Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 408 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players will embark on a spectacular crime spree of six heart stopping heists, including blasting their way through a downtown bank vault robbery, managing hostages in an armored car hijacking and even a midnight infiltration of a top-secret, high-security facility. Additionally, PAYDAY: The Heist challenges players with dynamic environments and adaptive enemy tactics - meaning no scenario will ever play out the same way twice. Teamwork is essential to ensure crew members provide cover under fire, guard key access points, break through various security measures and keep civilians in check. Survive wave after wave of the best that law enforcement can deploy as they shift strategies in response to player actions and gameplay style. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    One of the best ways to spend 20 bucks. Incredibly strong and fascinating online action. [December 2011, p.83]
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    84
    Payday: The Heist is maybe Left 4 Cops, but still a very good interpretation with nice own ideas. Continous, massive cop slaughtering could use some tweaking, as it gets somewhat monotonous. [Nov 2011]
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Payday: The Heist is one of the biggest surprises of this hot autumn market, marked by triple-A titles of absolute value. If you have 2 or 3 friends to play with, the title Overkill is a highly recommended purchase. Our congratulations to the developers for the insight: we hope to continue to support their creature with new additional missions and already we dream a sequel with an advanced AI and techinal sector. A must for lovers of the co-op.
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    78
    Bottom line, it might not have all the bells and whistles that the blockbuster FPS games that are being released, but it doesn't have the same price tag, either. And you'll definitely get a lot of bang for your buck with this game.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    73
    Payday is already better than other low-budget multiplayer shooters (Lead and Gold, Killing Floor). It serves as a nice distraction after a hard day's work.
  6. 70
    Entertaining cooperative multiplayer is why you should try this unconventional shooter. Technical issues and obsolete visuals prevent a higher rating. [Jan 2012]
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    50
    Payday: The Heist has a brilliant concept at its heart, and that's further rounded out by some great art direction and some solid level design that makes a few of the missions real fun to play. Unfortunately, though, budget production values are evident in the graphics and limited selection of levels, and these factors inevitably come into conflict with a higher-than-expected price point.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 142
  1. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    hahaha iu luv dis game fk hatres anyone hoo a8ts dis game is gayyyyyy lolololololololollololol i just think dis game deserves less bad reviews lulz haha Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    Gladio77

    the idea of the game its to rob no to kill random people, i anderstand that you think its unrealistic but if they dont make those
    limits the game will change a lot. Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 to offset the IDIOTS that think ANY game, no matter how bad, deserves a 0 (as they did for the PS3 review). In actuality, the game is about an 8.5. It has solid graphics (not the best, but clean), and great gameplay. Most heists are a huge challenge on normal, and I can't even imagine playing them on the higher difficulties yet. Decide what to unlock by pressing tab then numbers 1-3 ingame, and you get additional skills and unlocks. The downside to it is some of the sound work and lack of direction on some of the heists. Do NOT play single player, multiplayer is where it's at. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Great game, exiting missions and challenging difficulty levels. The grafic is also ok. You can adjust your equip to your needs exactly. If you play as single player your KI-Mates will follow your calling. For the higher difficult grade its necessary to play with real people together. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    (PC is alot better to play on btw) Overkill did an amazing job with a game that wasn't that huge, and for $20 it may not be worth it to some, try getting it on sale on steam. There is alot to unlock, such as upgrades and new weapons. Personally i think that this is always a good thing, and to any fps gamer out there i think this is a great addition for your shelf. First off the graphics, they are pretty nice, not the best compared to the ones you can find in call of duty and battelfield, but in those games you don't get to hold hostages and rob banks. Gameply is like any other hybrid shooter, and in a way a bit like Call of Duty but it's gameplay is pretty linear. Find the objectives, kill cops and keep hostages, break into something or escort someone, and then hold out until you get to the final objecives. More and more cops keep piling at your doorstep and the AI is terrible, but that's why they have multiplayer, with 3 other friends you will have so much fun you won't come out of your room for 3 days. Difficulty is also a great thing, you can be a n00b and play on easy and normal, or become a pro and start out playing on hard and overkill (overkill 145+ is your level 145) and it rewards you alot of cash, literally cash. Cash is used to level up with, levels are called rep and there are 145 levels (193 if you have the dlc) and there is alot to unlock. Masks are also a neat feature, you have your basic clown masks but there are a ton more to collect, sadly there are some you can't get anymore. This game is defiently worth buying and you should not hesistate to buy, but get a friend or to aswell, cuz AI sucks. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    It's definitely a fun game, and for only 20 bucks, it seems worth price. The action is fast-paced and definitely requires teamwork to complete the heists. There are some cons in my opinion, which are keeping me from giving the game a higher score. One is the multiplayer aspect and how it's set up. It's archaic. There are no dedicated servers, so every game is hosted by a user. This can be frustrating as the host can just decide to kick you out whenever they feel like, and if the hosts quits/loses internet connection, the game is over. This also means that you cannot join a game in progress. There are some comparisons to Left 4 Dead in this game, but the way multiplayer server/hosting is set up really bothers me. The other thing that irks me a bit is that there is six heists. Ok not bad, but some of them can only be played on normal/hard/overkill. Only two maps can be played on easy, which you almost have to play starting because you have little skills/upgrades. I have a heck of time finding an easy game to jump into (since I am still low rank), and once you find if someone does like your name or rank they can just kick you before you the game even starts. The last con for me is the graphics options. Game really feels like a console port if you look here...there are none. No advanced options to speak of, so if you do have a low end or high end pc, good luck with the settings. OVERALL though I give the game a seven, because it is a fun game. I recommend it, just wish they had dedicated servers and more graphic options. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    Think of "Left 4 Dead", but with cops and robbers instead and about a million times harder. I don't know why the developers thought it'd be a good idea to make the game so fricking hard, but I won't be spending money on the second one. Expand

See all 142 User Reviews