User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 15 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2011
    3
    This last installment of the PK franchise does surpass previous ones, but it is still far away from the original. You will find yourself fighting endless waves of dozens of simultaneous enemies in small cramped spaces, usually for as long as 10 minutes, then you move to the next room, rinse and repeat, more like a Serious Sam approach if you tell me. The maps are dull, in fact they are recycled deathmatch arenas from previous PK games and somewhat adapted for SP play. To summarize, if you are a true vanilla PK fan, you should still avoid this like hell, and only the bargain bin price mark saves this from being utter rubbish. The devs also promise future free DLC as well as coop implementation, if they get the coop going, this might be worth rechecking. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    4
    The game consists in slaying 1000 enemies per level.The levels are very ugly designed and very small and repetitive the enemies are the same for all the level and even for all the game which is by the way too small only 6 levels.The enemies come like 100 at a time in so small places and you find yourself fighting like for 10 minutes then again advance to next room and kill dozens of crazy bastards again.Yet is very difficult and simple. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2011
    2
    I have played all PK games and like other say this one is a notch better than Resurrection - at least i have not encountered any bugs but still not worthy of time other than training for competition. I got through the first level and it felt OK - good to recall some fun days with razor cube. In the second level all of the game is reduced to running PK weapon in "Pain" mode (the spinning blades) and chop hundreds of weak enemies into crout. The fighting areas are small (smaller than most deathmatch levels) and you don't get enough ammo so very soon your only weapon is the Painkiller. I don't have as much time to waste anymore so I gave up on level 2. If like me you miss the good old original then just replay it and don't waste your time on this new one. I hope the five bucks I spent on PK Redemption will work as decisive vote and someone does a truly worthy sequel to this fantastic franchise. Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    It was veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery stupid!
  5. Jan 5, 2012
    3
    This one and the wacked out previous incarnation of PK (Resurrection) are two sides of the same coin. This new one does not have the bugs of many previous ones, especially Resurrection, but it lacks the interesting maps and spooky atmosphere of any of the originals and even the awful Resurrection. Redepemption has none of those mind-blowing, super creepy re-imaginings of what purgatory would be like: instead Redemption takes really bland maps from the originial Painkiller online deathmatch features, pretties them up a bit....and then is just nothing but mindless, repetitive killing. None of the elegant scares of the original - hell even Redemption is better at that. No brain strategy in how to kill these guys. It's just run around and around and fire at a bunch of bots. Part of the dark fun of the original two Painkillers was that sense of revelation and awe at this wild, disturbing world. While Redemption has none of the technical bugs of even the original or subsequent knockoffs - which really fills one with hope for the franchise's future - it has zero imagination. Now if only the crew that did Resurrection and the crew that did this one came together....we might have something cool again. Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    3
    First Painkiller was a decent game this is not a decent game. The level design is boring and awful. I felt like I was fighting hordes of enemies in small narrow corridors and tight rooms enclosed in a dull factory environment. None of the grand epic design of Painkiller or Overdose where has all the amazing art work gone? A empty greyed out shallow shooter, whatever comes after beta and alpha, this game is that... Expand
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    68
    Redemption is enjoyable if you're a fan of the series or just have a hankering for mindless shooting, but everyone else should probably steer clear.
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    48
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. 20
    While this may sound like a marketing victory Redemption takes you on a journey into the real game of hell. [Issue#203]