User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 138

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    Sit back, relax, and gobble bubbles. I thought it was supposed to be relaxing, but it's a stretch to classify some of the levels as casual. A great game to play when you are in an alcohol induced stuper.
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    Osmos. Look very relaxing. Nope, nothing more WRONG. All this relaxing and calm environment turn to s*it after few levels. This game is hard as hell... normally i would count it as a plus, but in Osmos difficulty level is bit too high. Well, it's all about absorbing bubbles to make bigger bubbles. It doesnt sound exciting and surely it is not. It's just... not fun. I was really hopefulOsmos. Look very relaxing. Nope, nothing more WRONG. All this relaxing and calm environment turn to s*it after few levels. This game is hard as hell... normally i would count it as a plus, but in Osmos difficulty level is bit too high. Well, it's all about absorbing bubbles to make bigger bubbles. It doesnt sound exciting and surely it is not. It's just... not fun. I was really hopeful after the tutorial, but quickly all the positive feel of the game vanished. It rapidly gets repetitive and irritating, but not in a manner "Im so angry, i will eventually beat you". The only words in my mouth sounded like "Damn this game, where's the quit button?" Expand
  3. MarkM
    Nov 27, 2009
    7
    You might rate Osmos low if you haven't tried enough of it's features; or, as a Casual Gamer, possibly overated. I'm not a full-time Casual Gamer, but enjoy them occassionaly. Osmos is an Indie game. That itself should warn all buyers it's probably going to be a unique game experience. I got it for the $2 one day sale, so that might be part of the reason I purchased it You might rate Osmos low if you haven't tried enough of it's features; or, as a Casual Gamer, possibly overated. I'm not a full-time Casual Gamer, but enjoy them occassionaly. Osmos is an Indie game. That itself should warn all buyers it's probably going to be a unique game experience. I got it for the $2 one day sale, so that might be part of the reason I purchased it honestly. But the game "is" puzzle related. Some reviewers miss that it's not just about absorbing things, simply. Yes, it's the main idea, but there are different obsticles you must overcome. But, its not like your aimlessly floating around absorbing things, as some might have you think. The game isn't breakthrough, but its unique, which helps it survive. It's short to. I would only buy this if you are a fan of unique casual games. And, certianly, dont expect a storyline either. Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2010
    7
    Very relaxing and beautiful, but I found that each level started out really hard, and I'd have to reconstruct the level a few times to get myself off the ground. But once you have, the ball is rolling, and it's then fairly difficult to lose unless your attention lapses.
    Mainly, this is just a game good for soaking you up in its relaxing, spacey feel and I don't think it really functions
    Very relaxing and beautiful, but I found that each level started out really hard, and I'd have to reconstruct the level a few times to get myself off the ground. But once you have, the ball is rolling, and it's then fairly difficult to lose unless your attention lapses.
    Mainly, this is just a game good for soaking you up in its relaxing, spacey feel and I don't think it really functions too well as a puzzle game.
    Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    5
    Osmos would like to make you believe that it is a relaxing ambient game, but that is mostly not true at all. The description even makes the laughable usage of the word "elegant" to describe its game play style. It couldn't be farther from the truth. The controls are clunky, obtuse, and unprecise. The music is boring, uninspired, and uneventful. It feels like you're playing a simplistic andOsmos would like to make you believe that it is a relaxing ambient game, but that is mostly not true at all. The description even makes the laughable usage of the word "elegant" to describe its game play style. It couldn't be farther from the truth. The controls are clunky, obtuse, and unprecise. The music is boring, uninspired, and uneventful. It feels like you're playing a simplistic and limited cell phone game, and for the most part, that is correct. The difficulty is simply broken. In the first five or so levels, you will become acquainted with the game's narrow mechanics, and every single level after that, you will learn lessons in what unaffluent programming looks like and experiment with poor game design. Worst of all, is that Osmos has the tendency to flicker the screen and generally display what appears to be coding garbage and fragments of menus at random and persistent times. The only way to correct this serious problem is figure out how to quit the game without being able to read the menu options due to the bugs, and restart it. This screen flickering and fragments display problem will continue incessantly, and there are many others who have tried the game who have the exact same problems. All one has to do is go to the Steam forum for the game and read about the numerous problems this poor attempt at game design has to offer. The developers have not shown any signs of life in relation to correcting the game's various serious flaws, or made any relevant commentary whatsoever. They just don't care. For a game that is supposed to be relaxing and intriguing, Osmos is the perfect antonym to those experiences, and should only be given a try by the most patient and forgiving gaming persons around. This game is yet another example of ideas being implemented lousily and in an incredibly unsound manner. It is an unbalanced and confined mess, and its value is clearly in the realm of free cell phone games. The developer's thoughts on what an adequate asking price for such a poor showing is also downright ridiculous, as for the same amount, one could make much better use of their hard earned money. Osmos is a drab cell phone game reminiscent of a screen saver. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2012
    5
    Eat smaller things to become bigger. It's a tried and true concept with a little twist; moving makes you smaller. Although the visuals and the calming music give a good first impression, this game is just too repetitive. Maybe I'm just not good at it, but the game feels more about luck than skill. You're encouraged to go slowly, but the game punishes you if you don't grow fast enough.Eat smaller things to become bigger. It's a tried and true concept with a little twist; moving makes you smaller. Although the visuals and the calming music give a good first impression, this game is just too repetitive. Maybe I'm just not good at it, but the game feels more about luck than skill. You're encouraged to go slowly, but the game punishes you if you don't grow fast enough. Needless to say, I found myself dying multiple times in levels and just winded up rage quitting. Still, a good game, until you find out that every level is essentially the same and require next to no skill. Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    5
    After playing successfully completing the majority of the game within a couple hours, I can say the game feels lacking. I had hoped for a microbiological or cellular-level version of 'Feeding Frenzy' + "Spore" gameplay... however the game is very simple, with no skill-tree or perks, and graphics seem retro.
  8. AWG
    Jul 7, 2013
    7
    Characterized by some great concepts and a really good implementation, Osmos has nice graphics and compelling musics too. Perfect to kill half a day.
  9. Nov 20, 2013
    5
    Maybe this game isn't for me; but from a constructive standpoint there are many that may enjoy this title… It’s challenging, pretty and quite a chilled soothing experience… It’s also annoying as hell! But maybe that’s just my incompetence at such fiddly titles! The object of the game is simple morph with shapes smaller than yourself to grow in size while avoiding the enemy, whom you alsoMaybe this game isn't for me; but from a constructive standpoint there are many that may enjoy this title… It’s challenging, pretty and quite a chilled soothing experience… It’s also annoying as hell! But maybe that’s just my incompetence at such fiddly titles! The object of the game is simple morph with shapes smaller than yourself to grow in size while avoiding the enemy, whom you also must grow larger than to be able to “EAT” before he gets you… It may sound a simple concept but it truly irritates me on every level. I really hate these strategy luck based games! That aside it is a very pretty game and I understand why people may enjoy this! Expand
  10. JasonV
    Jan 6, 2010
    5
    I'd say it's worth $2 if it's ever on steam for that cheap again, but I'd feel pretty ripped off if I got it for 10... It's not like it's a bad game, it's just not very expansive. And you can forget about sipping your coffee while you relax in front of a soothing game where you are absorbing other essences because if you just sit around and let your I'd say it's worth $2 if it's ever on steam for that cheap again, but I'd feel pretty ripped off if I got it for 10... It's not like it's a bad game, it's just not very expansive. And you can forget about sipping your coffee while you relax in front of a soothing game where you are absorbing other essences because if you just sit around and let your being float across the screen, you will get swallowed up in 20 seconds... Nope, you have to be active if you want to win on most levels. I give this game a 5 because it is a $10 game. If it was permanently $2 this would be changed to a 7.5 to 8 Expand
  11. JasonMartin
    Aug 28, 2009
    7
    The game had a ton of potential, and it IS one of a kind, but it's maddenly frustrating a LOT of the time, which takes away from the supposed "Ambient" nature it was promoted under.

    Worth picking up, but we warned, this game is incredibly frustrating. I think had the game included a time mechanic, ALA Braid, to allow you to go back and fix a mistake, it would have lowered the
    The game had a ton of potential, and it IS one of a kind, but it's maddenly frustrating a LOT of the time, which takes away from the supposed "Ambient" nature it was promoted under.

    Worth picking up, but we warned, this game is incredibly frustrating. I think had the game included a time mechanic, ALA Braid, to allow you to go back and fix a mistake, it would have lowered the frustration level a bit. 7/10 generously.
    Expand
  12. Demigod
    Nov 26, 2009
    7
    This game is incredibly difficult. While it is very "zen" and "relaxing", it is also very taxing on your patience. It's not necessarily a bad thing, but if you don't feel up to a challenge, you won't make it far in this game. That being said, the gameplay is very polished and there are some cleverly designed scenarios. Music and background create a very soothing mood. Pick This game is incredibly difficult. While it is very "zen" and "relaxing", it is also very taxing on your patience. It's not necessarily a bad thing, but if you don't feel up to a challenge, you won't make it far in this game. That being said, the gameplay is very polished and there are some cleverly designed scenarios. Music and background create a very soothing mood. Pick it up if you have a couple extra bucks. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 85
    The small team at Hemisphere has crafted an alluring, captivating experience that is a nice change of pace from the frantic action videogames often provide.
  2. This crafty and calming puzzle game won't addict you, but it will lull you into the occasional trance.
  3. In the end, however, $10 is a bargain for such a creative and addictive puzzle title.