User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    4
    It's the Amiga II version of the Oregon Trail but with zombies. That's about it. They added a bunch of cheevos & social integration garbage but nothing else really noteworthy. Combat is frustrating, random events are repetitive (haha omg XD [insert friend's name] got bit by a zombie while he was peeing soo randum XD), and it's a straight line from beginning to end. Worth a playthrough or two but I don't see why this costs money. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    Organ Trail, a spoof of the educational Oregon Trail, takes place in a post-apocalyptic America with zombies. This game is fun, however the shooting mechanic takes a while to get used to. Still, this game is great, you should be playing for hours and there is a lot of replay value.
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    1
    Go play the free Facebook version. It's like that, except much worse. The simple yet effective shooting mechanism is replaced by a retarded click-and-drag one that is a a pain in the ass to use. This wouldn't be such a huge problem if playing constant shooting minigames wasn't required to advance in the game. If at any point you say to yourself "forced minigames aren't so bad.", you should not be a game developer. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Fun stuff. Needs a little tinkering here and there with certain elements, but otherwise you get good bang for your buck. Pick it up cheap while you can
  5. Jul 10, 2013
    5
    This game is only for those that find the era of Commodore 64 appealing. As I'm not the biggest fan of the style nor the gameplay mechanics I'm unable to appreciate this "minigame" of zombie survival. The gameplay consists of minigames where you either walk and shoot or drive with a car in a retro-pixel-world and occationally stop to scavenge for resources though scavenging sounds too good as it's usually the minigame where you shoot zombies and collect the resources by walking over them. The price is very low so I can't warn about that but for me this game represents free-ware gaming. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    Organ Trail: Director's Cut is one of those games which manages to make you coming back for "just one more round" again and again. The pixel-art graphics are fine, the music fits perfectly and gameplay is simple, but fun without getting to repetitive. There are lots of locations and extras to be discovered and decisions to be made and once you got hooked by this game it will not let you go this easily. Give it a try, it will entertain you for hours and hours and costs only a few bucks. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2013
    4
    I know it's an old-school Atari style of "classic" pixel fun; but retro-gaming made a comeback due exactly to new innovation in computer gaming. "Organ Trail" simply ignores that fact, by remaking an old game into an old game.

    I did not enjoy the game at all, and the combat system is simply frustrating to the level of hatred of what could have been an excellent platformer.

    Unacceptable.
  8. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    Organ Trail just isn't that good, it has a good concept behind it but is let down by it's repetitive "zombie apocalypse" generalizations, with no unique twists. Yes, it's a spoof on the Oregon Trail we all played as a kid, but I believe the original was better (and more enjoyable!). Organ Trail falls short with it's graphics, it goes for an old school retro style feel, but the pixel art is not good, it's just too awkward, it doesn't settle right and it feels like somethings missing. Don't get me wrong, I'm actually a huge fan of pixel art and games that use those bitcrushed sounds that appeared on consoles like the NES or SNES. But Organ Trail just didn't put enough effort in, and they got what they deserved: A game that's more of a chore than entertainment, that will only capture your attention for about an hour, two if you're lucky, and that you probably won't return to too many times in the future. Expand
  9. Sep 21, 2014
    6
    This game isn't going to win any awards in the graphics or sound department but you tend to get that when parodying a computer game from the 80s. If you're not put off by the retro feel to the game and always wanted to try a zombie version of The Oregon Trail, now is your chance!
  10. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Organ Trail is like what another reviewer said, a spoof of Oregon Trail while using the zombie apocalypse genre which is becoming really repetitive. Organ Trail is not exactly going to win awards nor is it going to be touted as an influential game but it is however, fun. Fun, especially if you're a fan of zombie-related media like say Zombieland. Gameplaywise, its actually very straightforward, you and five friends travel in a station wagon across the United States from the east to the west. Along the way, you'll endure many hardships and situations like bandits and zombie hordes and the usual random scripted event. The game is merciless on the harder levels and certain achievements will require you to replay the game in order to achieve them. If there is one horrible aspect of the game, then that's the shooting mechanics. Shooting is NOT the fun part of Organ Trail despite it being a zombie game or a parody of a zombie game.

    Still, the game is fun from the indie aspect and it is quite cheap on Steam. It would probably be better off as a free game but I guess you have to support indie game designers for at least trying. And Organ Trail is indeed worth it if you're not expecting another Left 4 Dead or sumtin.
    Expand
  11. Jul 15, 2013
    2
    The only game ive ever paid for that does a back step and becomes worse than the free flash version on there website. Throw in random events that do nothing but chain together ways to screw you over and unintuitive aiming controls and ZERO save options and you have one frustrating experience.
  12. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    Organ Trail: Director's Cut is a spoof of Oregon Trail. The game is inexpensive and very addicting. What other reviewers don't seem to understand is that the firing mechanism was designed for the player to actually put some effort into combat, rather than just "click.. enemy died, click... enemy died" That wouldn't be fun.
  13. May 25, 2013
    10
    I bought this game looking to recoup some of those Apple II memories from my elementary school computer lab days... and boy did it bring me back. The game isn't just a parody, but an excellent resource management game in and of itself. Awesome sense of humor, loads of replay-ability, and just a genuinely FUN game. You can't get more for less than this game. Easily the most fun I've had in a long time. Expand
  14. AWG
    Jul 23, 2013
    8
    Sometimes it gets a little repetitive but in general this Organ Trail: Director's Cut is just entertaining. Shooting mechanism is certainly weird, but it's not THIS bad, if you just take two minutes to get used to it. A pleasing surprise.
  15. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    We need more challenging games. This is essentially Oregon Trail with zombies. Brutally honest and with an 8 bit retro style. Its difficult and at some point you will find your own grave. Play it and survive
  16. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    Much has already been said, I add my vote and some of my own considerations: - the game is ok, nothing to say about it, but it seems not polished enough to grab your attention for more than... two, three hours... - the graphics, "minimal", seems too simplified for a PC game - some event, but not much variation, at the end So, this can bring us to a 7, or a 8, if you like the style of game and have some fun.

    Frankly, despite the very low price (excellent, I would say), after only two hours of play I had enough: overall, the game seemed somewhat bland.
    Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    70
    A lightweight survival lark, but one that proves itself worthy of the great pun in its title. [December 2013, p.85]
  2. May 31, 2013
    71
    Occasionally repetitive, sometimes puerile but for the most part amusing. [June 2013, p.89]
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Through wit, ingenuity, and good old fashioned sadism, it manages to succeed against the odds and provide a truly rewarding spin on a number of classic ideas. For the price, you really couldn't ask for more.