Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    100
    OOTP is a curiosity that reveals itself to be an addicting chess match, jostling for position against the 30 other teams while proving your worth as owner of the team. Interest in this game is almost entirely dictated by your interest in baseball, management simulations and strategy games.
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    95
    Much like last year, Out of the Park 2014 shows why it's one of the best baseball management simulators out there. Whether you want to take control of a pre-made team, play through any past season from as far back as 1871, or create your own league and rules, OOTP 14 gives you practically endless possibilities and options to manage a baseball team.
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    92
    No frills, no gimmicks, no nonsense, Out of the Park Baseball 14 is such a true-to-form sports experience that its complicated gameplay and plain-jane delivery becomes refreshing and exciting in a world of big graphical spectacles. While OOTP will never take the place of games like The Show and MLB 2k, it can supplement those gaming experiences and provide a different take on what the baseball world is all about.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    OOTP 14 doesn't feature huge changes from last year's model.
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    89
    OOTP 14 is a complicated, in-depth simulator geared towards the hardcore gamers of fantasy leagues.
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    80
    The best baseball management game around. If you're into the sport, you just have to buy this game. If you're not, still buy it. The ball is in your court now.
  7. Aug 25, 2013
    75
    Out of the Park Baseball 14, like it predecessors, does exactly what it sets out to do-it provides the hardcore fan with the most detailed front office sim experience possible.
  8. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    While Out of the Park 14 is a fun fantasy styled game, gamers with not much interest in baseball or waiting (because of the real time aspect) won’t enjoy this game as much as sports fans and fantasy sports players.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This game is a must have for Baseball fans. I'm a Baseball fan, and I haven't been this addicted to a game in a LONG LONG time. This game is just that good. It's not meant to replace MLB: The Show, rather it's meant to compliment it. This game is much more simulation based than The Show, and really shows you the GM side of Baseball. Great game for Billy Beane wannabes. Gotta say, it's super fun to finish 1st in your division and win the World Series in this game. Heck, it's even enjoyable waiting during loading screens! because during loading screens, the game tells you all sorts of interesting things about the great game of Baseball. For example, I learned that Babe Ruth pitched a 14 inning complete game once in the WS. Also, the season Roger Maris hit 61 bombs, he wasn't walked even once! overall great stuff to learn for any baseball fan. If there is one thing wrong with this game, it's that you don't fully get the feeling that you're playing in the MLB. There is an optional add-on you can download from the add-on center in the game itself (another very good feature) that provides you with all the MLB logos, player faces, and managers. Still, many of the players are depicted with great inaccuracy, and generally the feel of the Majors is lost. Full Review »
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    If you love baseball or are a fan of sports sims this game is dead on solid. Play it right out of the box or customize it pretty much any wayIf you love baseball or are a fan of sports sims this game is dead on solid. Play it right out of the box or customize it pretty much any way you want. Great online forums with awesome suport from both users and the developers. Online leagues and free user created mods to top it all off. Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This game is so realistic, which is why it's so fun for me. I get to make my team how I want them to be. I'm in total control and I justThis game is so realistic, which is why it's so fun for me. I get to make my team how I want them to be. I'm in total control and I just enjoy seeing the history of the league unveil. You know a game is good when you are genuinely sad to see a fictional player retire. Full Review »