Painkiller: Resurrection PC

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 69
  2. Negative: 39 out of 69

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2016
    1
    Urrrgh. This game's levels are too damn looooooooooong. And not the good kind of long like Serious Sam 3: BFE's last level either. These levels just drag on and on and on, harassing you with mobs of annoying enemies. Sure they give you plenty of ammo, but the problem is, Painkiller's weapons weren't really designed to handle so many enemies on screen at once. Redemption is even more guiltyUrrrgh. This game's levels are too damn looooooooooong. And not the good kind of long like Serious Sam 3: BFE's last level either. These levels just drag on and on and on, harassing you with mobs of annoying enemies. Sure they give you plenty of ammo, but the problem is, Painkiller's weapons weren't really designed to handle so many enemies on screen at once. Redemption is even more guilty of this, but Ressurection has the added annoyance of having long, difficult to navigate levels. Plus, the main character has a really weird accent. I actually kind of liked it, but the way he talks was just so... odd. Also, the only new weapon this game had was just a wee bit underwhelming, and the bosses were rehashed from the original Painkiller and Overdose. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this game and Redemption. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    It´s a shame that it was rushed out early, I kinda liked the spin the guys put in with the vast, open levels instead of the small, closed areas of the previous games. If you can live with that change in gameplay and the bugs, it´s a pretty good game with damn cool comic sequences.
  3. Jan 5, 2012
    4
    As a serious hardcore fan of Painkiller (yes I even liked Overdose), this one had so much potential but was in the end a technical trainwreck. The maps were fairly diverse (but way too few of them), and they had some imaginative and fairly creepy aspects. There was definitely some atmosphere here - which was half the charm of the originals. But the bugs here are horrific, and the poorAs a serious hardcore fan of Painkiller (yes I even liked Overdose), this one had so much potential but was in the end a technical trainwreck. The maps were fairly diverse (but way too few of them), and they had some imaginative and fairly creepy aspects. There was definitely some atmosphere here - which was half the charm of the originals. But the bugs here are horrific, and the poor thing sputters and crashes - like the engine was an amateur drunk on New Year's Eve or something. The graphics suffer because of it. The monsters are crappy and crude, and gameplay definitely lacks compared to the original - which had plenty of bugs on its own. The one saving grace is that you can play bots by yourself in the multiplayer mode, which is nice because PK is sooo buggy that you can never get online to play anyone else. Ever. As an avid fan, I enjoyed it just because it was painkiller and had that spooky thing. But for anyone else, I gotta say stay clear. If this crew got together w/ the developers of the latest PK (Redemption - which was dull but bug-free), they would really have something someday. Collapse
  4. Sep 21, 2011
    3
    Well... there's not much like about this game except you can find cheats on the Internet that will get you through the boring parts of the game, which is pretty much most of the game. The game crashed a lot and I couldn't find a patch to fix anything. The graphics were OK in spots but the sound was not so good, a few times I just turned the sound off on my speakers. The silence was golden.
  5. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    Let's see:
    Graphics-hm...ok...7
    Sound-Funny...6
    Music-wow...10
    Gameplay-Kill everything...vast levels...nice-9
    Atmosphere-Like hell-8
    I don't like the cut-scenes and the protagonist...3
    Weapons-Boring..5
    Total-7...deserves a 7...
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    6
    Although much time has passed since the release of this game and it's previous installments, I still greatly enjoy this game no matter what problems it possesses. Yes, the game is riddled with bugs, design flaws, and strange 'holes' you'll find in the various areas. It's a game that should of remained as a mod, but I feel that I didn't waste my money with this one, as with the otherAlthough much time has passed since the release of this game and it's previous installments, I still greatly enjoy this game no matter what problems it possesses. Yes, the game is riddled with bugs, design flaws, and strange 'holes' you'll find in the various areas. It's a game that should of remained as a mod, but I feel that I didn't waste my money with this one, as with the other installments; maybe I'm one of the lucky few who didn't have any of these games crash. It's essentially Painkiller on steroids with nice kick butt music, even bigger battles, and huge open world settings that I find to be epic. I only reccomend this cautiously for true die hard fans like myself. Otherwise, do not buy this game. Expand
  7. JuanJoséV
    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    A group of gamers should play games and maybe comment them out. But if you are neither a designer nor a programmer, don't try to earn money selling games like this one. Does not worth the try to pay more than 1
  8. BenjiG
    Dec 29, 2009
    3
    The first Painkiller and the Battle out of hell was very great games and the whole thing is a fantastic idea. For that time. But it starts with Overdose that the game was not stable and the loading times was to long. And somewhere on a level the game was crasht allways and to find update patches, the search to a trustfull contact, nothing at all. I got angry and so i had to stop the game The first Painkiller and the Battle out of hell was very great games and the whole thing is a fantastic idea. For that time. But it starts with Overdose that the game was not stable and the loading times was to long. And somewhere on a level the game was crasht allways and to find update patches, the search to a trustfull contact, nothing at all. I got angry and so i had to stop the game with the hope the future will bring innovations and improvements. But nothing about. The Ressurrection is the same, long loading times, exept the fast loads, there is a message for an update but, as bevore, nobody knows where to get. What a pity, its still a good game and i hope they will not stop with it, but there must be a hand of professionals to intend and then i will hope to the next. Expand
  9. Mike
    Dec 22, 2009
    1
    Simply Awful. Fails in every aspect you could judge it on. Not worth anything let alone the asking price. Bottom line: not fun.
  10. EG
    Nov 25, 2009
    2
    I loved the first Painkiller, and Battle out of Hell was even better. I saw screenshots and honestly was expecting (and looking forward to) more of the same, but DAMN.. The engine has not been improved at all in five years except for adding a poor bloom, there is little to no new content (I recognize nearly every enemy and every weapon from the first game, and one or two from Overdose), I loved the first Painkiller, and Battle out of Hell was even better. I saw screenshots and honestly was expecting (and looking forward to) more of the same, but DAMN.. The engine has not been improved at all in five years except for adding a poor bloom, there is little to no new content (I recognize nearly every enemy and every weapon from the first game, and one or two from Overdose), and the level designs are buggy -- many, many surfaces without a texture and in one of the levels you can very easily leave the entire level area. The second level has some cool environments like the ones I loved in the first game, but it's the only one. They tried making the levels less linear and more open, which would work in any other kind of game, but anyone who's played Painkiller knows how poorly that would work in it. In short, looks, feels and plays like a mod. The only reason I bought it was because if I preordered through Steam, it was $27 for it, Overdose and Painkiller -- $9 a game, not too bad. Still, I almost regret it. Expand
  11. Jan 5, 2012
    0
    As a serious hardcore fan of Painkiller (yes I even liked Overdose), this one had so much potential but was in the end a technical trainwreck. The maps were fairly diverse (but way too few of them), and they had some imaginative and fairly creepy aspects. There was definitely some atmosphere here - which was half the charm of the originals. But the bugs here are horrific, and the poorAs a serious hardcore fan of Painkiller (yes I even liked Overdose), this one had so much potential but was in the end a technical trainwreck. The maps were fairly diverse (but way too few of them), and they had some imaginative and fairly creepy aspects. There was definitely some atmosphere here - which was half the charm of the originals. But the bugs here are horrific, and the poor thing sputters and crashes - like the engine was an amateur drunk on New Year's Eve or something. The graphics suffer because of it. The monsters are crappy and crude, and gameplay definitely lacks compared to the original - which had plenty of bugs on its own. The one saving grace is that you can play bots by yourself in the multiplayer mode, which is nice because PK is sooo buggy that you can never get online to play anyone else. Ever. As an avid fan, I enjoyed it just because it was painkiller and had that spooky thing. But for anyone else, I gotta say stay clear. If this crew got together w/ the developers of the latest PK (Redemption - which was dull but bug-free), they would really have something someday. Collapse
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Painkiller: Resurrection is a buggy trip into hell.
  2. The fourth part of the Painkiller series plays just like the other ones. Using weapons like the painkiller you're fighting lots of weird opponents like axe-wielding monks or pirate zombies. As usual they act dumb, there is no AI to speak of. It's a game to play casually for 30 minutes now and then and doesn't aspire to be anything else.
  3. Painkiller: Resurrection is a bugfest. It is technically outdated and the co-op mode is hidden between the menus. There is no way to make this multiplayer mode work well.