Panzer Corps Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Panzer Corps will feature 26 scenarios on 21 unique maps, covering most major battles of the European Theatre of World War II and including a few hypothetical 'what if' scenarios based on your actions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    91
    Panzer Corps has brought back a flood of wonderful memories for me and while I fully realize that I'm a certified Panzer General fan boy and that could possibly cloud my judgment of the merits of Panzer Corps, all I know is that my campaign ended in a German defeat.
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    90
    When it comes to being Panzer General, Panzer Corps beats the pants off the competition.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    Panzer Corps: Wehrmacht is a well done remake of the turn-based-strategy classic Panzer General. You control hundreds of units – tanks, artillery, infantry, ships, aircraft in 4 historical german campaigns. Additional 29 scenarios gives you the chance, to play tha Allies as well. Though the games' graphics isn't up to date, the gameplay is just great and offers great tactical and strategical variety.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    80
    Panzer Corps is a great turn-based strategic wargame that captures Panzer General's deep and involving classic gameplay.
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    80
    Wether you are a Panzer General-veteran or just a newbie who wants to try a wargame that isn't absurdly complicated or demands that you read a rulebook the size of the bible, Panzer Corps is the game to get.
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    A great wargame that doesn't sacrifice its depth for strategic challenge. Some puzzle-like scenarios will obfuscate enjoyment. [Oct 2011, p.64]
  7. 70
    This is an incredibly fun game, but it's mostly stolen from an earlier series, and it's too expensive.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I'm loving this game. I haven't had this much of "just one more turn" in years. We done. I also love that the game is from the German pov; notI'm loving this game. I haven't had this much of "just one more turn" in years. We done. I also love that the game is from the German pov; not that common. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Excellent game! takes me back, really long, hard fun game. Highly recommended if you are a fan of the genre. Will keep you busy for a longExcellent game! takes me back, really long, hard fun game. Highly recommended if you are a fan of the genre. Will keep you busy for a long time! A good entry level Wargame, fairly simple, but challenging. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Although it is perceived as a remake of Panzer General, this game deserves much more credit. Waiting more than a decade for a sequel to PanzerAlthough it is perceived as a remake of Panzer General, this game deserves much more credit. Waiting more than a decade for a sequel to Panzer General II, Panzer Corps was a relief. Embraced the basic concepts of the original game and added a few new features. I hope the next release involves much modern graphics and game engine. Collapse
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    This game is art, it's a wonderful recreation of a classic game! It is so addictive that I go into a trance when I play. I highly recommendThis game is art, it's a wonderful recreation of a classic game! It is so addictive that I go into a trance when I play. I highly recommend this game to all gamers and just because it's turn based doesn't mean it's rubbish.
    Trust me go to Slitherine or Matrix Games websites and buy this baby.
    Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    This is the most compelling game I've played in years. It's not "one more turn", but rather one more battle. ;o) The game does a number ofThis is the most compelling game I've played in years. It's not "one more turn", but rather one more battle. ;o) The game does a number of things exceptionally well. Although a turn-based war game it is not a hard core uber-complex Grognard game at all, but rather in the "easy to learn, hard to master" category that rewards a thoughtful combined arms approach. Also, the level of abstraction in the game was a stroke of brilliance: the game consists of several branching campaigns, and although the battles are at the operational level (i.e. the invasion of Norway, the battle of Kursk), the gameplay has a very tactical "bang, bang, shoot them up" feel to it. It works very well, however, and the battles have a surprisingly high degree of historical accuracy, abstractions notwithstanding. Perhaps most importantly though, by being able to purchase, upgrade, rename, and carry over units from battle to battle, the game has a distinct role-playing feel to it which makes it extremely compelling. And I should also mention that the unit choices and upgrades available to you are nearly enormous. You can eventually even obtain the ME-262 and Komet fighters, to say nothing of a few advanced heavy bombers that as far as I know never made it to production. It's also interesting to note that you play a very de-Naziffied Germany in this game. No where is 'The Fuhrer' ever mentioned. This is a good thing though, as the Germans in WW2 created the most efficient military machine the world has ever seen and they are a blast to play. The only real down side to the game is that if you don't decisively defeat the Allies in the early-to-mid war you may find yourself facing long odds by mid-1944, although to be fair this of course was the case historically. Still in all it can be very demoralizing to see the magnificent military machine you've painstakingly built up and led through many hard-fought battles in 1939-43 get trashed by superior Allied numbers in 1944-45. Losing one of your 'pet' units is almost like seeing a favorite companion killed in Fallout: New Vegas. ;o) Still in all this game is a gem and an instant classic, and one that I will probably come back to at least a couple of times a year. If you are a fan of historical strategy games this one is not to be missed. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    I have a lot of fond memories of Panzer General, Allied General and the rest of the old SSI lineup from the mid to late 90s. They're wargamesI have a lot of fond memories of Panzer General, Allied General and the rest of the old SSI lineup from the mid to late 90s. They're wargames of the everyman, far less complex than Steel Panthers or pretty much anything by the famed Gary Grigsby. Those are great games, too, but Panzer General was the gateway to its more complex cousins. Today, Panzer Corps is every bit the spiritual successor to those classic titles and does not disappoint. Deep enough to be engaging, simple enough to be picked up quickly, Panzer Corps does it all right. If you enjoy strategy games that are accessible while still being complex enough to require thought and planning for a few turns ahead, then Panzer Corps is for you. If you remember and love the old Panzer General Series (Panzer General 2 is available on Good Old Games), then Panzer Corps is doubly for you. Well made, stable, and hours of fun. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Copied from a classic. Slitherine hasn't released anything original on its own for a long time. Thieves? Perhaps. Likely. I prefer the oldCopied from a classic. Slitherine hasn't released anything original on its own for a long time. Thieves? Perhaps. Likely. I prefer the old Panzer General over Panzer Corps to this day! Sad no other competent publisher couldn't think of this idea instead of Slitherine. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews