Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    Kurt's trials partly arise from the traditional platforming challenge, of course, but trimming the more repetitive sequences and draining the bosses' health would have edged this effort toward the greatness enjoyed by some of its contemporary cousins.
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    75
    Mixing up platforms and puzzles, Pid offers old-school difficulty and a very enjoyable experience. Definitely recommended for those who want to go back in time and make the most of a game that will bring us many hours of fun.
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    The cold heart beneath the cuddly surface fits the dark tone of the game, which beneath all the whimsy tells a melancholy story. Even so, players drawn in by Pid's dreamy visuals might end up feeling betrayed.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    50
    Beautiful game, with some nice puzzles, ruined by your character's inability to perform the platforming as well as you need.
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    75
    Pid can best be described as a typical indie game: it offers a unique world, interesting audio-visual presentation and great platform gameplay with a twist. The gameplay does have some shortcomings, but overall it's a fun game.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    68
    The learning curve ain't too steep for your average punter, but the overall difficulty is. The many, many deaths of Kurt can be demoralising and extremely frustrating; however despite this it does grow on you after a while - especially with another player to share the experience.
  7. 70
    Smart platformer offers an interesting story and an intense atmosphere unfortunately, it also comes with frustrating parts and is overall short. [Christmas 2012]
  8. Nov 1, 2012
    60
    While it's enjoyable at times and boasts some charm, it's ultimately an unfulfilling puzzle platformer that tries to go outside its box with limited success.
  9. Jan 6, 2013
    65
    Pid's world is charming, graphics and music create a wonderful atmosphere and the puzzles are clever. But on the other hand the game punishes you for every mistake and could infuriate a Tibetan monk. [1/2013, p.66]
  10. Nov 12, 2012
    85
    Pid is an imaginative, well-designed platformer with all of the bells and whistles for the price of lunch.
  11. Dec 30, 2012
    50
    An indie platformer that never quite gets past proclaiming "Me too!" It's enjoyable in parts, but also forgettable. [Jan 2013, p.83]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    The studio was partly responsible for Bionic Commando Rearmed, and although I was never a big fan of that game, I love PID.

    Joining the
    ranks of Bastion, Limbo and Braid - this game is one of my favourite XBLA releases to date. It's beautiful to behold, controls flawlessly (played using a 360 controller) and the soundtrack is AMAZING. The game echoes a lot of old school platformers but bring the premise to more modern standards. Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2014
    0
    Forgot I even played this soon after uninstalling it. It's hard for me to review it because I can barely remember it now. I figured coming in to say that however was good enough for a review. I do remember getting this traded for me for a code I was giving away. I was like, "sure, whatever, no idea what that is, may as well take it and try it." I should have turned down this free game and just let him have the code for free. Games like this used to be free to play in your website's flash. Now they sell on Steam for money. Do yourself a favor. Go to a flash game website. There are tons of these, for free to play. Or buy any other platformer that exists instead. You could throw a rock out into the open ocean and probably hit a platformer better than this one now days. We're not exactly at a shortage for them.
    -Drain (Steam)
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 19, 2014
    4
    An absolute adorable game, with nice animation and nice music to relax you with some puzzles and platforming. Kinda reminds me of Deadlight but without any zombies, just... robots. But be warned! It can get boring really quickly, and me personally, I got so bored that I removed it from my PC which is a shame because the art looks nice... I mean who on earth would make a puzzle platformer this difficult 9 hours long!?! Full Review »