited about this game at all... until i tried the demo. It's pretty much excellent, fun, pretty and what not. Although is a little short, the campaign is about 8 hours long (which is still more than most triple A titles). But it has a huge replayability factor and stuff to unlock, so thats not an issue. For this price, its worth every cent. You Must Buy!
  50. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Another Tower Defense game you say? Tired of them you say? Shutup I say! OMD (not the 80's synthpop group) is another excellent Tower Defense game that combines third person action with the wit and humor of the Evil Dead films (oddly enough, there is an actual Evil Dead tower defense game for iOS). The weapons are varied and clever with some fantastic level designed for creativity andAnother Tower Defense game you say? Tired of them you say? Shutup I say! OMD (not the 80's synthpop group) is another excellent Tower Defense game that combines third person action with the wit and humor of the Evil Dead films (oddly enough, there is an actual Evil Dead tower defense game for iOS). The weapons are varied and clever with some fantastic level designed for creativity and action. The music is brilliant and the voice over work is some of the funniest and talented I've ever heard in a game. The only weaknesses I have to point out are that you can't upgrade the weapons more than once and that you can't use certain traps in areas that clearly can be used. The game is tense, hilarious and imaginative and leaves you wanting more. Expand
  51. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    I absolutely adore this game. Playing through normal and then through nightmare, including the 5 DLC levels, is about 40 hours of gameplay. The only issue I had was that it wasn't enough! I wanted to keep playing, so I did - I went through the old levels and topped all of my friends' scores, and even went for high scores on the leaderboard.

    Even if you aren't particularly skilled at
    I absolutely adore this game. Playing through normal and then through nightmare, including the 5 DLC levels, is about 40 hours of gameplay. The only issue I had was that it wasn't enough! I wanted to keep playing, so I did - I went through the old levels and topped all of my friends' scores, and even went for high scores on the leaderboard.

    Even if you aren't particularly skilled at tower defense games, you can make up for it with skill, which is another reason to love this game. You are never expected to sit back and relax, though you sometimes can if you set your traps properly. Orcs Must Die offers great gameplay, a decent plot, and tons of different ways to beat each level.

    I would like to see more maps, new game modes, and co-op. These aren't really cons for me, just something that would make the game even better.
    Expand
  52. Jan 25, 2012
    7
    A pretty good game, but there are still critical bugs in the game that haven't been patched. There is no reason for that. If you are angled a certain way, your crosshair does not line up with your shots. This means that on certain parts of certain maps, you are screwed if you shoot from there, which would usually provide the best place to shoot. Other than that, it is a solid FPS TD hybrid.
  53. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    Orcs Must Die! is a Tower Defense/3rd Person Shooter hybrid where you take on the role of The Apprentice, a stereotypical clueless Disney prince/hero type. When your master dies, you are left as the sole defender of the rift portals â
  54. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    I've played this game for a total of 30 hours and have so far enjoyed every second of it. it ranges from defending in a very tight spot to sitting back and laugh while you watch your traps launching orcs into a lava pit.
  55. Jan 13, 2012
    7
    Becomes really repeatative very fast. Although in the beginning it is fun! Yes! But you'll get bored in 2 hours, especially if you are looking for a challenge.
  56. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    An inexpensive game that provides exactly what you see on the title: the chance to slaughter orcs. Despite the brutal traps, it is a fun and cartoony game with little blood and gore. Even so, it provides enough challenge and diversity to keep it interesting throughout.
  57. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    This game is funny and it brings a lot of stuff from other type of games in this game and that make it special ! i love it and i didnt expect it to be that good from a new developers so this is a good start !
    most tower defense games are a copy from others but this one have make a good work and its special from others the only bad thing about this game is that NO COOP :( only single
    This game is funny and it brings a lot of stuff from other type of games in this game and that make it special ! i love it and i didnt expect it to be that good from a new developers so this is a good start !
    most tower defense games are a copy from others but this one have make a good work and its special from others the only bad thing about this game is that NO COOP :( only single player.... thats why i didnt rate it 10...
    Expand
  58. Oct 23, 2011
    8
    Its fun! If you like tower defense, you will love the game. Again and again you will see, that with the right strategie to kill the Orcs, you can make it very easy. Even with many Problems before. But on the other hand it feels a little bit bugged, some Orcs survive in lava or water and you need to wait until the antibug counter runs our and kills them. In addition it becomes boring afterIts fun! If you like tower defense, you will love the game. Again and again you will see, that with the right strategie to kill the Orcs, you can make it very easy. Even with many Problems before. But on the other hand it feels a little bit bugged, some Orcs survive in lava or water and you need to wait until the antibug counter runs our and kills them. In addition it becomes boring after time, because there are not that many maps and you play them twice already because of the two difficultys. I needed 49h to get all 5 skulls on every map, and now the game is boring. I hope there will be an update with more maps or items, otherwise its a finished game. But its worth the prize! Buy it! Expand
  59. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    Solid, fun, simple...has all the stuff you want and is really a great $14.99 to spend. Is missing some elements, but that does not mean a sequel is out of the question.
  60. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    The gameplay is humorous and lighthearted and I have not experienced any glitches or crashes. What really gives this one a good score is the variety of traps and different ways you can beat a level. There may be a way to get a perfect score, but there may be something else you want to try to be conservative, or just go all out and use all the different kinds of traps available. It is aThe gameplay is humorous and lighthearted and I have not experienced any glitches or crashes. What really gives this one a good score is the variety of traps and different ways you can beat a level. There may be a way to get a perfect score, but there may be something else you want to try to be conservative, or just go all out and use all the different kinds of traps available. It is a fun game. Expand
  61. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    Orcs Must Die! is a very fun game and an excellent way of wasting quality time.

    It combines action, puzzles, shooting and lots of humor in a single game. Totally worths 15 dollars for people who loves epic medieval madness. The unique negative point is that you have to use your criativity to keep the fun level high. It's very easy to get bored with a game that have the same obetive line
    Orcs Must Die! is a very fun game and an excellent way of wasting quality time.

    It combines action, puzzles, shooting and lots of humor in a single game. Totally worths 15 dollars for people who loves epic medieval madness.

    The unique negative point is that you have to use your criativity to keep the fun level high. It's very easy to get bored with a game that have the same obetive line from the beginning to the end.

    Game Play and Jogability: 10
    Graphics: 8
    Replay: 6
    Inovation: 8
    Expand
  62. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    it is rare to find a game that I really enjoy nowadays and this definitely one of them!! for some reason its very satisfying to see dozens of orcs being slaughtered by traps while you pick off the ones that managed to survive it. its fun, there are enough levels and it has a very reasonable price
  63. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    Good game. Funny. Interesting mix of a tower defense with, action rpg...? The game lets you to be creative about how to kill those orcs: traps, spells and weapons. Maybe it is not the best game in the world but it is very interesting.
  64. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Absolute must have for any fan of tower defense/action/puzzle game :)

    This game is fun, combines something we know in a very interesting way giving us a unique gameplay, fun :)
  65. May 25, 2012
    8
    I really liked this game, for a FPS tower defence its excellent, the gameplay is fast and relys alot on yourself not just the traps, so u gotta run around and shoot things yourself more often than not. The traps are really cool and fun to watch, except i only found a handful that worked the best. the reason i give this game an 8 is because its kinda short (if you know how to play) it stillI really liked this game, for a FPS tower defence its excellent, the gameplay is fast and relys alot on yourself not just the traps, so u gotta run around and shoot things yourself more often than not. The traps are really cool and fun to watch, except i only found a handful that worked the best. the reason i give this game an 8 is because its kinda short (if you know how to play) it still took me 10 hours to beat the game with the DLC content levels, also i found you could only play a few levels before it got boring. Dont get me wrong the game isnt boring at all, its just not a game where you have a day to kill and are emersed like in an rpg for hours and feel like its only been 30 mins, its more like u play for an hour and feel like its been 3, which is good i guess :) anyways great game and id reccomend it to anyone who likes fps/tower defence. Expand
  66. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    This game is worth a review, I NEVER write reviews, but this game deserved one. It's not much of a review, but ya know. The game is just amazing, it's fun, strategic, challenging. But to improve, the game lacks replayability. Once you complete it, all there is is to do it again on a harder difficulty, yes people find this fun, but I do not. This game would get a score of 10 if it had coop,This game is worth a review, I NEVER write reviews, but this game deserved one. It's not much of a review, but ya know. The game is just amazing, it's fun, strategic, challenging. But to improve, the game lacks replayability. Once you complete it, all there is is to do it again on a harder difficulty, yes people find this fun, but I do not. This game would get a score of 10 if it had coop, coop would make this game a game to be remembered throughout history and that's all I could possibly ask for. Expand
  67. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    A bit on the short side, but otherwise a very fun game.

    Being a hybrid between a 3rd person shooter and a tower defence game, there's a lot of room for for different playstyles and therefore repeated playthroughs. The game however brings little new to the table, and it seems to be over a bit fast considering it's price. However is it on sale as it was on Steam recently, it is well
    A bit on the short side, but otherwise a very fun game.

    Being a hybrid between a 3rd person shooter and a tower defence game, there's a lot of room for for different playstyles and therefore repeated playthroughs.

    The game however brings little new to the table, and it seems to be over a bit fast considering it's price.

    However is it on sale as it was on Steam recently, it is well worth picking up.
    Expand
  68. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    This game is generally fun, however I cannot play for more than an hour at time as it tends to get a tad repetitive. This game is not groundbreaking in any way, but it is extremely fun (and diabolical) to observe your carefully placed traps on some of the harder missions (they do get harder!) just DEMOLISH a horde of orcs. Some of the traps have actually made me burst out laughing,This game is generally fun, however I cannot play for more than an hour at time as it tends to get a tad repetitive. This game is not groundbreaking in any way, but it is extremely fun (and diabolical) to observe your carefully placed traps on some of the harder missions (they do get harder!) just DEMOLISH a horde of orcs. Some of the traps have actually made me burst out laughing, especially with commentary from the Orcs (try the spring trap + acid or lava, :P). The main protagonist can be a bit annoying sometimes however, and he often comes across as an arrogant douchebag, but then again sometimes his facial expressions and poses at the end of a mission have made me laugh. All in all this game is very fun and I definitely recommend it for the price tag, especially if you're looking for something to dip into every now and then. Perhaps one of the better Indie titles I've tried thus far! Expand
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A very good take on a tower defense game with lots of features and nice graphics. I didn't expect much from this game at first, but it turned out to be surprisingly good!
  70. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Great Game! Awesome! dungeon defender at its finest! its so deep and adictive, many hours of playing for this one,not a fail game but a hidden gem, buy a copy and play it!
  71. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    A fantastic way to burn an hour or so of time. Kill combos are satisfying, the traps are entertaining, controls are solid, and it's extremely cheap at around 15 dollars on steam.
  72. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is a perfectly smooth mix of a TPS, tower defense with a little RPG. You run around as the last war mage left in existence, protecting these thing called rifts from the orc horde. You have a bunch of spells, weapons & traps as well as environmental hazzards to help you in this goal. The game looks stunning in a cartoony sort of way and has decent dialogue & soundtrack. But itsThis game is a perfectly smooth mix of a TPS, tower defense with a little RPG. You run around as the last war mage left in existence, protecting these thing called rifts from the orc horde. You have a bunch of spells, weapons & traps as well as environmental hazzards to help you in this goal. The game looks stunning in a cartoony sort of way and has decent dialogue & soundtrack. But its the way everything fits together so damn smoothly that makes this game so damn awesome. I only wish there were a few more features like a map editor or multiplayer. But with robot's solid community support, I have my fingers crossed. Expand
  73. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    For the price you pay for it, It's good.
    But not if you want a game that's fun for a year. This is playing all levels and then throw pass it away to your friend.
    On the other side it's a very original unique game. So let me say: if you have too much money. Buy it now!
  74. Sep 3, 2012
    8
    It's pretty fun for a couple hours at a time. Levels have great variety and there are numerous different traps and items to use and they unlock as you progress through the levels so that helps keep the gameplay a bit fresh. The upgrade system is horrible though, and sometimes you can get massive FPS drops when a lot is happening on screen or when you get close to where the Orcs enter theIt's pretty fun for a couple hours at a time. Levels have great variety and there are numerous different traps and items to use and they unlock as you progress through the levels so that helps keep the gameplay a bit fresh. The upgrade system is horrible though, and sometimes you can get massive FPS drops when a lot is happening on screen or when you get close to where the Orcs enter the map. The devs also released DLC one month after release...not a fan of that at all. Decent game but shady developer decisions... Expand
  75. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I can say that I have only played the demo and even from that stand point, this Tower Defenceish game is really good and definently something different for your everyday FPS shooter.
  76. Dec 23, 2012
    8
    The initial start is a simple complex of mechanisms, such as spikes on a floor, tar pits or a wall of arrows, all aimed at killing orcs. Yet as the game continues to elevate in laugh out humorous remarks, so does the difficulty. In most levels it was a breeze, a few did give me hiccups and made me think quite strategically on each placement of defense. In all, the game is quite short, itThe initial start is a simple complex of mechanisms, such as spikes on a floor, tar pits or a wall of arrows, all aimed at killing orcs. Yet as the game continues to elevate in laugh out humorous remarks, so does the difficulty. In most levels it was a breeze, a few did give me hiccups and made me think quite strategically on each placement of defense. In all, the game is quite short, it can easily be finished in 2 to 4 hours. The difficulty is fair and stubborn. A few glitches in the walking system, the animations are fair, but jaggy in some aspects. The voice over acting is excellent and made me laugh. For $5 this game is an absolute steal. 8.2 out of 11 is the final score..... review by CD0 Expand
  77. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    A very fun game, worth the 10-15$ range it sells in. It's good for 5-10 hours of play the first time through, depending on how you play. Most levels are a nice challenge but passable. A few levels are REALLY tough, out of line with the others. Would have gotten a higher score from me, but I felt like some of the traps and upgrades weren't very useful, so I ended up using the sameA very fun game, worth the 10-15$ range it sells in. It's good for 5-10 hours of play the first time through, depending on how you play. Most levels are a nice challenge but passable. A few levels are REALLY tough, out of line with the others. Would have gotten a higher score from me, but I felt like some of the traps and upgrades weren't very useful, so I ended up using the same traps/spells for most of the levels. I did enjoy the game quite a bit, and I still have fun trying to beat my friend's on the leader board (which you can limit to just friends which is great.) Expand
  78. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    PROS:
    -Great Concept
    -Great Traps
    -Great Weapons
    -Great DLC
    -Great Dancing
    -Lots and Lots of Fun
    CONS:
    -Fairly Short Game
    - Slightly Repetitive (Play over 3 days to get maximum satisfaction instead of 1 day)
    - No Multiplayer :(

    *This would be the most amazing multiplayer game ever made, if it had multiplayer*
  79. Jul 19, 2012
    8
    Despite not being a very big fan of tower defence games, this game was very fun, mainly because it isn't really a tower defence game. The graphics are nice and not very demanding for your PC. It was also very cool that a new item was given to you after every level, giving you new ways to slay those orcs and laugh maniacally. I got this game on a Steam sale but at the full price, it may notDespite not being a very big fan of tower defence games, this game was very fun, mainly because it isn't really a tower defence game. The graphics are nice and not very demanding for your PC. It was also very cool that a new item was given to you after every level, giving you new ways to slay those orcs and laugh maniacally. I got this game on a Steam sale but at the full price, it may not be completely worth, as it may repetitive and some may not have the incentive to replay levels to improve their score. That sais, I found the gameplay to be satisfying and addictive. I would highly recommand this game. Expand
  80. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    I've seen this around on Steam and until I got it on sale this last week, I wasn't sure if I'd like it, considering it seemed like another tower type game, but within a third person view. I was pleasantly surprised, and have already become addicted to this title! I can't wait for more DLC content!
  81. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    I played less than 10 minutes of the demo before buying this game. its FUN FUN FUN. hilarious gore and a good "between games - game ." i give it a 8 for no Co-op. If this game had some sort of co-op (i.e. play with 3 friends (4 people total) all at once it would be a 10 at this price). All in all this is a very fun casual game
  82. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Fresh game for me, I almost couldn't put it down, I bought it with both add ons and love it so far!

    This is my first Tower Defense game and my first review on metacritic. Running great on Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, on a Radeon 5850 video card, the frame rate for me is over 160+ according to fraps in full screen mode @1680 by 1050, my monitor's max. 6 CORE AMD 3.2 CPU though, so YMMV.
    Fresh game for me, I almost couldn't put it down, I bought it with both add ons and love it so far!

    This is my first Tower Defense game and my first review on metacritic.

    Running great on Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, on a Radeon 5850 video card, the frame rate for me is over 160+ according to fraps in full screen mode @1680 by 1050, my monitor's max. 6 CORE AMD 3.2 CPU though, so YMMV.

    For under $10 on Steam I am very satisfied and the scoreboard of other players is way cool!

    For a small independent developer I am quite impressed! (if applicable)
    Expand
  83. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    Excellent game, as a tower defense lover (starting back in Warcraft 3), I always found myself trying to figure out new and innovative ways to kill orcs, such as tossing them into lava, manually detonating explosives, or just good old fashion mazing. Only two things really keep me from giving this a 10 out of 10. Some of the later levels can be a bit frustrating to build traps on, as theyExcellent game, as a tower defense lover (starting back in Warcraft 3), I always found myself trying to figure out new and innovative ways to kill orcs, such as tossing them into lava, manually detonating explosives, or just good old fashion mazing. Only two things really keep me from giving this a 10 out of 10. Some of the later levels can be a bit frustrating to build traps on, as they really spread the enemy spawns out. The other is the lack of replay value/length. I beat the game after sinking about 8 hours into it, and I loved every minute of it, but after beating the main campaign, I felt like there was little else to do (the only higher difficulty is nightmare, and it really is a nightmare, jeeze). Overall, I would definitely say its worth the price on steam, and if it comes on sale, pick it up, no questions asked. Expand
  84. Dec 24, 2011
    9
    A fun and addictive tower defense game, this is easily one of the better TD games out there right now. Absolutely enjoyable and the trap mechanic is something that'll keep you entertained for the long run. Especially now that it's on sale for Christmas, if you have any sort of desire to buy this game, do it now. People who are interested in this game will enjoy and people who don't like TDA fun and addictive tower defense game, this is easily one of the better TD games out there right now. Absolutely enjoyable and the trap mechanic is something that'll keep you entertained for the long run. Especially now that it's on sale for Christmas, if you have any sort of desire to buy this game, do it now. People who are interested in this game will enjoy and people who don't like TD games in the first place should stay far away from this. This game doesn't try to trick you into thinking it's something that it's not. It's an enjoyable TD game that'll take up some of your time and the sharp graphics and steller sound FX's make this one of the better TD games out there. Expand
  85. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    This game is fun. You make as much progress as you can and when you are blocked you can go back and use what you've learned and unlocked to improve your score on previous levels. Unexpected depth for what looks like a simple game
  86. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    A simple fast paced game in which you chop/slash/incinerate/crush numerous orcs and other enemies. It is one of the only recent games in which you can pick up for as long or short as you want. There is no grind or commitment, simply a fun game.
  87. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Orcs Mus Die! is a great way to make ingenuous ways to kill mobs constantly, aiming not only to beat the game but also the magic of this great piece of art is the ranking scores after getting the hang of it. I found myself making 100% of the game levels, achievements in this game to find only sadness after seeing that there was no more new to play, this is such an addictive game that itOrcs Mus Die! is a great way to make ingenuous ways to kill mobs constantly, aiming not only to beat the game but also the magic of this great piece of art is the ranking scores after getting the hang of it. I found myself making 100% of the game levels, achievements in this game to find only sadness after seeing that there was no more new to play, this is such an addictive game that it can't be believed until one start's to play it. Expand
  88. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyable FPS / tower defense game. There was more depth here than at first glace in that there are combinations of traps that work particularly well resulting in a good deal of satisfaction in seeing so many Orcs dies oh so efficiently. Hope they come out with more!
  89. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fun, easy to learn, and addicting. Worth the few bucks on Steam I paid for it. Still playing through the levels, but definitely worth it. The "Bruce Campbell" humor and Orc dialog are rather amusing as well. Expand
  90. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Orcs must die its a hell of a fun game and the price really pays for it, its a shooter / strategy game that provides an excellent spend time.
    What makes the most orcs must die an interesting game is the competition and the gameplay, and what is missing in orcs must die is a coop mode, it would be really fun to play with friends to conquer some levels.
  91. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    This game is fun, different and best of all - gory! The traps are excellent, and I get excited to see what new one I'll get at the end of each level. I had to cap it at an 8 simply because it's too short to hold my attention for more than a week. There's a minimal amount of DLC, but until there are new dungeons and traps or a co-op mode, I can't score it higher. For the full, originalThis game is fun, different and best of all - gory! The traps are excellent, and I get excited to see what new one I'll get at the end of each level. I had to cap it at an 8 simply because it's too short to hold my attention for more than a week. There's a minimal amount of DLC, but until there are new dungeons and traps or a co-op mode, I can't score it higher. For the full, original price I'm not sure I'd be sold - but when the Steam sale gives it away for a few quid, it's definitely worth a go. OMD is great fun, with a brilliant mix of humour, action and "tower-defending". Expand
  92. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    Great game ! Fun , u have to think a bit, what traps or talents to use , where . But not too much time wasting with the thinking, then its hack and slack which is fun.
    Even in normal it can be challenging if u target 5/5 skull (perfect). Then u have hardcore mode , for 10 euros its really worth it.
  93. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    I tried to play dungeon defender and sanctum but somehow I got really bored in the first hour of playing it. So OMD was a big surprise for me Fun game, with a perfect learning curve.It combined with perfection FPS & Tower defense. Clear and harmonious graphics, great music. It took me a good 35 hours to completely finished the game. Still after that there is a bit of replayability tryingI tried to play dungeon defender and sanctum but somehow I got really bored in the first hour of playing it. So OMD was a big surprise for me Fun game, with a perfect learning curve.It combined with perfection FPS & Tower defense. Clear and harmonious graphics, great music. It took me a good 35 hours to completely finished the game. Still after that there is a bit of replayability trying to beat your score. Apart from a very few overpowered trap/spell, the main flaw is that there is no level editor, which is a big shame. Expand
  94. Jan 22, 2012
    7
    Juego muy entretenido para pasar las horas muertas.. Quizas adolece una cierta falta de variedad a la hora de afrontar algunas misiones donde, a pesar de disponer de muchas trampas donde escoger y varias estrategias a nuestra disposicion (segun el diseno del escenario), al final no podremos elegir entre muchas opciones para afrontarlas con ciertas posibilidades exito. Ademas, muchas deJuego muy entretenido para pasar las horas muertas.. Quizas adolece una cierta falta de variedad a la hora de afrontar algunas misiones donde, a pesar de disponer de muchas trampas donde escoger y varias estrategias a nuestra disposicion (segun el diseno del escenario), al final no podremos elegir entre muchas opciones para afrontarlas con ciertas posibilidades exito. Ademas, muchas de esas trampas seran poco menos que inutiles. Pero en general el juego es bueno, y merece la pena ser jugado. Expand
  95. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    It feels more like an action game than a tower defense game. Most of the time it can feel like you're the only thing between the enemy and the portal because traps are expensive and ineffective. It's fun for about 10 hours but then becomes a bit repetitive.

    Edit: After you get a certain power up the game gets a lot better. Still, most of the traps are only good when they're upgraded,
    It feels more like an action game than a tower defense game. Most of the time it can feel like you're the only thing between the enemy and the portal because traps are expensive and ineffective. It's fun for about 10 hours but then becomes a bit repetitive.

    Edit: After you get a certain power up the game gets a lot better. Still, most of the traps are only good when they're upgraded, which means the best way to get 5 skulls on a level is to beat it after you beat the rest of the game.
    Expand
  96. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    If you want a nice little game to play for 10 minutes at a time, then Orcs Must Die! is great. In general, though, I felt that I was playing something solid but unspectacular. This game just doesn't have the depth, longevity, or high end "awesome" factor for it to compare well with the best games that I've played.
  97. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    This is tons of fun! The gameplay is constantly rewarding and the action is superb straight down to close quarters combat. The main character is hilarious and the story is comical. This game is a fantastic example of what tower defense should be like! There is one hitch though, there is no key customization so the player is forced to use WASD key setup. Other than that, it's a great game!This is tons of fun! The gameplay is constantly rewarding and the action is superb straight down to close quarters combat. The main character is hilarious and the story is comical. This game is a fantastic example of what tower defense should be like! There is one hitch though, there is no key customization so the player is forced to use WASD key setup. Other than that, it's a great game! Well done ROBOT! Expand
  98. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Excellent blend of Shooter and TD game, with a cool visual style and right level of difficulty. First 3rd person 3D approach to the genre that I really liked. Highly recommended.
  99. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    This game is great. Even after going through all the levels, there is so much to do in term of replaying levels and trying different traps and ways to get higher scores. And the game is very fun.
  100. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    A fun and unique game, cannot wait for orcs must die 2 which promises even more weapons and traps long with the new addition of a coop mode which I'm really looking forward to massacring large numbers of orcs with a friend!
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 4, 2012
    80
    Setting traps to kill thousands and thousands of Orcs has always been a dream for you. Then here is what you were looking for ! Renewing the Tower Defense gameplay, Orcs Must Die is full of good and fun ideas. Despite its lack of ambition regarding the absence of a multiplayer mode and a story not so interesting to follow, players will surely spend some good times thinking about the different and effcient ways they can use to kill Orcs with style!
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    80
    Action packed tower defense game surprises with humor and irony. Variability of traps and action combined with strategy guarantee long term fun. [Dec 2011]
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    84
    A rare tower defense game is addictive enough to suck you into playing it for days on end. Orcs Must Die is one of them.