Payday 2 PC

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3535 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Payday 2 is a fun game. The recent update to the game adds microtransaction in the form of gun skins that add stat bonuses. Stat bonus aside, I would normally not care much about such an addition but this does not work in this game. Payday 2 has a base cost to the game, and on top of that has over $100 worth of DLC with REAL content. To further gouge the wallet's of their loyal fanbasePayday 2 is a fun game. The recent update to the game adds microtransaction in the form of gun skins that add stat bonuses. Stat bonus aside, I would normally not care much about such an addition but this does not work in this game. Payday 2 has a base cost to the game, and on top of that has over $100 worth of DLC with REAL content. To further gouge the wallet's of their loyal fanbase is akin to slapping them in their face...repeatedly.

    As it stands, I cannot recommend this game to anyone or support the decisions made by the company.
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Pay2Day Broken Promises Edition

    Overkill just released the new "free" content promised during Crimefest 2015. Microtransactions that alter weapon stats and skins.
  3. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    In the past, i would of recommended this game. Instead, now all you get is pay to win microtransactions in a game you already paid for. Stay the hell away.
  4. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    OVK have for some time now been pooping out DLC's to the death and now they have finally killed the game as they have added micro transactions (which they promised they wouldn't do), don't buy unless OVK removes those!
  5. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Ruined by overkill (who promised that there would no be micro transactions).
    Do I have to mention that the game have 100$+ worth of DLCs?
    Seems like overkill just wants to milk some cows.
  6. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    The developer promised NO MICROTRANSACTIONS
    What they do? micros for content that gives you stats and turning it in a pay to win game. And this was released during an event that was suppose to release free stuff.
    I'm done with it.
  7. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Overkill started out with noble intentions to bring a new video game genre but quickly succumbed to the dark side of game development. They got a lot of flak for their dlcs and I understood where they came from but now they have gone too far. With the introduction of microtransactions as a "free" reward for the community especially after they claimed they wouldn't is outrageous. OverkillOverkill started out with noble intentions to bring a new video game genre but quickly succumbed to the dark side of game development. They got a lot of flak for their dlcs and I understood where they came from but now they have gone too far. With the introduction of microtransactions as a "free" reward for the community especially after they claimed they wouldn't is outrageous. Overkill needs to reconsider their actions otherwise they will lose all their fans. Expand
  8. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    I've sunk over 1800 hours into this game but with all the constant addition of DLC that has made even the highest difficulty into a cakewalk and the recent addition of Pay2Win Weapon skin Microtransactions that significantly buff your weapons I must insist DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. The Developers are greedy shills who couldn't care less about the community or making a fun and balanced game.I've sunk over 1800 hours into this game but with all the constant addition of DLC that has made even the highest difficulty into a cakewalk and the recent addition of Pay2Win Weapon skin Microtransactions that significantly buff your weapons I must insist DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. The Developers are greedy shills who couldn't care less about the community or making a fun and balanced game.

    If you want a co-op horde shooter then play Killing Floor 2, if you want a heist game then play the Masterplan.
    Expand
  9. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    False advertising.
    They said "This game will never have micro-transactions", and 2 years later they add them... in a game that still costs 20€ and offers nothing, unless you spend money by buying over 25 (TWENTYFIVE!!!) DLCs that are worth over 100€ ON TOTAL and make the game much easier and unbalanced. With micro-transactions, you get reskinned weapons that have boosts over normal
    False advertising.
    They said "This game will never have micro-transactions", and 2 years later they add them... in a game that still costs 20€ and offers nothing, unless you spend money by buying over 25 (TWENTYFIVE!!!) DLCs that are worth over 100€ ON TOTAL and make the game much easier and unbalanced. With micro-transactions, you get reskinned weapons that have boosts over normal weapons.

    So, for concluding. You have to pay 120€ for the full game AND you have to spend MORE for having more advantages. And the worst thing is that the game is still full of bugs that never gets fixed by the developers, since fixing bugs are free and they can't earn money.

    This game is a JOKE and their developers are GREEDY LIARS!!!!! Avoid it!!!!
    Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    The developers broke their promises. They said they would not add micro-transactions, but they did. Shame. Now the game is ruined, and the company is corrupt from the inside. They did some pretty bad things to modders too, all very shady.
  11. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    At one point I had recommended this game, but that was 5 DLC's ago. While the base game was, at one point, very well made and well thought out, numerous drives to push DLC sales and finally the addition of microtransactions have made me unable to recommend this game any more.

    The long short of it is: - The only free DLCs you receive are ones that drastically increase the difficulty
    At one point I had recommended this game, but that was 5 DLC's ago. While the base game was, at one point, very well made and well thought out, numerous drives to push DLC sales and finally the addition of microtransactions have made me unable to recommend this game any more.

    The long short of it is:

    - The only free DLCs you receive are ones that drastically increase the difficulty in the base game, sometimes to near-unwinnable levels, so that you're required to purchase DLC weapons to win.

    - DLC weapons are buggy and generally clones of existing weapons, but with blatantly superior stats such as higher concealment, unique abilities, higher damage, or greater magazine capacity, for no drawback when compared to even older DLC weapons. A good example of this is the Dynamite, which is functionally identical to the Frag Grenades, but cannot be blown up prematurely by enemy cops.

    - Numerous underhanded marketing tactics. The most notable recent ones include the Hype Train event, where you were forced to purchase items to add "Hype Fuel" or the event would be withheld from the community at large, as well as the introduction of in-game Microtransactions during the first day of a promised "Free" community event. This is not getting into shadier tactics, such as copying existing mods and stats websites and presenting them as their own while making the game utterly incompatible with said existing mods and stats websites.

    - All of the above also ended up causing the game to be far more buggy than it was, generally breaking existing gun buffs and abilities. No fix has been in sight for any of this, while on the other hand they were quick to patch up a leak that let people use guns for free rather than pay for the DLC. Generally the quality of game play as went down simply because in-game support is nonexistent unless it would affect their DLC sales.

    - Because of all of the above, you need a ridiculous amount of DLC just to remain viable in the game. Unlike most other games, Overkill's nerfing of several weapons made it essentially necessary to have almost all of the DLCs to remain viable in the game. This comes to well over 100 dollars if you were to purchase them all. And unlike others, the GOTY edition doesn't even cover half of the necessary DLCs and Overkill has no intention of stopping to make DLCs for the game, meaning once you buy in, you have to keep buying or be outclassed after a month.

    - And last but not least, the aforementioned Microtransactions do sell you power. While relatively minor, a few of the skins do provide stat boosts to your guns.This is even more pronounced in the game as, due to the in-game mechanic, you cannot purchase Gun Modifications in any other shape or form, and must wait for them to randomly drop from the game's system.

    In general, do not buy this game, even if it's on sale. The developers have fostered an almost addiction-like atmosphere within the community and the game, so even if you think you can get by on a simple 10 dollar investment, they will start squeezing you one penny at a time.
    Expand
  12. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    The developers promised no microtransactions. Microtransactions were introduced in bad faith.

    Not to mention, the game has been in a constant backwards motion for the past year or so. If you didn't already play PD2, don't waste space on your HDD.
  13. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    A game filled with bugs, DLC's and now micro-transactions.
    Avoid this game like cancer. Coincidentally cancer and payday 2 are similar now.
    Avoid buying this, just buy anything else, it's better.
  14. Oct 16, 2015
    1
    They added micro transactions, in a game where a non pay 2 play model would stand. Not cool man, Not cool.

    Amir lied, they created a hostile community and got a highly respected fan site shut down.
  15. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Although the premise of the game is good, the initial release was a little bit underwhelming. Game required a lot of polishing that developers didn't deliver for 2 years. Instead, they were pushing dozens of 5$ DLCs. They didn't combat hackers, and it was up to moders to provide good experience. But yesterday, when they needed to push microtransactions, they suddenly managed to thwartAlthough the premise of the game is good, the initial release was a little bit underwhelming. Game required a lot of polishing that developers didn't deliver for 2 years. Instead, they were pushing dozens of 5$ DLCs. They didn't combat hackers, and it was up to moders to provide good experience. But yesterday, when they needed to push microtransactions, they suddenly managed to thwart hackers, but they also ruined every possible good mod. And when the game was released, they promised there won't be any microtransactions!

    Payday 2 is not a game, it's just cash milking machine, so I can't give any points as a game. 0 of 10, Overkill is a no better than EA.
    Expand
  16. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    After all the false advertising, Overkill tried to do better. Or so they said. After that never happened, they promised to reward us with Crimefest. The rewards were poor, one was literally a paid advertisement for a movie, and we didn't get the final rewards until almost a year later. Then Crimefest 2 happened. The first reward? CS:GO style weapon crates with skins that conferred statAfter all the false advertising, Overkill tried to do better. Or so they said. After that never happened, they promised to reward us with Crimefest. The rewards were poor, one was literally a paid advertisement for a movie, and we didn't get the final rewards until almost a year later. Then Crimefest 2 happened. The first reward? CS:GO style weapon crates with skins that conferred stat bonuses. €2.50 a pop. For a game with almost £100 worth of DLC already. For a game that the developers said would never have micro-transactions. We were wrong for believing them. Expand
  17. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    2013 a great game was released by a wonderful little developer fast forward to 2015 however and the game is no longer a gem but a cash cow that the greedy developer OVERKILL is drying up for every penny. If you do not like anti consumer practices or are just not an the kind of person who enjoys being seen as a walking wallet then AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!
  18. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Written w/ some reviews i found

    Surprised I can write a review without buying DLC.
    Don´t Buy this Game!
    Used to be a great game. Now everything the devs do screams "Cash Grab."
  19. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Greedy, lying devs, bug-ridden with massive de-syncs, unbalanced weapons, loads of dlcs, micro-transactions, no dedicated servers, cheaters. This game is just a cash grab made by the EA-like Overkill. Stay away!
  20. Oct 15, 2015
    0
    Game has Implemented a micro-transaction system similar to CS:GO EXCEPT the Weapon Skins actually modify the stats of the game. This change is recent and changes all my past stipulations about this game. There are over $150 worth of DLC. Don't Buy.
  21. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    PAYDAY 2 used to be a great game,it had a few issues but the developers ( OVERKILL ) listened to the community and for a time everything was going pretty well,however as time passed this started to change,at first the developers started to distance themselves more and more from the community,they broke promises,made some very questionable things and flooded the game with DLCs,by the timePAYDAY 2 used to be a great game,it had a few issues but the developers ( OVERKILL ) listened to the community and for a time everything was going pretty well,however as time passed this started to change,at first the developers started to distance themselves more and more from the community,they broke promises,made some very questionable things and flooded the game with DLCs,by the time i´m writing this the game has over 20 paid DLC packs,many of those DLC packs have weapons and other items that are required if you want to stay relevant in the game,but things get worse.

    On October 15th of 2015,OVERKILL added microtransactions to the game,which provide you weapon skins with boosted stats,not only those weapons are locked behind a paywall but they´re considerable better than other weapons,including DLC ones,to make matters worse,back in 2013 the developers said that PAYDAY 2 would NEVER have microtransactions,yet now here we are...

    OVERKILL has lied and disappointed PAYDAY 2 fans several times but we always forgave them,but the addition of microtransactions is something that can´t be forgiven,several members of the community including people that played VERY important roles in developing and growing the PAYDAY 2 community are leaving the game,countless people have decided to stop supporting OVERKILL in any way,i have left the community myself recently.

    This pretty much sums up my experience with PAYDAY 2,i really recommend anyone reading this review to stay far away from this game and from anything made by OVERKILL.
    Expand
  22. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    This game costs over $100 with all DLC's. Now OVK wants to add micro-transactions. OVK promised NO micro-transactions from the start. OVK seem to think gamers are some kind of cash cows.
  23. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    This was formerly one of the greatest co-op games on Steam, a real time soak that my friends and I enjoyed the hell out of. October 15th, 2015, that all changed. A long-running promise of the head developer, Almir, has always been that there would never, ever be microtransactions in this game. Yesterday, they went back on that promise, completely overhauling the game in such a way that,This was formerly one of the greatest co-op games on Steam, a real time soak that my friends and I enjoyed the hell out of. October 15th, 2015, that all changed. A long-running promise of the head developer, Almir, has always been that there would never, ever be microtransactions in this game. Yesterday, they went back on that promise, completely overhauling the game in such a way that, rather than requiring skill or practice, it's become just another pay-to-win drain on your wallet. When the developers can't be trusted to keep their oldest promise, what's the point? Expand
  24. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    $19.99 for the base game plus $100+ worth of DLC and Overkill has the idea of including CS:GO like microtransactions, with some stat buffs, even after Almir Listo himself had promised there would never be such in the game.

    Overkill's greed makes EA or UBI look tame in comparison. Stay away from this game, you are nothing more than a cash cow to them.
  25. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    I used to be a big supporter of this game. I am a veteran player of PD:TH and bought the pre-order for PD2. Over the years, DLC has been nickel and dime-ing the user base until it all came to a head with update 79. With Crimefest, Overkill has shat upon everything once again, including their own words, and changed the model to P2W. I have zero issue with TF2 and CS:GO models, but when youI used to be a big supporter of this game. I am a veteran player of PD:TH and bought the pre-order for PD2. Over the years, DLC has been nickel and dime-ing the user base until it all came to a head with update 79. With Crimefest, Overkill has shat upon everything once again, including their own words, and changed the model to P2W. I have zero issue with TF2 and CS:GO models, but when you add the addition of permanent stat boosts to weapons...weapons you just nerfed to be worse, requiring paid stat boosts to bring them up to 'normal' damage output, you've gone too far. I don't know what is going on with this game and the thinking behind it, but I'm not sticking around to find out. Expand
  26. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    The developers promised no microtransactions. Microtransactions were introduced in bad faith.

    Not to mention, the game has been in a constant backwards motion for the past year or so. If you didn't already play PD2, don't waste space on your HDD.
  27. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    This was a fun game, despite community complaints over trivial matters. Unfortunately, recent community outcry over the implementation of microtransactions is entirely warranted; this new "feature" constitutes a breach of promise by the developers, and has already made the game community toxic. It is no longer a fun cooperative experience, unfortunately, due to the developers lying toThis was a fun game, despite community complaints over trivial matters. Unfortunately, recent community outcry over the implementation of microtransactions is entirely warranted; this new "feature" constitutes a breach of promise by the developers, and has already made the game community toxic. It is no longer a fun cooperative experience, unfortunately, due to the developers lying to their fanbase and imposing a system that will attract scammers and spammers. Expand
  28. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Bugs from release of the game still exist such as NPCs clipping into objects, no arm or leg hitboxes, sounds playing on loop even after you finish a level, Flash bang grenades coming with no warning or reason, no safehouse customization, exploits to finish levels early, hackers instantly spawing money, explosions, and enemies everywhere, enemies hitting through walls the list goes on. AndBugs from release of the game still exist such as NPCs clipping into objects, no arm or leg hitboxes, sounds playing on loop even after you finish a level, Flash bang grenades coming with no warning or reason, no safehouse customization, exploits to finish levels early, hackers instantly spawing money, explosions, and enemies everywhere, enemies hitting through walls the list goes on. And falsely said by a developer "We will never have micro-transactions" only to have them appear yesterday with stat boosting effects. Overall It's gone to hell Expand
  29. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Mictrotransaction, no longer supported hoxhud, over 25 dlc and a community manager who lie to the community is enough. This game was good, but now its dead. R.I.P.
  30. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Payday 2, with their last update has screwed up this once great game. My favorite weapon, The Lebensauger, has now been nerfed (ammo capacity, stability, and damage) to the extent where it is easily outclassed by vanilla, early level guns. Tell me what was the reason for investing all of my money in every DLC just to watch my favorite weapons turned to crap and made useless? In additionPayday 2, with their last update has screwed up this once great game. My favorite weapon, The Lebensauger, has now been nerfed (ammo capacity, stability, and damage) to the extent where it is easily outclassed by vanilla, early level guns. Tell me what was the reason for investing all of my money in every DLC just to watch my favorite weapons turned to crap and made useless? In addition they now waste our time and card drops with useless safes that I and countless others will never open. All I can say is, enjoy the trinkets you Screw Out of Your Loyal Patrons. I hope you all are very pleased with taking a great game and RUNNING IT STRAIGHT INTO THE GROUND! Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    80
    PayDay 2 is one of the nicest surprises of the year. Overkill Software understands the atmosphere of gangster movies and wisely improves these pieces of gameplay, that might have been disappointing in the first game. The sequel is better in almost every way - you can play a thief and enjoy good character development and shooting systems. I really hope, that PayDay 3 will be even better.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 5, 2013
    86
    Payday 2 is an excellent co-op shooter - a vast improvement over the first one. [Sept 2013]
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 3, 2013
    80
    A unique and captivating multiplayer experience that rewards team work over personal glory. But make sure you bring friends for the true experience. [Nov 2013, p.62]