Order of War PC

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 73
  2. Negative: 17 out of 73
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    To tell you the truth I have never expected such a thrill from another WWII game. Don't take me wrong, I love WWII games, but I was already a bit tired of the topic and didn't play that kind of games much. Nevertheless, Order of War really made me spend hours and hours in front of my PC. The multiplayer is a real thing! Very many moments reminded me of Total War and Company of To tell you the truth I have never expected such a thrill from another WWII game. Don't take me wrong, I love WWII games, but I was already a bit tired of the topic and didn't play that kind of games much. Nevertheless, Order of War really made me spend hours and hours in front of my PC. The multiplayer is a real thing! Very many moments reminded me of Total War and Company of Heroes, but also, I have noticed many enhancements in comparison with these older games. The camera they have in the game is very nice to look into, especially, when you know you will win. My respect to the developers. I would play one more WWII if that would be of the same level of quality. Expand
  2. PanzerGeneral
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    I love WW2 games. I am a veteran back to Panzer General. I can only say that buying this game is really good deal. Beautifull and excellent models, landscape and large battlefields. Better and more addictive than WIC. I hope in a sequel with more battlefields like Africa, Balkans, Russia and the Pacidic theatre. A whole WW2 campaign at least with Germany wouldn't hurt. Definitely one I love WW2 games. I am a veteran back to Panzer General. I can only say that buying this game is really good deal. Beautifull and excellent models, landscape and large battlefields. Better and more addictive than WIC. I hope in a sequel with more battlefields like Africa, Balkans, Russia and the Pacidic theatre. A whole WW2 campaign at least with Germany wouldn't hurt. Definitely one of the best games ever just like COH. Expand
  3. Dolphin_EUV.
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    Quite a decent WWII RTS with ample mp opportunities. Some minor balance issues (US paratroopers for instance) that will be hopefully!!! fixed with the next patch keep me from giving Order of War a 9.
  4. AaronP
    Dec 29, 2009
    5
    In a nutshell it is World in Conflict with different textures. The concept is the same, the unit recruitment is the same, I think they even did the artillery the exact same. Those vertical lines with the pathetic exposions... Good realistic artillery effects can be seen with Company of Heroes. That game was the first I was impressed with the level of detail in the explosion effects and In a nutshell it is World in Conflict with different textures. The concept is the same, the unit recruitment is the same, I think they even did the artillery the exact same. Those vertical lines with the pathetic exposions... Good realistic artillery effects can be seen with Company of Heroes. That game was the first I was impressed with the level of detail in the explosion effects and the authentic sound of artillery coming in. Coming from an infantryman himself, epic fail on Order of War's part on realistic sounds and effects. Outgoing artillery is one of the most pleasing sounds to a soldier who has seen battle. AI is not intelligent, will sit and let your artillery destroy masses of units. Its problem solving skills are atrocious. I had a bridge pinned with 1 unit of panthers, and 1 unit of tigers. Computer kept sending light tanks one at a time. At no time did the AI even attempt to use any air or artillery assets to dislodge my fortification. Same thing covering access routes with anti-tank guns. Just infantry and small vehicles... no artillery to dislodge my units. This isn't a strategy game, it is an action at best. However it drops the ball on realism, sound, and visual effects. Therefor I will reclassify it even further into an arcade game. The multiplayer is a bit better negating the incompetent AI. Expand
  5. DannyK
    Dec 3, 2009
    1
    lack of tactical gameplay, Most of the time you will be right clicking to attack the enemy. graphics are cheesy, the videos appear as though they lag. The AI is un responsive. the Units have horrible stats. tanks cant take out buildings. this game is horrible, stay away from it.
  6. Martinz.
    Nov 28, 2009
    0
    crappy company of heroes ripoff...bought the game and was from the beginning very very disappointed...bad graphics, bad user interface, very bad balancing...the game does nothing, and i said it, NOTHING right...dont buy it, and dont listen to those who gave it a high rating...love the ratings on metacritics...half of them are developers i think when i read that...if you like a good ww2 crappy company of heroes ripoff...bought the game and was from the beginning very very disappointed...bad graphics, bad user interface, very bad balancing...the game does nothing, and i said it, NOTHING right...dont buy it, and dont listen to those who gave it a high rating...love the ratings on metacritics...half of them are developers i think when i read that...if you like a good ww2 rts, then play coh with the addons...this one sucks...oh yes, and i want my money back, or at least I hope that the developers dont make such a crappy game again... Collapse
  7. May 9, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Banlance not good enough, GER units too expensive and its abilities really not good enough, especially compared with USA and USSR units(tanks much cheaper and still powerful). It's the most serious point.
    So in multi games,ppl almost choose USA or USSR,not GER,because its really much easier to get win,even the same one with the same skill. People who like to choose USA or USSR may give the game higher grades,because it's easy to win and the game with good graphic performance, but ppl who like to choose GER would be very dissapointed to the balance, and finally left. At least many friends i know left the game for the major reason.
    Expand
  8. Porkibus1
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Fun game! Fills a gap between Company of Heroes and Total War series.
  9. DeadMeat
    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    The game is visually attractive and features quality sound effects. Unfortunately, The voice narration is beyond bad and the game mechanics are poor and quite "buggy" with frequent memory errors. Unit strengths are listed and indicate that there are unique characteristics for each unit type, however, in actual game-play one type of unit within a class is exactly as any other. So am M3 The game is visually attractive and features quality sound effects. Unfortunately, The voice narration is beyond bad and the game mechanics are poor and quite "buggy" with frequent memory errors. Unit strengths are listed and indicate that there are unique characteristics for each unit type, however, in actual game-play one type of unit within a class is exactly as any other. So am M3 Stuart light tank is just as dangerous as a Tiger heavy tank with range being the only real factor. Orders of War can only be recommended if offered at a steep discount. Expand
  10. KarlHunt
    Sep 26, 2009
    5
    This game is mediocre at best. It is a basic clone of all other RTS titles witht he exception of being able to purchase artillary barages and air support.
    If not for that I would have easily mistaken it for Company of Heroes, which was a great game several years ago.
  11. ChristopherB
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    Just crashes on my Phenom quad core, 8 gigs of ram, Radeon 4870 X2 pc. Rediculous, fresh install fully up to date with all drivers and windows update, not blocked by firewall. Every other game works fine, even Splinter Cell steam games which never work right. So, because I could'nt get the game engine to start and it cost 29.99 USD I will give it a zero.
  12. AndrewAnthrax
    Nov 3, 2009
    2
    Why, why, why... sprites stop and fire when you want them to move out of the way and you can't override this behaviour, frustrating.
  13. Jay
    Dec 17, 2009
    0
    Game is crappy. Crashing constantly and I'm running an Alienware system I bought this years, so you can't tell me my system is out of date and I'm not wasting my time listing everything my system has. Game is no good and a waste of money. Steam needs to start allowing refunds for crao games that you can't even play for more then 10 mins before it crashes. I WANT MY Game is crappy. Crashing constantly and I'm running an Alienware system I bought this years, so you can't tell me my system is out of date and I'm not wasting my time listing everything my system has. Game is no good and a waste of money. Steam needs to start allowing refunds for crao games that you can't even play for more then 10 mins before it crashes. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!! RIP OFFS!!! Expand
  14. VolfD
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Well-balanced RTS, decent campaigns and the juciest multiplayer I've ever seen.
  15. gininnay
    Dec 15, 2009
    0
    i bought this game for my boyfriend and thought he would like it cause he is into war games but OMG why does it take so long to download? im on a wireless connection and it runs pretty fast but i cant wait 18 hours for it to download without him finding out. this game is not worth the money...
  16. StillMe
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Just finished the game and spent some really exciting hours with it so I would love to share with you my views on
  17. roberto
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    I bought this game a month ago and still enjoying it and it's multiplayer. Developers introduced new maps with the last patch. Besides I'm taking part in the firsr Order of War community tournament. the game is definite fun and has a great potential. I wish they would do some add-ons with new storylines and MP maps and modes!
  18. DillyRS
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Addictive multiplayer, exciting modes and tons of fun. It works fine on my pc, never experienced any errors or similar problems. Looking forward to more breathtaking modes for MP (honestly its singleplayer is not that good). Big fan of this game.
  19. ChrisK.
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Order of War is an excellent entry into the World War II real-time strategy genre. Although this type of game isn't new, Order of War provides new ideas and a fresh perspective on the typical (and not-so-typical) battles of the Second World War. For one thing, you can command hundreds of men and vehicles in even a relatively small engagement. Some of the larger battles are so Order of War is an excellent entry into the World War II real-time strategy genre. Although this type of game isn't new, Order of War provides new ideas and a fresh perspective on the typical (and not-so-typical) battles of the Second World War. For one thing, you can command hundreds of men and vehicles in even a relatively small engagement. Some of the larger battles are so immense that it's hard to keep your units on the screen! You can also zoom in close to hear the sounds of battle and the shouts of the men. The cinematic camera option is also a very cool feature for those times when you've given orders to your units and just want to sit back and watch the battle unfold like a Hollywood blockbuster. Sure, some of the battles, like D-Day, have been done many times before, but what would a World War II game be without those famous conflicts? Not to mention some lesser-known battles, like the invasion of southern France, or the crossing of the Siegfried Line. Every battle has been meticulously researched and accurately modeled. Even the famous church in the center of St. Mere Eglise is there, along with detailed bunkers on Omaha Beach, and the amazing Leopold railway gun with its monstrous shells. The combination of infantry, tanks, artillery, and air power provides a variety of tools and tactics that can be used to overcome the opposition. Moving units in company formation (the only way real regimental and brigade commanders can move their troops - by ordering battalion and company commanders around!) makes it easy to manage the large number of soldiers and vehicles on the battlefield. Although the game is deceptively easy to play, it is hard to master, as the AI is quite intelligent at higher levels, terrain becomes crucial to success, and the tactical ebb and flow of battles increases substantially. If anything, multiplayer gaming highlights just how simple the interface is, but how complex the game's strategems can be. Overall, I'd recommend this game highly to both beginning gamers interested in a World War II RTS that is easy to learn and to grognards steeped in the history of the period and looking to whet their appetite with something simpler but still challenging. Expand
  20. DementorD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Just wanted to share my opinion about this game. I found it rather attractive and nice-looking. The SP sucked me in from the first mission. I tried it on hard level and that made me sweat. Multiplayer is real fun. I enjoyed the graphics. Everything looks so real when on high settings. Definitely wants an add-on or sequel
  21. DannyK.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    So I bought this aaaaaddddddictive game digitally on Steam 2 days ago! And now I am writing this review after 40 sleepless hours. That
  22. MENofWAR_FANXD
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    Being a big fan of WWII strategy games (all parts of CoH, WiC, FoW and MoW) I should say that this game is definitely worth giving a shot. The amount of troops under control and fast-paced gameplay were the things that made it appealig for me.
  23. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    This game is something I have been waiting for, I overlooked it because its review was average even though it deserves a lot more than it got. This game has lots of beautiful destruction that lots of other games overlook. If anything this games gets you as close to WW2 as possible in terms of a RTS. The survival mode is nice and I just love the complete carnage on bridge battles. I wouldThis game is something I have been waiting for, I overlooked it because its review was average even though it deserves a lot more than it got. This game has lots of beautiful destruction that lots of other games overlook. If anything this games gets you as close to WW2 as possible in terms of a RTS. The survival mode is nice and I just love the complete carnage on bridge battles. I would defiantly recommend this game, it has good replay value and multiplayer is a beast. You can not beat $7.99 for a games that's this good on steam. Some people say this game is like your average RTS point and click but what RTS isn't,its a great game get it and good luck. Expand
  24. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    Online servers were shut down as of September 1st 2013. Do not buy if you intent to play Multiplayer.

    Repeat. Online servers have been shut down and won't be coming back up. Do not purchase if you intend to play against other players.
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Maybe is not the deepest RTS in the market, but Order of War is definitely capable of performing great graphics and a nice gameplay.
  2. Although Order of War is not an innovative game, it is indeed a good option for fans of strategy, specially the ones who like World War Two.
  3. Great mechanics and a beautiful presentation make Order of War shine brightly among some incredible WWII strategy games. Anyone who enjoys the genre should give this one a shot.