Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Controlling a mysterious figure that has inherited the legacy of the evil, long-dead Overlord, the player emerges, near death, from the ruins of the old Overlord's Dark Tower. Only the player's actions determine if they will rise to become the new all-powerful Overlord; it's all down to howControlling a mysterious figure that has inherited the legacy of the evil, long-dead Overlord, the player emerges, near death, from the ruins of the old Overlord's Dark Tower. Only the player's actions determine if they will rise to become the new all-powerful Overlord; it's all down to how much of a bad ass they want to be in order to succeed...evil or really evil! Played out with plenty of black humour and dark irony, the game immerses players in twisted parodies of classic fantasy scenarios and characters. Overlord's key innovation is the introduction of an array of impish creatures – the Minions. They believe you are the old Overlord reborn and will use their unique skills to fetch, fight and die for you. Throughout the game players actively control a horde of these gremlin-like critters and they follow your every instruction no matter how despotic or, for the Minions, life threatening it is. [Codemasters] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. I guess it's true what they say: Bad guys have more fun. [Oct 2007, p.64]
  2. Its fresh take on the fantasy genre, excellent minion mechanics and morbid humor make for a gaming experience you won't soon forget.
  3. It's got a surprising amount of depth and innovation in a lot of different areas of design, excellent humor, art work and sound.
  4. 80
    Your flunkies also embody Overlord's one weak point: Loosen the iron grip, and they'll stupidly drown themselves chasing after a bug...or race headlong into overwhelming odds. Maybe the boneheaded A.I. is intentional; maybe they're supposed to be feral lemmings, and the game's forcing you to slow down for tactics -- but I ain't buying it.
  5. More than the script (generally witty and sharp, if occasionally undercut by an iffy voice-actor) or the graphic design (a brother to Fable's faux-fantasy charm), the constant capering of your charges is what gives the game its personality. That is, they have a lot of personality and so does the game.
  6. Controlling your horde of loyal and evil Naši youth feels refreshing compared to the typical action adventure formula. The technical execution is solid and the over the top fantasy cliché humour works decently. The game does not have a whole lot of longevity or challenge but it does have burning hobbits. [Aug 2007]
  7. 70
    You find yourself in a game resembling a mix of Fable and Pikmin.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. JohnC
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    One of the funnest games ive played in the past few months was a nice break from the old FPS. Some of the best comedy ive seen in a video One of the funnest games ive played in the past few months was a nice break from the old FPS. Some of the best comedy ive seen in a video game love the minions. Also got it on an amazing deal on steam only $8 in a compilation with Overlord+ Hell Rising, and Overlord II ty steam for putting this on sell or i probably would have never played it. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    I played this with a xbox360 controller and it worked great. Great art direction, minions are funny and cute funny puzzle elements,I played this with a xbox360 controller and it worked great. Great art direction, minions are funny and cute funny puzzle elements, thoughtful map design, and thought-provoking ending plot at first i thought the characters and the setting was bland. the main anti-hero you play is just called "overlord" and you're just on the side of "evil," but as the plot advances, things get more nuanced than that. i definitely want to applaud the devs for the great storytelling that was fresh and thought-provoking. after i finished it, i had to sit and reflect on how easily good can be corrupted. i did get stuck couple of times and had to look up a walk-through, and it would have been nice to have an in-game map (the printed out map that comes with the box version of the game is pretty much useless.) If it's on sale on steam, definitely check it out (I didn't play the expansion, but i think it's suppose to add additional areas to all the maps, so wouldn't hurt to get that too if you want to just a single run-through both). Expand
  3. DennisR.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    A really good game, a few loading screens but they don't bother me much. Its a very fun game with black humour and enough free will to A really good game, a few loading screens but they don't bother me much. Its a very fun game with black humour and enough free will to keep you entertained. The specs don't really lie, playing it low graphics, 1280x960 with a P4 Prescott 3.2Ghz and an X1550 OC'd at 648/428. Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    + Overlord is a fun and wonderful game. If you have any liking whatsoever towards the Tolkien Universe and don't mind a game that actually+ Overlord is a fun and wonderful game. If you have any liking whatsoever towards the Tolkien Universe and don't mind a game that actually succesfully makes fun of it I would recommend it. This is not just a uninspired shoddy attempt for a parody, the developers have taken their spoof seriously. The graphics are bright and detailed and the engine runs smooth. Character models and animation are great and I can't help but enjoy the sound of breaking pots and dishes. There are lots of mechanics to be explored as you progress in the game and you'll have a good sense of satisfaction once you're done.

    - The world is not exactly an open one, but not entirely linear either. You can walk about and kill sheep or loot places at your own leisure, although that might get a bit boring if you choose to do so for a long time. If you're not playing with a controller you'll experience some annoyance when trying to swipe your flock of gremlins to the back of the field, but it's far from gamebreaking and at least you don't need to do it all the time.

    I think the game is definitely worth its full price including the raising hell expansion pack, but if you're not sure wait for the sales.
    Expand
  5. DrewN.
    Jul 24, 2007
    8
    PROS: Challenging gameplay, wickedly humorous, cohesive and interesting story CONS: Linear nature and lack of customization options limits PROS: Challenging gameplay, wickedly humorous, cohesive and interesting story CONS: Linear nature and lack of customization options limits replayability, weak multiplayer. I never had any problems with the controls or camera as many reviewers seemed to. Overlord is not as original as they claimed, also, Dungeon Keeper immediately comes to mind. Still, its a rare enough twist on the genre to seem fresh, and performing black deeds and minor acts of wanton cruelty give the game a pulse. Graphics are detailed and pleasing if not groundbreaking, and the voice acting is well done. The game falls down in the multiplayer, uninspired and limited as it is. It almost seems tacked on to meet some marketing droid's requirements ("It has to have mulitplayer to sell!"). Bottom Line: Fun game and worth the purchase, even moreso if one waits for it to hit the discount racks. What limits this good game from being a great game is its lack of replayability; once you've finished it, its destined to gather dust on a shelf. Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    Fun game never seemed to make enough money or minions to create cool stuff though. Last Boss was designed to troll players or maybe I need toFun game never seemed to make enough money or minions to create cool stuff though. Last Boss was designed to troll players or maybe I need to just get good at this game lol. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2013
    2
    Easily one of the worst games I've ever played for PC the controls are shonky and terrible often leaving you screaming at the screen becauseEasily one of the worst games I've ever played for PC the controls are shonky and terrible often leaving you screaming at the screen because the "minions" are almost totally uncontrollable, the gameplay is incredibly unbalanced and coupled with the hideous control system often leaves me just quitting in rage.
    The truly disgusting thing about this game, the reason I call it "one of the worst", is because it has such huge potential. The start is actually quiet good and almost makes you think they're about to do something never before tried in Strategy/role playing games. Alas, stupid design decisions and poor programming make this a sorry mess. Not what I expected from the studio behind "Age of Wonders". Sad.
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Trailers