Osmos Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the ambient world of Osmos: elegant, physics-based gameplay, dreamlike visuals, and a minimalist, electronic soundtrack. Your objective is to grow by absorbing other motes. Propel yourself by ejecting matter behind you. But be wise: ejecting matter also shrinks you. Relax - good thingsEnter the ambient world of Osmos: elegant, physics-based gameplay, dreamlike visuals, and a minimalist, electronic soundtrack. Your objective is to grow by absorbing other motes. Propel yourself by ejecting matter behind you. But be wise: ejecting matter also shrinks you. Relax - good things come to those who wait. [Steam] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Everybody who has the dream, and I am not sure if there is someone out there, to be a small particle, should live his dream within this game!
  2. Frustration and lack of tension aside, Osmos is an excellent game. I would only hesitate to recommend this to the most diehard ambient music hater, and I imagine such a person would be too angry for video games anyway.
  3. 85
    The small team at Hemisphere has crafted an alluring, captivating experience that is a nice change of pace from the frantic action videogames often provide.
  4. A relaxing, addictive and intuitive action-puzzler. [Christmas 2009, p.86]
  5. Another charming indie. [Dec 2009, p.83]
  6. Osmos is great fun in short sessions. The basic idea is simple, but the levels stay interesting. Amazing soundtrack and funky visuals make Osmos a good way to chill out. [Mar 2010]
  7. Independent arcade surprises with a polished game, physics and strong concept. But frustrating moments and overall shortness kills the fun make it forgettable. [Issue#189]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. AliciaY
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    It's incredibly addictive, a little difficult to master, but a price and a gem for an incredible good deal. Now we have to wonder... It's incredibly addictive, a little difficult to master, but a price and a gem for an incredible good deal. Now we have to wonder... What if Spore had been this good? >.> Expand
  2. Zelakon
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Ignore Coeco's limited and impatient account of this game; it's the equivalent of saying your only goal in an FPS is to shoot Ignore Coeco's limited and impatient account of this game; it's the equivalent of saying your only goal in an FPS is to shoot things. Osmos, from start to finish, is excellent. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Amazingly well designed game. Very interesting. It's like an action science lesson. Did you read me? An action science lesson. Insightful,Amazingly well designed game. Very interesting. It's like an action science lesson. Did you read me? An action science lesson. Insightful, welcoming and gorgeous. Expand
  4. Demigod
    Nov 26, 2009
    7
    This game is incredibly difficult. While it is very "zen" and "relaxing", it is also very taxing on your patience. It's not necessarily This game is incredibly difficult. While it is very "zen" and "relaxing", it is also very taxing on your patience. It's not necessarily a bad thing, but if you don't feel up to a challenge, you won't make it far in this game. That being said, the gameplay is very polished and there are some cleverly designed scenarios. Music and background create a very soothing mood. Pick it up if you have a couple extra bucks. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    5
    Maybe this game isn't for me; but from a constructive standpoint there are many that may enjoy this title… It’s challenging, pretty and quiteMaybe this game isn't for me; but from a constructive standpoint there are many that may enjoy this title… It’s challenging, pretty and quite a chilled soothing experience… It’s also annoying as hell! But maybe that’s just my incompetence at such fiddly titles! The object of the game is simple morph with shapes smaller than yourself to grow in size while avoiding the enemy, whom you also must grow larger than to be able to “EAT” before he gets you… It may sound a simple concept but it truly irritates me on every level. I really hate these strategy luck based games! That aside it is a very pretty game and I understand why people may enjoy this! Expand
  6. JasonV
    Jan 6, 2010
    5
    I'd say it's worth $2 if it's ever on steam for that cheap again, but I'd feel pretty ripped off if I got it for 10... I'd say it's worth $2 if it's ever on steam for that cheap again, but I'd feel pretty ripped off if I got it for 10... It's not like it's a bad game, it's just not very expansive. And you can forget about sipping your coffee while you relax in front of a soothing game where you are absorbing other essences because if you just sit around and let your being float across the screen, you will get swallowed up in 20 seconds... Nope, you have to be active if you want to win on most levels. I give this game a 5 because it is a $10 game. If it was permanently $2 this would be changed to a 7.5 to 8 Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2011
    1
    Good graphics and relaxing music (a bit repetitive though). The game is unfortunately not relaxing at all when you reach higher levels. MakeGood graphics and relaxing music (a bit repetitive though). The game is unfortunately not relaxing at all when you reach higher levels. Make one or two mistakes and it's over... you have to start the level from the beginning. Very frustrating. In advanced levels you'd better count on your luck. Collapse

See all 36 User Reviews