Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PlanetSide 2 is an MMO FPS set in an online persistent world where the war wages non-stop and the balance of power shifts with every base and territory captured and lost.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    95
    Be warned though, this is a very addictive game, and it could spoil your previous favourite shooter with its incredible sense of scale. It's astonishing to see a free to play game deliver such a polished package, that also breaks new technological boundaries.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    As a mix of shooter and MMO, PlanetSide 2 is nothing short of a triumph: not quite the best of both worlds, but certainly the best attempt anyone has ever made to fuse them together. Alone, it's worth checking out just to witness its epic scale for yourself - and with the right friends by your side, PlanetSide 2 is an unforgettable experience.
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    90
    Playing solo? Dock ten points. Otherwise, this is one of the online PC games for thrills. [Feb 2013, p.91]
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    While some may argue there are better options in the market, Planetside 2 could stand on its toes with an ERP of 50€. Since it's absolutely free, simply blasts every competitor away.
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    85
    The feeling of potencythat grips you when you storm through the map alongside hundreds of your allies is one of a kind. Neither Call of Duty nor Battlefield can provide you with this impression of taking part in something grand. [1/2013, p.56]
  6. 80
    Free-to-play online shooters have a new player in the field. If you prefer large scale battles PlanetSide 2 offers great potential. [Christmas 2012]
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    SoE had a clear goal in mind with Planetside 2: the same game with prettier graphics and more accessibility. In both regards, it's a success. The massive war atmosphere is there. Let's hope that it will evolve in order to trump a possible weariness of the basic war mechanics with new stuff and a storytelling element that writer Marv Wolfman could contribute.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Simply put, I play on the worst computer possible to run this game. Lowest possible graphics settings and I've hit 5 fps. However, even withSimply put, I play on the worst computer possible to run this game. Lowest possible graphics settings and I've hit 5 fps. However, even with all that I can safely say this is by far the best free to play shooter out there. The scale is just epic. Expand
  2. Zoc
    Jan 21, 2015
    10
    Simply amazing and I'm afraid far too addictive. Ok so I have been gaming 20yrs or so since a young age starting with ZX Sinclair and StreetsSimply amazing and I'm afraid far too addictive. Ok so I have been gaming 20yrs or so since a young age starting with ZX Sinclair and Streets of Rage etc. I have lost countless, hours, days, months into a huge variety of games ranging from Metal Gear's, Gran Tourismo's, Guild Wars 1&2, Aion, Assassins Creed's, Supreme Commander, Dawn Of War series and numerous more. This game is by quite a long shot my all time favourite game. It has so much depth which when you consider that in essence all it is, is a large shooter. By depth I mean there are so many different paths I can take on my personal journey not to mention 3 factions to do it with. I can take to the skies in a number of aircraft, I can speed across enormous maps in a choice of vehicles. When I decide to get some exercise I can choose a multitude of professions to add to my PS2 experience from Engineer to Infiltrator and then each profession has numerous ways of playing and different styles. Even after a year I find myself asking (mostly on the newest of all the maps).. 'Not sure I've been here before' ! Then there is the graphics,... ok its a 2yr old game but the excitement is so easily captured mid battle with the glorious scenery along with a huge array of bullets and weapons filling the skies with luminous glows of various colours.... This game is quite simply a game all true gamers must try. Yes it is frustratingly hard for a long time when you first log in, but give it time and you will soon feel the buzz this game consistently offers. And to top it all off its free to play. Yes you can choose to spend your hard earned cash but all it really does is give you visual customisation and if you decide to, a head start on weapons rather than earn them the hard way. Cash is not needed to appreciate this game whatsoever, to prove this one factions default Light Machine Gun is I think one of the best in the game (Orion). Finally one more word on the scale of the game, its huge, really really huge. I often find myself relatively high on the leader board on whichever area I'm engaged in yet I recently found myself number 300+(forgot the exact number), meaning in the small section of the gigantic map I was playing on, there was at least 300 people battling for control across three (but most likely two) factions (factions meaning playable race's TR, NC & Vanu)....... Epic. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Best FPS i've played in a long time. Do you like large open maps? Ok, how about an entire planet?? So much better than Battlefield games, andBest FPS i've played in a long time. Do you like large open maps? Ok, how about an entire planet?? So much better than Battlefield games, and its FREE. Totally worth at least trying it out. Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    This is a good game that suffers from the demanding specs. If you have a good pc then you'll love PlanetSide 2.
    Just remember guns are like
    This is a good game that suffers from the demanding specs. If you have a good pc then you'll love PlanetSide 2.
    Just remember guns are like the price of a Triple A title!
    Expand
  5. May 4, 2013
    6
    Complete turn off for new users in it's current state. I'm not a fan of lame tutorials, but the very minimum one needs for a new game is toComplete turn off for new users in it's current state. I'm not a fan of lame tutorials, but the very minimum one needs for a new game is to check the controls and get some orientation. Every time I spawned and tried to do anything meaningful, I was killed by assorted heavy machinery within seconds. It also felt pretty random compared to PS1 HE fire from all directions don't leave the grunt many choices, especially not one whose experience spans seconds.

    Getting rid of certs and allowing instant class switching almost makes it seem like PS2 was intended to be more of an Unreal Tournament than the strategic shooter the first game was.

    As a PS1 CR4 I think I will skip this mess.
    Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2012
    3
    Bugs, screen flickering, graphical distortions and lag issues make this an horrible experience. This game feels rushed and unfinished whichBugs, screen flickering, graphical distortions and lag issues make this an horrible experience. This game feels rushed and unfinished which seems strange because of the lengthy beta.

    I will try it out again over a month i think. Maybe after some patching up these issues will be resolved.
    Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2014
    0
    A horrible game with horrible lag, horrible bugs, horrible optimization, horrible balance and horrible developers & producers & billing staff.A horrible game with horrible lag, horrible bugs, horrible optimization, horrible balance and horrible developers & producers & billing staff. Planetside 2 manages to disappoint me in ways I have not yet thought possible be it the turd balancement whereas you need the power equal to a tactical nuclear warhead to kill a run-of-the-mill ground transport truck or how there's still insanely high racial differences (Terran still adopting a zerg-rush tactic and winning majorly everywhere due to numbers & noob guns). Along with having an illegal billing department, showing no concern for individual countries consumer laws (Right of refund if shopped via Internet), SoE has also gone to the length of bribing the BBB to quickly close down any complaints related to in-game currency or other purchases while also reaching out and buying attention from some of the Internet's most hated individuals like Total Biscuit for some quick e-fame-4-cash.

    Can this game be fun with a couple of friends when the servers don't lag and when you play for free? Absolutely. Should you give the game or It's developers & associated people any money? Hell no.
    Expand

See all 518 User Reviews