Outlast PC

Outlast Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1332 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the desolate mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. An abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in complete secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip fromIn the desolate mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. An abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in complete secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip from an inside source, independent journalist Miles Upshur breaks into the facility, and what he discovers walks a terrifying line between science and religion, nature and something entirely different. Once inside, his only hope of escape lies with the terrible truth at the heart of Mount Massive. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    93
    Red Barrels have done a fantastic job combining an intensely disquieting setting, a unique visual look, and an incredibly effective camera gimmick to ensure that nobody escapes Mount Massive without a few nightmares.
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    Outlast perfects this self-inflicted madness in every area of its design, and it's absolutely petrifying. I love it.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    85
    It’s certain not to appeal to all gamers, and while I often personally use games to relax and blow off steam, I find that after playing an hour or so of Outlast I’m too wound up to play anymore. Good thing then that the whole game is about five hours long.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    Outlast is the pinnacle of a less is more design philosophy. While other horror titles use jump scares and musical cues Outlast utilizes startling imagery and precision timing to make you call for mommy.
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    A little but perfectly accessible, even greatly playable game. It puts forward its hero protagonist and his helplessness, its whimsical hazard, and its great number of properly placed scripts. While playing Outlast you will relive plenty of convulsive experiences, but you will chuckle at the very same time. Gameplay aside, if the game was a bit more creative, it could get a better grade.
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    78
    The initial hours, when played with a survivor’s unsure intent are electrifying, illuminating a slice of fast, animal terror. Before long, it settles into the mechanical, methodical, human realm, challenged by a few creative late-game curves. By all means check in, get a physical, but you might want to opt for outpatient care.
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    60
    As a budget Steam release, Outlast offers some cheap thrills for fans of the survival horror genre. Unfortunately its underwhelming visuals, combined with Red Barrel Games’ over-reliance on jump-scares ahead of more psychological frights, made my experience with it feel similar to walking through a haunted house: It’s scary, but not in a very clever way.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 299
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Simply the most frightening game I've ever played. It presents a shockingly well polished game for a budget title price, and has become mySimply the most frightening game I've ever played. It presents a shockingly well polished game for a budget title price, and has become my favorite surprise hit of 2013. Outlast masters both the art of pop out scares and a slow burn tense atmosphere, made much more compelling by music that reacts to the situation and dozens of small touches like seeing your hands as you clutch to the edge of a corridor to peek around the next hallway or the heavy ragged breathing of the player's character exerted from fleeing for his life but desperately trying to keep quiet in his hiding place to escape the horrors chasing him. Also effective in building the tension is that the player's only way to see in the dark is through the night vision of the camera... which gives the world a very limited distance green/black view and also will quickly drain the batteries. You force yourself to creep through darkness and use up every bit of electricity from each set of batteries even though your vision is failing just to save those precious batteries for when you can't make it without them. As the song by Radiohead goes "You do it to yourself, you do, and that's what really hurts (or in this case, scares!)"

    It's not a long game, the designers seem to know better than to wear out their welcome and at 8 hours of play time I feel I've more than gotten my money's worth for a lifetime memorable experience. Thankfully I'm old and moved out because I'd owe my mother's "swear jar" a sock full of nickles for the outbursts I've had while fleeing in this game. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys a good scary story.
    Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    This game was a really good horror title which reminded me of Nightmare House 2, graphics are beautifully insane and the story line is reallyThis game was a really good horror title which reminded me of Nightmare House 2, graphics are beautifully insane and the story line is really good and the DLC explains a lot of the mysteries from the main game, overall an amazing experience! Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Absolutely my favorite horror game to date. I felt the immersion within the first 10 minutes of game play. The best time to play is afterAbsolutely my favorite horror game to date. I felt the immersion within the first 10 minutes of game play. The best time to play is after nightfall. Lights off and undisturbed. Turn up the AC for a chilly room. Then blast the surround sound. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    I personally thought this game was pretty good! for their first game it was great i hope to see more horror games from red barrles, theyI personally thought this game was pretty good! for their first game it was great i hope to see more horror games from red barrles, they should have added custom stories. Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2016
    8
    [Russian] Outlast - прорыв в мире хорроров, а его создатели - толпа психов и, возможно, неадекватов!!! Сюжет и стиль игры очень сильно[Russian] Outlast - прорыв в мире хорроров, а его создатели - толпа психов и, возможно, неадекватов!!! Сюжет и стиль игры очень сильно отличаются от всех других игр, здесь не надо ждать, что вашему персонажу в какой-то момент может повезти или что он лишний раз останется цел, такого здесь не будет никогда! Только хардкор! Все неудачи, которые могли бы случиться - случаются. У главного героя (как и у нас) постепенно опускаются руки, но все же, что-то внутри шепчет : "Ни в коем случае не сдавайся. Вставай и иди вперед", и мы, вместе с ним, встаем и идем вперед.
    Дополнение к Outlast получилось менее интересным в моментах, однако сама история просто шикарная, хотя бы мы узнаем, откуда Майлз получает письмо, которое показывают в самом начале основной сюжетной линии. Не ожидал, что хотя бы для Парка все "хорошо" закончится. Поэтому смело утверждаю, что сюжет шикарен и такое должно показываться в фильме ужасов на экранах (разработчики, подумайте об этом, это был бы БУМ)

    ВНИМАНИЕ! Следующий абзац - спойлер к концовке.
    Когда первый раз прошел Outlast очень сильно разочаровался в концовке (не в плохом смысле). Не, ну правда, уважаемые разработчики, это слишком сурово. Вот так вот... Я прочувствовал всю ту боль, которую чувствовал мой персонаж, я видел его глазами, думал его головой, я помню каждый момент, когда его дыхание утяжелялось и становилось более интенсивным... И вот так вот... Просто какие-то два недоумка СВАТовца (или кто там был) взяли и расстреляли? Это было очень обидно! Я плачу!

    Изначально морально сложно настроиться на прохождение игры, но потом, спустя какое-то время входишь в раш и теряешься в ней с головой. Этот сюжет затягивает на все 100%. Достижения в игре получились не простыми, но и не совсем уж сложными, что тоже не может не радовать.

    Из минусов могу явно выделить документы, которые мы собираем по ходу игры, они очень утомительные и скучные, я понимаю, что разработчики хотели добавить серьезности в игру (типа документы должны быть написаны официально), но я сложно настраивался на то, чтобы полностью прочитать некоторые архивы, уж слишком долго и скучно. Так же, ужасно - отсутствие русской озвучки, были в игре моменты, когда за титрами не успеваешь, та и вообще, в любой момент можно отвлечься на пару секунд и уже упустить пару фраз (которые, кстати, не так уж и важны в игре). Ну и последнее, стоило бы "открыть несколько дверей" на локации, потому что, в целом, игра получилась очень линейной, и мы может идти только туда, куда надо по сюжету, а остальные все двери закрыты, не считая некоторых мелких комнат. Негде бродить.

    Из плюсов могу сказать так, эта игра заставит вас погрузиться в свою атмосферу и как бы вам страшно ни было, эта атмосфера будет затягивать в себя снова и снова. Графика и стилистика - самое то хоррор, так же радует некоторое стилистическое отличие между дополнением и основной линией, например, в первом случае - на улице туман, в другом - темень. И то, и другое очень красиво и ужасающе смотрится.

    В общем, если бы у меня была возможность стереть себе память и повторить прохождение Outlast, то я так бы и сделал, а пока мне остается довольствоваться одним неполученным достижением (которое я рано или поздно получу) и тизером к Outlast II.

    Моя оценка: 8/10.
    Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2014
    7
    Scarier than the scariest movie, which means it holds the tittle of the scariest game but by the time you near end it just drags on far tooScarier than the scariest movie, which means it holds the tittle of the scariest game but by the time you near end it just drags on far too long.

    Could have been a 9/10 if they just ended it sooner. Turned from running for you life to fumbling in the dark. 1 hr less and this game would have been master piece.
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2017
    0
    Bland story. Pretty much a hide and seek game. Cheap jumpscares. That pretty much sums up Outlast. I don’t think I’ve seen an overrated gameBland story. Pretty much a hide and seek game. Cheap jumpscares. That pretty much sums up Outlast. I don’t think I’ve seen an overrated game like this before. Expand

See all 299 User Reviews

Trailers