Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    85
    Pid is an imaginative, well-designed platformer with all of the bells and whistles for the price of lunch.
  2. Nov 23, 2012
    75
    Pid can best be described as a typical indie game: it offers a unique world, interesting audio-visual presentation and great platform gameplay with a twist. The gameplay does have some shortcomings, but overall it's a fun game.
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    75
    Mixing up platforms and puzzles, Pid offers old-school difficulty and a very enjoyable experience. Definitely recommended for those who want to go back in time and make the most of a game that will bring us many hours of fun.
  4. 70
    Smart platformer offers an interesting story and an intense atmosphere unfortunately, it also comes with frustrating parts and is overall short. [Christmas 2012]
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    Kurt's trials partly arise from the traditional platforming challenge, of course, but trimming the more repetitive sequences and draining the bosses' health would have edged this effort toward the greatness enjoyed by some of its contemporary cousins.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    68
    The learning curve ain't too steep for your average punter, but the overall difficulty is. The many, many deaths of Kurt can be demoralising and extremely frustrating; however despite this it does grow on you after a while - especially with another player to share the experience.
  7. Jan 6, 2013
    65
    Pid's world is charming, graphics and music create a wonderful atmosphere and the puzzles are clever. But on the other hand the game punishes you for every mistake and could infuriate a Tibetan monk. [1/2013, p.66]
  8. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    The cold heart beneath the cuddly surface fits the dark tone of the game, which beneath all the whimsy tells a melancholy story. Even so, players drawn in by Pid's dreamy visuals might end up feeling betrayed.
  9. 60
    While it's enjoyable at times and boasts some charm, it's ultimately an unfulfilling puzzle platformer that tries to go outside its box with limited success.
  10. Dec 30, 2012
    50
    An indie platformer that never quite gets past proclaiming "Me too!" It's enjoyable in parts, but also forgettable. [Jan 2013, p.83]
  11. Oct 30, 2012
    50
    Beautiful game, with some nice puzzles, ruined by your character's inability to perform the platforming as well as you need.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    The studio was partly responsible for Bionic Commando Rearmed, and although I was never a big fan of that game, I love PID.

    Joining the
    ranks of Bastion, Limbo and Braid - this game is one of my favourite XBLA releases to date. It's beautiful to behold, controls flawlessly (played using a 360 controller) and the soundtrack is AMAZING. The game echoes a lot of old school platformers but bring the premise to more modern standards. Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2014
    4
    An absolute adorable game, with nice animation and nice music to relax you with some puzzles and platforming. Kinda reminds me of Deadlight but without any zombies, just... robots. But be warned! It can get boring really quickly, and me personally, I got so bored that I removed it from my PC which is a shame because the art looks nice... I mean who on earth would make a puzzle platformer this difficult 9 hours long!?! Full Review »
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    Some platforming parts and some puzzle parts, both could be better.

    Boss fights were my favorite part of the game, they were original and
    fun to play.

    Unique and charming world, characters and soundtrack.
    Full Review »