Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    100
    A nigh-perfect example of how to modernize a classic, Pac-Man Championship Edition DX+ deserves a place in every gamer's collection. The only thing missing now is a portable version.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    90
    The best Pac-Man game ever. The formula may be an old one, but sometimes the old ones are the best – or at least they would be if they didn’t have Facebook integration.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    Another great set of compelling levels and two new adorable skin make Pac-Man CE DX+ a must have for every Pac-Man addict. And, also, for anyone who simply is looking for something simple, classy and deep. Hands down one of the best puzzle game of this generation.
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    85
    This is how you restore a classic game – it’s old school, but with modern presentation and some great ideas. [13/2013, p.66]
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    The landing of Pac-Man on Steam couldn't be better, in this edition called Championship DX +. The additions, in terms of gaming content, are limited to the aspects of social organization, the best leaderboards and trophies.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    80
    Pac-Man is one of the most famous icons of the videogames industry and Pac-Man Championship Edition DX+ is a game that finally proves worthy of the reputation of the series.
  7. Sep 27, 2013
    80
    Dx+ is the best way to experience the new iteration of the Championship Edition franchise. Equally challenging and satisfying, the new Pac-Man is packed with a much needed online competition.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    1
    I loved DX on XBLA, but I'm unable to play it on PC due to multiple serious bugs. It crashes after ~30 seconds on every map I've tried without fail. It also sometimes makes a cacophony of overlapping sounds on the title screen like a weird feedback loop. This is on Win8 x64, with GTX 555 and recent-ish drivers. I'd hold off lest you're unluckily impacted like I. Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    This game is literally unplayable. In the menu screen, my ears were constantly assaulted by a massive feedback loop, which sounded like a giant bell being dropped off a cliff. I fixed the sound by messing with my sound car'd settings, which I shouldn't have to do at all.

    When I got around to actually PLAYING, the game wouldn't allow me to play for more than 30 seconds before just instantly crashing to the desktop. No warning, no information on what the problem was, but every single time I tried to play the game, it crashed in under a minute. So yes. This game is... literally... unplayable. I cannot play it.

    Don't bother with this one. It is easily the worst port I have tried, because it doesn't work. I checked the program version, it's 1.0. They didn't even bother to make a patch for the game.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    The game is broken. Other than the random crash and sound issues mentioned by others, there is also a bug that classic skin will not be unlocked via facebook sharing.

    Yes, there exists a in-game element which require players' access to facebook, which is already very offending. However, this won't even work.

    They just patch the game to encrypt game data so that modders can't develop mod easily for this game, but just fail to fix those annoying bugs which affect players' enjoyment. What a shame!

    Also, this game is plagued with tons of DLCs. Expect for paying money to just unlock a new game mode or skin which already exists in the game since the launch.
    Full Review »