Planescape: Torment PC

Planescape: Torment Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 795 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Sigil, the "City of Doors", a place with gates that lead anywhere in existence, provided you have the proper key. It is a neutral ground and watering hole for races across the multiverse, all under the watchful shadow of the Lady of Pain, the enigmatic ruler of the city. It is aWelcome to Sigil, the "City of Doors", a place with gates that lead anywhere in existence, provided you have the proper key. It is a neutral ground and watering hole for races across the multiverse, all under the watchful shadow of the Lady of Pain, the enigmatic ruler of the city. It is a place where the word is mightier than the sword, where thought defines reality, where belief has the power to reshape worlds and change the laws of physics. [Interplay] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    Torment boasts a thoroughly enjoyable story line, and I can pretty much guarantee you won't be guessing how it all ends up with any degree of accuracy. This game has very few weaknesses, and predictability is certainly not one of them!
  2. Planescape is very, very special. Some might say it's too bizarre and weird, but I found it a refreshingly deep and thoughtful interlude in an otherwise cookie-cutter world of Samegaming.
  3. I have never before seen an RPG so deep, so entertaining, and so damn good.
  4. If you don't mind some weirdness, have a penchant for the macabre, and love the idea of role-playing in a setting where death is a doorway instead of a slammed door, then Planescape: Torment is just what the (witch) doctor ordered.
  5. 90
    Torment's graphics and sound are paradise. Gorgeous, hand-drawn backgrounds look sumptuous, even if they're overcome with dark, moody, colors.
  6. Batten down the hatches, let the answering machine do its thing, and keep some snack food on standby, because Planescape Torment is one of those RPGs with such a deep, rich story that it demands every ounce of the players attention.
  7. If you don't dig a traditional RPG structure, this is going to bore you to tears. But for a strong storyline in a non-traditional setting, Planescape is well worth the money.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 131
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    One of the best isometric RPGs out there. Unique story, characters and sub-plots, and plenty of stuff to explore, and NPCs to converse with,One of the best isometric RPGs out there. Unique story, characters and sub-plots, and plenty of stuff to explore, and NPCs to converse with, each with interesting stories of their own, which only adds to the twists and turns of the overall story. A must have, for any gamer that likes the Infinity Engine games. Expand
  2. TheElusivePossom
    May 27, 2003
    10
    Black Isle excel in creating gaming excellence in their genre of fantasy RPGs, and "Planescape" is a clear example of their efforts, firmly Black Isle excel in creating gaming excellence in their genre of fantasy RPGs, and "Planescape" is a clear example of their efforts, firmly established as one of the best RPGs ever made. This game has it all: a deep, involving and at times graphic storyline that would Stephen King quit writing, healthy doses of bizarre humour and most of all, IMAGINATION. The world in which you exist is wonderfully tailored to capture the feel of a fantasy dimension, from the variety of species to the weird and wonderful locales. Indeed, the first 2 members of your party comprise of an undead immortal who can regenerate over time and a wise-cracking talking skull! There's also so much to do, as within the game are practically hundreds of quests to complete. You can even join a faction to access other areas, and the theme of character development plays hugely. Plainly, if your into D+D, this is a must have, especially at the ludicrously cheap budget price it's going at nowadays. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    This game is just hard to forget. Ten years has passed since I've been playing for the first time, and the impressions, emotions are stillThis game is just hard to forget. Ten years has passed since I've been playing for the first time, and the impressions, emotions are still with me. Those who had sad that it has a far greater story than Deus ex, are, as far as I am speaking for myself, correct. It needs that kind correction though, that the story in fact is a amazing book story, superior, to *any* game story, we have seen so far: including original Mafia story, or any good crpg, like Baldur's Gate. It is far greater too, than a few good books, I ve been reading. But, eventually, it is not ony history told so good, but also the mechanics of the game, ideas hidden here and there, make this game, the best one out there. Everything if perfectly balanced.
    Well, it would be great to se a another game taking place in Planescepe environment someday. Let's just hope it is possible.
    Expand
  4. CraigG.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    I'm a huge fan of other Infinity engine games, Baldur's gate, icewind dale. I never had the chance to play Planescape: Torment till I'm a huge fan of other Infinity engine games, Baldur's gate, icewind dale. I never had the chance to play Planescape: Torment till very recently, and let me tell you, this game is awesome, very awesome. It's not a game that would appeal to everyone, it's more or less the anti-Diablo game. One that focuses less on the combat, not saying the combat is bad, but Torment is a lot less combat intensive than the other Infinity engine games. That being said, the focus is on the story, and my oh my, what a story they have crafted, and weaved. This story in this game is emotionally engaging for the player. The game does have a plethora of text however, a necessity, but nevertheless, a warning for the illiterate. If you are a gamer out there that like RPGs, and not afraid of reading, and just happen to find it somewhere, buy it, play it... I can't possibly see how you would regret it. It seems to have stood the test of time very well. Expand
  5. Ume
    Nov 3, 2013
    10
    If I had to pick the best example of video game art, this is it. Truly unforgettable! One of the best narratives in gaming, intriguingIf I had to pick the best example of video game art, this is it. Truly unforgettable! One of the best narratives in gaming, intriguing setting, wonderful soundtrack and atmosphere, very well developed characters that one cannot help but empathize with them and their struggles. What can change the nature of a man? Not only is the journey to find the answer to this of great importance to TNO, the themes and philosophical questions make it so for the player as well. Expand
  6. May 18, 2011
    10
    Stop playing your Dragon Age 2s and your Call of Duty 17s, with the Pokemon and the jello pudding, and PLAY THIS GAME.

    Seeing as how every
    Stop playing your Dragon Age 2s and your Call of Duty 17s, with the Pokemon and the jello pudding, and PLAY THIS GAME.

    Seeing as how every review before me has already said this, I will redundantly add that this is *the* best RPG (re: game of any kind) that has ever been made. Make this game *known* to you. I will would literally spend my entire fortune and kill a homeless person to see a developer take up the monumental task of remaking of this game for the 21st century. WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS? BUY THIS GAME.
    Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    5
    is it me or is the combat in this game horrible...I heard this has an amazing story line but i just couldnt get past the clunkyis it me or is the combat in this game horrible...I heard this has an amazing story line but i just couldnt get past the clunky combat...characters move so awkwardly, you are fighting enemy and you arent even hitting it and it is somehow dying. I played Baldurs Gate II, trying some of these older D and D games and prefer that one over this one. The characters are almost moonwalkng in the version I played..it was like bad nintendo platform at times..not to mention the musack you have to listen to. Expand

See all 131 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.