User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 8 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I'm loving this game. I haven't had this much of "just one more turn" in years. We done. I also love that the game is from the German pov; not that common.
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This is a no excuses remake of panzer general. Apart from the obviously enhanced graphics it is about 98% identical to the original game.

    Is this bad? No it's awesome, Panzer General did not need "fixing" it just needed re releasing.!

    The 2% that has changed has changed for the good. An example, if you surround an opponents unit with several of your own units who have still got
    their shooting action for the turn left, you get a bonus when you attack. In the old panzer general you had to attack with one, then another then another, with no benefit for each attack. Although you still launch the attacks separately you get a bonus for each neighbouring unit, making outflanking and swamping that really tough enemy unit a viable (and realistic) tactic.

    If you were a panzer general fan then I would say it is a no brainer, you MUST buy this game. If you are not ancient enough to have played the original game and are looking for a really interesting strategic WW2 game then look no further...

    Andy Watkins
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I really love this game, i'm a long time panzer general fan. While the game is true to it's roots improvements to key elements such as AI and balancing really improved the game and set it aside from a simple port. This one will keep me up many an hour as the original did!
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    This game is art, it's a wonderful recreation of a classic game! It is so addictive that I go into a trance when I play. I highly recommend this game to all gamers and just because it's turn based doesn't mean it's rubbish.
    Trust me go to Slitherine or Matrix Games websites and buy this baby.
  5. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love the game. I've been playing PG type games for 15 years If you like turn based strategy games this is a must. Some noteable improvements on PG I like that units are not automatically healed between scenarios - much more logical. I like balance on prices - much more consistent between units. The library is great for tanks but will be better when they add more content to it. I like being able to switch units from AA to anit-tank mode
    The multiplayer system is exceptional and needs to be tried to be believed.
    Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2011
    9
    First, let it be clearly said that Panzer Corps is a remake of the old classic from the 90s: Panzer General. I loved Panzer General in those days I and played that game to exhaustion. Panzer Corps is everything that Panzer General was and it had its terrific gameplay further improved. Another reviewer has already commented that now you get a bonus when attacking an enemy unit for each of your units that is next to it, making swamping a unit, a viable tactic. But no one seems to have commented on one of the most important gameplay refinements, that you are now able to move or attack with a unit, then change to another units (or units) and then come back later to finish with the remaining movement or attack of the original unit. This freedom to attack/move in any order that you wish makes for a much more interesting game. Another interesting new twist is that recon units may move, stop, spot the terrain and move again (spending one movement point each time that they stop and move again) and they are able to move one hex at a time even when next to an enemy unit. Artillery and strategic bombers inflict suppression as in the original game but the presentation is also better in Panzer Corps. You may also overstrength your more experienced units between scenarios (instead of having to do it in the middle of a scenario like in Panzer General). All those improved rules make Panzer Corps shine even more than Panzer General.
    The game also has a very good tutorial campaign that explains all these rules very well and it includes a few new scenarios like the invasion of the USA at the end of a very successful axis campaign.
    Finally, the only reason I did not rate it as a 10 is that the game is somewhat expensive and the African scenarios from the original do not exist here (nor the invasion of Crete) and the AI, although better than the AI in Panzer General, still does not know how to attack very well. It defends itself better but it still does not know how to use effectively the different combat units in order to take a city with lesser losses, for example.
    The only other complaint I can think of is that I haven't had a decent night's sleep in over a week now...
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    I have a lot of fond memories of Panzer General, Allied General and the rest of the old SSI lineup from the mid to late 90s. They're wargames of the everyman, far less complex than Steel Panthers or pretty much anything by the famed Gary Grigsby. Those are great games, too, but Panzer General was the gateway to its more complex cousins. Today, Panzer Corps is every bit the spiritual successor to those classic titles and does not disappoint. Deep enough to be engaging, simple enough to be picked up quickly, Panzer Corps does it all right. If you enjoy strategy games that are accessible while still being complex enough to require thought and planning for a few turns ahead, then Panzer Corps is for you. If you remember and love the old Panzer General Series (Panzer General 2 is available on Good Old Games), then Panzer Corps is doubly for you. Well made, stable, and hours of fun. Collapse
  8. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This is both the entry level and intermediate war game. It's best at describing the various military vehicles and units from World War 2. In terms of graphics, it wasn't your 3D fancy games, but it is more fun and playful than those eye candy product. Based on remake for earlier Panzer General, it brings many nostalgic idea but enhanced with carefully planned tweak.
    For those whose new to
    the genre, Panzer Corps are addicting game which you can brought your unit from campaign to campaign just like an RPG ! It even comes with a commander for the unit later on. Expand
  9. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Excellent game! takes me back, really long, hard fun game. Highly recommended if you are a fan of the genre. Will keep you busy for a long time! A good entry level Wargame, fairly simple, but challenging.
  10. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Simply a great game. I played all the older SSI games (from panzer general to panzer general 2 to allied general, peoples general and even fantasy and star general). So if Sliterhine wants to expand on Panzer Corps the still have ample opportunities to do so. But first I am looking forward to the expansion campaign sets.
  11. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    For the first time from very long time i see remake that is actually worth buying. Coz all other that i was waiting for and counting days till launch were major disappointment - for example Dungeons. Why? because devs didn't only want to remove dust, and make graphics little more modern - they try to make whole game a lot better then those dinosaurs did it 10 years ago so they remove everything that they can to make action faster, focus at graphics flashiness and implement 1 or 2 ideas that most certainly kill whole gampley but look good at paper and in commercials. Here with Panzer Corps we have good old Panzer General with better graphics and very little cosmetic changes to gameplay. And it's perfect -they basically only patched up Panzer General not trying to do it 3d RTS or something even more 'brilliant'. I thank you for this mr. Panzer Corps developer you earned my respect with this and I will most certainly check out your future products. Oh and please dust up People's General also maybe it's only Panzer General clone but NATO vs communist China with modern weaponry gave me very nice weeks of gameplay those i don't know? 10 years ago? Expand
  12. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    It's a throwback. It's turn-based. It's WWII. It's a lot of fun! It's not perfect, but it does perfectly recreate the great and relatively simple fun of the Panzer General series. My only 'gripe' is that you can only play the Germans!
  13. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    This game brings back a game I have missed over the last few years. While I enjoy some real time games my real love has been for turn based. This company has resurected panzer general. a game that was a perfect way to consume days in thinking about tactical situations without the overwelming complexity of say a hearts of iron. if you havent tried it you should if olny because our choces in gameing have been shrinking for years. Now if only they would sit down and give me masters of orion, and an X-com remake better than the UFO aftermath series Expand
  14. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    Faithful remake of Panzer General with obvious signs of love and devotion in the form of improved visuals, sound effects, AI, and balance. Thorough tutorial introduces the easy to learn but difficulty to master unit tactics for new players. Scenarios are fantastically well done and challenging requiring the mastery of a variety of tactics. Great introductory war game but also great for anyone looking to relive the nostalgia of the old masterpieces. Expand
  15. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Very good game, nearly wargames, but maybe too simplistic. But, perfect for playing cool with tactical and strategical minds.
    For instance i've too Heart of Iron III, maybe more serious, but too long, too hard, not cool in fact.
    This one, Panzer Corps, really for have a nice time.
  16. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    This is the most compelling game I've played in years. It's not "one more turn", but rather one more battle. ;o) The game does a number of things exceptionally well. Although a turn-based war game it is not a hard core uber-complex Grognard game at all, but rather in the "easy to learn, hard to master" category that rewards a thoughtful combined arms approach. Also, the level of abstraction in the game was a stroke of brilliance: the game consists of several branching campaigns, and although the battles are at the operational level (i.e. the invasion of Norway, the battle of Kursk), the gameplay has a very tactical "bang, bang, shoot them up" feel to it. It works very well, however, and the battles have a surprisingly high degree of historical accuracy, abstractions notwithstanding. Perhaps most importantly though, by being able to purchase, upgrade, rename, and carry over units from battle to battle, the game has a distinct role-playing feel to it which makes it extremely compelling. And I should also mention that the unit choices and upgrades available to you are nearly enormous. You can eventually even obtain the ME-262 and Komet fighters, to say nothing of a few advanced heavy bombers that as far as I know never made it to production. It's also interesting to note that you play a very de-Naziffied Germany in this game. No where is 'The Fuhrer' ever mentioned. This is a good thing though, as the Germans in WW2 created the most efficient military machine the world has ever seen and they are a blast to play. The only real down side to the game is that if you don't decisively defeat the Allies in the early-to-mid war you may find yourself facing long odds by mid-1944, although to be fair this of course was the case historically. Still in all it can be very demoralizing to see the magnificent military machine you've painstakingly built up and led through many hard-fought battles in 1939-43 get trashed by superior Allied numbers in 1944-45. Losing one of your 'pet' units is almost like seeing a favorite companion killed in Fallout: New Vegas. ;o) Still in all this game is a gem and an instant classic, and one that I will probably come back to at least a couple of times a year. If you are a fan of historical strategy games this one is not to be missed. Expand
  17. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Absolutely marvellous. I loved the original PG and think this re-make is just great. No one needed to make a "new" one - the re-release so that I can play it on today's machines was just the right move. Well, almost. I got through the campaigns rather quickly and some new material really would have been welcomed and even expected at the offered price. The PBEM system should have also included being able to save to stick or sending by my personal email as well. Well, those things overall were relatively minor, thus the 1 pt. off. I hope we get some more re-makes of the rest of the PG series as well as those wonderful other games like Steel Panthers for use on today's equipment. Expand
  18. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    If you liked the original panzer general, or in general turn based strategy games you will love this. Lots of hours of deep thinking. Highly recommended is the GC mega pack of campaigns, which brings the game to another level.
    My main point of criticism is the price of this game. I understand it is like a fine ivory set of chess, which you buy only if you can appreciate the genre, but
    still its price greatly exceeded my expectations.
    Another point of criticism, is the game is not really designed for high resolutions. Everything feels way too small at 1900x1080.
    Averaging metacritic user scores gives 9.14. How come metacritic arrived to 8.1 even with reworked formulas that's quite a gap.
    Expand
  19. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    A truly incredible and faithful recreation of the old classic SSI Panzer General series. Needs a thorough reimagining on all fronts; US side/Soviets, perhaps a futuristic or cold war version. The possibilities are endless with the beautiful artwork, attention to detail and endless fun this platform provides. Would recommend to any wargamer out there wholeheartedly.
  20. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Although it is perceived as a remake of Panzer General, this game deserves much more credit. Waiting more than a decade for a sequel to Panzer General II, Panzer Corps was a relief. Embraced the basic concepts of the original game and added a few new features. I hope the next release involves much modern graphics and game engine.
  21. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    This is for the fans of the original panzer general , well done, well excuted full of nostalgia ...not sure how much it appeals to an audience used to rts .. but Im loving it
  22. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    I have a lot of fond memories of Panzer General, Allied General and the rest of the old SSI lineup from the mid to late 90s. They're wargames of the everyman, far less complex than Steel Panthers or pretty much anything by the famed Gary Grigsby. Those are great games, too, but Panzer General was the gateway to its more complex cousins. Today, Panzer Corps is every bit the spiritual successor to those classic titles and does not disappoint. Deep enough to be engaging, simple enough to be picked up quickly, Panzer Corps does it all right. If you enjoy strategy games that are accessible while still being complex enough to require thought and planning for a few turns ahead, then Panzer Corps is for you. If you remember and love the old Panzer General Series (Panzer General 2 is available on Good Old Games), then Panzer Corps is doubly for you. Well made, stable, and hours of fun. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 80
    A great "remake" of a timeless classic without any real flaws. Who would have suspected with a cover this ugly?
  2. Sep 18, 2011
    79
    If you have never played Panzer General, this almost carbon copy of SSI's masterpiece may easily blow your mind.
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    80
    Wether you are a Panzer General-veteran or just a newbie who wants to try a wargame that isn't absurdly complicated or demands that you read a rulebook the size of the bible, Panzer Corps is the game to get.