User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2012
    0
    My friend bought me it in 4-pack as a gift...don't know if to be glad or hate him for doing that to me. It's really a joke. Especially the awesome vehicle control with mouse...not even talking about the other stupidities... Save money, don't buy it.
  2. May 7, 2012
    0
    This game is literally unplayable - it crashes randomly at every occasion, and when it doesn't, you can't connect to any servers. Do not buy it at any circumstances, it's not worth any money and even if it was free, there is still no reason to play. I really have no hope for the creators to release some patches that will actually fix anything, because to release a game that doesn't not work at all, that takes some balls. Or a lot of hard drugs. By the way: I've noticed few accounts that rate this game really high (10/10, when even 5/10 is really absurd) that have been created just yesterday. I wonder if the developers have something to do with that. Expand
  3. May 5, 2012
    0
    This game is AWFUL, the graphics are poor, the animations even worse, it is completely riddled with bugs. I would really recomend NOT buy this POS. It is not worth the money. The gunplay is poor, as are the sounds, it crashes, have game stopping bugs. It might only be £6 but dont waste your money on this!
  4. May 4, 2012
    1
    Game is buggy to the point where most of us can't even run it. I honestly can't believe they launched this game in the state it is in. It feels more like an early beta then a full game.
  5. May 5, 2012
    1
    Dino Beatdown is a joke!... nothing on there works at all, have tried it on two high end computers and still no luck. The game might be OK after they fix everything up, but to say they have realised it when it doesn't even load up.. its just funny!.. I am creating games in university and my outcomes are much better than this and I am only just learning HaHa.. Who ever made this should really look into getting a new job haha funny.. Don't buy at the moment doesn't work it sounds good, and the co-op seemed a cool idea, but un-till it works there's no point in wasting even £6 pounds on this lol! just download unity and make your own game it will be much easier to get working and most probably be much more fun to :/ Expand
  6. May 11, 2012
    0
    Putting aside the fact the developers have a .. bad history of stealing content from other games and saying they were legitimate placeholders etc.. the game is plagued with bugs and is definitely something I would not recommend to anyone, even if it was completely stable.
  7. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    worst steam purchase ever. game feels like an alpha, and not even a good one. it's just extremely lacking. look up video reviews before buying it, even at $1 it's not worth it imho.
  8. May 7, 2012
    0
    This game is not very good and I was really hoping it would be. One of the worst products I have invested in. Buggy, unresponsive at times and loves to crash. Do yourself a favor and pass on this until they fix it.
  9. May 7, 2012
    0
    FAIL!!!!! The game dosen't even work :( The concept sounded cool and the price was what made it tempting.... Can't believe steam released this garbage! THX 4 STEALING My 9$ .... I wanna a refund :/ don't buy this crap. Take 9 $ and flush it down the toilet that's what this game is there's your review !!
  10. May 8, 2012
    0
    The game looks good, and the idea sounds promising. Unfortunately they had no money for good models and animations, so it looks quite cheap, even with the Unreal Engine. QA - Quality Assurance - is something they do not know either, because the game is full of bugs. Never had something such bad for many many years. And yes, I paid 9â
  11. May 10, 2012
    1
    There's three problems with this game. 1) It was released in Alpha stage at best but was touted as completed (pre-purchase with BETA access would have been better). 2) It's an indie game but uses the biggest commercial engine out there (UT3). I'm still unsure how I feel about that. 3) It's actually rubbish.

    I'm reluctantly giving it a 1 not a 0 as I did have a solo play game and
    flying around with a jetpack was interesting, but nothing more. Expand
  12. May 6, 2012
    0
    Orion: Dino Beatdown puts you in an open-world where you, along with four others, have to restore power to four bases (Dino survival game-mode, only game-mode currently available) using four types of vehicles (a hover bike with no armaments, a jeep with a machine gun, a robot and a VTOL-aircraft) in order to defeat the game. Each time you activate a generator, five waves of dinosaurs (made up of Raptors, T-rexes and flyings Rhams that can pick up players and drop them) will try to destroy the generator. If they are succesful, the base stores will close and you can no longer buy new equipment, upgrades, vehicles or resupply your character. You can, however, repair the generator. There are three classes the player can pick from and each of these have their own starting equipment and unique special ability. (The medic can heal, the soldier can fly and the scout can cloak). This all sounds like good fun and if everything works like it should, it can be. However, most of the time gameplay is marred by an incredible amount of bugs, haunted by constant crashing, poor graphics, monotony and the absence of a tutorial, leaving you to die many deaths before figuring out what it is exactly that the game wants of you and even after, you'll often get stuck inside the terrain, find yourself being forced to leave the server and rejoin just to sit the entire round out. In its current state, I could not recommend the game to any one; the developers need to step up and fix their product and never-ever release a game too early again. However, there are promises of (free) DLC on the horizon such as new maps, new game-modes and new dinosaurs and now the only question that remains is whether or not a software company can survive such a disastrous release? Bigger, more experienced companies have tried. And failed. Expand
  13. May 9, 2012
    1
    This game has had by far one of the worst launch builds i have ever had the opportunity to play. The menus hardly worked, joining/creating multiplayer or solo games was impossible many times, and the few times i did manage to get in the game it felt clunky and horribly unbalanced. The Devs are saying a god patch is coming today that will make everything "better" so hopefully they have managed to fix the majority of the bugs. However until more DLC comes out there just isnt enough to this game to keep me really interested only 3 dino types 1 of which can insta kill at long to close range using projectiles and melee, 3 classes of which 2 are suicidal choices unless you camp buildings or vehicles, 3 maps, and no real persistence to the game since you lose all items/upgrades at the end of each match and there is no ranking system. At this point the only thing that would make this game really fun is 5 player co-op but with MP completely broken for most people right now that's not really an option. Hopefully in a month or 2 once the game is properly patched and some DLC has been released the game will be more enjoyable. I just hope that the launch and lack of content doesn't drive away the community. UPDATE: Patch 1 made the server browser and hosting/joining games at least possible for a good number of people. However crashes and bugs are still pretty bad. The patch even brought about a lot of new bugs since once again spiral was in a rush and did not test the patch thoroughly in an attempt to save time. Expand
  14. May 10, 2012
    1
    Unpolished, buggy, bad sounds, music that does not fit the "action" on the screen, no environment sounds. That's Dino Beatdown in a nutshell. Sorry, but that's unacceptable for 10â
  15. May 7, 2012
    0
    Horrible, just horrible. This is a money grab, steer away! I wish I could get my money back. This game is the first game I've ever bought on steam and am completely disgusted with.
  16. May 12, 2012
    2
    Dino Beatdown is a survival type game, where humans with high-tech weaponry fight hordes of oncoming dinosaurs. It takes place in vast landscapes, where the player must activate the power generator of one out of four bases and fight the incoming dinos. The game was first released in a rather horrendous state, making it impossible or very difficult to join or make servers, the game would crash often and such. While these issues have (for me) largely been ironed out with the first patch, the game is still full of glitches. Sound breaks down after map switch and the first person gun models don't properly react when you fire (leaving you with a feeling of killing raptors with a potato gun). While these are issues I'm sure will be solved by the developers, the game also suffers from some problems in the design. For one, the assault class seems to be the only to have an easy way of getting out of the way of the larger dinosaurs with the jet pack. The medic especially seems to be in trouble when faced with an angry t-rex, leaving them with the rather boring option of staying in-doors popping out every once in a while to pump a clipload of lead in the big lizard. The dinosaurs can't climb, so the right thing to do is get on top of something and shoot the hordes of dinos who are running around below like it's a free crack handout in a bad neighborhood. It is kind of boring that the smartest thing you can do as an "assault" is to just camp on top of something. When you die you'll have to wait until the other players either kill enough dinosaurs or they die themselves and you lose the game. This might be a very long time since the last player can just take a vehicle and go any old direction. We seem to lose a lot of players who die early after a spawn, because they don't want to sit around for 15 minutes waiting to re-spawn. The game now has an option for buying a new life after dying, but if you can't afford it you'll still have to wait. There are only three types of dinosaurs in the game - T-Rex, Raptor and Rahm. While the rahm (a flying dino that'll pick you up and fly away with you) is an interesting touch, the design hasn't been followed through here either: only the assault class has a way of surviving when dropped by a rahm. The recon and the medic will just spatter on the ground below. Killing these three types of dinos quickly become boring, and the game could really do with some more kinds. The game has a selection of vehicles, but alas, here the design is again lacking. The flying type of vehicle is a game winner - the dinos can hardly hurt you and you get to spend the rest of the game bombing defenseless lizards on the ground (and the terrain is game-from-1999-ugly when seen from above). The vehicle direction controls are mouse based, with is fine for the flying vehicle, but just feels clunky and incomplete for the ground based ones. The game is in a much better state than when it first came out (now it is playable), but that also means that all the design flaws come out. It's fun to exploit some dumb dinos who can't get to you, but it will grow old very soon. Expand
  17. May 7, 2012
    0
    Steam's worst ever release. UI doesn't work properly, uses other game's sound effects, crashes, bugs everywhere, horrible etc, do i even need to go on? It really is THE worst. I can't believe Valve rejects some games and approved this MESS. Do not buy. Some people are defending this just cause they're indie devs. You know what? Support good indie devs that make good games, like Lone survivor and A Valley without wind, NOT THIS! It's not even worth 1 cent. That's how awful it is. Buy anything but this. Expand
  18. Jul 17, 2012
    3
    I made the mistake of purchasing this game before checking out any reviews. This was compounded by the fact that I bought a 4-pack, since the game has online coop. Who doesn't love online coop? Well, this game has made me regret that decision. Graphically it is fine, and the dinosaurs look cool, but that's where the good stops. Game breaking bugs, uninspired game play, and a myriad of drama-bombs involving the developer should be more than enough to keep you away. Expand
  19. May 5, 2012
    0
    I can do Better myself in UDK or even Cryengine, This game doesnt worth anything at all. This game is a joke. and the worst part is i can't even play online, Because server are down. Broken Game upon release, and they already talk about DLC ... Just Stay away from this game
  20. May 6, 2012
    0
    Game is Bugged to all hell. A game should not be released if half the users cant even launch it. Feels more like a Pre-Alpha than an actual Game. Game is way too hard as of now since half the time you get killed by a bugged out T-Rex than from actually failing. Being an Indie Studio and cheap game is not an excuse for release such a poor product.
  21. May 7, 2012
    0
    This game is bad, real bad. The makers have acknowledged that the current product, which is the only thing we have to judge right now, is a severely buggy game that should be in beta at best. This is nowhere near a '10' which a few people here seem to think. That is, by definition, putting this game in its current state up there with the greatest games of all time and just flat out silly especially when half of the current '10' reviews note that the game has potential or can be fun if they fix the issues. I'm sorry, but if a game deserves a 10 on any review then there is simply nothing else they need to improve on because the game is perfect. Dino Beatdown is not that game, at least not now. I'd wait for a sale or at the very least wait to see if the developers stick to their word and fix the issues here before buying. Trust me, there are A LOT of issues that need fixing. Best of luck to Spiral Games on both Dino Beatdown and their future projects. Expand
  22. May 9, 2012
    3
    I'm not sure if this game is an unpolished turd or an unpolished gem, so far the game feels incomplete and doesn't have much to set it apart as a fps. For some reason the raptors of them game attack the generator like it has a dead pig stuck somewhere in it, as a result it needs to constantly be repaired so weapons, vehicles, upgrades, and ammo can be purchased. You spend most of the game camping in a building or in a vehicle. If your character sneezes and farts at the same time they die. The character classes only determine your starting ability and gear, there's nothing else they do (no discounts on gear or vehicles). There's bugs too (alot). It will be a while (not sure when or if ever) before this game will be known as a minor success or a cheap flop, at the rate people are giving up on this game it might never become the game the developers envisioned it would be. The only positive thing about it thus far is the fact that it's only $9 on steam right now (regular price is $10). BUYER you have been warned that there is only one positive thing about it at this point in time. Expand
  23. May 7, 2012
    0
    Words can not even express how bad this game is. I was very excite when I first heard about a coop survival game with dinosaurs and yet when it launch it because a study in aggravation and disappointment.
  24. May 11, 2012
    0
    Nope. Don't buy. This game is nowhere near ready to be released. The devs say that a "last minute addition to the game" caused the bugs that are present, but it is hard to believe that could result in the massive amount of fail in this game. The framerate chugs (and I have a higher-end pc), the environments are redundant (you can easily see the pattern in the environments by using your jetpack to get to a high place), the graphics are below average, the enemy AI is extremely retarded (They are rarely able to find their way into a building if you're hiding in one). Fortunately for you, you probably won't have to experience these bugs because more than likely you will not even be able to start up the game or join a server. I have yet to be able to play with my friends because I either mysteriously lose connection, or the server (which is populated by just 1 or 2 of my friends) says that it's full with invisible men that don't really exist. Sure it may be a cheap game but the devs have so far failed to meet their promises of goods in return for my money. It's like I went to Subway and paid the 8 dollars for a meal and they just gave me bread crumbs in return. What do you expect me to do with this? The devs even went so far as to pretty much commit fraudulant advertising for their game. They say you can blow up everything with their destructible environments. No. The only thing you can destroy the in the game are the vehicles, yourself, and dinos. It's class based, but there are only 3 classes so don't get excited. It's suppose to be fast-paced. No. You can hide in the buildings and it will take forever for the dinos to find you. You can kill tons of dinosaurs! No. Sure, there are waves with tons of dinos in them, but there are only three different types (raptors, trex, pterodactyl). They say the dino AI is dynamic. If you consider them running into walls and getting stuck in corners trying to find their way into the building, then sure, it's dynamic. They say you can go anywhere in huge, endless environments. No. The environments are pretty large, but they sure as hell aren't endless. On the steam forums, the developers lock threads where players offer criticisms for the game. They say they are offering ingame incentives because of how badly the game has launched. Uhhh, the large majority of us can't even play the game so how the hell is that going to help us? Bottom line is that if you buy this "game", you will regret it. Save yourself the time and cash and stay far, far away from this title and anything else that happens to come from this piece of trash developer. Expand
  25. May 8, 2012
    0
    Shocking absolutley shocking. Dave Prassel is a disgrace to the indy scene and Steam are allowing him to moderate one of their forums!!! for the game. Keep in mind guys he's also got staff placing 10 stars but it's their own choice ;) Stay clear of this title and the dev. Can't wait for Steam to refund my purchase. I suggest reviewing the Steam Forum for this game. If purchased go to steam and request a refund. The game just does not work. Expand
  26. May 9, 2012
    1
    Just a very buggy amateurish attempt at game making. People involved have no idea of the difference between mod making and a commercial release. Not worth even the 8.00 its selling for.
  27. May 13, 2012
    0
    Game is far from finished, and is so broken it's unplayable.
    Frequently crash bad graphics, bad animations, bad sound, server problems and I could continue this list, but the game does not deserve anymore of my time.
    My advise, is stay away from this game, do not buy this game, use you money on a game that deserves it.
  28. May 14, 2012
    0
    Easily one of the worst games I've ever played, and the fact that the devs claim this is all due to a "last minute" glitch and try to put the blame off on Steam removes any last vestige of confidence or respect I have for them. Currently, we're in a week after this game's launch, and it is still plagued by crippling bugs. Multiplayer servers constantly appear full when they are in fact empty, thus preventing you from ever playing a game with your friends, and dinosaurs clip through walls and run around aimlessly fueled by the immense stupidity their "dynamic" ai affords them. I'm not even going to bother touching on the horrendous quality, lackluster graphics, lack of enemy variety, or gameplay bugs, because I don't need to. I'm also pretty sure Steam didn't have anything to do with those... Buyers beware, this game is an utter piece of festering garbage. I don't even want my money back. If there was some way I could just return this game to steam and have it removed from my library I would. 0 out of 10 Expand
  29. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    Without a doubt one of the worse games I have ever played. At launch it was riddled with bugs, and has still yet to be fixed. I have a pc that plays all current titles maxed, and this game looks like crap. It looks and plays nothing like the video on steam. I didn't expect much for $10 and out of all the 400 games I have on steam it was the first title I was hell bent on getting a refund for, it's that bad. I finally got a refund after 6 emails to support. I gave them a chance to fix this title, and if you look into the development team you will find out why the game is so bad, and always will be. David Prassel is a thief, and basically not only did the project leader steal $20,000 of kickstarter funds and then fire most of the development team, the developers also seem to have stolen assets from several other projects. Former employees and many reporters are backing this up. Stay away, far, far away. Go play Tribes (free to play) and 10x better game than this garbage if you Expand
  30. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    I've been holding onto some hope for this game sense the potential was there, but the execution from the start was just really off. But it seems now that the company who first developed the game even seems unsure of their own product since in their newest update they are reworking the majority of the game, and actually dropped the First Person aspect of the game, and now making it a Third Person Shooter, while also taking away three of the originally released maps, and bringing in only two new ones into the update stating they need to rework the old maps using 'new technology'. The game was fun for a brief period of time, but it seems that this is destined to be a game that the developers will probably fiddle around with trying to make it seem worthwhile before dropping it all together due to the lack of popularity. Expand
  31. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    worst steam purchase ever. game feels like an alpha, and not even a good one. it's just extremely lacking. look up video reviews before buying it, even at $1 it's not worth it imho.
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. May 1, 2013
    35
    It may be fun if we play with friends for a few hours… but it may be not. There are many games fighting in the FPS genre, and it's very hard to find something worth highlighting in this one.
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    45
    While Orion: Dino Horde has potential, it will certainly fall short of even modest expectations. If it weren't for there already being quite the track record of bad Jurassic games, I'd suggest that fighting dinosaurs has never been so dull. A shame, since it's evident that the developers put a lot of time into it... it's just too bad they didn't focus on making it fun.
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    30
    Perhaps I shouldn’t have been surprised that ORION: Dino Horde was such a disappointment. The gaming industry has been rife with rumors about scurrilous behaviour concerning a very similar title, Dino Beatdown. ORION: Dino Horde's rough edges suggest that it has been quickly brought to market and cynically shoveled out to gamers in the vain hope that its over the top premise will bring in a few bucks.