Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 976 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the desolate mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. An abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in complete secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip from an inside source, independent journalist Miles Upshur breaks into the facility, and what he discovers walks a terrifying line between science and religion, nature and something entirely different. Once inside, his only hope of escape lies with the terrible truth at the heart of Mount Massive. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    93
    Red Barrels have done a fantastic job combining an intensely disquieting setting, a unique visual look, and an incredibly effective camera gimmick to ensure that nobody escapes Mount Massive without a few nightmares.
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    Outlast perfects this self-inflicted madness in every area of its design, and it's absolutely petrifying. I love it.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    85
    It’s certain not to appeal to all gamers, and while I often personally use games to relax and blow off steam, I find that after playing an hour or so of Outlast I’m too wound up to play anymore. Good thing then that the whole game is about five hours long.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    Outlast is the pinnacle of a less is more design philosophy. While other horror titles use jump scares and musical cues Outlast utilizes startling imagery and precision timing to make you call for mommy.
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    A little but perfectly accessible, even greatly playable game. It puts forward its hero protagonist and his helplessness, its whimsical hazard, and its great number of properly placed scripts. While playing Outlast you will relive plenty of convulsive experiences, but you will chuckle at the very same time. Gameplay aside, if the game was a bit more creative, it could get a better grade.
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    78
    The initial hours, when played with a survivor’s unsure intent are electrifying, illuminating a slice of fast, animal terror. Before long, it settles into the mechanical, methodical, human realm, challenged by a few creative late-game curves. By all means check in, get a physical, but you might want to opt for outpatient care.
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    60
    As a budget Steam release, Outlast offers some cheap thrills for fans of the survival horror genre. Unfortunately its underwhelming visuals, combined with Red Barrel Games’ over-reliance on jump-scares ahead of more psychological frights, made my experience with it feel similar to walking through a haunted house: It’s scary, but not in a very clever way.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 222
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Those who've played it will know what I'm talking about. The US did recruit a number of there former enemys specialists and they did perform questionable research...specifically biological and psychological warfare Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    I am going to say two things, as in terms of did I play it a long time and beat it? No- I couldn't play more then 30 minutes, however this is because I am a wienie and it Scared the hell out of me, so since their goal was to scare people they did great scared the crap out of me to the point I could no longer play lol great job guys! Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Perhaps, in the past two or three years, this is the scariest and most atmospheric game.
    Outlast can safely bring the textbooks to create
    atmospheric games. I think, or to be more precise I hope that thanks to games such as Outlast, survival-horror genre, or horrors can be reborn in the form in which it was once born.
    Game developers studio Red Barrels cheers!
    And a special thank you for adding text Russian localization a bow and thanks to all Russian-speaking players!
    Bravo!
    10 out of 10.
    Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    This game is AMAZING. I love horror genre but this game IS SO MUCH MORE!
    It's almost perfect for what it does. To be honest, I didn't pay
    much attention to the story, because it's basicly was story driven for the first 15 minutes or so. And then your main objective is just to GET THE HELL OUT. And that's what you were doing all that time. So, yeah, the story is kinda basic and predictible, but everything else is top notch.
    This is the best horror game I've played since Amnesia and Outlast surpasses it by a long shot. It's better in every way.
    This game really got me scared, to the point when I needed to take a break for like every other 30 minutes from it, because the tension was ubereable.
    Graphics are oustanding. One of the best looking game for the past year, effects are awesome, and it's the best in it's genre for sure.
    I've tried Machine for Pigs and it just didn't cut it for me after Outlast. Amnesia was scary, right, but after this game it's like walking in the park. I wasn't scared in Machine for Pigs, it was like a kid's game. Outlast is ruined horror for me :D And I'm glad it did.
    If you like horror games, try this out. For it's price it's excellent. This game is a strong 9 out of 10, I don't believe any horror games from the past couple of years come even close to the Outlast. I hope we will see more from this developer. Games like this come once in a decade. It's almost perfect in every way.
    Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    Outlast takes a very popular approach for its Horror part A DARK PLACE ARMLESS SEE BUNCH OF CREEPOS TO COME on you .

    Recently i just
    played Slender The Arrival didn't tried machine of pigs) and i was pretty disappointing with the gameplay it offered Now i was having Outlast with meh expectation but i was happy to see that most of the things in the game was at right places It was not a perfect game and had some flaws but overall Worth to play Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2014
    7
    Scarier than the scariest movie, which means it holds the tittle of the scariest game but by the time you near end it just drags on far too long.

    Could have been a 9/10 if they just ended it sooner. Turned from running for you life to fumbling in the dark. 1 hr less and this game would have been master piece.
    Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    0
    This game was a total waste of money for me. I expected a different, though still fine tuned atmosphere in concert with the music as Amnesia The Dark Descent. I was thoroughly disappointed. This game is made of cheap scares to the fullest. Being set in an Asylum is already far from original for a terror game. The same plot than so many games about a uber evil corporation doing experiments blah you know the drill. Almost ALL scares I had where predicted before hand: "Oh this door is closed, I bet there will be a 5000db sound that will scare me to death." Every every time it happened. Seriously go buy Amnesia the dark descent instead of this veteran-made mainstream unoriginal terror game. Expand

See all 222 User Reviews