PixelJunk Monsters: Ultimate Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    91
    Everyone who's anyone has already played PixelJunk Monsters, and now all those nobodies on PC, Mac, and Linux can enjoy it too, with its arrival on Steam. Not to mention they're getting the complete package considering all the DLC bundled in. PJMU seems to have had a buggy release but in my experience has stabilized beyond these growing pains into the game we all expected to arrive on its initial approach.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    90
    PixelJunk Monsters Ultimate is a fun game in the tower defense genre, but if you’re new to the genre I’d recommend sticking with Casual difficulty for a while as you’d likely get overrun on Regular difficulty. Still, if you’re looking for a fun tower defense game, this is one worth picking up.
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    88
    Ultimately, PixelJunk Monsters Ultimate HD isn’t for tower defence rookies. While fans of the franchise will be used to its quirks, its unforgiving difficulty will likely put casual players off. I came into this expecting ‘just another tower defence game’ and despite its flaws - some inherent with being a console port - PixelJunk Monsters Ultimate HD was still a pleasant surprise.
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    80
    I have no qualms in recommending this game to fans of the Tower Defence genre and new-comers alike.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    73
    Monsters is packed with original ideas, and if not for its weak graphics and unforgiving difficulty spikes, I’d recommend it to everyone.
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    Overcome the initial skepticism, and let yourself be tempted by the game's debonaire stylization along with its fast pace. As soon as the game comes into blossom, and Tikiman starts to dance, you'll hardly bail out from its never-ending battle series.
  7. 40
    It's possible to make a tower defense game differently but "differently" doesn't necessarily mean "better". This HD version is a proof, despite the qualities of the original game. [Issue#236]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    It's not just 'yet another tower defense game'; it's the best on the market. Only thing holding it back is online co-op is a little less than stellar (sometimes laggy and will kick you back to the menu after every level clear). Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    As with all my reviews, this is for the Linux version, but it should be the same for all desktop platforms.

    Pixeljunk does an excellent job
    with the game play of both this game and Shooter. The music, graphics, sound, and ability to have co-op are all great! The only reason I'm rating it a 9 instead of a 10 is that I feel some of their music should have been slightly less repetitive and a little more complex, and because I felt the menu system for co-op games could have been made simpler.

    Do other TD games have better graphics? Yes! But does this art style work and is this game enjoyable too? Yes! Plus, it's the only TD game for Linux right now! Highly recommended!
    Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    It's a fantastic package, picked this up and bought the expansions on PS3 and had so much fun in single player that I got my friend to come round and session it coop. It's great fun and that dope below, gyokzoli, is really embittered by the fact that he hasn't got a friend to play this game. It is tricky but cracking each challenge requires a tactful approach which, judging by his review style, he lacks. Safe to say this is a very polished TD game with the unique approach of having a character that you move to upgrade/sell towers. For those of you struggling with the game, the base towers are almost all you need to finish most of the levels the flamethrower tower is VERY useful and I never needed to use the ice tower, good luck! (Also there are secret levels if you get enough perfects) Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    4
    It seems that this game is one of those love it or hate it games. I come down on the side of hate it, or at least I don't understand what makes this game worth playing. However, I don't like the idea of rating a game you dislike a zero unless the game is not only poorly designed but also extremely buggy. The only bugs I found in this game are the ones you are suppose to blow up with your towers, so I'll give it a four.

    Graphics are poor and sound is very annoying and repetitive. As others have mentioned, the game places a huge emphasis on getting a perfect score (loosing none of your villagers). It is important to get a perfect score because you need to do this on most levels to progress through the game. That's a truly idiotic game design decision, it should be up to the player to determine how close to perfect they want to get on a level. The iBomber tower defense games get this right by rewarding you with stars that you use to purchase upgrades.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    2
    If you like this, you haven't played good tower defense games. PJ Monsters is super minimalistic, not in a cool way, but in a lazy way. The sprite variety is extremely limited, and they have no death animations. The towers have no graphical indication to being upgraded. There is a huge priority to earning a perfect score by taking no hits on your base, but there is no way to "earn back" a hit on your base, which results in a frustrating need to restart from zero.
    But the biggest negative by far is the paths the enemies follow to attack your base. The whole point of tower defense is to devise a strategy from what you know about the enemy types and the terrain they must follow. But for half the maps in this game the field has an "open" design that leads the monsters right past your base in the middle of their attack path. This makes a mockery of tower defense strategy, since the baddies are arbitrarily "deciding" not to kill you, rather than falling to your strategy. Overall, this game makes me appreciate Kingdom Rush and Fieldrunners, and the effort their developers put into them.
    Collapse
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    1
    Well, it's one of the worst TDs on the market. The sound effects are bad, the music... what music?! The horrible noise which is called music in the game is so bad, you want to kill yourself after listening to it for 5 minutes straight, and you cannot even mute the music and sounds! The graphics are mediocre, the gameplay mechanics are mediocre at best. And the game is freaking difficult which would be a good thing if the game itself would be good, but it's not. Although it might be still a good purchase if you can buy it in an Indie Bundle for 1 USD. Don't pay more than that for this horrible TD... Expand