Payday: The Heist PC

Payday: The Heist Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players will embark on a spectacular crime spree of six heart stopping heists, including blasting their way through a downtown bank vault robbery, managing hostages in an armored car hijacking and even a midnight infiltration of a top-secret, high-security facility. Additionally, PAYDAY: ThePlayers will embark on a spectacular crime spree of six heart stopping heists, including blasting their way through a downtown bank vault robbery, managing hostages in an armored car hijacking and even a midnight infiltration of a top-secret, high-security facility. Additionally, PAYDAY: The Heist challenges players with dynamic environments and adaptive enemy tactics - meaning no scenario will ever play out the same way twice. Teamwork is essential to ensure crew members provide cover under fire, guard key access points, break through various security measures and keep civilians in check. Survive wave after wave of the best that law enforcement can deploy as they shift strategies in response to player actions and gameplay style. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. PC Games (Russia)
    Nov 23, 2011
    85
    One of the best ways to spend 20 bucks. Incredibly strong and fascinating online action. [December 2011, p.83]
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2011
    84
    Payday: The Heist is maybe Left 4 Cops, but still a very good interpretation with nice own ideas. Continous, massive cop slaughtering could use some tweaking, as it gets somewhat monotonous. [Nov 2011]
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Payday: The Heist is one of the biggest surprises of this hot autumn market, marked by triple-A titles of absolute value. If you have 2 or 3 friends to play with, the title Overkill is a highly recommended purchase. Our congratulations to the developers for the insight: we hope to continue to support their creature with new additional missions and already we dream a sequel with an advanced AI and techinal sector. A must for lovers of the co-op.
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    78
    Bottom line, it might not have all the bells and whistles that the blockbuster FPS games that are being released, but it doesn't have the same price tag, either. And you'll definitely get a lot of bang for your buck with this game.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    73
    Payday is already better than other low-budget multiplayer shooters (Lead and Gold, Killing Floor). It serves as a nice distraction after a hard day's work.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 27, 2012
    70
    Entertaining cooperative multiplayer is why you should try this unconventional shooter. Technical issues and obsolete visuals prevent a higher rating. [Jan 2012]
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    50
    Payday: The Heist has a brilliant concept at its heart, and that's further rounded out by some great art direction and some solid level design that makes a few of the missions real fun to play. Unfortunately, though, budget production values are evident in the graphics and limited selection of levels, and these factors inevitably come into conflict with a higher-than-expected price point.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 150
  1. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    A very fun game! What's good about it that its original and its not another army or war fps... I'l give it a solid un-chewable 10 because itsA very fun game! What's good about it that its original and its not another army or war fps... I'l give it a solid un-chewable 10 because its original and fun online :D Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    I was skeptical, and took a shot in the dark buying this game, and I'm honestly very impressed. Get this game right now. Except for there onlyI was skeptical, and took a shot in the dark buying this game, and I'm honestly very impressed. Get this game right now. Except for there only being 6 maps, this game is as good as any AAA $60 game out there. DEFINITELY worth 20.

    The good things: Most of the game. It's only $20!! It has very solid shooting, about 15 different guns, 20-25 types of enemies including 4 special 'boss' type enemies that are difficult to fight alone if your not careful. It has leveling, skills, 'perk' type things, and requires teamwork to do well. It does only have 6 levels but they are all rather replayable. So far I have only gotten bored of one level, but the other 5 have no end in sight. Also, the hardest difficulty is actually really hard. Some games have an 'expert' and it's somewhat hard, but a group of good people can easily beat it, but in this its a challange even with the best. Also, this game has very few bugs, and no major gamebreaking ones.

    The bad: A few minor bugs, but nothing more annoying than some wall clipping, or getting stuck in a menu every once in a while. Only 6 levels, additional ones would be nice, again a really minor issue due to replayability. Voice chat cannot be bound to a key. It's either you have a mic in, and broadcast whenever you make noise, or you dont have a mic in at all.
    Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Some pretty good graphics, A fast paced fps robbery how much more can you ask for. I honestly tnk from watching the trailers it make it lookSome pretty good graphics, A fast paced fps robbery how much more can you ask for. I honestly tnk from watching the trailers it make it look like yo had more outside freedom but you really dont but it makes up for the robbery freedom and also gives you egleest a good half an hour for each hiest so its more realistic in a sense Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Payday: The Heist is a low-budget, low-cost independent co-operative FPS. It features a 4 player co-op mode in six different heists (two morePayday: The Heist is a low-budget, low-cost independent co-operative FPS. It features a 4 player co-op mode in six different heists (two more if you have the Wolfpack DLC). It features a level-up perk system that differs from Call of Duty's because you choose which of the three (four with Wolfpack) trees you level up. The max level without the DLC is 145, and it gets up to 193 with the purchase of Wolfpack (9.99$). You couldn't call Payday's graphics "amazing", but they are decent and enjoyable. Its fast pace is extremely captivating, when you have dozens of police officers marching at you at once. It's also a good feeling to be on the bad side for once. There are very little bugs (I haven't encountered any myself), and the heists aren't linear, they can change at several points (for example the game randomly decides whether the helicopter driver throws the C4 at the building's roof or in the back alley, etc.), and they all feel realistic and well-thought. Every heist is unique. The only thing that is bad with this game is that the AI can sometimes glitch out, making the officers just stand and do nothing. That happens rarely and they start moving after 2-3 seconds or after you shoot them. Overall, this game is fun, it'll take you some time to get to the max level (you can reset levels if you want to start from scratch again), it features unlockable masks which is also a pretty good system of customization and it costs mere 19.99$. You should definitely get it, and if you liked Left 4 Dead, this game is pretty similar to it, but with more diversity and a different setting. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2015
    8
    This is the game that made Payday popular. Payday is filled with unique heist missions to get jewels, or money. But within these heistThis is the game that made Payday popular. Payday is filled with unique heist missions to get jewels, or money. But within these heist missions you can either go into them run and gun or how most people do it by doing it stealthy. A lot of people also do speed runs on the hardest heist missions so people can compete against each other to see who can do the mission the fastest but without getting caught. Expand
  6. May 15, 2013
    7
    I just purchased this game and its been a long while since the game or any DLC dropped and I found it quite worth 20 bucks. Its similar toI just purchased this game and its been a long while since the game or any DLC dropped and I found it quite worth 20 bucks. Its similar to left for dead some people argue to similar. Well whats funny about that is I actually am one of the few people who hated L4D and have never even touched lf4d 2 and I love payday. I guess its because of the heisting and fighting police instead of zombies and super zombies. Now there are special police units but they are rare and only 1 of them is silly the bulldozers. The game is fast paced and fun especially with other people and probably a blast playing with people you actually know which sadly I have not yet to experience. The game has a level up perk system that rewards new weapons and passive perks for the 3 categories. This is a good incentive to keep playing to reach level cap and get all the weapons and upgrades. You can also earn new masks.

    Every game has a downside. For me yes sometimes the cops are way too precise and numerous at the same time. When you have super troopers, swat breathing down your neck and they seem to never miss unless your completely behind cover it can be quite unrealistic and frustrating. By the end of the day you slay waves and waves hundreds of cops which is kind of dumb. Theres only 2 missions where finesse can even be applied and without perfection you will still end up fighting for your life.

    Another thing that bothers me is the lack of missions. There is 7 by default and the 7th is inspired by left for dead and is about stealing blood and breaking into the icu which is weird. The other missions are run and gun or hold the fort heists about hacking or stowing gold.

    The only actual heist mission is the first world bank where you actually rob a bank and then escape.

    There actually are not that many weapons either. Shotgun, mini shotgun, 3 pistols, a rifle, an full auto rifle, a heavy machine gun and trip mines.

    The dlc adds a new class and weapons and upgrades and more levels but its ten dollars just for 2 more heists and some more levels so I do not feel that its worth it especially with the low online population for the game at this current time.

    Of course the sequel is right around the corner and promises to deliver x 10 more and be what the original should be. Despite that this first payday is a fun co op experience that requires teamwork to outlast those dang police trying to halt your payday and put you into custody.

    You can trade hostages for captured team mates which is great but the police always try to rescue hostages so you cannot and you cant take hostages with you you can only tie them down with limited cable ties and hostages cannot be used for anything else like delaying a police assault.
    Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    Unplayable. I bought this game because a friend of mine did. He has a worse computer and connection than me, and I already know we will beUnplayable. I bought this game because a friend of mine did. He has a worse computer and connection than me, and I already know we will be unable to play together as this game lags like your computer is made of **** On single player. With no AI companions. I don't know how the **** the game is supposed to run four people online when it has absolutely no options to at the very least turn the graphics to low to attempt to reduce lag. Do not get it. Expand

See all 150 User Reviews