Path of Exile PC

Path of Exile Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1520 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Path of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online itemPath of Exile is an online Action RPG set in the dark fantasy world of Wraeclast. They're a small independent team of hardcore gamers based in New Zealand and have created Path of Exile as the game that they'd want to play themselves. It is designed around a strong barter-based online item economy, deep character customisation, competitive PvP and ladder races. The game is completely free and will never be "pay to win". [Grinding Gear Games] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 9, 2014
    100
    Grinding Gear Games has created something special here, and given it gratis to the world.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    94
    For a free title, knocked together by a small team, it's stunning just how much it blows the opposition away. They have taken what was wrong with the genre and fixed it; what was right, they have made even better.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    90
    Considering that Path of Exile costs you nothing beyond some Internet bandwidth, it provides an embarrassment of pleasures.
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    85
    If Path of Exile were a priced game, it would have been very, very good. But it's beyond any expectations: fun, addictive, completely free to play and worth every penny Grinding Gear Games is not asking.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    85
    Hack’n Slay as its best. First you’ll think “this is just another diablo-copy”, but when you begin to get into the game deeper, you’ll be surprised. It has the most powerful and individual character-system you’ll ever see in an action-rpg so far. Moreover, all game-content is 100% free to play, no hidden “pay2win” in the shop.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    Path of Exile surprises in many aspects. Speaking of an action Diablo-style RPG, it's considered a chestnut. However, the New Zealand developers pleased us with complexity, ideas, and especially with unique gameplay.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    I can't say what their future holds as I'm not much of an economist (nor am I really a magpie). But I can say I've had many, many hours of fun in a game that still has much more to show me and which all of us, right now, can play for nothing at all. We're being spoiled.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 355
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    POE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. ToPOE is the deepest aRPG slasher ever made. It uses some tested ideas while introducing highly innovative systems and end-game mechanics. To put it straight
    Path of Exile is AAA+ game FREE of charge. No pay to win. Grind to win!

    The game is quite polished already future announcements make you connected to Wreaclast even more. Devs give their best, the rapport is great and from what i've seen in the past year the were 25+ patches, constant tweaking with the mechanics, skill tree* and skills.
    Dedication is the way Grinding Gear works. They way they introduce changes clearly shows how they care.
    *The sheer size of the skill tree is a guarantee jaw drop if seen for the first time
    Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    An ARPG in the spirit of Diablo II with even more depth and complexity and thus infinite replay value. This is a game for people who like toAn ARPG in the spirit of Diablo II with even more depth and complexity and thus infinite replay value. This is a game for people who like to customize their characters, plan out builds and then try them out. Choice matters in this game, you can't just change your mind and alter your build at any point without cost.

    This game brings many revolutionary innovations to the genre. The potion system is brilliant, health and mana potions that replenish charges when you kill enemies. The potions can also have magical affixes that make them gain charges on critical strikes, dispel frozen effects on use or increase armour on use to name a few.

    The game has optional special events that run several times each day where characters compete in leveling as far as possible in a set amount of time. These events alernate between different rulesets that keeps them fresh and interesting. The game has no traditional currency system, instead it uses different orbs and scrolls as currency that are used for crafting gear in the game.

    Path of Exile is free to play done right, you can not pay real money to become more powerful. You can pay for cosmetic items, pets, weapon effects, spell effects and more stash tabs where you can store items.
    Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    The graphics took quite a while to get used to after playing D3 for a couple hundred hours. I'm glad I stuck with it, it's a masterpiece. I'veThe graphics took quite a while to get used to after playing D3 for a couple hundred hours. I'm glad I stuck with it, it's a masterpiece. I've been playing for over a year now and I still learn new things every week. It's one of the most complicated(in a good way) and fun games I've played in quite a while. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Firstly, I only tried this game because of the reviews and critic scores I seen, here on Metacritic, and I am happy I did. It's free to play.Firstly, I only tried this game because of the reviews and critic scores I seen, here on Metacritic, and I am happy I did. It's free to play. Simple as that. Yes the ingame store can be very expensive, but they are only cosmetic items and don't affect the actual game and the developers claim they will never turn pay to win. If you are a Diablo fan, and you don't like the direction Diablo III has gone (like myself) you should love this. Yes the graphics aren't spectacular, but they are meant to be playable on a wide variety of systems (as its tells you on the website) which is good as not everyone can have a great, expensive gaming system, but now they can enjoy this great game! Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    One if the most entertaining FTP games I have ever played, although intimidating at first once you truly get into the game and how it'sOne if the most entertaining FTP games I have ever played, although intimidating at first once you truly get into the game and how it's mechanics work, it is incredibly fun. Allows for the most customizable characters of any game I have played. And last but not least has a great (albeit dark) story line and areas you travel through. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2015
    8
    [ENGLISH]
    A very good Hack'n'slash, with huge possibilities.
    Nevertheless, a few features make the game a little difficult : - the recipes
    [ENGLISH]
    A very good Hack'n'slash, with huge possibilities.
    Nevertheless, a few features make the game a little difficult :
    - the recipes have to be discovered on the wiki
    - the trade has to use an external site to be efficient
    Globally, this game is better if you spend a lot of time to search in the wiki.
    A very good point is that it can be played virtually infinitely, due to the huge passives tree and the amount of stuff. And it is free. The microtransactions are solely cosmetic.
    Personally, I played thousands of hours on the game and, despite I didn't search a lot to understand all the subtleties of the game.

    [FRENCH]
    Un très bon Hack'n'slash, avec d'énormes possibilités.
    Néanmoins, quelques éléments rendent le jeu plus difficile :
    - les "recettes" de craft ne sont pas indiquées dans le jeu mais doivent être découvertes (elles sont indiquées dans le site wiki du jeu)
    - le commerce nécessite un site externe pour être efficace (connaitre les prix, les offres; le chat interne est trop bavard)
    Globalement, vous profiterez plus de ce jeu si vous y investissez un peu de temps à comprendre tous les mécanismes.
    De plus, il est pratiquement rejouable à l'infini grâce à son arbre de compétences gigantesque (n'ayez pas peur, c'est génial !).
    Personnellement, j'y ai joué des centaines d'heures (vraiment !) malgré le fait que je n'ai pas encore tout compris :-)
    Et il est gratuit : les microtransactions n'apportent que des effets cosmétiques !
    Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2017
    0
    The game has a fairly decent Action-Rpg feel. Other than that there is major cheating widespread on most servers, Currency online tradesThe game has a fairly decent Action-Rpg feel. Other than that there is major cheating widespread on most servers, Currency online trades heavily inflates prices so you basically can't play without buying Currency from a 3rd party online website. The graphics are very basic and unoriginal and the game gets redundant quickly. Expand

See all 355 User Reviews