Planetary Annihilation PC

Planetary Annihilation Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 410 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Planetary Annihilation brings Real-Time Strategy to a new generation of gamers in a way they've never been seen before - taking large scale real time strategy games from the past to gameplay on a planetary scale.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Sep 24, 2014
    80
    Overall this game does what it set out to do, and it does it well, giving both veterans of the series and new players a chance to experience some of the original magic of Total Annihilation, while keeping it fresh and extensive enough to create new battles and new war stories on a galactic scale to tell around the Real-Time Strategy campfire.
  2. Oct 14, 2014
    75
    Planetary Annihilation has some amazing ideas and an inspired look, but too many issues with the User Interface, the AI and the random generation of the solar systems.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 25, 2014
    70
    Planetary Annihilation looks and feels underwhelming. Interplanetary combat might seem fun on paper, but gameplay-wise it's an absolute chore. And that's just it, Planetary Annihilation is missing all the FUN which was present on Supreme Commander - a much better successor to Total Annihilation. [Oct 2014]
  4. Sep 19, 2014
    66
    Despite its solid foundation this is not a good game. The techtree is too shallow, strategic finesse, cunning or defensive play is hardly rewarded. Add to that pathfinding problems, performance issues and even crashes and it becomes clear that the potential (or ambitions) were bigger than the final result.
  5. Oct 3, 2014
    60
    I know that there's a great, massive RTS beneath all these issues. I've seen glimpses of it when everything works correctly, but at the moment I can't recommend Planetary Annihilation without a warning that it's bound to disappoint and frustrate, even if you do teach yourself to play it.
  6. Sep 17, 2014
    60
    There’s a great game in here, somewhere. Rapidly getting into jaw-droppingly huge wars spanning multiple worlds is brilliant - it really is. And there’s no other RTS that gives players so much destructive power. But the lack of tactical depth and focus on constantly rushing makes Planetary Annihilation tiring.
  7. Sep 13, 2014
    20
    The lack of variety is just another bad call in a series of bad calls. With only a single faction, with nothing resembling a tech tree or upgrades, with maps having only a single shape (a sphere inside a sphere) that negates terrain, Planetary Annihilation misses many of the elements that make a good RTS a good RTS. It instead is so in love with its concept, which isn’t very good in the first place, that it never gets around to the vital business of being a good game.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 156
  2. Negative: 65 out of 156
  1. Nov 29, 2014
    10
    The best strategy i have ever played. Difference of planets and units. Building your own system.This are the best pluses of PlanetaryThe best strategy i have ever played. Difference of planets and units. Building your own system.This are the best pluses of Planetary Annihilation. 40 PEOPLE BATTLES. Nobody can do that except Uber Entertaiment.Stability of updates (1-2 every month). I think there are no minuses of this of this game. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    It's cheap, has pretty fun multiplayer and robot designs and lets you fulfill your dream of being a robot overlord beating the crap out ofIt's cheap, has pretty fun multiplayer and robot designs and lets you fulfill your dream of being a robot overlord beating the crap out of planets. What more can you ask for? Well probably alot, but because of my personal robot overlord fetish I'm willing to let this one slide. 10/10 A+ Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Planetary Annihilation is simply an awesome, "epic scale" Real Time Strategy Game. Notice I said "epic scale," not "large scale." After all,Planetary Annihilation is simply an awesome, "epic scale" Real Time Strategy Game. Notice I said "epic scale," not "large scale." After all, multi planet gameplay, planet smashing, thousands of units, and 40 player matches can be described as nothing less than "epic scale."

    Planetary Annihilation introduces a number of genre changing mechanics. Primarily, the randomly generated spherical planets and the ability to fight on multiple planets simply hasn't been done before. Not to mention features like Planet Smashing, Galactic War (randomized campaign), and the ChronoCam. The ChronoCam allows players to rewind and fastforward gameplay in the middle of a match to watch events that they may have missed.

    On top of that, Planetary Annihilation's gameplay is fast paced, exciting, and strategy intensive. It's very possible for players to out maneuver their larger opponents, or exploit weaknesses and beat someone with a much larger army.

    If you are a fan of RTS games, I highly recommend Planetary Annihilation.
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2014
    6
    I paid way too much for this game, but I did have some fun. The overall experience is flawed with crappy UI and AI, but the multiplayer isI paid way too much for this game, but I did have some fun. The overall experience is flawed with crappy UI and AI, but the multiplayer is expansive and worth trying. I loved the original Total Annihilation game and this wasn't like that, it was something different entirely. I just wanted to smash stuff together, and in this game I get to do that albeit very slowly. Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2014
    4
    Good solid game. Bugs here and there, but nothing serious.
    What's not so good is how it's still not a patch on Total Annihilation. The
    Good solid game. Bugs here and there, but nothing serious.
    What's not so good is how it's still not a patch on Total Annihilation. The planetary bases are great fun, the mechanics are good and the gameplay exciting. But it's not addictive.
    Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2014
    2
    The worst DRM since SimCity (always online to play single player vs AI), game ending lag within that online experience, constantThe worst DRM since SimCity (always online to play single player vs AI), game ending lag within that online experience, constant crashing,inability to field large armies (lag again), failure to meet kickstarte promises (missing units, DRM) and absolutely no dev communication on why the game was released in such a poor state, or when it will be fixed?

    This is simply a failed game at the moment, not worth buying, it's full of bugs and doesn't work. There is a rabid core of fanboys on Uber's forums bigging it up and claiming all this stuff is coming, but as an average consumer, this was a big mistake. Do yourself a favour and avoid, at least until there have been a number of patches and things are fixed (not sure this will ever happen).
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2016
    0
    Una auténtica basura, a ratos recuerda a algo que podría crear un estudiante como proyecto de final de carrera. El juego falla en todos susUna auténtica basura, a ratos recuerda a algo que podría crear un estudiante como proyecto de final de carrera. El juego falla en todos sus aspectos, no aporta absolutamente nada al género, y como RTS sin más es un muy mal juego.

    Solo pensar que en su momento cobraron 90€ por esta basura es de juzgado de guardia. Yo pagué un euro por él y ya me parece demasiado, esto debería ser F2P y ni siquiera lo consideraría juego merecedor de jugarlo con amigos.

    Edit: He estado revisando mis reviews y DESDE LUEGO he sido infinitamente benevolente con esta. Lo que quiero decir es que, sin ninguna duda, las personas que te pretenden vender este "juego" son timadores, y están intentando timarte. No bromeo cuando digo que lo que estas personas están haciendo debería ser ilegal, y que deberían ser multados o penados de cualquier otra manera por esto; es un auténtico timo, y como tal, no debería ser legal.
    Expand

See all 156 User Reviews