Payday 2 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3562 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything fromPAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that lucrative PAYDAY. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Payday 2 - Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    95
    Payday 2 is a Co Op game. While it might have benefitted with a cool story arc for a single player mode the game offers a great outing with 3 other friends for an experience that will keep having you come back for more. Payday is simply put the improved, polished and closest experience you’ll find to robbing an actual bank. It’s just legal.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    86
    The many missions and unlockables also offer plenty of food for many hours raid pleasure.
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    83
    As it stands right now, Payday 2, while it won’t be for everyone, is a lot of fun. Although the stealth mechanics are basic, there’s enough strategic depth and teamwork required so that stealthing missions can be challenging, and extremely satisfying when successful.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    If you have some friends to play a shooter with, this is a great choice. It's not perfect, but is bigger and better than the previous one, which means even more fun.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    The bottom line is that I’m complaining because the action, the gunplay, the visuals, the demanding teamwork, the ultimate sense of gratification from leveling up and mastering the levels are all pretty much unparalleled, even if they could have been situated into a better gameplay structure. Payday 2 is a wonderful shooter that stands alone in a genre full of me-toos, wanna-bes, and coulda-beens.
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    79
    Smart co-op shooting slightly undermined by poor stealth mechanics and dogged insistence on withholding the best toys.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    50
    The disappointing Payday 2 is a sequel in the loosest sense of the word, with minor and unsuccessful updates to the gameplay, hindered with uninspired scenarios and terrible AI.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    So much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked upSo much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked up on just the 6 heists that are in the beta! For the price you pay you cant go wrong! Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    This game is a must have. PAYDAY 2 is possibly the best CO-OP game since Left 4 Dead 2. It never gets old. It never gets boring. The amount ofThis game is a must have. PAYDAY 2 is possibly the best CO-OP game since Left 4 Dead 2. It never gets old. It never gets boring. The amount of customization in the game is through the roof. Each level is a whole new experience, each time you play it, something always changes. The only reason it is not a 10 is because after a while, the levels get a tiny bit repetitive but with the huge amount of future DLC coming out that won't be a problem. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2016
    2
    Cant even start the game without 3 hours updating of a new dlc that I will never buy it. Also I saw that OVERKILL is just staying withCant even start the game without 3 hours updating of a new dlc that I will never buy it. Also I saw that OVERKILL is just staying with Payday2 and nothing new from them exept the dlcs that are becoming worse every single day and what kind of a serious game will add a GOAT heist. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2016
    0
    microtransactions are killing this amazing game. 2013 - best PC game. But only 2013,2014.
    Amir lied. Game filled with bugs, DLC's and now
    microtransactions are killing this amazing game. 2013 - best PC game. But only 2013,2014.
    Amir lied. Game filled with bugs, DLC's and now micro-transactions.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2015
    0
    Overkill flat out lied to the player base when they said no microtransactions. We already have more than $100 in DLC on top of the base game,Overkill flat out lied to the player base when they said no microtransactions. We already have more than $100 in DLC on top of the base game, but apparently that's not enough money. Don't get me wrong, this game is fantastic and still one of my favorites, but when the company lies like that, then talks down to the community for being angry, I just have to stop playing. Do not give any more money to Overkill; they don't deserve any money. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2015
    0
    payday has now added micro-transactions to a pay to play game a 20 dollar game, along with over 100 U.S dollars in DLC and "balancing" all thepayday has now added micro-transactions to a pay to play game a 20 dollar game, along with over 100 U.S dollars in DLC and "balancing" all the weapons which **** up all shotguns and made everything other than pistols and a few special weapons obsolete and very hard to use. and as of October 17,2015 the community is incredibly upset about this to the point of several thousand players quitting the game entirely. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2015
    0
    So here's the thing. I have 2,000 hours in this game. I have a Youtube channel of me doing Death Wish heists solo without bots. I did theSo here's the thing. I have 2,000 hours in this game. I have a Youtube channel of me doing Death Wish heists solo without bots. I did the Tabula Rasa challenge solo without bots, unmodded weapons, before Grinder. You could say I loved this game at one point.

    That time is gone. Overkill has repeatedly broken promises. They directly said before release "We will not ever have microtransactions." And yesterday, October 15, 2015, they added Microtransactions. This game is not Free to Play with microtransactions. This game is not cheap with microtransactions. This game has a reasonably priced base game with $100 of DLC. In order to purchase this game with all DLC, you must pay $130 outside of a sale. On topof this $130 price tag are microtransactions. Just...think about that. The price of this game alone is more than the price of two AAA games. Overkill then has the audacity to TRIPLE DIP on this by adding microtransactions.

    Last year, there were a series of "what's next" audio files hinting at something. After a *month* of daily audio files being released, it culminated in an advertisement for another game that isn't released until 2016 and an in-game baseball bat.

    Last year, we had "Crimefest," where the top reward Overkill was to release was a mystery. This mystery ended up being John Wick. A movie tie-in they were going to make and release anyway.

    Last year, some of the rewards for Crimefest were "FBI Files" (in-game stats), and a new enemy. These weren't released until this year. The FBI files ended up being a re-implementation of a communit web page, and the new enemy ended up just being a bunch of shields standing in a circle.

    This year, Overkill did a "Hype Train" event. By pre-ordering DLC, we would get "hype-fuel" points. With enough "hype-fuel," rewards for the community would be unlocked. In order to boost sales, Overkill finally delivered on a promise of finishing their new prestige levels (called Infamy). The first five infamy levels provided very small gameplay benefits along with awesome in-game masks. The next 20 levels released in Infamy 2.0 provided new masks and experience point bonuses (so you can infamy....faster?). I call this "Mask Pack 2.0." It took Overkill 14 months to release this. In response, people started refunding their DLC pre-orders. In response to THAT, Overkill released the DLC early so no one could get refunds. The latest Hype-train reward has yet to be released. In response to this, I completely stopped buying DLC. I have no DLC at all that has been released since Mask Pack 2.0.

    And most recently, Overkill added microtransactions after explicitly saying that they will NEVER do that along with intentionally breaking extremely well made community mods. Overkill does not deserve your money. They do not deserve any money. They have repeatedly broken their promises to the community. They have insulted the community. They have done absolutely nothing but show how far a company can fall.

    Overkill, shame on you. I truly do not believe there are words that can describe my level of disappointment with you. Am I angry? You bet your ♥♥♥ I am. But more than that, I'm just so disappointed. You've truly shown that you are nothing but liars and cheats. I truly hope your company goes out of business.
    Expand

See all 1551 User Reviews