Panzer Corps Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Panzer Corps will feature 26 scenarios on 21 unique maps, covering most major battles of the European Theatre of World War II and including a few hypothetical 'what if' scenarios based on your actions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    91
    Panzer Corps has brought back a flood of wonderful memories for me and while I fully realize that I'm a certified Panzer General fan boy and that could possibly cloud my judgment of the merits of Panzer Corps, all I know is that my campaign ended in a German defeat.
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    90
    When it comes to being Panzer General, Panzer Corps beats the pants off the competition.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    Panzer Corps: Wehrmacht is a well done remake of the turn-based-strategy classic Panzer General. You control hundreds of units – tanks, artillery, infantry, ships, aircraft in 4 historical german campaigns. Additional 29 scenarios gives you the chance, to play tha Allies as well. Though the games' graphics isn't up to date, the gameplay is just great and offers great tactical and strategical variety.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    80
    Panzer Corps is a great turn-based strategic wargame that captures Panzer General's deep and involving classic gameplay.
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    80
    Wether you are a Panzer General-veteran or just a newbie who wants to try a wargame that isn't absurdly complicated or demands that you read a rulebook the size of the bible, Panzer Corps is the game to get.
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    A great wargame that doesn't sacrifice its depth for strategic challenge. Some puzzle-like scenarios will obfuscate enjoyment. [Oct 2011, p.64]
  7. 70
    This is an incredibly fun game, but it's mostly stolen from an earlier series, and it's too expensive.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    A truly incredible and faithful recreation of the old classic SSI Panzer General series. Needs a thorough reimagining on all fronts; US side/Soviets, perhaps a futuristic or cold war version. The possibilities are endless with the beautiful artwork, attention to detail and endless fun this platform provides. Would recommend to any wargamer out there wholeheartedly. Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I'm loving this game. I haven't had this much of "just one more turn" in years. We done. I also love that the game is from the German pov; not that common. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    If you liked the original panzer general, or in general turn based strategy games you will love this. Lots of hours of deep thinking. Highly recommended is the GC mega pack of campaigns, which brings the game to another level.
    My main point of criticism is the price of this game. I understand it is like a fine ivory set of chess, which you buy only if you can appreciate the genre, but still its price greatly exceeded my expectations.
    Another point of criticism, is the game is not really designed for high resolutions. Everything feels way too small at 1900x1080.
    Averaging metacritic user scores gives 9.14. How come metacritic arrived to 8.1 even with reworked formulas that's quite a gap.
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love the game. I've been playing PG type games for 15 years If you like turn based strategy games this is a must. Some noteable improvements on PG I like that units are not automatically healed between scenarios - much more logical. I like balance on prices - much more consistent between units. The library is great for tanks but will be better when they add more content to it. I like being able to switch units from AA to anit-tank mode
    The multiplayer system is exceptional and needs to be tried to be believed.
    Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I really love this game, i'm a long time panzer general fan. While the game is true to it's roots improvements to key elements such as AI and balancing really improved the game and set it aside from a simple port. This one will keep me up many an hour as the original did! Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    I have a lot of fond memories of Panzer General, Allied General and the rest of the old SSI lineup from the mid to late 90s. They're wargames of the everyman, far less complex than Steel Panthers or pretty much anything by the famed Gary Grigsby. Those are great games, too, but Panzer General was the gateway to its more complex cousins. Today, Panzer Corps is every bit the spiritual successor to those classic titles and does not disappoint. Deep enough to be engaging, simple enough to be picked up quickly, Panzer Corps does it all right. If you enjoy strategy games that are accessible while still being complex enough to require thought and planning for a few turns ahead, then Panzer Corps is for you. If you remember and love the old Panzer General Series (Panzer General 2 is available on Good Old Games), then Panzer Corps is doubly for you. Well made, stable, and hours of fun. Collapse
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Copied from a classic. Slitherine hasn't released anything original on its own for a long time. Thieves? Perhaps. Likely. I prefer the old Panzer General over Panzer Corps to this day! Sad no other competent publisher couldn't think of this idea instead of Slitherine. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews