Painkiller: Hell & Damnation Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Powered by Epic's world-renowned and highly-respected Unreal Engine 3, Painkiller Hell & Damnation recreates the sensations and hardcore gameplay of the original Painkiller. Released in 2004, Painkiller won high praise and many accolades and fans for its fast and unique gameplay. KeepingPowered by Epic's world-renowned and highly-respected Unreal Engine 3, Painkiller Hell & Damnation recreates the sensations and hardcore gameplay of the original Painkiller. Released in 2004, Painkiller won high praise and many accolades and fans for its fast and unique gameplay. Keeping true to the old-school FPS ideology, lightning-fast movement enables skillful players to get into the heart of the fast-paced gameplay, topped off with stunning enormo-boss fights requiring sneaky tactics. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    85
    The developers have masterfully adapted everything that made the original Painkiller so enjoyable to a new engine that looks fantastic and plays liquid smooth.
  2. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2012
    75
    When I finished this curious remake ('the best of Painkiller' suits this game better) all the flaws that I jotted down and that annoyed me ceased to matter. There's something charming in this simplicity. [12/2012, p.42]
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    70
    As a horror-tinged slaughterfest that vomits blood and bile on the face of modern first-person shooter convention, Hell & Damnation distills the essence of the Painkiller series into a tight, finely honed package.
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    Hell & Damnation is a successful homage to the original Painkiller with a new engine, much better graphics and the same fast-paced style. It's pretty sad though, that the most fun multiplayer mode doesn't get played a lot. That would've extended the durability of the game significantly. Especially because the single player gameplay will get boring quite quickly if you don't take a break every now and then.
  5. Nov 7, 2012
    66
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    60
    In the end, Painkiller HD is only a half-measure, and it doesn't do everything it could have to modernize the classic fast-paced action of the original. It's worth the twenty bucks if the overhaul you want is visual, but otherwise, it's best to pass.
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    40
    This isn't a remake or a reimagining of the original Painkiller; this is a high-resolution texture pack for an outdated eight-year old game that's missing significant story beats.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    what the hell is wrong with the ratings? that cant be right? what the hell is wrong with the ratings? that cant be right?what the hell iswhat the hell is wrong with the ratings? that cant be right? what the hell is wrong with the ratings? that cant be right?what the hell is wrong with the ratings? that cant be right? Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    This is a masterpiece and must have for Painkiller fans. Good old school painkiller with some good new features. I do not understand theThis is a masterpiece and must have for Painkiller fans. Good old school painkiller with some good new features. I do not understand the criticism of new grafics. On my Nvidia GTX590 it looks realy god. It is more fun, more nic, simply a wery good remake. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Old good Painkiller with Battle out of hell expansion on Unreal Engine. Id and Doom 3BFG Edition can learn from the Painkiller how to properlyOld good Painkiller with Battle out of hell expansion on Unreal Engine. Id and Doom 3BFG Edition can learn from the Painkiller how to properly do a remake. Graphic is nice and smoothly. I have no idea where it took more than 200 negative votes. Hell and Damnation it's a good game ! Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2016
    7
    An homage to oldschool FPS. Don't expect anything new about the gameplay or any innovation. You will be shooting at multiple enemies non-stopAn homage to oldschool FPS. Don't expect anything new about the gameplay or any innovation. You will be shooting at multiple enemies non-stop in this frantic action game! Local coop on top of that. The one thing that I can't get over is the terrible FOV. I cannot seem to lock it in place and it feels like it's set at around 60-70 making it nearly impossible to plan your moves in advance. Otherwise I would definitely be worth a 8/10. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    The graphics are spectacular, but otherwise, there's no reason to upgrade from Black edition to Hell and Damnation. I really enjoyed the earlyThe graphics are spectacular, but otherwise, there's no reason to upgrade from Black edition to Hell and Damnation. I really enjoyed the early Painkiller games, and I like H&D, it's just that there isn't much more to offer here than you've already played in its predecessors. If you've never played Painkiller at all, I recommend H&D; otherwise, don't bother. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2014
    5
    Painkiller drops the ball on every occasion. If you were expecting a fast paced type FPS in the vein of Quake, Doom or Serious Sam, you'rePainkiller drops the ball on every occasion. If you were expecting a fast paced type FPS in the vein of Quake, Doom or Serious Sam, you're mistaken. Painkiller is a dull, slow, repetitive shooter. The gameplay itself is so uninspired. The enemies slowly walk your way, and slowly throw projectiles. There's really no variety here, unlike other games of this old school FPS genre. Even on the hardest difficulty Painkiller is a walk in the park. Overall, it's a painfully CASUAL experience. Sit down, listen to good music, and shoot anything that moves. Simple as that. And once you're done the EXTREMELY short campaign, you can purchase a bunch of DLC for $8.00. What a slap in the face. AVOID! Unless you happen to find this game on special. Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2013
    0
    This is a real shame.False advertising.
    One playthrough of the original game took about 8-9 hours,and this took me 2 hours and 40 minutes.The
    This is a real shame.False advertising.
    One playthrough of the original game took about 8-9 hours,and this took me 2 hours and 40 minutes.The coop mode is more than useless,and has nothing to do in a game like this.
    The multiplayer is not really interesting,and the survival mode is not much better,
    You are basically paying for an incomplete game filled with DLC.
    Don't buy it.Get the original instead.
    Collapse

See all 32 User Reviews