Penny Arcade Adventures: Episode Three PC

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    90
    At five bucks, it's an easy recommendation for anyone even remotely interested in role-playing games.
  2. PC Gamer
    Aug 8, 2012
    86
    You'll be impressed by how much depth and fun it packs into its 10 hours. [Oct 2012, p.69]
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    83
    If you're at all interested in Penny Arcade, retro RPG's, or tranforming into a dinosaur, it's hard to go wrong with this one.
  4. PC Master (Greece)
    Aug 31, 2012
    81
    Sporting brilliant, nerdcore humor that burns everything, from the Cthulhu mythology to internet fanboyism, a sinister yet pleasantly modernized combat system, a low price and 8-to-10 hours of pure, crazy gameplay, it was made with a sense of dark love for every soul out there, that still has a 20-side die… and is not afraid to use it. [August 2012]
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 10, 2012
    80
    Devilishly great RPG accessible to everyone – it maybe reminds of the greatest hits back in 90s but its playability is still modern. [Sept 2012]
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    The third episode of Penny Arcade Adventures looks and plays different than its predecessors, and the new direction is one worth rallying behind.
  7. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    Rain-Slick 3 is a terrific little indie RPG, and hopefully the launching point for something much bigger from Zeboyd in the future.
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    The game is also a mere $5, so if you're craving some gaming nostalgia circa 1995, but don't feel like yet another trek through Earthbound or Phantasy Star IV, Rain-Slick 3 is an easy choice for anyone with an appreciation for turn-based combat and a good Cthulhu reference.
  9. Jul 2, 2012
    78
    Precipe of Darkness 3 is not only a brilliant Final Fantasy spoof, but an astonishingly well working 16Bit-RPG. The combat system with its wicked classes is well-though-out. Unfortunately the game is rather short.
  10. Jun 27, 2012
    75
    What Penny Arcade's On the Rain-Slick Precipice of Darkness 3 lacks in variety, it makes up for in hilarity.
  11. Jun 25, 2012
    75
    Suffice to say, it won't be giving Square's vintage stock a run for its money, but if you've got some pocket change and a healthy admiration for Gabe and Tycho to spare, this amusing trip through time is certainly worth the expedition.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    I very much enjoyed the first two Games, With the exception of the omission of Catsby and Twist. The new 16-bit style was a bit of a shockI very much enjoyed the first two Games, With the exception of the omission of Catsby and Twist. The new 16-bit style was a bit of a shock even after a month's advanced notice and screenshots. I the game feels like an exceptional value. The Gameplay is very reminiscent of the 16 JRPG "Glory Days" but with several striking improvements. With Health regen being complete after every fight, and Items being on a "uses per battle" they managed to make a Game very "JRPG" in feeling, but without the Grinding, and the risk management inventory. Those features make this game hit the nostalgia pleasure center in the brain without reminding some of us of the parts we didn't like about JRPGs: Like the 12 hour Grinding sessions for money, or Realizing the Thief will simply never be good in FF 1, right after You finish lighting up the fourth orb. The Writing is excellent, the humor is still true to the source material, and the character combinations are a scream. I am a firm believer in getting the Value out of every purchase, and for the money, I feel I did several times over. Your Mileage may of course Vary, but I can assure you that you will find the Value. Think About (Insert $50-$60 dollar game you purchased) and what a disappointment it was. Heck, I got a free Copy of Dragon Age 2 and I still feel like I overpaid. In Conclusion, It is a well put together Game that is easily worth the cost, and is fun to play. Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    There's been a lot of hate flying around for this game because of the new graphics style and gameplay mechanics, but I'm going to judge thisThere's been a lot of hate flying around for this game because of the new graphics style and gameplay mechanics, but I'm going to judge this based on what it is, not what it isn't. Of course, it's very different in terms of gameplay from episodes 1 and 2, and the previous engine offered a more immersive experience, but episode 3 maintains the most important feature: the writing. It's placement of insanity in an otherwise mundane setting and dialogue, the ingenious writing that is both crude and razor-sharp at the same time, left me wanting to keep on playing just to see what the characters said next. Few games have managed to achieve this.

    The gameplay evolves upon Cthulhu Saves the World and Breath of Death VII, offering a more diverse selection. The combat system is reminiscent of the old final fantasy games, as are the graphics, and it give the proper respect it deserves. It's fun, engaging and, most importantly, is capable of offering an actual challenge.

    It'll last maybe 6 to 8 hours on normal difficulty, and is quite a bit more entertaining than most AAA games, so at it's current price, mortal means do not allow me to express how much I recommend buying this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    I really love this game series and I have played all three of these games through and through. But this game is just too different from theI really love this game series and I have played all three of these games through and through. But this game is just too different from the last two, and unfortunately, it's not a very good thing. The biggest and most major difference is the style of the game. I actually loved the comic look style that the last two games had, but this game takes form of a 16-bit style game. As much as I don't have a problem with this sort of style, its been really overdone. On top of that, this game is no where near as funny as the last two games. Not once did I even chuckle at the ridiculousness of the story. In fact, I don't even remember the story at all. I barely even remember playing the game, because I just kept thinking to myself "please let this end soon." Even despite all these problems, the game is still somewhat fun to play and shows some interesting mechanics, it just gets old really quick. And I mean, really quick. If your a big fan of the series then go for it, but otherwise just ignore this title. Full Review »