User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 806 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 806

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesA
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    those people who gave this game 0 (or gave it a low score) just because it doesn't great graphic are the worst critics/gamers ever. A game isn't about graphics, it's about game play and replay value. This game is addictive and challenging, as well as being fun. For $20, this game is worth it! Mini-games are fun and have great concept, adventure mode is challenging to the those people who gave this game 0 (or gave it a low score) just because it doesn't great graphic are the worst critics/gamers ever. A game isn't about graphics, it's about game play and replay value. This game is addictive and challenging, as well as being fun. For $20, this game is worth it! Mini-games are fun and have great concept, adventure mode is challenging to the mind, the garden is great. Honestly, if you don't like game because of the game play, I'm fine with but what I'm not okay is when you don't like game just because it's graphics. It's just a bad excuse to hate the game. Anyway, buy this game if you like tower defense or strategy, then get it, it's worth every cent you spent. Expand
  2. MilesP
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    This game is great! It's incredibly creative, and makes it easy to play for those inexperienced or lacking a newer computer (for playing graphics heavy games, which this is not) and is still challenging for the average gamer. I played this game straight and no other for a whole two weeks- and then got my nephew hooked on it when I was done. He shared the same opinion (but theres not This game is great! It's incredibly creative, and makes it easy to play for those inexperienced or lacking a newer computer (for playing graphics heavy games, which this is not) and is still challenging for the average gamer. I played this game straight and no other for a whole two weeks- and then got my nephew hooked on it when I was done. He shared the same opinion (but theres not much age difference between us). And as such I am ashamed that so many people here are picky about the graphics, since when has any game EVER revolved around graphics? Who here has played Super Mario 64? It was an incredible game too, but sharper graphics at the time were available. Don't give bad reviews just because of graphics. Expand
  3. GrahamHudson
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    A must-have game for anyone who likes PC games. This is the best combination of humour, challenge, addiction and variety that I have ever seen in a game. If you own a laptop/netbook, buy this game as it will be your travel companion for all those long trips. I've sunk more than 50 hours of game play into this and I still have lots of achievements to get.
  4. Mr.Toad
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Hideously addictive. Of course, once you've finished everything it loses a bit of freshness, but it took me about 50 hours of playing it non-stop until it felt a bit repetitive. The humor is one of it's greatest qualities, and for only 7£ it's a clear winner. So sure, it might be an arcade game that can fit on an Iphone, and so what? It's an excellent example Hideously addictive. Of course, once you've finished everything it loses a bit of freshness, but it took me about 50 hours of playing it non-stop until it felt a bit repetitive. The humor is one of it's greatest qualities, and for only 7£ it's a clear winner. So sure, it might be an arcade game that can fit on an Iphone, and so what? It's an excellent example that you don't need a complex story and expensive graphics to make a good game. Good games are fun, entertaining, and occasionnaly make you think. Plants vs. Zombies has it all. Expand
  5. RafalB
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Very funny and crazy game. Zombies are funny (espetiality reaction after ate a garlic :D), too. Good graphic, good voices and good resolution (PvZ running on my PC - 1 GHz, 512 DDR and 256 MB DDR2 video card - this game have only one year!).9 because sometimes game is boring or too dificult. Also very good minigames (puzzle, aquarium etc).
  6. DE
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    Great game, but for the PC? I think it would be better on a handheld like the Nintendo DS. It's not like we all want to load up the computer everytime we want to play. But if it was on a portable, you could easily just pick up, play, and then stop later. And that's not the only reason it gets an 8 instead of 10. It's realy easy. For some, that's a plus. But I prefer Great game, but for the PC? I think it would be better on a handheld like the Nintendo DS. It's not like we all want to load up the computer everytime we want to play. But if it was on a portable, you could easily just pick up, play, and then stop later. And that's not the only reason it gets an 8 instead of 10. It's realy easy. For some, that's a plus. But I prefer challenging games. It's also missing important things like multiple profiles and other settings. Overall... The game is TOO GOOD for a free flash game, but TOO SIMPLE for a $20 game. Maybe if you can find it on ebay or another website for cheaper. Then I guess go for it. Expand
  7. cecilea
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    very good game : simple, fun, creative, and really addictive (dont ask me why : you'll become !!!) Now, coming back home after work, in the car i ask myself : how will i kill zombies tonight ? stress and cooperation with left 4 dead, or fun and laugh by using mushroom ?... depends of my day and my boss ;-) at 10
  8. K.G.
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Simply put. Amazing. If you illegaly downloaded or pirated this game for free... you realy need to go buy the real thing. Pop Cap deserveds this one.
  9. AlbertoM
    Dec 27, 2009
    9
    One of the funniest and crazyest game ever!!!! A must!!!
  10. AlexB
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    Been playing it for 3 days straight. Highly addictive. Very original.
  11. MattS
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    My first and only 10...and with good reason. Steam tells me I have put over 300 hours of my life into this simple little game since May and yet I completed the main game in a couple of weekends. Where has all the time gone? Into puzzles and challenges and playing through the main game again and the Zen Garden...and playing through the main game again...the replay here is beyond My first and only 10...and with good reason. Steam tells me I have put over 300 hours of my life into this simple little game since May and yet I completed the main game in a couple of weekends. Where has all the time gone? Into puzzles and challenges and playing through the main game again and the Zen Garden...and playing through the main game again...the replay here is beyond comparison. I haven't been this engaged since the original Civilization and like Civ watched so much of my life vanish as I stared at my PC screen. If you haven't bought this game, shame on you. Now go get it before I send you to time out...you can thank me later. Expand
  12. DanE
    May 11, 2009
    10
    For the price you arent going to find many other games of this caliber. PopCap has really stepped it up a notch in the game design of this robust and highly polished treasure. Its a whole new take on the "Tower Defense" game style adding strategy, planning, a high level of choice, as well an an incredible amount of fun feel. The amount of longevity is amazing as well, allowing you to For the price you arent going to find many other games of this caliber. PopCap has really stepped it up a notch in the game design of this robust and highly polished treasure. Its a whole new take on the "Tower Defense" game style adding strategy, planning, a high level of choice, as well an an incredible amount of fun feel. The amount of longevity is amazing as well, allowing you to continue to challenge yourself with additional play modes and mini-games long after you complete the main story mode. A new bar has been set for the casual category. Expand
  13. MichaelG
    May 11, 2009
    10
    I'm helplessly addicted! for only $9.99, this game is so worth it. It has allot of replay value and extra challenges to keep you playing, with many funny bits mixed in too. GREAT music video after credits!!
  14. DominickC
    May 15, 2009
    7
    Rather disgusted at how many people are being so harsh on this game due to it's graphics. You call yourselves gamers? Pathetic. The game itself is a basic tower defense with a rather silly concept, weeds and flowers defending your home from the undead menace. There are some twists along the way like zombies that only one kind of plant can damage, plants that instantly kill zombies Rather disgusted at how many people are being so harsh on this game due to it's graphics. You call yourselves gamers? Pathetic. The game itself is a basic tower defense with a rather silly concept, weeds and flowers defending your home from the undead menace. There are some twists along the way like zombies that only one kind of plant can damage, plants that instantly kill zombies but are then rendered useless, and the field itself being altered to force you into building a different kind of defense (day becoming night so you only recieve your resource from plants that produce it). All and all it's a simple, but fun game, expecting as much from Pop Cap. If I had to nit pick I would say my greatest complaint is that the music gets old, fast. If you like this kind of game, for 10 bucks, it's a great deal and a good game. If you're more into the action and fast paced games, this likely won't appeal to you. Expand
  15. GavanB
    May 16, 2009
    10
    This game elevates the tower defense genre to a new height. The innovations are subtle, and invisible to most players, but they transform tower defense into a much more interactive, chaotic, and fun gameplay experience. There are 3 major innovations in this game that much improve the Tower Defense genre, and are sure to become the new standard for games to come. The first innovation, This game elevates the tower defense genre to a new height. The innovations are subtle, and invisible to most players, but they transform tower defense into a much more interactive, chaotic, and fun gameplay experience. There are 3 major innovations in this game that much improve the Tower Defense genre, and are sure to become the new standard for games to come. The first innovation, which is an old concept, is income (sunlight) is gained through manual collection (clicking), from player built resource generators (sunflowers). These sunflowers can be compared to the concept of a mine in BFME2 or warcraft 3. The difference is the player must physically click on the resource to obtain it. This adds an element of mass chaos, because the more sunflowers you have the more time you will have to spend collecting those resources. Which is easy, until there are 30 zombies destroying your beautifully structured layout. You are then forced to decide where to focus your energies... your income or killing your attackers. These 2 stream of player thought greatly increase both strategy, and gameplay. Compared to previous TD games, who's gameplay consists merely of Build and Watch. Collecting sunlight also gives the player a sense that he is working for his money. Excellent. The second innovation is the grid system! In previous TD games, enemies spawn from 1 or 2 holes that the enemies puke out of and follow your contructed maze of buildings towards their final destination. In PvZ, all the enemies invade in a single direction, on a 5X8 grid. In TD terms, there are 5 lanes. So what? Well, this forces a player to distribute his defenses over 5 lanes. Heavily fortifying 1 lane is pointless. The final major innovation, is the purpose of the game itself. In other tower defense games, you are essentially trying to stop a mass of invading units from reaching a destination. In PvZ, your buildings act as armour for your house. The zombies do not bypass your buildings, they immediately start attacking them. This may sound like a minor difference, but it completely changes the way you think about the game. Your plants are not these towers attempting to try to stop invaders, they are UNITS! When you lose one, you hate it. Especially because they are so cute. On top of all this amazing innovation, the game is funny. No, actually it's hilarious. It isn't funny in a nerdy videogame funny kind of way. It is funny in a clever, Shawn of the Dead kind of way. It is one of the only games in my 20+ years experience of being a hardcore gamer that has actually made me laugh out loud FOR REAL on many occasions. I suggest everyone and their dog, even people who hate existing tower defense games (myself), try this game immediately. Expand
  16. AdamR
    May 16, 2009
    10
    Popcaps Magnum Opus. Start with the simple, addicting premise and quality base game play we have come to expect from Popcap. Now, add layers of challenge and Strategy to keep even experienced players busy, while remaining somewhat forgiving for the more casual experience. All the plants are interesting and balanced, and each new zombie adds unique challenges. They could have stopped Popcaps Magnum Opus. Start with the simple, addicting premise and quality base game play we have come to expect from Popcap. Now, add layers of challenge and Strategy to keep even experienced players busy, while remaining somewhat forgiving for the more casual experience. All the plants are interesting and balanced, and each new zombie adds unique challenges. They could have stopped there, and been a great game...but then did not stop there. Add in Day and Night, pool versus no pool, and the roof, each subset adding its own unique strategy, play style, and plants, as well as the second play through forcing you to think up new strategies. Throw in a bunch of varied in game mini games, just frequent enough to keep you interested, just spaced enough to not feel intrusive, with a varied level of difficulty, which often times rewards your skill so far. Add in 2 Puzzle modes which build on the strategies even more, and look at the game from an entirely different perspective. Throw in a HUGE number of mini games, all vastly different. Throw in Survival to test your raw talent. Then the Zen garden, not only a cute little side game, but also opening up options in the store, which gives you a large amount of options for customization, and further revising your strategies. Tie this all together in a package polished to a mirror sheen, jam packed with some of the most charming, irreverent humor since Portal. Even the end credits rival Portal. I don't even have to hesitate before I give Plants versus Zombies the award for best casual game of all time. If you want to play a casual game, buy PvZ, or else there's something seriously wrong with you. Oh, and if you haven't bought it yet, the game is $20 on Popcaps site, and $9.99 on Steam. Expand
  17. BrianT
    May 18, 2009
    9
    PopCap is evil. They take a standard idea and hone it to a razor's edge. This game is so addictive and engrossing you will lose all conception of the passage of time. Even when you think you have finished the game, you have not. After completing the main game if you re-enter it the difficulty will be increased by the game having chosen some of your plants for you. Making you try new PopCap is evil. They take a standard idea and hone it to a razor's edge. This game is so addictive and engrossing you will lose all conception of the passage of time. Even when you think you have finished the game, you have not. After completing the main game if you re-enter it the difficulty will be increased by the game having chosen some of your plants for you. Making you try new ways of playing. There so many additional pieces to this game they can't be covered in this space. Give the game a try you will be pleasantly surprised. Expand
  18. TimH
    May 21, 2009
    10
    A fun and great play. For only $9.99 and the amount of play time you get has to be the best buy of the the year and just a fun laid back game. enjoyed every min. of the game. and really loved the Puzzle Games. Buy This Game!
  19. TomK
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    Whilst starting at a slow pace, the game soon picks up to an alarming, adrenaline-filled masterpiece. The music, animation and simplistic graphics are just wonderful. It is horrifically addictive. I've just got this at the same time as Crysis and I can quite easily say I much prefer PvZ. I've argued with my parents quite a lot recently because I've stayed glued to my seat Whilst starting at a slow pace, the game soon picks up to an alarming, adrenaline-filled masterpiece. The music, animation and simplistic graphics are just wonderful. It is horrifically addictive. I've just got this at the same time as Crysis and I can quite easily say I much prefer PvZ. I've argued with my parents quite a lot recently because I've stayed glued to my seat gaping at this sparkling diamond of a game. I can wholeheartedly say to BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  20. [anonymous]
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Easy to learn, fun to play, lots of extras and good replayability. At least 50hrs of quality gameplay.
  21. yahtzee
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    this is probably on my top 5 games ever it is clever and probably the funniest game since portal. now with henry m.you gave it zero because you bought a computer just to play this game? no you gave it a zero because it is a game that you bought adter you got your computer and you're pissed off because it doesn't have bump mapping and such but seriously you didn't even give this is probably on my top 5 games ever it is clever and probably the funniest game since portal. now with henry m.you gave it zero because you bought a computer just to play this game? no you gave it a zero because it is a game that you bought adter you got your computer and you're pissed off because it doesn't have bump mapping and such but seriously you didn't even give a reason from the actual game. so just stop it. Expand
  22. dakottab
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    this game is awsome im on the last part of the roof i found the boss it is a big zombie bigger then ever it as a little guy on his back and a big telephone post
  23. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Plants vs. Zombies is a triumph for PopCap studios. From the first level of the game I was hooked, and building my plant defenses to impede the zombies from destroying my home was a blast. There are also numerous un-lockables that range from new plants to mini games, to laugh-out-loud notes from the zombies. The mini-games are fun, and the game can be challenging at times. The negativesPlants vs. Zombies is a triumph for PopCap studios. From the first level of the game I was hooked, and building my plant defenses to impede the zombies from destroying my home was a blast. There are also numerous un-lockables that range from new plants to mini games, to laugh-out-loud notes from the zombies. The mini-games are fun, and the game can be challenging at times. The negatives for this game is that some levels can be very easy, and I often found my self using the same tactics for the entire game. There are also items in the shop that are very expensive, and it was very hard to earn enough money for most of them before the main story was over. I was very happy I had the chance to play this game, the humor, gameplay, and the several unlocks make this game a blast and easy to enjoy. Expand
  24. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    A wonderful little tower defense game, with enough innovation to distinguish it from a crowded field. The fact that it requires strategy instead of tower spamming makes it a special treat for "hardcore tower defense fans" like myself.
  25. May 24, 2012
    9
    This is a fun, humorous game and one of the best tower defense and zombie games of all time. However the long-time waiting for the next moment should have been achieved by speeding up the game which doesn't have one.
  26. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    1. This game is really fun and really addictive.
    2. The difficulty curve is a little slow to start with, but towards the end proves to be about the right curve.
    3. There are tons of things to do, plus a few more with the GOTY edition that it was just updated to, about 30 hours of material I think.
    4. This game is really cheap for what it is.
    5. BUY!
  27. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    This is a top quality fun game, with addictive music, nice cartoony graphic, and really attractive game play that makes you play it again and again. It was one of the first games i bought on steam.

    PS: no matter is in the top most downloaded games on pirate bay...
  28. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    I disagree with anyone claiming it's a "waste of PC power", since as someone said, "What's wrong with having Peggle AND Crysis?". That's the other advantage of PC -- it is the most powerful platform for games, and it also can have the most loaded at one time (by a huge margin). Casual games and what you would call "real" games are entirely different, related only in the fact they're bothI disagree with anyone claiming it's a "waste of PC power", since as someone said, "What's wrong with having Peggle AND Crysis?". That's the other advantage of PC -- it is the most powerful platform for games, and it also can have the most loaded at one time (by a huge margin). Casual games and what you would call "real" games are entirely different, related only in the fact they're both electronic entertainment. I won't give this a 10 because in all honesty, it is very, very easy, and only twice in the entire game (including the raise-difficulty second playthrough) did I have my brain eaten by zombies. That said, I love easy games. I get bored when games are too difficult because it starts getting frustrating, and I have no interest in grinding in a game to practice when that skill is utterly pointless in anything /but/ that specific game. This is a little toy where you shut off your brain, wear a dumb little smile, and absorb fun. Nevertheless I realize challenge is necessary for 99% of people and I'm just a freak in that regard (and most regards, if you ask the hooker tied up in my basement)

    The graphics are, in context of a 2D sprite-based game, astoundingly good. Even upscaled to my 1680x1200 monitor, it remains very smooth, and automatically preserves the aspect ratio. The art design is absolutely adorable and the entire thing has a very tongue-in-cheek wittiness to it. Frankly if it were a 3D game, I think some of the charm would be lost.

    It is very well thought-out, shown in the fact all the minigames are only slight modifications of the game without any actual change to units or gameplay, yet remain balanced. In my opinion the minigames are infinitely more difficult and more fun than the story mode, however as for the Zen garden? Eh, I could take it or leave it.

    All in all? If I had to sum up this game in one word, it would be "charming."
    Expand
  29. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    I work hard and make lots of $, to unwind I play games, DEAR GAME PROGRAMER. dont make my game so hard that I dont want to play it, you make $ from ur sponsors who target ME, in return I give them $, see ? If ur game is too hard I wont play and no $ exchanges hands. TIP: HAVE EASY-HARD SETTINGS FOR ALL OF US TO ENJOY!! BOTTOM LINE @ THE END OF MY DAY I WANT AN EASY GAME TO UNWINDI work hard and make lots of $, to unwind I play games, DEAR GAME PROGRAMER. dont make my game so hard that I dont want to play it, you make $ from ur sponsors who target ME, in return I give them $, see ? If ur game is too hard I wont play and no $ exchanges hands. TIP: HAVE EASY-HARD SETTINGS FOR ALL OF US TO ENJOY!! BOTTOM LINE @ THE END OF MY DAY I WANT AN EASY GAME TO UNWIND WITH...FIX THIS PLS, I LIKE PLANTS V ZOMBIES, PLS! Expand
  30. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Este é o tipo de jogo viciante. Os gráficos são bem divertidos, assim como os vários tipos de personagens que usamos ou que enfrentamos. Zumbis nunca foram tão engraçados de se ver. Aconselho e garanto a diversão de quem quiser jogar Plants Vs. Zombies. O final do jogo é bem interessante para quem conseguir chegar lá. Expand
  31. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    You get rewarded at the end of every level. That strategy is stunningly amazing because it KEEPS YOU GOING! Everything has a perfect balance in terms of cost and cooldown time. The only one thing that might have made it better is online, but even then, it doesn't harm or hinder the game itself, so I still call this game a masterpiece of this genre of games.
  32. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    I must admit, at first I scoffed at this game when it was announced. That was until I played it. An excellent little game â
  33. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Plants vs Zombies is a true classic in the making, Its a no brainer that this game is amazing and fun to play all the way to the end, it has many mini games and then the campaign mode, this is a casual game that re-imagines the tower defense games. Build plants, stop zombies from eating your brains,and meet a crazy man? The game shows you which zombies you will face before you pick yourPlants vs Zombies is a true classic in the making, Its a no brainer that this game is amazing and fun to play all the way to the end, it has many mini games and then the campaign mode, this is a casual game that re-imagines the tower defense games. Build plants, stop zombies from eating your brains,and meet a crazy man? The game shows you which zombies you will face before you pick your plants, so you can make the wise choice. There is an amazing amount of plants to use, a ton of zombies to use them all on with their unique abilities and usage. As the game progresses it gets harder to decide which plants to pick for the onslaught of zombies to come. It actually does bring out a bit of hardcore gaming, but it is aimed at the whole family. This game won a Game Of The Year award and deserves it too, it truly a amazing game with little to no flaws, lots of humor and references to other real life material. It's worth your money by a long shot. Expand
  34. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    The only reason I would have for telling you NOT to play this game is because once you start, you WILL NOT stop! It is very addictive (like...Peggle) and an absolute delight. The different zombie categories are hilarious, and the strategy needed to protect your house makes this game all the more exciting.
  35. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This is it. The absolute Peak of Casual Game which enthralls the hardcore gamer as well. Simply because its so damn addictive. While it would be easy to describe it as a glorified Defend Your Castle against multiple versions of Zombies, its only once you get into the game that you realise that if this is what Defend the Castle can become, then BRING IT ON. The absolute test of a good gameThis is it. The absolute Peak of Casual Game which enthralls the hardcore gamer as well. Simply because its so damn addictive. While it would be easy to describe it as a glorified Defend Your Castle against multiple versions of Zombies, its only once you get into the game that you realise that if this is what Defend the Castle can become, then BRING IT ON. The absolute test of a good game is that the moment you finish it once(I have finished it around half a dozen times so far, all modes and all minigames) you wish you could somehow strike yourself with game-amnesia so you could play it all over again as if its for the 1st time. This is just such a game. I think it will not be too high a praise to say that today the gaming community stands divided between those that have played PVZ and those that havent. And the ones who have(the large majority) are looking at the not-yet-played group and wondering what is wrong with them. Expand
  36. May 5, 2011
    10
    If you don't like tower defense style games, then just skip this one. If you think the art direction is going to put you off, then again, skip it. Otherwise, it's a very fun and enjoyable time sink for 30 hours (and counting, according to my steam account) for just about everyone else. The main game you can beat within a couple hours, but it has extra modes and challenges you might feelIf you don't like tower defense style games, then just skip this one. If you think the art direction is going to put you off, then again, skip it. Otherwise, it's a very fun and enjoyable time sink for 30 hours (and counting, according to my steam account) for just about everyone else. The main game you can beat within a couple hours, but it has extra modes and challenges you might feel inclined to do. At any rate, this game is always going on sale, and it's at least worth the $10 the devs made it for. One of my favorite tower D games out there (and to be honest, I was never a really big fan of tower D ;P). Expand
  37. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    I hate casual games because I'm hardcore to the bone. However, PvZ is so, SO GOOD that I've become obsessed with it. This is basically a perfect game: simple yet deep, fun yet challenging. What won me over was the charm. This game oozes charm: the graphics, animations, music, and brilliantly written almanac entries. It's all so well-done. The game is a bit too easy, but the joy of it allI hate casual games because I'm hardcore to the bone. However, PvZ is so, SO GOOD that I've become obsessed with it. This is basically a perfect game: simple yet deep, fun yet challenging. What won me over was the charm. This game oozes charm: the graphics, animations, music, and brilliantly written almanac entries. It's all so well-done. The game is a bit too easy, but the joy of it all makes up for that. One of the greatest games ever created! A must-play for all gamers! Expand
  38. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    This game has a lot going for it - Addictive accessible gameplay, very colorful characterful graphics, fun music, loads of minigames, all wrapped up with a dose of humour... There are many varieties of plants that become unlocked as you play the game, and the zombies you encounter are varied. Certain plants are more effective against certain zombies or in certain conditions, and IThis game has a lot going for it - Addictive accessible gameplay, very colorful characterful graphics, fun music, loads of minigames, all wrapped up with a dose of humour... There are many varieties of plants that become unlocked as you play the game, and the zombies you encounter are varied. Certain plants are more effective against certain zombies or in certain conditions, and I particularly like the game mechanic of choosing the plants to use before each level. The only criticism I can level at this game is that while the difficulty may be just right for casual gamers, it's a bit too easy for more experienced gamers. But for the price, you can't go wrong. Expand
  39. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a game both you and your mother will love, created by Popcap games, renowned for being one of the biggest timesink and puzzle game creators. There is a story mode with 60 levels which will keep you occupied for hours. Other than the main campaign there are mini-games and survival mode, and a mode called "Zen Garden" in which you water and grow plants. This game is suited for anyone and really pays for itself. Expand
  40. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    Tower defense seems to be the go to genre for small budget games, but I feel like this game might've spoiled my appetite for the genre since it was such a good game. The game gives you a mini-game every few levels to keep you interested so you aren't just playing the same plants against the same zombies over and over, and the different levels (day, night, pool, night w/ fog, roof) reallyTower defense seems to be the go to genre for small budget games, but I feel like this game might've spoiled my appetite for the genre since it was such a good game. The game gives you a mini-game every few levels to keep you interested so you aren't just playing the same plants against the same zombies over and over, and the different levels (day, night, pool, night w/ fog, roof) really make you change your strategy. Of course it's popcap, so if you're used to harder games this one will pretty much be a cakewalk, as I beat nearly everything first try with the hard survival levels being a huge exception. I'd definitely suggest getting it if it's super cheap on the steam sale. Expand
  41. Feb 3, 2011
    10
    Lots of fun game. It is totally worth it's price as it has each unique style and personality. This is a must buy especially if you love tower defense games. There are lots of ingame modes like adventure, survival, mini games etc so this game will keep you going for a while. Highly recommended!
  42. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    It really bothers me that there are so many people giving this game bad ratings just because it uses low quality 2D graphics. If anything the low graphics prove just how good of a game this really is. The developers are able to create a game that is fun and entertaining but they don't have to rely of full 3D rendered graphics to make it fun. If games were judged solely on how good theirIt really bothers me that there are so many people giving this game bad ratings just because it uses low quality 2D graphics. If anything the low graphics prove just how good of a game this really is. The developers are able to create a game that is fun and entertaining but they don't have to rely of full 3D rendered graphics to make it fun. If games were judged solely on how good their graphics are, and how powerful of a computer you need to play them, then all games would be exactly like Crysis, and that would be boring. Plants vs. Zombies is a fun and clever game, and if you are too embarrassed to play it because it doesn't look cool enough, then you are stupid. Expand
  43. May 24, 2012
    8
    A highly addictive game that is very diverse in a lot of ways. I love the fact that it has a lot of features. The graphics are great and kinda cartoonish which is meant to be for children. Overall, a great game.
  44. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    At first glance Plants vs Zombies might look really silly and cartoony, but it's actually a pretty great game. The whole aspect of defence tactics is done really well as you have to face off waves of zombies by building your plant fortress. The zombies come in a huge variety of types, hence posing a constantly changing challenge. Gladly there is an impressive variety of different plantsAt first glance Plants vs Zombies might look really silly and cartoony, but it's actually a pretty great game. The whole aspect of defence tactics is done really well as you have to face off waves of zombies by building your plant fortress. The zombies come in a huge variety of types, hence posing a constantly changing challenge. Gladly there is an impressive variety of different plants too, all for different situations, making the defensive gameplay very fun and diverse. The game also takes place on 5 different stages, meaning that the combat tactics have to be adjusted accordingly. For example, in the levels with a pool, zombies will be coming from the water as well, and hence the player will have to take that into account and use some water plants too. Apart from the adventure mode, there are also plenty of puzzles and mini games to try out, as well as the survival mode, all of which make the game last slightly longer. On top of a generally decent gameplay, Plants vs Zombies also has a mindblowing soundtrack and a very great sense of humour, which enhance the experience. Expand
  45. May 26, 2011
    8
    Simple defense strategy game and changing levels will leave you sticking to this game until the end. The campaign was fairly straight forward, and the mini-games offered a bit more intuitive gameplay aside from the classic defense style.
  46. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    This game is incredible fun and incredible cheap! The silly humor is a dded plus. I would give this game a 10 since it really is remarkable, but the re-playability is just not present. Plus, grinding for expensive fertilizer for your tree of obvious*cough* I mean 'wisdom' is get boring. But, I will get at least 20+ hours of fun game play from this game. If you are bored. Want somethingThis game is incredible fun and incredible cheap! The silly humor is a dded plus. I would give this game a 10 since it really is remarkable, but the re-playability is just not present. Plus, grinding for expensive fertilizer for your tree of obvious*cough* I mean 'wisdom' is get boring. But, I will get at least 20+ hours of fun game play from this game. If you are bored. Want something cheap to keep you busy. Get this game! Expand
  47. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    very fun game! I was glued to my pc for a week setting up my plants in different defensive formations on Survival: Endless... very much worth the few bucks it costs on Steam, not a lot of long-term playability (hence my 9 rating instead of 10) but worth every penny for a few weeks of entertainment.
  48. Aug 4, 2011
    9
    When you first install this game - forget about sleep during the whole next week!
    Just remember - i warned you! :)
  49. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    After being ported to most major platforms, Plants vs Zombies (PvZ) is a title that has been met with almost universal positive reception. Regardless of the kind of gamer you may consider yourself, PvZ is a must-have for casual, yet still thought-provoking, game play.

    PvZ gives players a fairly simple objective. Stop zombies from turning your brains into their lunch. You do this by
    After being ported to most major platforms, Plants vs Zombies (PvZ) is a title that has been met with almost universal positive reception. Regardless of the kind of gamer you may consider yourself, PvZ is a must-have for casual, yet still thought-provoking, game play.

    PvZ gives players a fairly simple objective. Stop zombies from turning your brains into their lunch. You do this by strategically planting various flora and fungi throughout your yard to stop waves of zombies of varying shapes and sizes. PvZ has a well-implemented learning curve, where new zombies and plants are introduced to diversify the game play experience. To some more serious gamers, the game may start out a bit too easy, but I assure you that PvZ has plenty of difficult content to offer that will challenge even the most seasoned gamer. After completing the game, you will be able to play a multitude of additional mini-games with plenty of additional unlockable content. Needless to say, PvZ is a game that has something to offer to players of all ages and experience levels.

    PvZ provides the perfect visual and audio experience to complement the
    Expand
  50. Mar 12, 2012
    8
    An amazing, fun, colorful, rendition of your typical tower defense put to good music and cartoon graphics. Definitely something to try the demo and then buy!
  51. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    It is fun and has a lot of play time especially for a cheap casual game. There are various modes - Adventure, Puzzle, Mini-Games, Survival and Zen Garden which have 3 endless modes between them. In the Game Of The Year Edition there are achievements too.
  52. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The best game in the PopCap family. It is really just a fun game . Even for people that are over 10 years old, it is still a very good game. Right after you play that demo, why don't you go right ahead and but it, for it is currently the best PopCap game to exist other than Peggle.
  53. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    The very first time I played PvZ, it didn't grab me. The second time, I was hooked. I have since played it all the way through, multiple times! It definitely deserves its Game of the Year title.
  54. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Finally went and bought Plants vs. Zombies from steam's summer sale 2012. Cost only 2-3 euros, and especially with that kind of price, this game gets a full 10 points from me. There's nothing really to complain about this game. Lots of content, and you'll even want to play the adventure mode at least two times (I know I did!). There are lots of minigames which are well done and thought,Finally went and bought Plants vs. Zombies from steam's summer sale 2012. Cost only 2-3 euros, and especially with that kind of price, this game gets a full 10 points from me. There's nothing really to complain about this game. Lots of content, and you'll even want to play the adventure mode at least two times (I know I did!). There are lots of minigames which are well done and thought, there are puzzles, there are even gardening aspect to the game - you can grow the plants you find during the game, and do business with them. One word for this great little indie game; Content. Expand
  55. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    I can't believe I only paid $5 for this. I've spent less time playing $50 blockbuster game titles. This game is fun as hell. I've even beat it TWICE..
  56. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Plants vs. Zombies is very addictive. It's easy to start and stop at any time. It has many different gameplay modes and it has personality and own style. It's definitly worth the 10â
  57. Feb 15, 2012
    7
    I like this game, its actually extremely entertaining and it has a great price, a great way to spend my time. I like this game, it is a great and varied example of a tower defense game that is actually fun to play. It has elements that are quite new that tower defense games need to adapt. However, this game can get to be so stressing, and I really mean it, it gets quite difficult andI like this game, its actually extremely entertaining and it has a great price, a great way to spend my time. I like this game, it is a great and varied example of a tower defense game that is actually fun to play. It has elements that are quite new that tower defense games need to adapt. However, this game can get to be so stressing, and I really mean it, it gets quite difficult and stressing at a certain point and this is not the best for me. However I will praise that it's a great game with good gameplay and cool visuals, it gets a well deserved 8/10 and I do recommend this as a purchase. Expand
  58. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Massively addictive - not just me, but my girlfriend, nice and nephew alike. Can't think of another game that has this much fun wrapped into a small-budget game. The only downside though is that you can't really play through it again, as doing the easy levels all over is boring after you've become an expert at arranging deadly flowerpots etc .. Sequel plz.
  59. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    Plants vs. Zombies
    cool game because it plants and zombies dada a lot of zombies and lots of plants and lots of plants zombi.Bezuny Dave and mini-games and puzzles and achivki Survival and Zen Garden and much more drugoe.Kartinki.
  60. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    I'm not really a person who is into these types of games, but to my surprise I actually got pretty addicted to this one. The game is really smooth and polished and the game play is fun. After nearly each level in the campaign, you get a new plant to use, which can give you more choices on the tactics to use, etc. Also, this game has quite a lot of content aside from the campaign, such as aI'm not really a person who is into these types of games, but to my surprise I actually got pretty addicted to this one. The game is really smooth and polished and the game play is fun. After nearly each level in the campaign, you get a new plant to use, which can give you more choices on the tactics to use, etc. Also, this game has quite a lot of content aside from the campaign, such as a lot of different mini games, puzzle games, and survival mode. Even after you beat the campaign, if you choose to do it again, it gets more difficult, so there's definitely a lot of replay value. Overall it's a great game, but I definitely wouldn't recommend buying it for 10$, that's way too expensive. Just wait for it to be on sale on Steam for about 2.50$ or 5$. Expand
  61. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Popcap Games always had a unique charm when it came to games, and PvZ is the culmination of their creations. It is difficult to make a game that's cute but not obnoxious, easy to play yet difficult to master, familiar yet completely original, and a joy to play time and time again. PvZ manages to pull this off with a Tower Defense spin so unique it deserves it's own new genre. Just makePopcap Games always had a unique charm when it came to games, and PvZ is the culmination of their creations. It is difficult to make a game that's cute but not obnoxious, easy to play yet difficult to master, familiar yet completely original, and a joy to play time and time again. PvZ manages to pull this off with a Tower Defense spin so unique it deserves it's own new genre. Just make sure the zombies don't eat your brains! Expand
  62. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    I never thought this type of game would keep me entertained for so many hours but it did. I think any person, even someone who does not play games, can get easily addicted to it.
  63. Feb 2, 2012
    9
    I found this game to be fun. There were a lot of mini games that referenced a lot of the Pop Cap famous titles like Bejeweld, Insane Aquarium, etc. I liked that it was a tower defense game but not based on violence like a lot of other tower defense games. I would recommend it if you enjoy a game that requires some strategy but is easy going and fast paced--definitely worth the buy!
  64. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    The best indie casual game ever for me.
    Almost every aspect of Tower Defence type game is embedded. Fun animation, fun sound, fun gameplay with many unlockable features. Awesome.
  65. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    This is a really fun little tower defense game, with loads of personality, and plenty of variety. The many different gameplay modes add significant replay value. My own interest lasted for about 20 hours of gaming time, although there are still many unearned steam achievements for me to chase down if I decide to come back and play this some more in the future. :)
  66. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. Long story line and just plain addictive. I love the comedy put into this game. As for those negative comments over this game, well, all I gotta say is haters gonna hate. This game has great potential. $10 is a fair price for this game, If your looking for a casual night on your PC, this would be the right game for you. ALSO half the people below are probably used to those action "gotta'kill'em'all" game. They only played the demo as well. Take it from me, I bought the game. You constantly get introduced to another plant after every level. You also change scenery from Front yard at day, Front yard at night, your backyard at day, your back yard at night, and your roof at day, I recommend this game to EVERYONE that likes casual laid-back games. Thanks for reading my review! Expand
  67. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Plants vs zombies is a very good game. With story missions good, mini games awesome and very nice end song. But think before you buy it, it gets old very quickly. But other than dat amazing. Story Missions 8/10 Mini Games 8/10 Plants vs Zombies 8.5/10
  68. May 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really enjoy this game. Defeat zombies with plant ammo and unlock stuff in Crazy Steve's store.Earn money through gameplay and buy plantfood for your plants in your garden. The PC version offers all of these things compared to a hand held versions of this game. You're much better off with the PC version of this addicting game Expand
  69. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    First of all, I'd like to mention that I do not like tower defense games. They typically bore the hell out of me, but for some reason I purchased this game while it was on sale on Steam, and it has got to be one of the best games I've ever purchased! The plants are diverse and strategic, the music is fitting and entertaining, the art is just perfect with the music and theme - it was putFirst of all, I'd like to mention that I do not like tower defense games. They typically bore the hell out of me, but for some reason I purchased this game while it was on sale on Steam, and it has got to be one of the best games I've ever purchased! The plants are diverse and strategic, the music is fitting and entertaining, the art is just perfect with the music and theme - it was put together really nicely. Gameplay is very funny and simple, but entertaining. There is great replay value with the mini-games, puzzles and survival modes, and the Zen Garden can provide a relaxing contrast while still making in-game money. There are a huge number of combinations of effective defenses that I have experimented with, and I found it all to be quite enjoyable. However, there are a few things I felt needed a bit more work though. The sound quality is a little on the low end, and the graphics could use higher pixel settings. Overall the art isn't the style where it has to be high or look terrible, but I have to play this game with giant black bars on the sides if I do not change the video settings. My other critique would be that overall, the game is too easy. The only thing challenging is Endless Survival mode, which is frantic and great fun - I only wish more of the game was like that. There is also an in-game encyclopedia which has cheesy and rather not funny descriptions of zombies...not sure if that really belongs in a review but it peeved me slightly. Overall I highly recommend this game and I hope the sequel lives up to the original! Expand
  70. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    The game is PERFECT. It reinvented a genre. Castle Defense was never so addictive, so fun to play ! People that don´t like PvZ, don´t like gaming at all....
  71. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    A fantastic specimen of the always fun tower defense genera. The gameplay is simple, yet lends itself to complex strategies and the graphics are colorful and full of personality. The game avoids becoming stale by constantly varying the challenges that it throws at the player and throwing in a few minigames to break up the normal levels.
  72. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    An original piece of work among so many uninspired games. Indeed, it's a fun little Tower Defence game with plants. The levels get very repetitive over time, however. Which is where these fun little mini games come in! But ya gotta play the levels to unlock 'em, first. Which is why Plants vs. Zombies doesn't get a perfect score in my eyes.
  73. Aug 18, 2013
    0
    Horrible! i have no clue why anyone would like it!my brother bought and sunk 150 hours on PC and 200 on his IPad!i played it and i must say to take your $10 and i dont care what you buy as long as its not this game!
  74. ave
    Mar 25, 2015
    9
    The strange thing about Plants vs Zombies is that you just can't imagine how Pop Cap came up with such an unexpected game. One can imagine a meeting where someone suggested to make a Tower Defense, another one suggested to fight zombies as a joke and a last one wrapped it up with plants. And voilà ! one of the best tower defense to date !

    Not only Plants vs Zombies is a good Tower
    The strange thing about Plants vs Zombies is that you just can't imagine how Pop Cap came up with such an unexpected game. One can imagine a meeting where someone suggested to make a Tower Defense, another one suggested to fight zombies as a joke and a last one wrapped it up with plants. And voilà ! one of the best tower defense to date !

    Not only Plants vs Zombies is a good Tower Defense, funny and accessible to both casual and seasoned players, but it features a main Adventure mode, multiple mini-games, puzzles and the dreaded survival mode. This game is a gem, don't miss it !
    Expand
  75. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    It's a great game based around great progression and a fun idea. There's a very steady and fair difficulty curve and an even more fair learning curve. PvZ is a ton of fun and I've completed it twice over the past few years, you get a lot of play time out of it even if you only play through it once. Great balancing, tons of enemies, tons of plants for defense, multiple different levelIt's a great game based around great progression and a fun idea. There's a very steady and fair difficulty curve and an even more fair learning curve. PvZ is a ton of fun and I've completed it twice over the past few years, you get a lot of play time out of it even if you only play through it once. Great balancing, tons of enemies, tons of plants for defense, multiple different level layouts, many different approaches and strategies, PvZ is just an amazing game overall! The User Scores and Critic Scores don't lie, if you don't have it yet, you're missing out! Go get it! Some people complain about the graphics, I think they're cute, and with such a silly concept for the game, it wouldn't look right if it had more serious graphics: it was a design choice, definitely not a lack of skill.

    I personally recommend the PC version way over the XBOX360 version simply because using a mouse is much more efficient, I game on my XBOX a good amount and it hurt my hands to try to play intense levels with the 360 controller.
    Expand
  76. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    "Plants vs. Zombies" is fun the first time you play it. But after you beat the levels and you play it the second time, it really does get boring. However, the game is simple and silly, so perhaps kids and teens would enjoy the game more.
  77. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    the most funny and addictive game i've ever played and it is so variable that you'll never be bored from it and even when you finish the game you'll find new mods to keep the entertainment going
  78. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    A charming and addictive little game with a lot more to do than you bargained for. Aside from the base game there are also mini games, puzzles, and survival modes. Each offers something new and different so there's certainly enough variety to keep you entertained for a while. The only downside is the terrible resolution.
  79. ERB
    Jul 29, 2013
    6
    I kinda enjoyed the game but after finishing the game you will not actually be able to do anything fun anymore so I kinda put a score of 6 for the game but still loved the game.
  80. AWG
    Jul 18, 2013
    7
    At first, Plants vs. Zombies is a very enjoyable and funny tower defense game but it gets boring a little too earlier than when you would expect this to happen.
  81. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    A very enjoyable tower defense game that is worth every penny. There are a variety of different modes, unlockables as well as heaps of different zombies to fight. The game's sense of humour is also fantastic and the graphical style looks really nice. Admittedly the game is a bit easy, but its all so much fun so who cares?! Definitely recommended. Only $2.50 on steam at the moment. Give itA very enjoyable tower defense game that is worth every penny. There are a variety of different modes, unlockables as well as heaps of different zombies to fight. The game's sense of humour is also fantastic and the graphical style looks really nice. Admittedly the game is a bit easy, but its all so much fun so who cares?! Definitely recommended. Only $2.50 on steam at the moment. Give it a go if you haven't! Expand
  82. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    A fun classic tower defence game. I love the music and sound effects. And the other game modes are fun too, definitely worth buying and worth playing.
  83. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    this is a good game at core, too good so good its impossible. With fun addicting and simple tower defense game play, and a fun lore and universe with likeable characters etc. You WILL have fun, and a bit too much as this game has a bit too much replay ability with things like minigames.

    10/10 I LOVE THIS GAME TOO MUCH
  84. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (1/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (1/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  85. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Plants vs. Zombies is a unique and challenging video game… This may fall under one of my least favourite genres of gaming, that being Tower Defense, but I found myself thoroughly entertained by this game! I think what makes this game more interesting comes down to the fact that it’s quite bizarre in theory… The aim is to stop zombies invading your home by using many varieties of plants (inPlants vs. Zombies is a unique and challenging video game… This may fall under one of my least favourite genres of gaming, that being Tower Defense, but I found myself thoroughly entertained by this game! I think what makes this game more interesting comes down to the fact that it’s quite bizarre in theory… The aim is to stop zombies invading your home by using many varieties of plants (in the right circumstances) to kill your enemies… It also has a killer theme song involved! Overall though, graphically it looks very average with no widescreen resolutions but it provides many hours of bobsledding zombie fun… Expand
  86. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    By far the best "casual tower defense" on mobile. If you love this genre, don't miss this game. The replay value is also big, there is no in app, a lot of game mode. The game is original, hail to the dev !
  87. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    I remember I had lot of fun playing this game, and I was completely addicted to it. But replaying sucks, because that damn Crazy Dave chose stupid plants for me... haha!
  88. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    An endearing title with sunflowers and sunshine, perfect for casual game goers with its charming graphics and simple game play. Two distinct game 'modes' within the story mode are the Day and Night modes. Very strategic but very satisfying once you are able to find a good method to get through each round. My only complaint is for it to be longer but other than that, a great play for allAn endearing title with sunflowers and sunshine, perfect for casual game goers with its charming graphics and simple game play. Two distinct game 'modes' within the story mode are the Day and Night modes. Very strategic but very satisfying once you are able to find a good method to get through each round. My only complaint is for it to be longer but other than that, a great play for all player levels alike. Expand
  89. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    This keeps the autenticity of a funny game, really addictive and challengful. I really like it, even there is no more updates, like the 2nd game in the series, which is not like this one.
  90. May 8, 2014
    10
    Plants vs. Zombies is a fantastic and adorable game that I have been playing for the past 5 years. True, it IS a little too easy, okay a LOT too easy for a tower defence game. Honestly, this game is insanely good and I love it, but too easy. There also aren't masses and masses of weapons to choose from, or enemies to fight them with. Not perfect, due to those things, but I still give it aPlants vs. Zombies is a fantastic and adorable game that I have been playing for the past 5 years. True, it IS a little too easy, okay a LOT too easy for a tower defence game. Honestly, this game is insanely good and I love it, but too easy. There also aren't masses and masses of weapons to choose from, or enemies to fight them with. Not perfect, due to those things, but I still give it a 10/10 for the awesome graphics, great gameplay and superb replay value. Expand
  91. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    An extremely fun game, the mini games and the puzzle are some nice features too. But the real winner for me is the music... It's phenomenal, one of the best I've ever found in a game... Ever.
  92. May 6, 2015
    10
    This game, is amazing. If only EA had not ripped the heart out of PopCap by owning them... Then maybe there would have been a chance for an amazing sequel, but instead it was infected with greedy developers full of FTP plaguing aspects.

    this game is a 10/10 without question, but PVZ 2 is maybe a 2/10, and that is being generous. If you have not played PVZ original, and are wasting
    This game, is amazing. If only EA had not ripped the heart out of PopCap by owning them... Then maybe there would have been a chance for an amazing sequel, but instead it was infected with greedy developers full of FTP plaguing aspects.

    this game is a 10/10 without question, but PVZ 2 is maybe a 2/10, and that is being generous.

    If you have not played PVZ original, and are wasting your time with PVZ 2. I pity you, I truly do.

    Unbelievable game supporting the ORIGINAL developer, that was canned during EA take over. Stop ruining benevolent companies please EA. You are a cancer that won't stop metastasizing....
    Expand
  93. May 25, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Plants vs. Zombies is a huge game with a great sense of humor, and while it tends to play itself once a strategy is completed and the field of fire constructed, putting it all together and experimenting with the possibilities stays fun for a long, long time. [Summer 2009]
  2. 100
    Plants vs Zombies is what casual gaming is really all about; it's intuitive, easy to start and stop at any time, and has a tremendous variety of gameplay modes.
  3. Pop Cap realizes another masterpiece. Plants Vs. Zombies re-invents tower defense game and offer a great number of minigames and other activities.