Payday: The Heist PC

Payday: The Heist Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 483 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players will embark on a spectacular crime spree of six heart stopping heists, including blasting their way through a downtown bank vault robbery, managing hostages in an armored car hijacking and even a midnight infiltration of a top-secret, high-security facility. Additionally, PAYDAY: ThePlayers will embark on a spectacular crime spree of six heart stopping heists, including blasting their way through a downtown bank vault robbery, managing hostages in an armored car hijacking and even a midnight infiltration of a top-secret, high-security facility. Additionally, PAYDAY: The Heist challenges players with dynamic environments and adaptive enemy tactics - meaning no scenario will ever play out the same way twice. Teamwork is essential to ensure crew members provide cover under fire, guard key access points, break through various security measures and keep civilians in check. Survive wave after wave of the best that law enforcement can deploy as they shift strategies in response to player actions and gameplay style. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. PC Games (Russia)
    Nov 23, 2011
    85
    One of the best ways to spend 20 bucks. Incredibly strong and fascinating online action. [December 2011, p.83]
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2011
    84
    Payday: The Heist is maybe Left 4 Cops, but still a very good interpretation with nice own ideas. Continous, massive cop slaughtering could use some tweaking, as it gets somewhat monotonous. [Nov 2011]
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Payday: The Heist is one of the biggest surprises of this hot autumn market, marked by triple-A titles of absolute value. If you have 2 or 3 friends to play with, the title Overkill is a highly recommended purchase. Our congratulations to the developers for the insight: we hope to continue to support their creature with new additional missions and already we dream a sequel with an advanced AI and techinal sector. A must for lovers of the co-op.
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    78
    Bottom line, it might not have all the bells and whistles that the blockbuster FPS games that are being released, but it doesn't have the same price tag, either. And you'll definitely get a lot of bang for your buck with this game.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    73
    Payday is already better than other low-budget multiplayer shooters (Lead and Gold, Killing Floor). It serves as a nice distraction after a hard day's work.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 27, 2012
    70
    Entertaining cooperative multiplayer is why you should try this unconventional shooter. Technical issues and obsolete visuals prevent a higher rating. [Jan 2012]
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    50
    Payday: The Heist has a brilliant concept at its heart, and that's further rounded out by some great art direction and some solid level design that makes a few of the missions real fun to play. Unfortunately, though, budget production values are evident in the graphics and limited selection of levels, and these factors inevitably come into conflict with a higher-than-expected price point.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 152
  1. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This game doesn't get enough credit in my opinion. It's a solid FPS shooter with objective based items to complete in order to finish theThis game doesn't get enough credit in my opinion. It's a solid FPS shooter with objective based items to complete in order to finish the round. The voice acting is good and the style of play is a heck of a lot of fun. The community also seems pretty cool. If I had anything to gripe about, I'd like to see more missions, as it only comes with six. Occasionally Amazon will run it for $5.00 - $7.49. Purchase the game download and activate your CD key using Steam. You will still get all your Steam achievements. Good way to save money on such a great game. I give it a 9.5. Two thumbs way up! Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    I was skeptical, and took a shot in the dark buying this game, and I'm honestly very impressed. Get this game right now. Except for there onlyI was skeptical, and took a shot in the dark buying this game, and I'm honestly very impressed. Get this game right now. Except for there only being 6 maps, this game is as good as any AAA $60 game out there. DEFINITELY worth 20.

    The good things: Most of the game. It's only $20!! It has very solid shooting, about 15 different guns, 20-25 types of enemies including 4 special 'boss' type enemies that are difficult to fight alone if your not careful. It has leveling, skills, 'perk' type things, and requires teamwork to do well. It does only have 6 levels but they are all rather replayable. So far I have only gotten bored of one level, but the other 5 have no end in sight. Also, the hardest difficulty is actually really hard. Some games have an 'expert' and it's somewhat hard, but a group of good people can easily beat it, but in this its a challange even with the best. Also, this game has very few bugs, and no major gamebreaking ones.

    The bad: A few minor bugs, but nothing more annoying than some wall clipping, or getting stuck in a menu every once in a while. Only 6 levels, additional ones would be nice, again a really minor issue due to replayability. Voice chat cannot be bound to a key. It's either you have a mic in, and broadcast whenever you make noise, or you dont have a mic in at all.
    Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Some pretty good graphics, A fast paced fps robbery how much more can you ask for. I honestly tnk from watching the trailers it make it lookSome pretty good graphics, A fast paced fps robbery how much more can you ask for. I honestly tnk from watching the trailers it make it look like yo had more outside freedom but you really dont but it makes up for the robbery freedom and also gives you egleest a good half an hour for each hiest so its more realistic in a sense Expand
  4. May 28, 2013
    9
    Payday is an amazingly fun game. I like how simple, independent games like these always manage to get me to sink many more hours into it thanPayday is an amazingly fun game. I like how simple, independent games like these always manage to get me to sink many more hours into it than any of the higher budget titles that are out.
    Unlike most shooters out, Payday forces you to play realistically. Your goal is not to rack up a body count, but to perform a heist. When a Rambo tries to run into the open, and play the bad-ass, they end up getting horribly raped, arrested, and then left behind as his teammates progress through the stage. The game just has a really intense feel as you yell at civilians to drop to the floor and shoot out surveillance cameras in preparation for police arrival.
    I have seen quite a few complaints about the AI being 'too sentry,' but imo, it is very realistic. The task force units feel professional and trained as I would expect any officer charging into a bank heist, or general hostage situation, would be. However, they are quite careless about shooting around civilians and you will often find yourself feeling like you are trying to save innocents from a reckless police riot.
    Overall, this game is soo good I bought it twice. Once for PS3, and once for PC. The only reason I do not give this game a perfect score is because, regardless of how good it is, it could have been better. I would like to have seen more content in the game, and could come up with a huge list of easily implemented ideas that would have heavily deepened the game-play. Also, this game does not hold your hand. It took me too long to figure out how to access and change my progression tree. Many game features you may only discover through playing with others, such as hostage negotiations.
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2015
    8
    PAYDAY: The Heist is the first game in the PAYDAY series developed by OVERKILL - A Starbreeze Studio

    The game is great, especially playing
    PAYDAY: The Heist is the first game in the PAYDAY series developed by OVERKILL - A Starbreeze Studio

    The game is great, especially playing online play with your friends or strangers, it is a great game to play, if you like those movies that had an epic heist, then you can re-live it in PAYDAY: The Heist

    But the game has some flaws, playing this is in Single-player, is a big no no, the AI is dumb as balls, from the other guys in your heist and the police

    Like I said before, the AI is dumb, sometimes the police just appear out of nowhere and are really dumb, and have very accurate shooting, they shoot exactly to you or your teammates

    But overall, the game is great, get it now!
    Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2012
    7
    Great game!

    But not enough Levels or actions. For example, you can see the AI climbing fences, sliding under cars and even using railings to
    Great game!

    But not enough Levels or actions. For example, you can see the AI climbing fences, sliding under cars and even using railings to climb down high floors... Why can't we do that?

    The game is basically Left 4 Dead but with a huge horde of police, love the way you can take people and police hostage.

    Overall sweet game play and Nice graphics also a good selection of perks and weapons.
    Improvements could be the extra actions/levels maybe more realistic hostage situations and more realistic police tactics?
    Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    Think of "Left 4 Dead", but with cops and robbers instead and about a million times harder. I don't know why the developers thought it'd be aThink of "Left 4 Dead", but with cops and robbers instead and about a million times harder. I don't know why the developers thought it'd be a good idea to make the game so fricking hard, but I won't be spending money on the second one. Expand

See all 152 User Reviews