Payday 2 PC

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything fromPAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that lucrative PAYDAY. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    95
    Payday 2 is a Co Op game. While it might have benefitted with a cool story arc for a single player mode the game offers a great outing with 3 other friends for an experience that will keep having you come back for more. Payday is simply put the improved, polished and closest experience you’ll find to robbing an actual bank. It’s just legal.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    86
    The many missions and unlockables also offer plenty of food for many hours raid pleasure.
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    83
    As it stands right now, Payday 2, while it won’t be for everyone, is a lot of fun. Although the stealth mechanics are basic, there’s enough strategic depth and teamwork required so that stealthing missions can be challenging, and extremely satisfying when successful.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    If you have some friends to play a shooter with, this is a great choice. It's not perfect, but is bigger and better than the previous one, which means even more fun.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    The bottom line is that I’m complaining because the action, the gunplay, the visuals, the demanding teamwork, the ultimate sense of gratification from leveling up and mastering the levels are all pretty much unparalleled, even if they could have been situated into a better gameplay structure. Payday 2 is a wonderful shooter that stands alone in a genre full of me-toos, wanna-bes, and coulda-beens.
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    79
    Smart co-op shooting slightly undermined by poor stealth mechanics and dogged insistence on withholding the best toys.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    50
    The disappointing Payday 2 is a sequel in the loosest sense of the word, with minor and unsuccessful updates to the gameplay, hindered with uninspired scenarios and terrible AI.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 371
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    So much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked upSo much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked up on just the 6 heists that are in the beta! For the price you pay you cant go wrong! Collapse
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    this game is the most funnest and addicting game i've played and its a special kind of game because you rob banks and get money and level up.this game is the most funnest and addicting game i've played and its a special kind of game because you rob banks and get money and level up. The coop is also amazing and fun and the missions that they have are too. I recommend this game. Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gioco bellissimo che ti coinvolge molto quando vengono rilasciati i DLC,bello anche la modalità stealth,forse dovrebbero migliorare un poco le animazioni,ma con calma e con i vari aggiornamenti si risolverà tutto. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    Payday 2 is a very nice sequel to payday: the heist.
    The co-op elements of the game actually feel better this time and the amount of new maps
    Payday 2 is a very nice sequel to payday: the heist.
    The co-op elements of the game actually feel better this time and the amount of new maps (also because of updates and patches) is much better, even though the mission objectives feel a lot alike.
    For me, the gun mechanic feels very well done and the amount of guns in this game is actually pretty well done. Just like the new weapon mods that you can get by completing missions.
    There's the new stealth element that actually gives you the option to not mindlessly fight hordes of cops.
    The only big problem I have with the game is the AI. Not just your AI teammates, but also the enemies feel really sloppy at times.
    Some examples include: bulldozers going trough walls, teammates not reviving me at all and stop moving once I'm downed, and many more situations like these.
    I'd give this game a 7/10 before all the updates.
    Right now, it's a 8/10.
    Well worth your money.
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    If you enjoyed left for deads co-op focus and overall design goals but thought that the survivors should have been robbing banks and pullingIf you enjoyed left for deads co-op focus and overall design goals but thought that the survivors should have been robbing banks and pulling off other high stakes heists then this is the game for you.

    Plenty of mission variety with branching paths, player customization it's all here and it works.

    The only faults I can think of are that the vote kick system and other host tools can be easily abused all together more humanity's flaws then the games. Easily worth the price.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    Before you read this I want to point out the fact that this score is based off playing the multiplayer SOLO, no friends and playing withBefore you read this I want to point out the fact that this score is based off playing the multiplayer SOLO, no friends and playing with randoms. This game is fun for the first couple of hours playing with randoms, until you realize the payday community is filled with a bunch of pricks. Basically you will see level 50-60s in a level 1 mission then boot you for being to low a rank. People will expect you to know what to do right out the gate, and will quit at the slightest hint of the mission not going their way. Also if the host of the mission quits, and they will, the game will shut down completely, and you will lose all the cash, xp, and gear you should have gotten. The missions are also very repetitive. All bank jobs are of the exact same bank, the only difference is what is inside the vault. You will see the same problem repeatedly throughout the game. With friends the game gets an 8/10, but if you play this solo with randoms it gets a 6/10 Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2015
    0
    I liked the first one but put simply this is a crap game which is very boring, repetitive and easy.
    Very bland and average sequel which is
    I liked the first one but put simply this is a crap game which is very boring, repetitive and easy.
    Very bland and average sequel which is obviously made by very lazy devs.
    Most of the maps are terrible quality, the a.i's pathfinding is terrible, the gameplay balance is terrible, the dlc is horrible expensive, the balance of the skills is terrible, the voice acting is terrible, the music is terrible.
    I'm not sure why I wouldn't say that it is a terrible game becaue most aspects of it are of terrible quality.
    Expand

See all 371 User Reviews