Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Papo & Yo takes players on an emotional journey that explores the relationship between a boy and his sometimes-scary best friend. As players progress, Monster reacts differently to their actions based on his current desires. If Monster is in a good mood, he plays with Quico and help with tasks; if Monster is hungry, he seeks out food; if that food happens to be a poisonous frog, he transforms into a terrifying killing machine bent on nothing but destruction. Players will need to learn to use Monster's emotions, both good and bad, to their advantage if they want to complete their search for a cure and save their pal. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    90
    A powerful narrative, imaginative puzzles, and strong presentation combine in Papo & Yo to result in one of this year's best gaming experiences. The emotional journey of Quico and Monster that comprises Papo & Yo leaves a long-lasting impression well after its conclusion.
  2. May 9, 2013
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. May 10, 2013
    80
    It's an average game because the puzzles are too simplistic despite their stylish appearance, and there's nothing that compels you to repeat the journey. As a story, however, the title succeeds in giving you an amazing journey as it deals in a subject matter that few games ever attempt.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    75
    Papo & Yo deals in some fundamental truths about abuse, addiction, and maturity, and I certainly didn’t expect it. It may be short and easy, but it uses games to convey a psychological message that would be otherwise impossible without interaction.
  5. May 3, 2013
    73
    Overall, Papo & Yo is an interesting game — especially visually — and it’s also a memorable game, but I don’t know that I’d call it a good game. The puzzles are largely easy, the story elements are largely missing, and the playing time isn’t large at all. Still, Papo & Yo is only priced at $15, so it might be worthwhile to pick up just to try something different.
  6. Jul 24, 2013
    70
    Achingly beautiful. [Aug 2013, p.85]
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    35
    Cold, formulaic gameplay sucks all the enjoyment from this game’s amazing, incredibly moving story.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games I've ever played. I picked it up on a whim on sale and played through it... it's a truly moving story. If you're on the fence about buying it, just get it. It's worth it. There were a few minor issues with slowdown here and there, but it really didn't detract from this amazing experience. Expand
  2. May 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My god. This game dredged up memories of a time when I had to let go of a best friend of mine because of illegal drug use. It was alcohol specifically, that made me decide. In the moment when he broke into a liquor cabinet and began to get drunk, (while of course being underage.), I was afraid. I let him get drunker and drunker, and when he was stumbling around and falling down, I got in my car, (which had his stuff and the stuff of the people who were with us.) and I left and drove to his parents house. I deposited everyone's stuff on the front porch and rang the doorbell and told his dad where he was and what he was doing. Afterwords, I never looked back. I haven't seen him in years now, nor do I want to, but I just know, if I saw him again I could become friends again with him easily. But I took the harder route of not forgiving him and simply letting him go. The ending of Papo and Yo was a metaphor for an actual moment in my life, and it was one of if not THE most, moving ending to a video game I have ever seen. Millage may vary for other people, but at least for me, I felt very moved. It was just like revisiting that moment again, but this time, I was able to let go more easily. This is a game that simply must be played. It is a beautiful piece of art. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Papo & Yo is an extremely personal work like only few others in the industry. It is a clear message to the industry: games can be more than space marines. Games can be more, games can be autobiographical using game mechanics as a tool for addressing a message. A beautiful game. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    This is a beautiful game in the line of titles like Journey or Flower. It is not supposed to be a funny platformer (although it sometimes tries it), since everything revolves around the relationship between the protagonist and his father. In order to enjoy this game and appreciate its beauty you need to go further than the platform and puzzle scenes, and try to feel what Quico is experiencing as he struggles between his love for his father and the violent man that he is in true. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    at first i think it is meh, but after play it, that game has great story and its background music. very touching to tell the audience about children abusing. Collapse
  6. Aug 2, 2013
    7
    Dość ciekawa gra logiczna, przy której raczej nie będziemy się nudzić. Ciekawy klimacik, i nie zrozumienie sytuacji które ciągnie się przez całą grę daję nam chętkę do zrozumienia o co w tym chodzi. O tej grze nie da się opowiedzieć, w nią po prostu trzeba zagrać. Jest przyjemna i pokazuje zagadki przy których będziemy musieli trochę pomyśleć, jednak nie będziemy musieli się strasznie męczyć. Grze jednak brakuje wielu rzeczy. Samo to, że nie ma w niej pomysłów dzięki którym można by było polecić tą grę znajomemu, graficznie nie pokazuje wysokiego poziomu, fabuła pokazuje swój potencjał dopiero w 5 minutach przed napisami. Największą wadą tej gry jest to że nie wiadomo do kogo jest kierowana. Młodsi gracze nie zrozumieją fabuły i logicznych zagadek a starszym nie odpowie klimat, bohater-dziecko i za bardzo kolorowa grafika. Potencjał był, jednak nie wykorzystany. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring and boring. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers