Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1077 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that lucrative PAYDAY. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    95
    Payday 2 is a Co Op game. While it might have benefitted with a cool story arc for a single player mode the game offers a great outing with 3 other friends for an experience that will keep having you come back for more. Payday is simply put the improved, polished and closest experience you’ll find to robbing an actual bank. It’s just legal.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    86
    The many missions and unlockables also offer plenty of food for many hours raid pleasure.
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    83
    As it stands right now, Payday 2, while it won’t be for everyone, is a lot of fun. Although the stealth mechanics are basic, there’s enough strategic depth and teamwork required so that stealthing missions can be challenging, and extremely satisfying when successful.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    If you have some friends to play a shooter with, this is a great choice. It's not perfect, but is bigger and better than the previous one, which means even more fun.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    The bottom line is that I’m complaining because the action, the gunplay, the visuals, the demanding teamwork, the ultimate sense of gratification from leveling up and mastering the levels are all pretty much unparalleled, even if they could have been situated into a better gameplay structure. Payday 2 is a wonderful shooter that stands alone in a genre full of me-toos, wanna-bes, and coulda-beens.
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    79
    Smart co-op shooting slightly undermined by poor stealth mechanics and dogged insistence on withholding the best toys.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    50
    The disappointing Payday 2 is a sequel in the loosest sense of the word, with minor and unsuccessful updates to the gameplay, hindered with uninspired scenarios and terrible AI.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 308
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    So much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked up on just the 6 heists that are in the beta! For the price you pay you cant go wrong! Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    Amazing game, great graphics, and loving the RPG feel to this. Really enjoyable game. It's definitely more fun with friends as the AI for the NPCs isn't very good Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    All I gotta say is its Game of the Year for me. Great gameplay. Great menus. Great unlocks. Co-op is brilliant and its fun learning how to tackle each heist. The masks are simply outstanding. I don't know why people are complaining about the server browser. It does take some time to get used to, but it works. It does need a few bug fixes however and maybe some AI improvement. Future mod support and new masks would make it even sweeter. It's very important they keep the community going because the single-player mode is useless. Highly recommended. Especially on PC. Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2013
    8
    I'm rating this game without having played the first. If you are a TL;DR person and asking me if I would recommend you the game, I can give you this answer:

    I do recommend the game to you, if you happen to be a person who enjoys cooperative multiplayer games online. If you are a player preferring singleplayer games, I cannot recommend you this title. Read below why:

    Visuals 9 out of 10 The game looks smooth and the filters it uses can be turned off. Textures are clear and ingame objects look very convincing. The game definitely is a beauty.

    Sounds, Soundtrack and Voices 9 out of 10 The voice actors are authentic and fun to listen to. The weapons sound convincing and the electronic soundtrack emphasizes the actions taken by the player. Is the player not discovered yet, so will the music reflect that by playing slow beats and opposed to that the music is fast and upbeat when the police storms into the bank. It even builds up to those moments. For some the soundtrack might be too repetitive, though, as there are relatively few tracks that will be repeated every other mission you play.

    Gameplay 7 out of 10 First of all, it's important to note here that Payday 2 is a multiplayer game. It features a singleplayer variation, but make no mistake. The single player mode is barely functional as the cooperative AI for your 3 teampartners is too rudimentary. It's virtually unplayable. Payday 2 is played best with 3 friends of yours that you can rely on. If you don't know other players you will have to bite the bullet and play with random other players. My personal experience here has been very mixed, from egomaniacs who kicked other players for no good reason (such as a low level or wrong equipment chosen) to charitable and friendly players who coordinated via chat and went through the several missions of the game smooth and in short timeframes.

    Whether you will meet the former or latter kind of player will depend on your own luck. That aside, the gunplay of the game feels smooth, different weapons and upgrades give enough variety to personalize and choose from and the four different skilltrees are well balanced and diversify characters nicely. With the right people you will definitely have a great time.

    One characteristic of this game that might put you off should be mentioned The game features about 30 different missions or even more, however it uses a fraction of that amount as maps for these. This means that in various missions you will be put into the same level with items, entry points, saves and lockers, barricades, player and enemy spawns and other such points of interests shuffled around. While that does change how every mission plays out, some seem to feel that it leads to a lack of diversion and replayability. How you judge that is up to you.

    Last but not least, a comment on the difficulty. The game has 4 different difficulties and a "Pro" modifier for each mission. Normal, hard, very hard and overkill. Picking one of these changes the enemy spawns as well as the rewards. Normal spawns ordinary cops and few armored units. Overkill spawns more, tougher and better armed enemies who will soak your ammo clips up like sponges the water. Additionally, you will also face enemies with special traits in the higher difficulty levels, such as "bulldozers" that literally take hundreds of bullets to kill and other such friendly surprises. The difficulty levels in-between feature upgraded cops and fewer of these special enemies. Finally, the pro mode. If you choose to play a pro mission, you will only have one try for all the levels of the mission. If you fail the mission at any point, your mission and its progress will be terminated.

    Technical quality 6.5 out of 10 There are few bugs in the game, but when they happen they can be annoying. After playing a while it might happen that you lose connection to a host and your game will crash few minutes afterwards. I've had it happen to me only once after a long 5-hour gaming session, but it should be noted anyway.

    Also the shadow maps of the levels seem pose a problem, as they are in a 4096 resolution that cannot be turned down in the options menu. If you don't have a top notch PC, you will need to mod the game in order to fix that and play with acceptable frames. It's possible, but it requires some extra work on your part.

    Overall a very satisfying game with minor issues that can detract from the fun.
    Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    A great, fun, enjoyable game. Everything runs smoothly. I've been playing for a while now. + gameplay + guns + skills + levels - friendly ai
    - graphics could be improved
    - stealth

    Some minor fixes will make the game a solid 9.
    Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    After a long debate with myself, whether or not this Payday 2 would be a good game, I finally purchased the game last night. Since that time, I've put in about 6 hours of gameplay in all random join-ins and ~15 heists completed. After contemplating on all my gameplays, I think I'm starting to understand why this game that I was so excited for got such a lower than expected score.

    This game really is a unique fps/rpg game that fulfills what I always wanted in L4D2; being able to buy new weapons, earning weapon mods, and filling out skill trees. Firing any weapon in this game is powerful and the music really keeps the intensity going. I've always had the fantasy of playing this type of rpg/online fps. However, Payday 2 still stops my dream short...

    Currently, Payday 2 can only be the skeleton of what I've dreamed of playing. I know that there's suppose to be 5 expansions throughout the rest of the year, but why couldn't they have been in the game at the start? From my in-game experience, there are about 7 main missions that the players can choose to do. But even through my 6 hour game session, I was able to play most of the missions (some even several times) and everything seems to seem the same after a while.

    Part of the reason why I say the game gets tedious too is because there are a lot of people who don't play to the objectives. There were plenty of random players who just wanted to shoot up cops and civilians, even though the objective was putting a drill on a vault. If that's the case, then Overkill should implement missions that involve just purely shooting. Let there be more diversity of missions rather than grab this and take it to the van/boat/chopper.

    Bottom Line: Payday 2 is a fun game to play with your friends and it has the high potential to be a superb and unique fps/rpg of 2013/2014... but it still has a long way to go. Let's just hope the expansions make this game what it realizes itself to be.
    Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    From launch until Death Wish I loved this game, me and a group of friends (we aren't very good) we quickly playing Overkill heists which felt wrong - but this was patched and knocked us down to Hard loud heists and Overkill stealth heists. We were fine with this because we were having fun.

    The Death Wish patch has ruined stealth, in my opinion (although it is echoed on Steam forums) and although the loud heists are relatively unaffected by the latest patch, I feel like I am only getting half of the game now, so for now I have sidelined the game and am hoping for a patch to correct what they have done. I would love to rate this game 9, possibly even the full 10, but that was a couple of days ago and this is now.

    Current state: Awful
    Expand

See all 308 User Reviews