Painkiller PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 288
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Bloody massacre coupled with unusual weapons. One of the first big titles with Havok physics.
    This is most unexpected game which rightfully earned AAA status in gamers' minds shortly after release.
  2. BitBurn
    Apr 15, 2004
    8
    It's aiight... Reminds me of Quake 1 but with much better graphics! I dig it...
  3. JhonnyM.
    May 4, 2004
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!
  4. Tom
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    Suuuuuuuuuch cool, gr8 weapons, physic, and suuuuuuuch interesting... :D ...and polish 8) (I'm proud of it!)
  5. May 8, 2011
    8
    Intelligent beautiful and bloody, hell...
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    The gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg
  7. BobL.
    Apr 19, 2004
    8
    Good game, good graphics. If anyone ever played serious sam they will love this game. gameplay is the same but sooo much more demented...
  8. PhilW.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    Sublime graphics and gameplay. Even in 2007 there are few games that match it visually. The music is fantastic, the atmosphere can be horrific, psychadelic and demonically humorous. A must buy for anyone with a pulse.
  9. MarkR.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Fantastic game. Oozes atmosphere with superb graphics and sound. Very simple arcade gameplay and with great 'pick up and playability. Absorbing environments and enemies, coupled with some amazing weapons make this my all time fav horror game. Love the clowns in the expansion!
  10. DavidS
    Jan 9, 2009
    10
    Painkiller is simple and focused, and although its niche gameplay will turn off some, those who can appreciate its deliberate repetitive and un-complex gameplay will find it to be surprisingly deep, polished, and thrilling. My only objection is the game's story, which is unneccasary, and depressing. However, since the story doesn't actually enter into the gameplay, and all Painkiller is simple and focused, and although its niche gameplay will turn off some, those who can appreciate its deliberate repetitive and un-complex gameplay will find it to be surprisingly deep, polished, and thrilling. My only objection is the game's story, which is unneccasary, and depressing. However, since the story doesn't actually enter into the gameplay, and all cutscenes are skip-able, so I don't feel the need to deduct points for it. Think of it as a diamond that has a piece of ugly rock embedded in it. Once the rock is removed, you still have a diamond. Expand
  11. C.A.
    May 11, 2004
    10
    Great title with involving story.
  12. SmuqeQ.
    Jun 7, 2004
    9
    Very good game. The graphics are great, and monsters look great. It's also nice to see those skeleton guys takin those fatso shooters as shield. And, it's fun to watch when enemies suddenly begin to fight each other. Well, anyways this game is great.. But those who want something more than a brainless shooting, leave this game in the shop.
  13. Cyberxero
    Sep 30, 2004
    9
    This game is sooo coool.The graphics are awesome,the physics are awesome and the weapons give you a sense of power over your enemy and are very unique.The bosses are so cool and so fun to fight and there are so many variations in the enemies.I think painkiller did what Doom 3 tried to.What I mean is that the first doom games were frantic and fun but Doom 3 was all dark and spooky and the This game is sooo coool.The graphics are awesome,the physics are awesome and the weapons give you a sense of power over your enemy and are very unique.The bosses are so cool and so fun to fight and there are so many variations in the enemies.I think painkiller did what Doom 3 tried to.What I mean is that the first doom games were frantic and fun but Doom 3 was all dark and spooky and the most enemies I fought at once was only like 5.Painkiller brought the old school FPS that the original doom games and quake games started and simply made the graphics,physics,and gameplay funner and better.Pretty cool game overall,worth checking out and probably buying.And the thing that doesnt make it repetitive is the new levels,new bosses,new weapons,and new enemies.Very fun game in my opinion! Expand
  14. AleksasM.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    supreme graphics and physics, supreme soundtracks and music, variety of total free action (not like in doom3), big landscapes, fastest multiplayer ever created, original levels based on real structures in this world, insane bloodfest - monsters gib very naturaly, high potencial of making all sorts of trickjumps and other things, plus unique features like painkillerjumping, gibing, tarot supreme graphics and physics, supreme soundtracks and music, variety of total free action (not like in doom3), big landscapes, fastest multiplayer ever created, original levels based on real structures in this world, insane bloodfest - monsters gib very naturaly, high potencial of making all sorts of trickjumps and other things, plus unique features like painkillerjumping, gibing, tarot cards and demon morph and of course - the bigest bosses ever seen in FPS. Forget Serious Sam. Expand
  15. JamesP.
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    Mindless violence perfected, who wouldnt love it?
  16. JohnS.
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    Perfect. Just perfect, Taking out an entire army of demons to save yourself and get into heaven, killing giants, The blood lust is perfect.
  17. WesleyC.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    I never played the full game but I just bought it. Anyhow, The demo game is truly amazing! The giant bosses stay in your head so you can't stop thinking about them! They might give you nightmares as well! The game is incredibly fun. I am shivering because I can't wait to try the full game! IT'S A MUST HAVE!
  18. JohnR.
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    Seriously - I'm not joking: Painkiller may be one of the best action games ever made. Most people describe it as a more serious and darker Serious Sam... but in fact Painkiller is much more. The epic story about Daniel Garner who is being abused to fight for heaven is... not really important since there is no direct connection between the cutscenes and the levels but it's still Seriously - I'm not joking: Painkiller may be one of the best action games ever made. Most people describe it as a more serious and darker Serious Sam... but in fact Painkiller is much more. The epic story about Daniel Garner who is being abused to fight for heaven is... not really important since there is no direct connection between the cutscenes and the levels but it's still a fantastic backbone for those weird worlds the player is about to encounter. There is graveyards, caves but also military bases, a medieval village and even a cathedral and an amphitheatre where you fight the weirdest kinds of demons ranging from skeletons armed with clubs to fat punks with machineguns. The game is a really surreal experience and has a high artistic value. And you can be sure to find some of the greatest bosses in this game. Anyway: Painkiller is simple. It absolutely sticks to simplicity and that's its strong point. Every single one of the six weapons is perfectly designed and every enemy has his own ways of attacking you - if you're not too ignorant to accept this simple kind of action you will actually even be surprised how perfect the gameplay is. And there is some unique features that make Painkiller really special such as the demon transformation gained by collecting enemies' souls and unlockable tarot cards which give the player some bonusses. And these tarot cards can only be achieved by fulfilling special tasks such as only using a certain weapon, not being hurt once in a level, collecting all gold, killing all enemies etc.. These special tasks make the action actually quite varied. Also the multiplayer mode is plain fun. It's one of the most entertaining deathmatch games ever made. The fast pace and the very different kinds of weapons are making it really special - and the fact that the game was represented at the World Cyber Games speaks for itself. Also check out the official addon Battle out of Hell which is almost as great as the main game. But don't even think about playing Overdose which is actually just a fan made production that somehow got turned into a commercial addon - it simply sucks. Btw: By now there is sort of a sequel to this game called NecroVisioN. It has been made by some of the original developers and it's even using an improved PAIN engine. Unfortunately the developers didn't stick to the formula of Painkiller but tried to combine the story with the actual gameply and make the fighting more "interesting" - which actually made NecroVisioN just another average shooter. That's why I even more recommend Painkiller and its addon Battle out of Hell. The gameplay won't get old and the graphics are still nice to look at. Expand
  19. BrianG.
    Feb 10, 2004
    10
    Great looking game..shouldb e a goody.
  20. DaveU.
    Feb 10, 2004
    9
    Wow..movie looks great..and leaked demo is sh.t loads of fun!!
  21. LivioM.
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    Great Game! Stylish and packed with adrenaline!
  22. AlbertoR.
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    Hello? this is the BEST GAME EVER!
  23. HarmL.
    Apr 27, 2004
    8
    Great to play after a session of Farcry. No more lurking in the bushes. Lets get simple-minded and go banging away with your big guns on those baddies.
  24. MasP.
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Game of the year.
  25. lopiplolp
    Jun 22, 2004
    9
    It's very good. Not better than far cry but in this year it is in best ten FPP.
  26. Mr.x
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Kix ass !!!
  27. JohnF.
    Jun 27, 2004
    10
    This is a great action game in the tradition of the Doom games. It has great graphics and awsome cut scenes.
  28. SimonB.
    Aug 16, 2006
    8
    [***SPOILERS***] It happened. After all these years of saying no to my Doc, I finally took a Painkiller, and it was good. You are a normal man, Daniel. You die in a car crash and Gabriel (an angel of heaven) tells you that you need to do some mass murdering for heaven in a world called Purgatory. Okay, storyline-wise, I won't argue, this game is very poor. Why an 8 if I begin on such [***SPOILERS***] It happened. After all these years of saying no to my Doc, I finally took a Painkiller, and it was good. You are a normal man, Daniel. You die in a car crash and Gabriel (an angel of heaven) tells you that you need to do some mass murdering for heaven in a world called Purgatory. Okay, storyline-wise, I won't argue, this game is very poor. Why an 8 if I begin on such a low tone? Well... A while ago, Doom was born. Doom 1, I mean. Doom 1 was all about opening a door and finding a room full of frenzy beasts awaiting to fester or plant bullets on your flesh. Painkiller takes that back and blends it together for an exotic cocktail of gore and action. There is nothing to be scared of, nothing to be impressed about (aside from the towering bosses). Only, every once in a while ,you might get a satisfied smirk from blowing some ennemies to bits and finding nothing but gibs and blood on the walls around you. Purgatory is set out in five different worlds with different chapters. Every world puts you through great graphic architecture and endless killings of ennemies. There is absolutely NO story-telling aside from the introduction. You run around, shoot stuff and watch the ragdoll physics do their job on them as you've either taken them down or blown them to whatever hell they came from. This game reminds us old-school FPS fans of what FPS were a while back: Continuous massacres of hundreds of hordes of demons that just keep coming. All in all; This is by no means a deep game, nor something close to F.E.A.R or anything with a scenario and intelligent ennemies. But it -is- a true FPS in the likes of Serious Sam and games where you spend most of your time just killing and NEVER asking questions later. If you're the kind to not want to play a game but just see what happens around it, don't play Painkiller. But if you're the kind to enjoy being the "center of attraction", you'll love this game. Expand
  29. MichaelA.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    To all the whiners who say this game sux... Get a life... Painkiller takes the meaning FPS to a whole new level, of course its just running around shooting stuff, but thats what most of us like, its like the good old Doom games, and Duke Nukem, just with a twist of speed, and better graphics... There no thinking theres just slaughter, and thats what makes this game so special old To all the whiners who say this game sux... Get a life... Painkiller takes the meaning FPS to a whole new level, of course its just running around shooting stuff, but thats what most of us like, its like the good old Doom games, and Duke Nukem, just with a twist of speed, and better graphics... There no thinking theres just slaughter, and thats what makes this game so special old school... Painkiller gets 10 from me awesome game. Expand
  30. KakH.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    This is a cool game. Great phisics engine, and nice to look at. Most importantly, this game reminded me of Serious Sam, one of my all time favourite games. It is mindless violence, and like Serious Sam, is a throwback to old games like Doom, but with better graphics. If you loved Doom, Serious Sam, or any other similar game (Quake, Heretic, etc), you should buy this game now.
  31. PainkillerWins
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    Painkiller is one of the most straightforward games of all time. That isn't saying it's bad; after all; Pacman was straightforward; yet it's made of win. Painkiller offers hours of fun killing, the attention to detail is superlative in every level; and you can see how much work was really put into it. Don't bother listening to the people who say it's boring or Painkiller is one of the most straightforward games of all time. That isn't saying it's bad; after all; Pacman was straightforward; yet it's made of win. Painkiller offers hours of fun killing, the attention to detail is superlative in every level; and you can see how much work was really put into it. Don't bother listening to the people who say it's boring or mindless. While it doesn't actually have THAT good a story; the missions are different enough from each other to play and have fun in. Unlike some modern FPS games; it's not trying to boast its physics. It's just there for FUN; something which a lot of people seem to have forgotten how to have. Expand
  32. Marcin
    Apr 25, 2004
    8
    It's not perfect, but playing it is fun, and creepy :)
  33. BobB.
    Apr 26, 2004
    9
    Very very addictive!! Highly recommended to all Quake1 fans!!
  34. MarkH.
    May 25, 2004
    10
    Simply the best shooter of 2004 so far - if, of course, you prefer shooting to hiding in bushes...
  35. Yendru
    Aug 27, 2004
    9
    OK i've read all the comments on this game and I must say that there is some misunderstanding. I have the game an think that it's great if u want to KILL thousands of monsters and have just pure fun out of it. I also love the demon transformation feature, which kicks ass:). Ofcourse the graphics are great too but the thing that really made me smile:) was those HUGE, MONSTROUS OK i've read all the comments on this game and I must say that there is some misunderstanding. I have the game an think that it's great if u want to KILL thousands of monsters and have just pure fun out of it. I also love the demon transformation feature, which kicks ass:). Ofcourse the graphics are great too but the thing that really made me smile:) was those HUGE, MONSTROUS bosses! and my favourite all-time weapon the one that shoots those big sharped sticks:P. Oh and I don't supose that a skeleton or an undead zombie could be that intelligent... C'mon they're just a pile of meat (& bones)! Buy It if you like to EXTERMINATE and have fun:) Expand
  36. Sotamarsu
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    [***SPOILERS***] Great graphics, physics and soundtracks. If the normal single player isn't enough, try to obtain all the tarot cards or other records. You need to go through the game atleast 2 times to get all tarot cards (or all levels).
  37. PeterF.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    I am a fan of first person shooters. My favorites are 1.Crysis, 2.HL2, 3.FEAR, 4. Quake4, 5.Painkiller and all others come after that. Painkiller ist pure fun playing. It has some of the best weapons of all shooters and defenitely the best shotgun i ever played. And it has huge bosses. It can be played more times than only one and doesnt get boring, because the final target is to play it I am a fan of first person shooters. My favorites are 1.Crysis, 2.HL2, 3.FEAR, 4. Quake4, 5.Painkiller and all others come after that. Painkiller ist pure fun playing. It has some of the best weapons of all shooters and defenitely the best shotgun i ever played. And it has huge bosses. It can be played more times than only one and doesnt get boring, because the final target is to play it on hardest difficulty, and that`s really hard. You must practise a lot, to get skilled enough for that. Also try the add-ons: "Battle Out Of Hell" is stunning, "Overdose" is not that good as BOOH, but is still good enough. Expand
  38. kokoskokos
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Great game, biiig boss and super guns! POLISH GAME!!!
  39. FlorianA.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Thats the best ego shooter ever.
  40. NicenV.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Don`t be fooled by ppl who have no idea. If u love fps , if u love action and straight forward shooting you u r right here. NO lame "we are so great we have a physic" stuff from HL2. Pure FPS Fun.
  41. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    A game that isn't ashamed to be what it is. A really simple, over the top deathathon, with great and varied weapons. A flashback to the good old days, and I applaud it for that.
  42. Nov 23, 2010
    8
    There are already enough positive reviews here to already mirror what I am going to say. Another classic that somehow still has it's appeal to this day; the spiritual story, the mysteriously fantastical areas, the crazy enemies, special abilities, myriad of treasures or secret areas, and the crazy weapons. It's enough to make any lover of Quake or frantic shooters drool. I for one, don'tThere are already enough positive reviews here to already mirror what I am going to say. Another classic that somehow still has it's appeal to this day; the spiritual story, the mysteriously fantastical areas, the crazy enemies, special abilities, myriad of treasures or secret areas, and the crazy weapons. It's enough to make any lover of Quake or frantic shooters drool. I for one, don't think this game deserves such a high score like a 9 or a 10; but, it comes close to being a classic which will withstand the test of time! Expand
  43. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    This is one of the two games that Yahtzee or Zero Punctuation likes over at the Escapists means it's actually good.

    To quote him "The story can go **** itself... (more problems with the game) ... But any criticism I find is immediatly squashed when I remember there is a gun that shoots Shurigans and Lightning.

    The way I felt about it.
  44. Sep 13, 2011
    8
    Fast paced, Voilent, and above all good mindless fun, I found myself yelling warcries at the enmies as they flew across my monitor like meat filled water balloons.
    Will not thrill you if you're looking for a story driven game, but it makes up for that by being just plain good.
    Given the choice get this and 'battle out of hell' but not any of the other expansions or additions as this is the
    Fast paced, Voilent, and above all good mindless fun, I found myself yelling warcries at the enmies as they flew across my monitor like meat filled water balloons.
    Will not thrill you if you're looking for a story driven game, but it makes up for that by being just plain good.
    Given the choice get this and 'battle out of hell' but not any of the other expansions or additions as this is the best it gets.
    Expand
  45. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Genial música, física muy buena. Me encanta ver como despedazo a los monstruos. Un buen surtido de armas, cada una con sus pros y contras. Jefes finales... cinematicas....Esta traducido a varios idiomas incluido las voces. Para mi es un FPS 10.
  46. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    If there is any Painkiller game in the series that holds its water, it is this one and the expansion Battle out of Hell. The original more or less gets the formula right with plenty of action, ambiance when not battling and massive bosses. Recommended if new to the series.
  47. May 10, 2012
    10
    Though it has its bugs and frustrations, I really can't say enough good things about Painkiller. At least the first two, and Overdose (included in Black Edition) is awfully cool too, but lacks some of the charm of the first. It's probably still my favorite after five years and countless other games. The fighting is insanely cool, though a bit repetitive. But mostly, its atmosphere andThough it has its bugs and frustrations, I really can't say enough good things about Painkiller. At least the first two, and Overdose (included in Black Edition) is awfully cool too, but lacks some of the charm of the first. It's probably still my favorite after five years and countless other games. The fighting is insanely cool, though a bit repetitive. But mostly, its atmosphere and creep factor can't be beat. Incredible, awe-inspiring maps. Pretty darned creepy monsters. Finding secrets is quite an interesting challenge as well. It scares you. It thrills you. It awes you. Wish the subsequent sequels lived up to the original. But alas, Painkiller was a landmark - and still seminal and stand-alone in the horror world. Plenty of good sci fi games. Only one good horror one - and that's PK Expand
  48. May 21, 2012
    10
    FPS the way it should be! At least according to old-school fans.... Considered by many to be more deserving of the name "Doom 3" than the actual one, this game takes everything that made up the classics, and pushes them to 11! ___Extremely vast choice of weapons, each of them more impressive and satisfying to use (that is, slaughter with).

    Also, impressive architecture, but just as the
    FPS the way it should be! At least according to old-school fans.... Considered by many to be more deserving of the name "Doom 3" than the actual one, this game takes everything that made up the classics, and pushes them to 11! ___Extremely vast choice of weapons, each of them more impressive and satisfying to use (that is, slaughter with).

    Also, impressive architecture, but just as the "no punctuation" review says, if you spend longer than 30 seconds without shooting, you're doing it wrong.
    Expand
  49. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    Painkiller doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is- its a level based mob combat FPS in the spiritual vein of Doom or Serious Sam. The plot is incomprehensible- and what little sense it does make has little to do with the enemies and levels it throws at you.

    But as a pure mindless shooter it is an awful lot of fun. The levels are varied and well designed. The weapons are
    Painkiller doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is- its a level based mob combat FPS in the spiritual vein of Doom or Serious Sam. The plot is incomprehensible- and what little sense it does make has little to do with the enemies and levels it throws at you.

    But as a pure mindless shooter it is an awful lot of fun. The levels are varied and well designed. The weapons are distinctive and well implemented- especially the eponymous
    Expand
  50. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    This is a great game. It has such good gameplay. It is more satisfying than any modern shooter like Call of duty or battlefield. This is the demonic love child of old school shooters like doom, quake and serious Sam, mixed with the graphics of 2004. Admittedly, I can't get past the first level of the demo, but I'm not that great at shooters, so don't think the game is too hard. If youThis is a great game. It has such good gameplay. It is more satisfying than any modern shooter like Call of duty or battlefield. This is the demonic love child of old school shooters like doom, quake and serious Sam, mixed with the graphics of 2004. Admittedly, I can't get past the first level of the demo, but I'm not that great at shooters, so don't think the game is too hard. If you liked games like serious Sam, you will love this game, The only complaints are the story is bad and, this isn't a complaint, I just think it's a bit difficult, but that's just me. A great game, and well worth your time and money. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
  1. A good choice for folks who want to wind down at the end of the day with a fast-paced diversion that requires absolutely no brainpower to master and enjoy.
  2. Cheat Code Central
    80
    You'll need a fairly souped up machine and graphics card to get the most out of Painkiller but if you have yearned for the return of games like "Serious Sam," "Doom" and the original "Quake" your next stop is Purgatory. Tell 'em I sent you.
  3. I love it. I became addicted to this game very quickly. My wife is starting to get jealous now.