Penumbra: Black Plague PC

Penumbra: Black Plague Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Penumbra: Black Plague is a creepy and dark psychological horror experience featuring the adventures of Philip as he sets of in search of his dead father. Trapped in a shadowy, underground complex, intrepid explorer Philip is determined to discover the truth behind his father'sPenumbra: Black Plague is a creepy and dark psychological horror experience featuring the adventures of Philip as he sets of in search of his dead father. Trapped in a shadowy, underground complex, intrepid explorer Philip is determined to discover the truth behind his father's disappearance. Surrounded by enemies and assaulted by terror from all sides, Philip must collect clues and solve vexing puzzles while combating the gnawing psychological terrors that assail his mind and threaten to strip him of his sanity. Can Philip master his fear and finally uncover the truth behind a mystery that has haunted him for a lifetime? Only you can decide. [Paradox Interactive] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. This is an incredible game. It's got fun, innovative gameplay, great writing, entertaining VO, a frightening atmosphere, and even manages to provoke deep thought. P:BP is a perfect example of exactly why I play videogames.
  2. Black Plague's success is the result of its individual components. It's a good game that is unique, refreshing, and fun to play. As far as the adventure game genre goes, it's definitely in a class by itself.
  3. PC Gamer
    83
    Black Plague actually made me scream aloud in fright at one point. Even horror movies don't have that effect on my anymore. [July 2008, p.68]
  4. PC Format
    80
    A creepy, well-written and refreshingly different first-person romp. [Apr 2008, p.110]
  5. It alternately shocks and entertains without resorting to the boring, repetitive combat we usually associate with survival horror. Black Plague is nowhere near perfect, but it still deserves to be played.
  6. Whilst the integration of the physics system within the environment in Penumbra is certainly more deeply-ingrained, the puzzles themselves never quite reach the same level of ingenuity as the classic Valve title.
  7. There are definitely some truly scary moments in Penumbra: Black Plague, and the story is good enough to make you want to find out how everything all turns out at the end. Don't clear your calendar to play it, but if your gaming slate is clear, and you're in the mood for a bit of horror, consider giving it a try.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. O.C.H
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best horror games for the PC. The puzzles are clever, the story is amazing, and it is very scary. Highly recommended for Overture One of the best horror games for the PC. The puzzles are clever, the story is amazing, and it is very scary. Highly recommended for Overture lovers, and you should get Requiem after this. Did I mention it was scary? ;) Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    The game carry's on from where you left off from the game before Overture. The game has a brilliant story, very very scary. There are newThe game carry's on from where you left off from the game before Overture. The game has a brilliant story, very very scary. There are new monsters and there not dogs there harder to get away. They look a bit like the Amnesia monster. When the game ends it makes you want to play the sequel right away to see what happens next. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Nothing is as exciting as looking forward playing through a horror game on a rainy night with a buddy. That's what i did, someday i willNothing is as exciting as looking forward playing through a horror game on a rainy night with a buddy. That's what i did, someday i will replay them alone but playing it with company is a great way since you can figure out puzzles twice as fast. With the same game atmosphere as Overture, Black Plague goes even scarier and a bigger experience. Totally worth playing. The atmosphere will get sort of ruined in the end of the game, more than that i cant say. Expand
  4. CarlV
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    I had already said great things about the first game, Penumbra Overture. So the second blew me away. Black Plague did everything Overture had I had already said great things about the first game, Penumbra Overture. So the second blew me away. Black Plague did everything Overture had accomplished and made it better, tweaking all the flaws from the first like the incredibly awkward combat. It also more then triples the scare factor of the game, replacing simple animals that were already dreadful with a horrifying new breed of danger. The game's story isn't going to win it an award by itself, and some people complain about the ending. I on the other hand, perhaps being a bit more flexible with plot, found the story memorable and thought provoking. Coupled with an atmosphere that is so dark, chilling and gripping that the game demands to be played fully emersed; at night, lights off. The graphics aren't amazing, but as the name of the series hints *Penumbra: The small area of light surrounded by darkness* , this is not so much about graphics as the lighting. The shadows easily hide the sins of the outdated graphics and while the lighting is amazing, it is rarely reassuring in the gritty, claustrophobic environment that is "The Shelter". Coupled with some underrated script and voice acting, not to mention immersive sound that leaves you jumping at every little noise that goes "bump", the game becomes a very frightening world for your character to explore, run and hide in. I bought this game for 5 dollars when it was on sale. Best 5 dollars ever spent. If you're a fan of horror, do not miss this game. The only reason I gave it a 9 out of 10 instead of a full out 10 is because the game isn't for everyone and it didn't smash down the definitions of adventure/puzzle games and set them anew. But it excels at what it sets out to do and creates not so much a game as more an experience, if not an utterly terrifying one. It's simply an amazing hidden gem in a sea of games. Not everyone will find it or even appreciate it, but that makes it all the more savoring for people like me who have discovered it. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    8
    And the series just keeps moving upward. Overture is a very good game, but Black Plague is a few steps up. The clever writing, characters,And the series just keeps moving upward. Overture is a very good game, but Black Plague is a few steps up. The clever writing, characters, scares and atmosphere is still there. The puzzles are still well done. Anyone who enjoyed Overture has no reason to not enjoy this one. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Fun - 9/10
    Gameplay - 7/10
    Controls - 10/10 Graphics Design - 9/10 Story - 10/10 All Time Graphics - 8/10 Sound - 7/10 Music - 10/10
    Fun - 9/10
    Gameplay - 7/10
    Controls - 10/10
    Graphics Design - 9/10
    Story - 10/10
    All Time Graphics - 8/10
    Sound - 7/10
    Music - 10/10
    Replayability - 6/10
    Graphics for its time - 6/10
    82/100
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    Penumbra: Black Plague is quite simply, a continuation of Penumbra: Overture. It might as well be considered one single game. The engine seemsPenumbra: Black Plague is quite simply, a continuation of Penumbra: Overture. It might as well be considered one single game. The engine seems to be the same used in the first game, and most mechanics are identical. The atmosphere continues to be dark and creepy, with the addition of some new surprises that surface throughout. Everything is basically the same, with only the plot and storyline developing further. The one major improvement in comparison to Overture is the amount of thrills found in this iteration. There seems to be more action and more atmosphere overall, which makes the game more enjoyable, more creepy and a bit more scary. The story progression isn't as interesting or original as in the first game, but at least it has much more detail and much more depth. The voice acting also continues its high quality performances. Loading times are atrocious and much longer than in the first game, which tests patience. Some of the puzzles included in this game aren't as logical as in the first. The unintuitive puzzles are more complicated and mostly involve trial and error during a particular segment of the adventure. There are also more absurdly hidden items and mechanisms, which makes this game much more difficult in terms of its playability as an adventure game. There is also more interaction between the player and other characters in the story, which quickly dissolves the feeling of being a solitary person in a creepy and scary locale. The developers decided to get rid of the melee combat instances completely (found in the first game), which I agree is for the best and makes the game more tense and more fluid. There are way too many interruptions for plot development voice acting. Without ruining the experience with spoilers, I will say that these voice acting pauses occur almost at any given time, without a focus on storyline turning points. They can get a bit distracting at times. Not having the ability to engage your enemies in melee combat makes the game so much more tense and exciting. The ending is very good and adds to the story rather well. Penumbra: Black Plague is better than Penumbra: Overture in every way, as it corrected some of the developers' mistakes and made the gaming experience more enjoyable as a whole. This is clearly the best adventure game I have ever played; totally exceeding Penumbra: Overture. Once again, the game runs a little bit short, but I suppose it is of adequate length after all, since it is an adventure game with lots of theme and mood. I am now looking forward to the third part in the series. It took me about 8 hours to complete. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews