Panzer Corps PC

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Sep 18, 2011
    79
    If you have never played Panzer General, this almost carbon copy of SSI's masterpiece may easily blow your mind.
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    90
    When it comes to being Panzer General, Panzer Corps beats the pants off the competition.
  3. 80
    A great "remake" of a timeless classic without any real flaws. Who would have suspected with a cover this ugly?
  4. Sep 16, 2011
    80
    Wether you are a Panzer General-veteran or just a newbie who wants to try a wargame that isn't absurdly complicated or demands that you read a rulebook the size of the bible, Panzer Corps is the game to get.
  5. Aug 8, 2011
    91
    Panzer Corps has brought back a flood of wonderful memories for me and while I fully realize that I'm a certified Panzer General fan boy and that could possibly cloud my judgment of the merits of Panzer Corps, all I know is that my campaign ended in a German defeat.
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    80
    Panzer Corps is a great turn-based strategic wargame that captures Panzer General's deep and involving classic gameplay.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    85
    Is it possible for an almost prehistoric and virtually unchanged game to be fun today? Yes! If you've never played Panzer General (shame on you btw.), get this one!
  8. Sep 8, 2011
    81
    It's Panzer General in a new greatcoat. A perfect introduction to the wonderful world of wargaming. [Oct 2011, p.80]
  9. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    Panzer Corps: Wehrmacht is a well done remake of the turn-based-strategy classic Panzer General. You control hundreds of units – tanks, artillery, infantry, ships, aircraft in 4 historical german campaigns. Additional 29 scenarios gives you the chance, to play tha Allies as well. Though the games' graphics isn't up to date, the gameplay is just great and offers great tactical and strategical variety.
  10. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    A great wargame that doesn't sacrifice its depth for strategic challenge. Some puzzle-like scenarios will obfuscate enjoyment. [Oct 2011, p.64]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I'm loving this game. I haven't had this much of "just one more turn" in years. We done. I also love that the game is from the German pov; notI'm loving this game. I haven't had this much of "just one more turn" in years. We done. I also love that the game is from the German pov; not that common. Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This is a no excuses remake of panzer general. Apart from the obviously enhanced graphics it is about 98% identical to the original game.This is a no excuses remake of panzer general. Apart from the obviously enhanced graphics it is about 98% identical to the original game.

    Is this bad? No it's awesome, Panzer General did not need "fixing" it just needed re releasing.!

    The 2% that has changed has changed for the good. An example, if you surround an opponents unit with several of your own units who have still got their shooting action for the turn left, you get a bonus when you attack. In the old panzer general you had to attack with one, then another then another, with no benefit for each attack. Although you still launch the attacks separately you get a bonus for each neighbouring unit, making outflanking and swamping that really tough enemy unit a viable (and realistic) tactic.

    If you were a panzer general fan then I would say it is a no brainer, you MUST buy this game. If you are not ancient enough to have played the original game and are looking for a really interesting strategic WW2 game then look no further...

    Andy Watkins
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    This game is art, it's a wonderful recreation of a classic game! It is so addictive that I go into a trance when I play. I highly recommendThis game is art, it's a wonderful recreation of a classic game! It is so addictive that I go into a trance when I play. I highly recommend this game to all gamers and just because it's turn based doesn't mean it's rubbish.
    Trust me go to Slitherine or Matrix Games websites and buy this baby.
    Full Review »