User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 73
  2. Negative: 17 out of 73
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    To tell you the truth I have never expected such a thrill from another WWII game. Don't take me wrong, I love WWII games, but I was already a bit tired of the topic and didn't play that kind of games much. Nevertheless, Order of War really made me spend hours and hours in front of my PC. The multiplayer is a real thing! Very many moments reminded me of Total War and Company of To tell you the truth I have never expected such a thrill from another WWII game. Don't take me wrong, I love WWII games, but I was already a bit tired of the topic and didn't play that kind of games much. Nevertheless, Order of War really made me spend hours and hours in front of my PC. The multiplayer is a real thing! Very many moments reminded me of Total War and Company of Heroes, but also, I have noticed many enhancements in comparison with these older games. The camera they have in the game is very nice to look into, especially, when you know you will win. My respect to the developers. I would play one more WWII if that would be of the same level of quality. Collapse
  2. PanzerGeneral
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    I love WW2 games. I am a veteran back to Panzer General. I can only say that buying this game is really good deal. Beautifull and excellent models, landscape and large battlefields. Better and more addictive than WIC. I hope in a sequel with more battlefields like Africa, Balkans, Russia and the Pacidic theatre. A whole WW2 campaign at least with Germany wouldn't hurt. Definitely one I love WW2 games. I am a veteran back to Panzer General. I can only say that buying this game is really good deal. Beautifull and excellent models, landscape and large battlefields. Better and more addictive than WIC. I hope in a sequel with more battlefields like Africa, Balkans, Russia and the Pacidic theatre. A whole WW2 campaign at least with Germany wouldn't hurt. Definitely one of the best games ever just like COH. Expand
  3. Dolphin_EUV.
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    Quite a decent WWII RTS with ample mp opportunities. Some minor balance issues (US paratroopers for instance) that will be hopefully!!! fixed with the next patch keep me from giving Order of War a 9.
  4. Porkibus1
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Fun game! Fills a gap between Company of Heroes and Total War series.
  5. VolfD
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Well-balanced RTS, decent campaigns and the juciest multiplayer I've ever seen.
  6. StillMe
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Just finished the game and spent some really exciting hours with it so I would love to share with you my views on
  7. roberto
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    I bought this game a month ago and still enjoying it and it's multiplayer. Developers introduced new maps with the last patch. Besides I'm taking part in the firsr Order of War community tournament. the game is definite fun and has a great potential. I wish they would do some add-ons with new storylines and MP maps and modes!
  8. DillyRS
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Addictive multiplayer, exciting modes and tons of fun. It works fine on my pc, never experienced any errors or similar problems. Looking forward to more breathtaking modes for MP (honestly its singleplayer is not that good). Big fan of this game.
  9. ChrisK.
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Order of War is an excellent entry into the World War II real-time strategy genre. Although this type of game isn't new, Order of War provides new ideas and a fresh perspective on the typical (and not-so-typical) battles of the Second World War. For one thing, you can command hundreds of men and vehicles in even a relatively small engagement. Some of the larger battles are so Order of War is an excellent entry into the World War II real-time strategy genre. Although this type of game isn't new, Order of War provides new ideas and a fresh perspective on the typical (and not-so-typical) battles of the Second World War. For one thing, you can command hundreds of men and vehicles in even a relatively small engagement. Some of the larger battles are so immense that it's hard to keep your units on the screen! You can also zoom in close to hear the sounds of battle and the shouts of the men. The cinematic camera option is also a very cool feature for those times when you've given orders to your units and just want to sit back and watch the battle unfold like a Hollywood blockbuster. Sure, some of the battles, like D-Day, have been done many times before, but what would a World War II game be without those famous conflicts? Not to mention some lesser-known battles, like the invasion of southern France, or the crossing of the Siegfried Line. Every battle has been meticulously researched and accurately modeled. Even the famous church in the center of St. Mere Eglise is there, along with detailed bunkers on Omaha Beach, and the amazing Leopold railway gun with its monstrous shells. The combination of infantry, tanks, artillery, and air power provides a variety of tools and tactics that can be used to overcome the opposition. Moving units in company formation (the only way real regimental and brigade commanders can move their troops - by ordering battalion and company commanders around!) makes it easy to manage the large number of soldiers and vehicles on the battlefield. Although the game is deceptively easy to play, it is hard to master, as the AI is quite intelligent at higher levels, terrain becomes crucial to success, and the tactical ebb and flow of battles increases substantially. If anything, multiplayer gaming highlights just how simple the interface is, but how complex the game's strategems can be. Overall, I'd recommend this game highly to both beginning gamers interested in a World War II RTS that is easy to learn and to grognards steeped in the history of the period and looking to whet their appetite with something simpler but still challenging. Expand
  10. DementorD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Just wanted to share my opinion about this game. I found it rather attractive and nice-looking. The SP sucked me in from the first mission. I tried it on hard level and that made me sweat. Multiplayer is real fun. I enjoyed the graphics. Everything looks so real when on high settings. Definitely wants an add-on or sequel
  11. DannyK.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    So I bought this aaaaaddddddictive game digitally on Steam 2 days ago! And now I am writing this review after 40 sleepless hours. That
  12. MENofWAR_FANXD
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    Being a big fan of WWII strategy games (all parts of CoH, WiC, FoW and MoW) I should say that this game is definitely worth giving a shot. The amount of troops under control and fast-paced gameplay were the things that made it appealig for me.
  13. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    This game is something I have been waiting for, I overlooked it because its review was average even though it deserves a lot more than it got. This game has lots of beautiful destruction that lots of other games overlook. If anything this games gets you as close to WW2 as possible in terms of a RTS. The survival mode is nice and I just love the complete carnage on bridge battles. I wouldThis game is something I have been waiting for, I overlooked it because its review was average even though it deserves a lot more than it got. This game has lots of beautiful destruction that lots of other games overlook. If anything this games gets you as close to WW2 as possible in terms of a RTS. The survival mode is nice and I just love the complete carnage on bridge battles. I would defiantly recommend this game, it has good replay value and multiplayer is a beast. You can not beat $7.99 for a games that's this good on steam. Some people say this game is like your average RTS point and click but what RTS isn't,its a great game get it and good luck. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Maybe is not the deepest RTS in the market, but Order of War is definitely capable of performing great graphics and a nice gameplay.
  2. 75
    Although Order of War is not an innovative game, it is indeed a good option for fans of strategy, specially the ones who like World War Two.
  3. Great mechanics and a beautiful presentation make Order of War shine brightly among some incredible WWII strategy games. Anyone who enjoys the genre should give this one a shot.