Patrician III: Rise of the Hanse Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The best selling olde-worlde real-time city-building simulation is back! Build cities, manage economies and battle pirates in the only game of its kind based in the Middle Ages. Grow your small towne into a major trading center wielding tremendous economic power. [Encore Software]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 91
    It's one of the few games where I've never felt my options were artificially limited by the developer within the environment, though obviously that's the case; and where every actions I took had a host of logical secondary choices attached to it. If you're into strategic trading simulations, it truly doesn't get any better than this.
  2. You will find yourself wanting to come back and try different tactics for your rise to fame. There is also enough to learn that you will have an almost constant discovery of new ways to make it to the top. I should mention here that the average gamer will find this game somewhat overwhelming.
  3. For those who are already fans of the series, you’ll find more of the same thing that you loved in Patrician II; the biggest addition probably being the online multiplayer component, but Patrician III is structured in such a way that it is very accessible to newcomers as well, so come one, come all.
  4. Although the game is so fundamentally similar to "Patrician II" that those who own the previous game have little reason to pick it up at full-price, the feature additions refine the open-ended gameplay by removing some of the micromanagement and by providing more significant milestones to achieve later in the game.
  5. If market trends and supply/demand curves don't set your blood aflame, Patrician III will have you napping in no time. [Jan 2004, p.157]
  6. Veterans of previous Patrician games will no doubt feel at home, but new players may be scratching their heads at the vague objectives. [Jan 2004, p.88]
  7. If you've recently discovered a fetish for selling barrels of picked herring, there is no game better than Patrician III. [Feb 2004, p.89]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    Even nearly 8 years after it's debut it still stands up as one of the most addictive and elaborate economic trading sims ever made. The economy is dialed in and the trading aspect is complex enough to keep you on your toes. The graphics have aged the sea battles are beyond lame and yet it beats out modern games in this genres by miles. Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    I really love this game for its complexity, addictiveness and freedom it gives to the player. Even though its social part is very little (i like how it's made in Guild 2) it's still one of the best game of its genre! Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    I played this game in '06 as i remember, but write review in '14 just simply because i learned how to manage money in real life through this game love it always :-* Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    If you're into micromanaging and slow-paced strategy gaming, Patrician 3 is my personal #1. Why? Because it is so incredibly addictive due to its depth, long-term goals, and complexity that create an incredible feeling of accomplishment if you decide to stick with it. First off, there are different scenarios you can choose from , though I always immediately went for the infinite play. You can adjust several game settings before you start to make your rise to wealth and power slower or faster. But the fun really starts after that. Starting with limited resources (money & ships) you are eased into the gameplay by starting out with a buying and selling goods; incredibly handy is the option to assign a key to switch between time settings; that way you can greatly cut down on idle time in the beginning of the game (later you'll likely be way too busy to use anything but the slowest speed);
    but the real excitement is all the other stuff you can do: build more and better ships; construct buildings to collect rent, or to produce or process raw materials that can be sold to the people in different cities as finished products; all of this serves to not only increase your wealth but to also gain the favor of the citizens in order to achieve your ultimate goal: to become elderman of the Hanse; not to mention that on your path to this goal you can become mayor of a city and take on all kinds of responsibilities that come with this, such as fighting off invaders and expanding the city;
    and did I mention you can also explore the far reaches of the seas, i.e. discover ports all over the owrld and bring back rare goods? or that you can decide to engage in some less legal profiteering such as sending out your ships on pirate raids?

    A word of caution though (perhaps really 2 points of caution):
    1) if you get into this game and like it, prepare to spend countless hours doing so (for why, see below); perhaps the only other games I have ever spend more time on are Morrowind and GTR2; the first because the world it offers for explorations is just insanely huge; and the latter because it really is open-ended by design
    2) the game is SLOW; especially later in the game when you will be manage a huge network of trade and supply routes to keep your production going and the people in different cities happy, you will likely play at the slowest speed settings at which a single day takes around 15 minutes (if my memory serves me well); now, even constructing a simple apartment complex or basic manufacturing buildings take a month or more to finish; not to mention that should you want to claim the mayor's seat in a city of your choosing, it will take a full year for new elections to commence
    Collapse
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    Very addictive game. Overall game is very good, but not perfect. Simulation level is quite high, although there are some aspects when there is no ingame information why exactly something is like this or that, and it seems some things are just hardcoded. Also interface could be a little bit better, especially when creating automated trade route. Graphics are ok as for game of this type. And there are few casual gaming elements added to the game, to make it not so 'dry' probably, but they should be either less casual, or they just could be skipped. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    Wow, at first it was a chore but due to the high reviews of this game I kept going. I will say after 23 hours of play the game rocks. I played Patrician IV first, and logged about 10 hours, after playing this one I can see why people cry that they dumbed Patrician IV down form III, PIII is hard. It makes you think a bit, should I start production in a new market? Should I start grain, is it too soon? Do I need to arm my ships and loose my cargo space, or should I chance the pirates? Lots to consider, even more than I have listed. Great game, too bad PIV was a shadow compared to PIII. Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    This is a good game. Apparently, I just don't have what it takes to be good at it and advance to make it enjoyable past the point I have reached. I became frustrated after 26 hours of trying and gave up for now. I only plan attempting it again when I am bored, between other games, or when the longing for it surfaces again. It is not a matter of a negatively constructed learning curve. In fact, learning how to play is not an issue at all. There are five tutorials, and they do an okay job at introducing the player to the game. The first campaign focusing on player advancement also instructs and gives hints appropriately, even though not with very much detail as to how to accomplish certain more convoluted aspects of the game. Even after consulting one extensive Wiki and three FAQ pages online, the game is still too difficult for me to succeed in. I've tried, once again, for 26 hours, every strategy and approach known to the experts, and I still would not succeed. The other AI controlled merchants in the game were light years ahead of me. All of the more in-depth reviews seen here are true and accurate. I just simply became frustrated at being mediocre or worse in the game, after 26 hours of trying. The game is difficult to be successful in. It's as simple as that. Perhaps this is a game that requires much more patience, and many more hours to be fully enjoyable. That is the sole reason why I will keep this installed and go back to it sometime in the future. If my experience changes, I will surely come back here and update this review. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews