Panzer Corps Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Panzer Corps will feature 26 scenarios on 21 unique maps, covering most major battles of the European Theatre of World War II and including a few hypothetical 'what if' scenarios based on your actions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    91
    Panzer Corps has brought back a flood of wonderful memories for me and while I fully realize that I'm a certified Panzer General fan boy and that could possibly cloud my judgment of the merits of Panzer Corps, all I know is that my campaign ended in a German defeat.
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    90
    When it comes to being Panzer General, Panzer Corps beats the pants off the competition.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    Panzer Corps: Wehrmacht is a well done remake of the turn-based-strategy classic Panzer General. You control hundreds of units – tanks, artillery, infantry, ships, aircraft in 4 historical german campaigns. Additional 29 scenarios gives you the chance, to play tha Allies as well. Though the games' graphics isn't up to date, the gameplay is just great and offers great tactical and strategical variety.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    80
    Panzer Corps is a great turn-based strategic wargame that captures Panzer General's deep and involving classic gameplay.
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    80
    Wether you are a Panzer General-veteran or just a newbie who wants to try a wargame that isn't absurdly complicated or demands that you read a rulebook the size of the bible, Panzer Corps is the game to get.
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    A great wargame that doesn't sacrifice its depth for strategic challenge. Some puzzle-like scenarios will obfuscate enjoyment. [Oct 2011, p.64]
  7. 70
    This is an incredibly fun game, but it's mostly stolen from an earlier series, and it's too expensive.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I'm loving this game. I haven't had this much of "just one more turn" in years. We done. I also love that the game is from the German pov; not that common. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Excellent game! takes me back, really long, hard fun game. Highly recommended if you are a fan of the genre. Will keep you busy for a long time! A good entry level Wargame, fairly simple, but challenging. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    If you liked the original panzer general, or in general turn based strategy games you will love this. Lots of hours of deep thinking. Highly recommended is the GC mega pack of campaigns, which brings the game to another level.
    My main point of criticism is the price of this game. I understand it is like a fine ivory set of chess, which you buy only if you can appreciate the genre, but still its price greatly exceeded my expectations.
    Another point of criticism, is the game is not really designed for high resolutions. Everything feels way too small at 1900x1080.
    Averaging metacritic user scores gives 9.14. How come metacritic arrived to 8.1 even with reworked formulas that's quite a gap.
    Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    This game is art, it's a wonderful recreation of a classic game! It is so addictive that I go into a trance when I play. I highly recommend this game to all gamers and just because it's turn based doesn't mean it's rubbish.
    Trust me go to Slitherine or Matrix Games websites and buy this baby.
    Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    Faithful remake of Panzer General with obvious signs of love and devotion in the form of improved visuals, sound effects, AI, and balance. Thorough tutorial introduces the easy to learn but difficulty to master unit tactics for new players. Scenarios are fantastically well done and challenging requiring the mastery of a variety of tactics. Great introductory war game but also great for anyone looking to relive the nostalgia of the old masterpieces. Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2011
    9
    First, let it be clearly said that Panzer Corps is a remake of the old classic from the 90s: Panzer General. I loved Panzer General in those days I and played that game to exhaustion. Panzer Corps is everything that Panzer General was and it had its terrific gameplay further improved. Another reviewer has already commented that now you get a bonus when attacking an enemy unit for each of your units that is next to it, making swamping a unit, a viable tactic. But no one seems to have commented on one of the most important gameplay refinements, that you are now able to move or attack with a unit, then change to another units (or units) and then come back later to finish with the remaining movement or attack of the original unit. This freedom to attack/move in any order that you wish makes for a much more interesting game. Another interesting new twist is that recon units may move, stop, spot the terrain and move again (spending one movement point each time that they stop and move again) and they are able to move one hex at a time even when next to an enemy unit. Artillery and strategic bombers inflict suppression as in the original game but the presentation is also better in Panzer Corps. You may also overstrength your more experienced units between scenarios (instead of having to do it in the middle of a scenario like in Panzer General). All those improved rules make Panzer Corps shine even more than Panzer General.
    The game also has a very good tutorial campaign that explains all these rules very well and it includes a few new scenarios like the invasion of the USA at the end of a very successful axis campaign.
    Finally, the only reason I did not rate it as a 10 is that the game is somewhat expensive and the African scenarios from the original do not exist here (nor the invasion of Crete) and the AI, although better than the AI in Panzer General, still does not know how to attack very well. It defends itself better but it still does not know how to use effectively the different combat units in order to take a city with lesser losses, for example.
    The only other complaint I can think of is that I haven't had a decent night's sleep in over a week now...
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Copied from a classic. Slitherine hasn't released anything original on its own for a long time. Thieves? Perhaps. Likely. I prefer the old Panzer General over Panzer Corps to this day! Sad no other competent publisher couldn't think of this idea instead of Slitherine. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews