Orion: Dino Horde Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 400 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also released as "ORION: Dino Beatdown") ORION: Dino Beatdown is an Open World, Class-Based Cooperative Survival Sci-Fi FPS. The game puts five players together in huge, endless environments in which they must work together to accomplish objectives and survive the devastating Dinosaur(Also released as "ORION: Dino Beatdown") ORION: Dino Beatdown is an Open World, Class-Based Cooperative Survival Sci-Fi FPS. The game puts five players together in huge, endless environments in which they must work together to accomplish objectives and survive the devastating Dinosaur horde.

    Players earn in-game credits which can be used to upgrade their abilities, purchase new weapons, unlock weapon upgrades and call in vehicles in order to ensure survival.

    Experience the future as never before. Make use of Jetpacks, Medic Guns, Cloaking Devices and equip yourself with state-of-the-art weapons ranging from Shotguns, Machine Guns, Rocket Launchers, Laser Rifles. If that isnt enough then simply tear up the environments in a number of vehicles ranging from Hover Bikes, Buggies, Mechs, Tanks and VTOLs.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    A poorly-made, unashamedly dumb game that nevertheless offers equally dumb entertainment. [July 2012, p.69]
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    45
    While Orion: Dino Horde has potential, it will certainly fall short of even modest expectations. If it weren't for there already being quite the track record of bad Jurassic games, I'd suggest that fighting dinosaurs has never been so dull. A shame, since it's evident that the developers put a lot of time into it... it's just too bad they didn't focus on making it fun.
  3. May 1, 2013
    35
    It may be fun if we play with friends for a few hours… but it may be not. There are many games fighting in the FPS genre, and it's very hard to find something worth highlighting in this one.
  4. May 9, 2012
    30
    It's out and it costs money, despite being far from ready for prime time. Even as a quirky indie release with a budget price, Orion asks for too big a leap of faith that it'll eventually work out.
  5. May 24, 2012
    30
    Orion: Dino Beatdown is a disaster. Bugs, glitch and the lack of contents plague the entire production. It is more an alpha version than a finished game.
  6. May 14, 2012
    20
    Apart from the bugs, the game is just so utterly unappealing, aesthetically and from a gameplay perspective, that it feels almost like a tech demo (of tech from 1999), rather than an honest-to-goodness release title. Please don't waste your hard-earned dough on this mutt.
  7. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Orion: Dino Beatdown is an entirely broken FPS. [Sept 2012, p.77]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 194
  1. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    This game proves why critic scores are pretty much useless for judging the value of a game. Play as dino or man, hunter or hunter. Eat orThis game proves why critic scores are pretty much useless for judging the value of a game. Play as dino or man, hunter or hunter. Eat or shoot your prey. Drive your friends off a cliff. Eat raptors for health.

    Buy this and play it with your mates. Solo is fun but co-op is insanely fun.
    Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    This game is so awesome i love to plat it with my friends, it gets better by the update and love to play it !
    sometimes it is laggy but
    This game is so awesome i love to plat it with my friends, it gets better by the update and love to play it !
    sometimes it is laggy but that's not really a problem that can be easly solved :)
    Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    The game is buggy, but even so I enjoy it as is. The bugs being patched and all of the promised free DLC will be amazing. I am more thanThe game is buggy, but even so I enjoy it as is. The bugs being patched and all of the promised free DLC will be amazing. I am more than patient as the game only costs about 8$ less than that if you buy the 4pack.

    It has room for improvement but I enjoy it as I said. Even with bugs I have figured out ways to play to the best of my ability despite tons of t-rexs coming after me (I hope they allow us to turn on T-Rex swarm in the patches to let us continue this)
    Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    This game is buggy that's true but its also a hell of a lot of fun. Is it dumb? Yes. Is it poorly optimized? yes. but the devs have patched aThis game is buggy that's true but its also a hell of a lot of fun. Is it dumb? Yes. Is it poorly optimized? yes. but the devs have patched a lot that made this game unplayable. Honestly I think the game is about a 7.5 out of ten but i went higher because of the amount of OLD reviews that dont accurately show the game as is. It's Also free to try this week on Steam, so why not give it a try? Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2015
    6
    It's pretty obvious that this game is trying to be exactly like Halo...with uhhh, dinosaurs. They really make it no secret either; theIt's pretty obvious that this game is trying to be exactly like Halo...with uhhh, dinosaurs. They really make it no secret either; the graphics, art style, and gameplay are almost identical in every way possible. The layouts of the maps are also very similar, you drive around in vehicles that bare a striking resemblance to Halo vehicles, and oh yeah, you're in space too. Yep, that's right, it's dinosaurs in space. Who woulda thought, right? Even the announcer's voice sounds like they tried to replicate the announcer from Halo. Which I suppose isn't a bad thing, Halo is now dead for the PC anyway, and if you're going to steal from a game, Halo is a pretty good one to steal from. Don't believe me? Well pay the dollar to see for yourself!

    Which brings me to my next point, this game only costs a dollar, the price of a cheeseburger. It also works perfectly with a 360 controller, feels like a AAA title from a few years ago, has dinosaurs galore in it, and like I said only costs 99 cents. What more do you want from a game that costs less than a taco? Sure it's got some problems, but they seem pretty minor when you take the price into consideration. Even if you get just a few hours of gameplay out of it, you're still getting a great deal.

    So basically it boils down to the community with this one. As with every other 'online only' shooter, 'Orion: Prelude' will need to rely entirely on it's player base to keep it around, and seeing as how the developers seem dedicated to improving it, along with the low price point, I can see this game only gaining in popularity. All-in-all, if you're looking for something familiar, without having to shell out a lot of money, and are really into first person shooters, then you can't go wrong with this title.
    Expand
  6. May 9, 2012
    1
    Just a very buggy amateurish attempt at game making. People involved have no idea of the difference between mod making and a commercialJust a very buggy amateurish attempt at game making. People involved have no idea of the difference between mod making and a commercial release. Not worth even the 8.00 its selling for. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2014
    0
    Me and my friends got this game so that we could have fun on co-op, since we heard from numerous other reviews that the co-op was good on thisMe and my friends got this game so that we could have fun on co-op, since we heard from numerous other reviews that the co-op was good on this game. However I believe that we have been mislead by these said reviews because we did not find the co-op to be any fun at all. Mainly because the matchmaking system in this game is broken, and the constant connection problems prevented us from playing online at all.

    If the multilpayer wasn't broken and nearly unplayable. The gameplay in general of this game is repetitive and boring. The dinosaurs enemies don't seem all that exciting and fun to shoot when their animations were lazily created. The weapon mechanics and the special ability system aren't anything special either that would at least add some interest into this game.

    In the end, I have to say that this game was a waste of money for me and my buddies and probably for you as well if you do decide to get it.
    Expand

See all 194 User Reviews