Overlord PC

Overlord Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Controlling a mysterious figure that has inherited the legacy of the evil, long-dead Overlord, the player emerges, near death, from the ruins of the old Overlord's Dark Tower. Only the player's actions determine if they will rise to become the new all-powerful Overlord; it's all down to howControlling a mysterious figure that has inherited the legacy of the evil, long-dead Overlord, the player emerges, near death, from the ruins of the old Overlord's Dark Tower. Only the player's actions determine if they will rise to become the new all-powerful Overlord; it's all down to how much of a bad ass they want to be in order to succeed...evil or really evil! Played out with plenty of black humour and dark irony, the game immerses players in twisted parodies of classic fantasy scenarios and characters. Overlord's key innovation is the introduction of an array of impish creatures – the Minions. They believe you are the old Overlord reborn and will use their unique skills to fetch, fight and die for you. Throughout the game players actively control a horde of these gremlin-like critters and they follow your every instruction no matter how despotic or, for the Minions, life threatening it is. [Codemasters] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. PC Gamer
    91
    I guess it's true what they say: Bad guys have more fun. [Oct 2007, p.64]
  2. Its fresh take on the fantasy genre, excellent minion mechanics and morbid humor make for a gaming experience you won't soon forget.
  3. It's got a surprising amount of depth and innovation in a lot of different areas of design, excellent humor, art work and sound.
  4. But the “evil or eviler” tagline has more to do with marketing than with the game, which for the most part offers a choice closer to being an evil or benevolent despot.
  5. More than the script (generally witty and sharp, if occasionally undercut by an iffy voice-actor) or the graphic design (a brother to Fable's faux-fantasy charm), the constant capering of your charges is what gives the game its personality. That is, they have a lot of personality and so does the game.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    79
    Controlling your horde of loyal and evil Naši youth feels refreshing compared to the typical action adventure formula. The technical execution is solid and the over the top fantasy cliché humour works decently. The game does not have a whole lot of longevity or challenge but it does have burning hobbits. [Aug 2007]
  7. 70
    You find yourself in a game resembling a mix of Fable and Pikmin.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45
  1. Jan 28, 2017
    10
    Divertido, fácil, agradable, único... esto si es un juego para pasar el rato, quizás sea un poco corto. pero junto con su expansión tendras unDivertido, fácil, agradable, único... esto si es un juego para pasar el rato, quizás sea un poco corto. pero junto con su expansión tendras un gran rato agradable Expand
  2. Andreas
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Overlord is so nice realy good play respect CodeMasters
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    There are plenty of kill or be killed games out there, from past, present, and we know future tense also. I picked this game up and I can tellThere are plenty of kill or be killed games out there, from past, present, and we know future tense also. I picked this game up and I can tell you that even though it's written in a dark tone, it still comes off as being a whimsical and humorous title to say the very least. The graphics are crisp, the audio is clear down to the voices of the funny creatures. I personally have never given a title a "10", in my 30+ years of gaming until now. This title even though it is on the macabre side, yet actually facetiously tends to pull it off. And you will catch yourself at times chuckling to yourself at some of the writer's humor. I had to go back to steam and download the additional add-ons, since I knew with certainty I would love this title. I really don't believe that you would be disappointed at your purchase, should you consider spending a nominal amount on this one! Just catch it when it goes on sale like I did, or go ahead and spend a $9.99 on it. It was quite refreshing the mere half an hour I spent playing it. Of course you can play with mouse and keyboard, but I think it's a lot more fun to grab a cheap microsoft x-box "canned ham" controller and plug it right in. Have fun always, and I hope my review helps anyone out there! Expand
  4. AlecT.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    Most fun I've had playing a game in some time.
  5. ThiagoS
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Nice and fun game with some dark humor and good graphics and sounds (if you can run it at the max setting)
  6. Fred
    Jul 28, 2007
    8
    The game is conceptually fine, but you won't be able to run it without a cutting edge computer. The recommended requirements are The game is conceptually fine, but you won't be able to run it without a cutting edge computer. The recommended requirements are actually minimum requirements, and the minimum requirements... I don't know what those are for. So other people can laugh at you, I guess. Because it's not possible to play the game with that system. I would like to point out that the reviewer below who gave the game a 4 and complained about his mistress not being evil enough should actually play the game, since there are two mistresses, and he's talking about the tame one. The game was made to be a dark comedy, not a rape fantasy. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2013
    2
    Easily one of the worst games I've ever played for PC the controls are shonky and terrible often leaving you screaming at the screen becauseEasily one of the worst games I've ever played for PC the controls are shonky and terrible often leaving you screaming at the screen because the "minions" are almost totally uncontrollable, the gameplay is incredibly unbalanced and coupled with the hideous control system often leaves me just quitting in rage.
    The truly disgusting thing about this game, the reason I call it "one of the worst", is because it has such huge potential. The start is actually quiet good and almost makes you think they're about to do something never before tried in Strategy/role playing games. Alas, stupid design decisions and poor programming make this a sorry mess. Not what I expected from the studio behind "Age of Wonders". Sad.
    Expand

See all 45 User Reviews