Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1091 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the desolate mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. An abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in complete secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip from an inside source, independent journalist Miles Upshur breaks into the facility, and what he discovers walks a terrifying line between science and religion, nature and something entirely different. Once inside, his only hope of escape lies with the terrible truth at the heart of Mount Massive. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    93
    Red Barrels have done a fantastic job combining an intensely disquieting setting, a unique visual look, and an incredibly effective camera gimmick to ensure that nobody escapes Mount Massive without a few nightmares.
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    Outlast perfects this self-inflicted madness in every area of its design, and it's absolutely petrifying. I love it.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    85
    It’s certain not to appeal to all gamers, and while I often personally use games to relax and blow off steam, I find that after playing an hour or so of Outlast I’m too wound up to play anymore. Good thing then that the whole game is about five hours long.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    Outlast is the pinnacle of a less is more design philosophy. While other horror titles use jump scares and musical cues Outlast utilizes startling imagery and precision timing to make you call for mommy.
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    A little but perfectly accessible, even greatly playable game. It puts forward its hero protagonist and his helplessness, its whimsical hazard, and its great number of properly placed scripts. While playing Outlast you will relive plenty of convulsive experiences, but you will chuckle at the very same time. Gameplay aside, if the game was a bit more creative, it could get a better grade.
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    78
    The initial hours, when played with a survivor’s unsure intent are electrifying, illuminating a slice of fast, animal terror. Before long, it settles into the mechanical, methodical, human realm, challenged by a few creative late-game curves. By all means check in, get a physical, but you might want to opt for outpatient care.
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    60
    As a budget Steam release, Outlast offers some cheap thrills for fans of the survival horror genre. Unfortunately its underwhelming visuals, combined with Red Barrel Games’ over-reliance on jump-scares ahead of more psychological frights, made my experience with it feel similar to walking through a haunted house: It’s scary, but not in a very clever way.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 253
  1. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed this game, I started off playing with mouse and keyboard but the 360 controller is by far the best way to play .
    This game
    is right up my alley, the story is twisted and the setting is the last place on earth I would want to be in person, this is the first horror game since Silent Hill 2 that I have been scared and had to really push myself to proceed into the nightmare which is going on in the game The tension in this game is awesome, having to always use the camera to see is a simple but very affective way of adding to the scary atmosphere and the fact you are defenceless sounds crap but offers excellent gameplay trying to survive the horror .
    I wont go into the story at all but in my opinion it just gets it right, I finished the game last night and would recommend this game to anyone, except people with heart conditions lol The game is best played alone, at night with the surround sound pumped up Enjoy
    Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    First of all. GREAT! All i could ever want of this game would be MORE. This is a psychological horror, burying deep down into your mind and F*cks with it. Roughly.
    There are 3 things that makes a game great.

    1. Gameplay. Is the gameplay easy to control? is it easy maneuvering in the world? Yes. everything feels smooth, and fluid. this also includes possibilities and interactivity. atmosphere is also included here. Outlast nails all of them.

    2. Plot. Is it a good story? Do you WANT to complete the objectives? What motivates you? well, yes. first, i felt pretty drawn forward by the fact that i was scared sh!tless. And also, you develop a personal hate to the bossing psychopaths in the asylum. So killing them brutally becomes the extreme wish. this is where the game wins.

    3. Engine. Graphics, sounds, animations. 4-5 here. but for the price, i'm not disappointed.

    First, play amnesia. Then play this. you'll love it if you loved amnesia. i'd even prefer this over amnesia

    Best horror game. EVER.
    Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Absolutely my favorite horror game to date. I felt the immersion within the first 10 minutes of game play. The best time to play is after nightfall. Lights off and undisturbed. Turn up the AC for a chilly room. Then blast the surround sound. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    I got really big horror exp., that didn't have before. Really good realization of story and gameplay. Outlast has bugs, that don't allow me to make my mark 10/10. So, 9/10. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    This game is what Amnesia could've been. When I think about my favorite horror titles from all time, I think about Silent Hill 2, Penumbra Black Plague and now this one. This review is going to be made with comparisons to Amnesia the Dark Descent, as it is claimed to be one of the best horror games of all time, while I try to justify the score of 8/10.

    The setting is an Asylum, which is slightly overplayed in horror but there haven't actual horror games I've played in the past decade that actually happen in it's entirety within one and it follows the rules of horror splendidly. Anyone can die at any time, including the protagonist. Bad things will happen to him and, although the ending was horrid, it still fit within the archetype of a horror story which made me appreciate it.

    The story is rather straightforward and somewhat clichéd. A company has reopened a massive asylum and has been performed not so ethical treatments within it that eventually go wrong. You are a journalist who's going to expose the company by breaking into the Asylum with only your wits and your trusty camera. Bad idea.

    So what does Outlast do right, what does it do wrong, and why is it scary? I'll try to explain this in as much detail as possible.

    The first comparison I will draw to Amnesia will happen right here, monster patrols. In Outlast, monster appearances are scripted, which is okay. The game is linear, the developers know where the player will come from and what his objective will be, they predict what they are going to do and react accordingly by preparing a nasty inmate to scare the balls out of you. This is done right in some instances, wrong in others. It's done wrong when you complete an objective and a monster just starts knocking at the closed door to break into where you are, and because you already expected this from playing all sorts of horror games were already hidden in the locker making it ineffective. It does it right when you get to an illuminated area thinking you're safe and the guy is actually hiding in the darkness in the distance, fully capable of seeing you and running at you. If you manage to escape and hide, and therefore not die because you have no means of defending yourself, he will eventually go away. Amnesia, does exactly the same thing, but this is where A.I. Behavior differs. The insane men of Outlast will keep patrolling a scripted path back and forth sometimes reacting to sound, sometimes not, while the monsters of Amnesia will wander off and eventually disappear once the music queue for monsters stops playing. Outlast manages to be scarier within this aspect, because the monsters are present and might catch you again, making you have to be on your toes constantly.

    The game is DARK. There is no 'dark vision' besides the night vision of your camera which in itself is horrible. This is not a bad thing. The lack of visibility makes the player more anxious, mainly if you can hear the guy who's out to kill you. You don't know where he is, and if you run into him face first you won't expect it. A careful player, who uses his camera correctly, might be able to go through the entire game without triggering any of the non-scripted encounters. But even then your heart will be pumping the entire time as the game pulls some unexpected tricks on you. Like a patient who's on a bed starts screaming calling the mad surgeon who's out to kill you to that location.

    Hiding spots aren't always effective, not even when a monster's seen you going into a room and closing the door to break line of sight. For the first half of the game you feel relatively safe when you see a hiding place but eventually the baddies will get smarter and actually check these places, making nowhere really safe. The player is never safe, and the game conveys this message splendidly in the second half as according to the rules of horror.

    However, I believe the enemies are slower than you, only having heard of a friend of mine being caught while escaping from a baddie and getting instantly killed. Because you can always escape, there is less tension than in Amnesia where the grunts were always faster. But, they balance this out by actually checking hiding spots as I've mentioned earlier. If you're running in a panic for a long time you're liable to make mistakes that will kill you.

    Graphically the game is just fine. I'm not a man who puts a lot of emphasis on graphics so I can't objectively tell the reader how good they are, the only thing actually bothering me in the game was how from a certain point to the very end, the blood on the main character's hands was always a wet texture. I understand that he never gets time to do anything about it, but the other explanation would be that he'd die from blood loss.

    OverallI rate the game an 8/10, a good game in the horror genre. It makes the same mistakes as some of it's predecessors, but brings with it some changes that might scare a gamer who's experienced in the genre.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    7
    The atmosphere and visuals are very well done, and lend greatly to the overall experience of the game. As a veteran to horror titles, however, I found the 'horror' aspect of the game to be somewhat lacking. Outlast certainly has it's share of creepy moments and well timed jump scares and is still a great game overall, but beyond the polish it felt as though something more was missing.

    My one real gripe with the game is that the vast majority of enemies you encounter in the game all follow a similar 'search and chase' AI that takes little effort to outsmart, which greatly detracts from the immersion and fear of evading and escaping them. There were also several times throughout the game when the "activate X number of things while evading a patrol" mechanic was used, all of which boiled down to performing the exact same "stay out of sight and move when they move" tactic, which took away from the overall experience for me. There were also a few times where I would become more frustrated than frightened over trying to deal with and evade enemies as I progressed.

    All of that said however, Outlast is still a very satisfying game to play, and is worth the asking price. Gameplay is smooth and fluid, character interaction with the environment is an uncommon and welcome touch, and the night vision mechanic is implemented very well. While it's not a game I would play through again, I certainly recommend it to anyone looking for another title in the horror genre to keep them occupied.
    Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    0
    This game was a total waste of money for me. I expected a different, though still fine tuned atmosphere in concert with the music as Amnesia The Dark Descent. I was thoroughly disappointed. This game is made of cheap scares to the fullest. Being set in an Asylum is already far from original for a terror game. The same plot than so many games about a uber evil corporation doing experiments blah you know the drill. Almost ALL scares I had where predicted before hand: "Oh this door is closed, I bet there will be a 5000db sound that will scare me to death." Every every time it happened. Seriously go buy Amnesia the dark descent instead of this veteran-made mainstream unoriginal terror game. Expand

See all 253 User Reviews