User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 906 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 906
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattR
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Henry M is fucking retarded. Why do all these doctors keep trying to find a cure for cancer when all I have herpes? If a genre isn't for you, then don't play it numb nuts. Rate a game on its actual merits, preferably one you've actually played. I have beaten adventure mode twice and played through and beaten all minigames and puzzles and have come away from the experience Henry M is fucking retarded. Why do all these doctors keep trying to find a cure for cancer when all I have herpes? If a genre isn't for you, then don't play it numb nuts. Rate a game on its actual merits, preferably one you've actually played. I have beaten adventure mode twice and played through and beaten all minigames and puzzles and have come away from the experience extremely satisfied. This might technically be considered a casual game, but it's far from budget. Everything about this game screams polish and there is an amazing attention to detail and a great, pervasive sense of humor throughout. This game is truly phenomenal and immensely addictive. It has scads of variety and a boatload replay value as well. It's easily worth the retail price, but you can get it for half off if you buy it on Steam (they've also added achievements). Expand
  2. JosephS.
    May 6, 2009
    10
    It's a fun game, does what it's ment to do, and does it well. It has personality and it has style. I loved the zombie bowling minigame, as well as the the overall art direction. It's definitly worth the $10 on steam, and with the amout of actual content is worth the $20 if you want a boxed copy.
  3. MarkA
    May 6, 2009
    10
    It's a great little game. Not as difficult as some other tower defense-a-likes and the zombies only go in one direction, but the graphics are really well done, and it's fun to see what crazy zombies PopCap came up with. Plus, I have a PC gaming power house and I'm still playing this game! ;)
  4. LeafRunner
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Flawless, without doubt, this is the greatest Tower Defense of all. I thought Popcap was all casual gaming, but this brings out a little bit of hardcore gaming. You haven't seen tower defense until you've seen this.
  5. johncasillo
    May 5, 2009
    10
    Beast game keeps getting better as you go further in the game and new plants each level you go through also fun minigames that can help you buy new plants to beat harder levels which makes the game more playablity for the player rather than having to replay a level 4-5 times just to get past it
  6. MinaO
    May 5, 2009
    10
    Addicting and charming. Far more depth than your average casual game with an irresistible art style and a cheeky sense of self-mockery. Plants vs. Zombies is not only a classic tower defense game, but offers a wide range of mini-games which are unlocked while playing the Adventure Mode. My only complaint would be that I have to lower the resolution on my computer to play it. The game is Addicting and charming. Far more depth than your average casual game with an irresistible art style and a cheeky sense of self-mockery. Plants vs. Zombies is not only a classic tower defense game, but offers a wide range of mini-games which are unlocked while playing the Adventure Mode. My only complaint would be that I have to lower the resolution on my computer to play it. The game is suited for a resolution of 1024x768 and is blurry and unplayable in 1600x1050. Expand
  7. MichaelM
    May 5, 2009
    10
    Incredibly addicting. Plants Vs. Zombies mixes together two of my favorite things, Zombies and gardening. Well...not really, but still if I had plants like these I'd be a gardener. The style is both humorous and interesting. The variation in both the types of plants and zombies, keeps you interested as you don't feel the game growing repetitive. On top of that there are various Incredibly addicting. Plants Vs. Zombies mixes together two of my favorite things, Zombies and gardening. Well...not really, but still if I had plants like these I'd be a gardener. The style is both humorous and interesting. The variation in both the types of plants and zombies, keeps you interested as you don't feel the game growing repetitive. On top of that there are various modes of play, including humorous mini-games such as Wallnut Bowling. You'd have to have gotten your brain eaten in order to not enjoy this game. Expand
  8. StefanM
    May 6, 2009
    10
    What a fantastic game ! Maybe the best game I ever played. It is so much fun to defense the lawn.
  9. DanielT
    May 8, 2009
    10
    A great game. Frankly, it shouldn't matter if your computer is a 'gaming power house' if the game play is good, then the graphics should be #2 on the list of important things. (besides, if you were looking for a graphically intense game, it shows a slight lack of foresight by buying this one). Awesome levels, dynamic strategy, clever and witty nuggets abound, this is A great game. Frankly, it shouldn't matter if your computer is a 'gaming power house' if the game play is good, then the graphics should be #2 on the list of important things. (besides, if you were looking for a graphically intense game, it shows a slight lack of foresight by buying this one). Awesome levels, dynamic strategy, clever and witty nuggets abound, this is PopCap's best yet. Expand
  10. CW
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Remarkably simple, but remarkably addictive. It's a tower defense game that manages to keep its appeal over time. The numerous plants, variety of enemies, and endless survival mode make this game one of the best values you'll find for the cost. Add on top of that the level of humor they've managed to cram in, and you'll put a ridiculous number of hours into this game.
  11. LukeO
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    I got this game purely on the reviews it received and when I loaded it upfor the first time, I was disappointed. The flash-game type graphics and horizontal, linear gameplay made me regret it at first, but the more I played it, the old adage to never, ever judge a book by it's cover hit the mark again. Engrossing, tactical, exciting gameplay coupled with heaps of great unlockables I got this game purely on the reviews it received and when I loaded it upfor the first time, I was disappointed. The flash-game type graphics and horizontal, linear gameplay made me regret it at first, but the more I played it, the old adage to never, ever judge a book by it's cover hit the mark again. Engrossing, tactical, exciting gameplay coupled with heaps of great unlockables and delightful, quirky humour prove yet again that graphics don't mean everything, and doesn't mean a game doesn't have high polish. I've spent many enjoyable hours playing this game, unbelievable value for money. The best $10 I've ever spent. Expand
  12. KenL
    May 22, 2009
    10
    Really fun and easy game. Comes to show you don't always need high end graphics and hardware to make a game good...or even storyline.
  13. EricA
    May 20, 2009
    10
    Got the game for 5$ and I feel guilty. Great game. Simple, lots of lvls, lots of puzzles, and lots of variations in gameplay. Replays well. I've gotten 20 hours so far out of the game and still haven't finished.
  14. MaxM
    May 30, 2009
    10
    At first when i played the demo on steam i was pretty surprised ,because it was a funny new idea and also very different from tower defense i think.It was really fun to play.I have to agree,that it has a slow start but after it its very fun to counter the different abilities of the zombies.Also the different Level types where you have to use different plants to win made me think that its At first when i played the demo on steam i was pretty surprised ,because it was a funny new idea and also very different from tower defense i think.It was really fun to play.I have to agree,that it has a slow start but after it its very fun to counter the different abilities of the zombies.Also the different Level types where you have to use different plants to win made me think that its a genius game.After the story it also doesnt end.There are many mini games and puzzles,which make a lot of fun and sometimes they arent easy.Also i like the way how they make it like comedy.Its totally different from humour like in Overlord and its not brutal or something.All in all i can just say buy it and you do nothing wrong. Expand
  15. FrancisB
    May 5, 2009
    10
    This game is very addicting. I had my doubts in the beginning but after playing the first few minutes, I was strangely addicted. Be one of the many zombie fans and try it out.
  16. ChrisR
    May 5, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. I love tower defense games as well as action games and this combines both. It's artistic style is humorous and the game is just pure fun.
  17. RyanF
    May 6, 2009
    10
    Henry m have you even played the game?After the first five minutes of the demo i was convinced that this game would be great its a wonderful experience and i love it. And i too bought a high end PC but that doesn't mean that all games that don't need 4gigs of ram are bad. i personal think everyone with a pc should get this.
  18. AnonymousMC
    May 6, 2009
    10
    To Henry M....

    Why the hell would you expect a POPCAP game to be technically demanding? What is the problem with having Crysis AND Peggle? Jesus christ, get over the fact that people besides hardcore gamers play games. This game is really well made, and it's 10 dollars. Totally worth buying.
  19. JamesR.
    May 6, 2009
    10
    Pop cap just can't make a games that aren't addiciting. THe game is simple, fun, and has an interesting sense of humor. each plant and zombie type feel like it has it's own personaility. The mini games fit the feel of the main game very well. The game art is sharp, and agian, fits the game very well.
  20. AvramE
    May 6, 2009
    10
    Great game. Simple, cute, fun and addicting. Who knew you could have zombies in a game without having some sort of horro element :P It doesn't matter if you have a good computer or not, a good game is a good game. Funny how people are allowed to even rate a game 0 without mention anything about the game.
  21. SamH
    May 6, 2009
    10
    I rate this a 10 because Henry M is a moron for rating a game 0 because "this game isn't leet enough for him". The immature crowd is for the 360/PS3 owners, so maybe you should pick up your PC elitism and take it over there since he'll fit right in with 360/PS3 owners and their massive e-peens. Look into what actually makes a game good... not how many "gigaherzzz lol" it I rate this a 10 because Henry M is a moron for rating a game 0 because "this game isn't leet enough for him". The immature crowd is for the 360/PS3 owners, so maybe you should pick up your PC elitism and take it over there since he'll fit right in with 360/PS3 owners and their massive e-peens. Look into what actually makes a game good... not how many "gigaherzzz lol" it requires to run. Some of the best games ever made can run on a pentium 4. Frankly you're just the typical 13 year old maturity level ignorant PC gamer, who seems to think that unless it justifies your purchase to the fullest it MUST suck. Expand
  22. RyanS
    May 6, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, high replay ability, very affordable. For 10 bucks you get a greater sense of satisfaction then most 60 dollar games.
  23. ZachW
    May 7, 2009
    10
    WOW! This game is a must buy. I saw this on Steam the other day, and decided it seemed quirky enough to try out. This game is great. So much fun in only 60 MB. I have played many great games, on every system since the NES. However, this is the first one that I have ever written a review for. Once the credits started rolling (with a very funny song playing), I decided this game deserved my WOW! This game is a must buy. I saw this on Steam the other day, and decided it seemed quirky enough to try out. This game is great. So much fun in only 60 MB. I have played many great games, on every system since the NES. However, this is the first one that I have ever written a review for. Once the credits started rolling (with a very funny song playing), I decided this game deserved my praise. If you are one of those, like myself, who thought Peggle was ok, but not mind-blowing, I think this game might be up your alley. Popcap did everything right, with this title. I can't wait for an expansion of some kind. Expand
  24. YipY
    May 7, 2009
    10
    awesome game!!! keeps on surprising me with it's extensive content. don't listen to Henry M who gave it a ZERO because it's a small game. To Henry M: you sir, are retarded and clearly have no humor or life.
  25. SickOfThis
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Woooo, a highly addictive game, saying it's like tower defense in style does it no justice. It's far more interesting than a tower defense game, and it's the greatest time consuming game I've had in ages. Metacritic fails because of people like this: "Henry M gave it a0: I rate this 0 because I bought a PC power gaming house - not to play commodore 64 games with but to Woooo, a highly addictive game, saying it's like tower defense in style does it no justice. It's far more interesting than a tower defense game, and it's the greatest time consuming game I've had in ages. Metacritic fails because of people like this: "Henry M gave it a0: I rate this 0 because I bought a PC power gaming house - not to play commodore 64 games with but to play the next generation of gaming. I'm getting tired of developers releasing mini game budget style. The IPhone is way over that way, if you want to be here then release something my machine was made for." However don't let his stupid scoring mislead you about this game, his rating should be deleted since it's not based on the game. Real gamers judge based on gameplay, replayability etc. PvZ's Graphics and sounds are simple yet charming and when a game ( especially survival and dark/fog levels ) is in full swing you'll be glad of the simple graphics and sounds, which allow you to easily recognise the foe you will be facing. I'd have rated it 9, nothing is perfect after all, but felt the need to go to 10 to counter-act the retarded score the above quoted "reviewer" gave. I suggest anyone else who feels it is worth a 9, bumps it up to 10 as well, so that this game gets the rating it deserves, not a low rating forced on it by f***tards like Henry M. Expand
  26. DavidL
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Amazing game play, long hours of replayability, awesome soundtrack, and genuinely the real deal as far as addictive gameplay and overall greatness.
  27. OscarK
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    A very good game in my opinion! Kept me going on for many hours every day, and even when you are finished with Adventure Mode you can keep on doing a LOT of other stuff, including Minigames, Survival mode and Puzzle mode. Even includes an own garden so you can plant and take care of your very own plants that you use in the middle of fights elsewere in the game! The Adventure mode is even A very good game in my opinion! Kept me going on for many hours every day, and even when you are finished with Adventure Mode you can keep on doing a LOT of other stuff, including Minigames, Survival mode and Puzzle mode. Even includes an own garden so you can plant and take care of your very own plants that you use in the middle of fights elsewere in the game! The Adventure mode is even playable not only once, you can do it again, in a little harder state so it isn't too easy because of all your recent plants and upgrades, and that gives a plus. The shop is also awesome, because you will grind money till you have every single thing in the shop bought. Expand
  28. JoeF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    With respects to G D who gave it a 4, you are supposed to be rating the full version, not the demo. In the full version, you'll be seeing a constant stream of new weapons and enemies that will keep you entertained. All around, it's not a groundbreaking game, but it is ridiculously fun.
  29. TimN
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    A fantastic game which keeps you occupied for hours. Simple idea but the huge range of mini games and modes just shows that the initial idea is immense. I normally play FPS games exclusively but 2 weeks after buying this I still can't put it down. A must buy - especially as it's £6.99 on Steam!!
  30. BenF
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    Plants vs. Zombies is a great game even if you run out of things to do the endless survival is a real challenge i got to 29 flags before the zombonies destroyed my tallnuts, all my chery bombs where killed, and my corn cannons where Destroyed :( Try to get more than 29 (say 30) and BUY THIS GAME You wont regretet if even for the laughs in the descriptions.
  31. AgentK
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    By far one of the best, most unique games I have ever played, right up there with Portal. Simple, fun, and extremely creative.
  32. NC
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    I would like to thank George Fan and PopCap for my new favorite popcap game! This game is easy, but further levels add a challenge. And with popcap publishing this, it's gonna have to be under 20 dollars. The graphics are awesome, excellent quality, and it runs on very small GHz processors. It's just amazing. If you enjoy tower defense games, comedy, and just plain fun, buy this I would like to thank George Fan and PopCap for my new favorite popcap game! This game is easy, but further levels add a challenge. And with popcap publishing this, it's gonna have to be under 20 dollars. The graphics are awesome, excellent quality, and it runs on very small GHz processors. It's just amazing. If you enjoy tower defense games, comedy, and just plain fun, buy this now. It's good for kids and adults. Expand
  33. TimmyG
    May 11, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best games ever. Even as a 2-D game, it has some of the best high-quality graphics available towards the 2-D Tower Defense Genre of gaming--possibly the best. This game is like a pill that you take every afternoon and gets you sucked into it's universe. Living plants shooting zombies with peas? How about lighting the peas on fire with burning tree stumps? And last This is one of the best games ever. Even as a 2-D game, it has some of the best high-quality graphics available towards the 2-D Tower Defense Genre of gaming--possibly the best. This game is like a pill that you take every afternoon and gets you sucked into it's universe. Living plants shooting zombies with peas? How about lighting the peas on fire with burning tree stumps? And last but not least..Zombie MJ?! Expand
  34. JustinW
    May 12, 2009
    10
    If you have ever played and enjoyed a tower defense game you will love this game. Perhaps the only drawback is that the game is too addicting. That means you may come down with some carpal tunnel syndrome. But seriously I started playiing the game, and mousing in general, with my left hand (I'm a righty). I've been playing it nonstop, letting the zen garden sit in the background If you have ever played and enjoyed a tower defense game you will love this game. Perhaps the only drawback is that the game is too addicting. That means you may come down with some carpal tunnel syndrome. But seriously I started playiing the game, and mousing in general, with my left hand (I'm a righty). I've been playing it nonstop, letting the zen garden sit in the background while I do other things and killing tons of zombies with my big bad pea shooters. There is a free demo available on Steam, I played that for an hour then bought it immediately, I bet you will too. Best 10 Bucks in gaming. Expand
  35. stefanm
    May 13, 2009
    10
    It is so great! Maybe the best game I ever played in my life! Can't get enought from Plants vs. Zombies. Me (and my friends) had great fun with the game. I can absolutly recommend that to everybody!
  36. IsaacP
    May 13, 2009
    10
    Best game from PopCap ever. And this is coming from an ex-peggle addict. This game is humorous and very addicting. All through school I was thinking, come on end already! I wanna shoot some peas! For $10 this is a great buy. It will last you a very long time. Yes the gfx are 2-D but 2-D has class. I am running a PC PowerHouse (dual 8800s, quad core) and I'd take this game over titles Best game from PopCap ever. And this is coming from an ex-peggle addict. This game is humorous and very addicting. All through school I was thinking, come on end already! I wanna shoot some peas! For $10 this is a great buy. It will last you a very long time. Yes the gfx are 2-D but 2-D has class. I am running a PC PowerHouse (dual 8800s, quad core) and I'd take this game over titles such as Fallout 3, BF2142, Crysis. Basically everything but Call of Duty 4. Expand
  37. AndreasH
    May 17, 2009
    10
    Great game!! Popcam did it once again, so much playability and gameplay. I was truly stunned, the game is long, but without getting boring.
  38. ToyochS
    May 18, 2009
    10
    |GAMEPLAY : It's a Tower Defense. with Plants as your towers, and Zombies as your enemies. You encounter them as you play Adventure mode, and those change your tactics nearly every levels. |DIFFICULTY : This game starts out easy, but minigames(namely, Bobsled Bonanza and Pogo Party are most difficult ones I thought) and Endless Challenge/Survivals are quite a challenge.| GRAPHIC :|GAMEPLAY : It's a Tower Defense. with Plants as your towers, and Zombies as your enemies. You encounter them as you play Adventure mode, and those change your tactics nearly every levels. |DIFFICULTY : This game starts out easy, but minigames(namely, Bobsled Bonanza and Pogo Party are most difficult ones I thought) and Endless Challenge/Survivals are quite a challenge.| GRAPHIC : Cute, Well-done 2D pixels. good games DOESN'T require 3D high-poly models and gores. | Sounds : catchy musics. sorta. | PROS : Hilarious stuffs, Lots of minigames, Zen Garden | CONS : Popcap's original price($19) and Steam's price($9.99), why popcap does so on their games? | Expand
  39. TinaM
    May 22, 2009
    10
    Out of the few games I've downloaded on Steam, this by far is the one I keep coming back to. The fact that its such a simple game, there's quite a lot to do in it. Not to mention unlock. The music is catchy, the art style is cute ( as cute as a zombie can get really) and the objectives are straight forward.
  40. AaronR
    May 31, 2009
    10
    I think that Henry is missing something. Pop Cap is not going to put out a high quality game, that's not their style. They became famous by doing these retro games. If you don't like the game, find a developer that has lots of money to put into a game. That said, PvZ has its place, otherwise you wouldn't see all those 9s and 10s!
  41. EraiD
    May 30, 2009
    10
    If you like tower defense, buy. For ppl like G D; go play WoW and leave small time developer games alone. Note: Honestly, who makes comments based on a demo?
  42. ChrisO
    May 5, 2009
    10
    Addicting. For the $$ this is an amazing value. Various game play modes, mini games and more. I keep comming back to play it some more and see what the next level holds.
  43. BjarneF
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Again PopCap proves why they're the best at casual game making. I haven't even played this game to the end, but its gotten its zombie hooks (and cute leaves) into me! Just so hard to let this game go. Trust me on this one: You'll have a ball with this game.
  44. Mertsch
    May 7, 2009
    10
    This is the first game where completing the game means unlocking even more game modes which get you hooked up for hours. I've been playing this game for two days straight and it still does not get old.
  45. JCH
    May 8, 2009
    10
    Of all possible user ratings, Metacrtics would allow Henry M to actually put his retarded review in here!??!!? WTF. Metacritics can at least have the decency to get rid of retarded and moronic reviews like Henry M. He's nothing but a troll and full of bs. PC power gaming house my ***. In regards to this game, its a great defense type of game, which provides a great stress relief Of all possible user ratings, Metacrtics would allow Henry M to actually put his retarded review in here!??!!? WTF. Metacritics can at least have the decency to get rid of retarded and moronic reviews like Henry M. He's nothing but a troll and full of bs. PC power gaming house my ***. In regards to this game, its a great defense type of game, which provides a great stress relief after an intensive fps or rts. The unique spin that the developers put on this game has definitely breathed new life into the genre. Anyone, gamer or not, should consider picking this title up. And to reiterate once more, Henry M is an idiot who doesn't understand squat. Expand
  46. JuniR
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Henry M's review amused me but not as much as the game as the latter has way more depth. This game could be multi-platform and I'd like to think they'd release it for the DS like they did Peggle cos I'd play it even more. My "power house" PC plays Left4Dead (my current favourite) and Empire Total War with glorious eye candy and audio. This game has way less bugs than Henry M's review amused me but not as much as the game as the latter has way more depth. This game could be multi-platform and I'd like to think they'd release it for the DS like they did Peggle cos I'd play it even more. My "power house" PC plays Left4Dead (my current favourite) and Empire Total War with glorious eye candy and audio. This game has way less bugs than both of those amd combines zombies and strategy in a simple but engrossingly clever and addictive game. You'd only rate this 0 if you never even played it... or it was too hard for you. Expand
  47. HarveyD
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Simply addictive from beginning to end. The developers did everything right: constantly changing gameplay (fog of war, angular-warfare, etc), new weapons (after almost every stage), longevity (even after the main story is over, the game isn't). This is the type of game that I guarantee anyone can pick up, play, and find themselves not letting go. A friend watching me play Amazing. Simply addictive from beginning to end. The developers did everything right: constantly changing gameplay (fog of war, angular-warfare, etc), new weapons (after almost every stage), longevity (even after the main story is over, the game isn't). This is the type of game that I guarantee anyone can pick up, play, and find themselves not letting go. A friend watching me play this game got to asking me: "What does that plant do? And that one? Well what would happen if you did this..." Then, after playing one level, got completely addicted. This game is an example of what all independent developers should strive for in terms of quality production values and entertainment. Highly recommended. Expand
  48. BrumbekB
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Pure genius, hilarious, addictive. It's so worth $10 US on Steam. I estimate I'll put 20 hours into this, which equates to $0.50 per hour, which is a very, very fine deal. I've never played a PopCap game before because they seemed quaint and simplistic, but PvZ is so funny and super-clever and is just as entertaining as the big names like Fallout 3, Empire Total War, ect. Pure genius, hilarious, addictive. It's so worth $10 US on Steam. I estimate I'll put 20 hours into this, which equates to $0.50 per hour, which is a very, very fine deal. I've never played a PopCap game before because they seemed quaint and simplistic, but PvZ is so funny and super-clever and is just as entertaining as the big names like Fallout 3, Empire Total War, ect. It truly is the pinnacle of this genre. To summarize: I will never forget the wonderfully charming experience PvZ has provided, and I'm a better person for it, haha. Also, I'm as "hardcore" as you get with a very powerful computer but I Expand
  49. JamesA
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    those people who gave this game 0 (or gave it a low score) just because it doesn't great graphic are the worst critics/gamers ever. A game isn't about graphics, it's about game play and replay value. This game is addictive and challenging, as well as being fun. For $20, this game is worth it! Mini-games are fun and have great concept, adventure mode is challenging to the those people who gave this game 0 (or gave it a low score) just because it doesn't great graphic are the worst critics/gamers ever. A game isn't about graphics, it's about game play and replay value. This game is addictive and challenging, as well as being fun. For $20, this game is worth it! Mini-games are fun and have great concept, adventure mode is challenging to the mind, the garden is great. Honestly, if you don't like game because of the game play, I'm fine with but what I'm not okay is when you don't like game just because it's graphics. It's just a bad excuse to hate the game. Anyway, buy this game if you like tower defense or strategy, then get it, it's worth every cent you spent. Expand
  50. MilesP
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    This game is great! It's incredibly creative, and makes it easy to play for those inexperienced or lacking a newer computer (for playing graphics heavy games, which this is not) and is still challenging for the average gamer. I played this game straight and no other for a whole two weeks- and then got my nephew hooked on it when I was done. He shared the same opinion (but theres not This game is great! It's incredibly creative, and makes it easy to play for those inexperienced or lacking a newer computer (for playing graphics heavy games, which this is not) and is still challenging for the average gamer. I played this game straight and no other for a whole two weeks- and then got my nephew hooked on it when I was done. He shared the same opinion (but theres not much age difference between us). And as such I am ashamed that so many people here are picky about the graphics, since when has any game EVER revolved around graphics? Who here has played Super Mario 64? It was an incredible game too, but sharper graphics at the time were available. Don't give bad reviews just because of graphics. Expand
  51. GrahamHudson
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    A must-have game for anyone who likes PC games. This is the best combination of humour, challenge, addiction and variety that I have ever seen in a game. If you own a laptop/netbook, buy this game as it will be your travel companion for all those long trips. I've sunk more than 50 hours of game play into this and I still have lots of achievements to get.
  52. cecilea
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    very good game : simple, fun, creative, and really addictive (dont ask me why : you'll become !!!) Now, coming back home after work, in the car i ask myself : how will i kill zombies tonight ? stress and cooperation with left 4 dead, or fun and laugh by using mushroom ?... depends of my day and my boss ;-) at 10
  53. K.G.
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Simply put. Amazing. If you illegaly downloaded or pirated this game for free... you realy need to go buy the real thing. Pop Cap deserveds this one.
  54. AlexB
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    Been playing it for 3 days straight. Highly addictive. Very original.
  55. MattS
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    My first and only 10...and with good reason. Steam tells me I have put over 300 hours of my life into this simple little game since May and yet I completed the main game in a couple of weekends. Where has all the time gone? Into puzzles and challenges and playing through the main game again and the Zen Garden...and playing through the main game again...the replay here is beyond My first and only 10...and with good reason. Steam tells me I have put over 300 hours of my life into this simple little game since May and yet I completed the main game in a couple of weekends. Where has all the time gone? Into puzzles and challenges and playing through the main game again and the Zen Garden...and playing through the main game again...the replay here is beyond comparison. I haven't been this engaged since the original Civilization and like Civ watched so much of my life vanish as I stared at my PC screen. If you haven't bought this game, shame on you. Now go get it before I send you to time out...you can thank me later. Expand
  56. DanE
    May 11, 2009
    10
    For the price you arent going to find many other games of this caliber. PopCap has really stepped it up a notch in the game design of this robust and highly polished treasure. Its a whole new take on the "Tower Defense" game style adding strategy, planning, a high level of choice, as well an an incredible amount of fun feel. The amount of longevity is amazing as well, allowing you to For the price you arent going to find many other games of this caliber. PopCap has really stepped it up a notch in the game design of this robust and highly polished treasure. Its a whole new take on the "Tower Defense" game style adding strategy, planning, a high level of choice, as well an an incredible amount of fun feel. The amount of longevity is amazing as well, allowing you to continue to challenge yourself with additional play modes and mini-games long after you complete the main story mode. A new bar has been set for the casual category. Expand
  57. MichaelG
    May 11, 2009
    10
    I'm helplessly addicted! for only $9.99, this game is so worth it. It has allot of replay value and extra challenges to keep you playing, with many funny bits mixed in too. GREAT music video after credits!!
  58. GavanB
    May 16, 2009
    10
    This game elevates the tower defense genre to a new height. The innovations are subtle, and invisible to most players, but they transform tower defense into a much more interactive, chaotic, and fun gameplay experience. There are 3 major innovations in this game that much improve the Tower Defense genre, and are sure to become the new standard for games to come. The first innovation, This game elevates the tower defense genre to a new height. The innovations are subtle, and invisible to most players, but they transform tower defense into a much more interactive, chaotic, and fun gameplay experience. There are 3 major innovations in this game that much improve the Tower Defense genre, and are sure to become the new standard for games to come. The first innovation, which is an old concept, is income (sunlight) is gained through manual collection (clicking), from player built resource generators (sunflowers). These sunflowers can be compared to the concept of a mine in BFME2 or warcraft 3. The difference is the player must physically click on the resource to obtain it. This adds an element of mass chaos, because the more sunflowers you have the more time you will have to spend collecting those resources. Which is easy, until there are 30 zombies destroying your beautifully structured layout. You are then forced to decide where to focus your energies... your income or killing your attackers. These 2 stream of player thought greatly increase both strategy, and gameplay. Compared to previous TD games, who's gameplay consists merely of Build and Watch. Collecting sunlight also gives the player a sense that he is working for his money. Excellent. The second innovation is the grid system! In previous TD games, enemies spawn from 1 or 2 holes that the enemies puke out of and follow your contructed maze of buildings towards their final destination. In PvZ, all the enemies invade in a single direction, on a 5X8 grid. In TD terms, there are 5 lanes. So what? Well, this forces a player to distribute his defenses over 5 lanes. Heavily fortifying 1 lane is pointless. The final major innovation, is the purpose of the game itself. In other tower defense games, you are essentially trying to stop a mass of invading units from reaching a destination. In PvZ, your buildings act as armour for your house. The zombies do not bypass your buildings, they immediately start attacking them. This may sound like a minor difference, but it completely changes the way you think about the game. Your plants are not these towers attempting to try to stop invaders, they are UNITS! When you lose one, you hate it. Especially because they are so cute. On top of all this amazing innovation, the game is funny. No, actually it's hilarious. It isn't funny in a nerdy videogame funny kind of way. It is funny in a clever, Shawn of the Dead kind of way. It is one of the only games in my 20+ years experience of being a hardcore gamer that has actually made me laugh out loud FOR REAL on many occasions. I suggest everyone and their dog, even people who hate existing tower defense games (myself), try this game immediately. Expand
  59. AdamR
    May 16, 2009
    10
    Popcaps Magnum Opus. Start with the simple, addicting premise and quality base game play we have come to expect from Popcap. Now, add layers of challenge and Strategy to keep even experienced players busy, while remaining somewhat forgiving for the more casual experience. All the plants are interesting and balanced, and each new zombie adds unique challenges. They could have stopped Popcaps Magnum Opus. Start with the simple, addicting premise and quality base game play we have come to expect from Popcap. Now, add layers of challenge and Strategy to keep even experienced players busy, while remaining somewhat forgiving for the more casual experience. All the plants are interesting and balanced, and each new zombie adds unique challenges. They could have stopped there, and been a great game...but then did not stop there. Add in Day and Night, pool versus no pool, and the roof, each subset adding its own unique strategy, play style, and plants, as well as the second play through forcing you to think up new strategies. Throw in a bunch of varied in game mini games, just frequent enough to keep you interested, just spaced enough to not feel intrusive, with a varied level of difficulty, which often times rewards your skill so far. Add in 2 Puzzle modes which build on the strategies even more, and look at the game from an entirely different perspective. Throw in a HUGE number of mini games, all vastly different. Throw in Survival to test your raw talent. Then the Zen garden, not only a cute little side game, but also opening up options in the store, which gives you a large amount of options for customization, and further revising your strategies. Tie this all together in a package polished to a mirror sheen, jam packed with some of the most charming, irreverent humor since Portal. Even the end credits rival Portal. I don't even have to hesitate before I give Plants versus Zombies the award for best casual game of all time. If you want to play a casual game, buy PvZ, or else there's something seriously wrong with you. Oh, and if you haven't bought it yet, the game is $20 on Popcaps site, and $9.99 on Steam. Expand
  60. TimH
    May 21, 2009
    10
    A fun and great play. For only $9.99 and the amount of play time you get has to be the best buy of the the year and just a fun laid back game. enjoyed every min. of the game. and really loved the Puzzle Games. Buy This Game!
  61. TomK
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    Whilst starting at a slow pace, the game soon picks up to an alarming, adrenaline-filled masterpiece. The music, animation and simplistic graphics are just wonderful. It is horrifically addictive. I've just got this at the same time as Crysis and I can quite easily say I much prefer PvZ. I've argued with my parents quite a lot recently because I've stayed glued to my seat Whilst starting at a slow pace, the game soon picks up to an alarming, adrenaline-filled masterpiece. The music, animation and simplistic graphics are just wonderful. It is horrifically addictive. I've just got this at the same time as Crysis and I can quite easily say I much prefer PvZ. I've argued with my parents quite a lot recently because I've stayed glued to my seat gaping at this sparkling diamond of a game. I can wholeheartedly say to BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  62. [anonymous]
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Easy to learn, fun to play, lots of extras and good replayability. At least 50hrs of quality gameplay.
  63. dakottab
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    this game is awsome im on the last part of the roof i found the boss it is a big zombie bigger then ever it as a little guy on his back and a big telephone post
  64. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    One of the most fun "little" games ever. I must have completed its campaign 3-4 times. If you somehow live under a rock and haven't played this game, get it ASAP. Totally recommended. It is very addicting and fun!
  65. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    1. This game is really fun and really addictive.
    2. The difficulty curve is a little slow to start with, but towards the end proves to be about the right curve.
    3. There are tons of things to do, plus a few more with the GOTY edition that it was just updated to, about 30 hours of material I think.
    4. This game is really cheap for what it is.
    5. BUY!
  66. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    This is a top quality fun game, with addictive music, nice cartoony graphic, and really attractive game play that makes you play it again and again. It was one of the first games i bought on steam.

    PS: no matter is in the top most downloaded games on pirate bay...
  67. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    I work hard and make lots of $, to unwind I play games, DEAR GAME PROGRAMER. dont make my game so hard that I dont want to play it, you make $ from ur sponsors who target ME, in return I give them $, see ? If ur game is too hard I wont play and no $ exchanges hands. TIP: HAVE EASY-HARD SETTINGS FOR ALL OF US TO ENJOY!! BOTTOM LINE @ THE END OF MY DAY I WANT AN EASY GAME TO UNWINDI work hard and make lots of $, to unwind I play games, DEAR GAME PROGRAMER. dont make my game so hard that I dont want to play it, you make $ from ur sponsors who target ME, in return I give them $, see ? If ur game is too hard I wont play and no $ exchanges hands. TIP: HAVE EASY-HARD SETTINGS FOR ALL OF US TO ENJOY!! BOTTOM LINE @ THE END OF MY DAY I WANT AN EASY GAME TO UNWIND WITH...FIX THIS PLS, I LIKE PLANTS V ZOMBIES, PLS! Expand
  68. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Este é o tipo de jogo viciante. Os gráficos são bem divertidos, assim como os vários tipos de personagens que usamos ou que enfrentamos. Zumbis nunca foram tão engraçados de se ver. Aconselho e garanto a diversão de quem quiser jogar Plants Vs. Zombies. O final do jogo é bem interessante para quem conseguir chegar lá. Expand
  69. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    You get rewarded at the end of every level. That strategy is stunningly amazing because it KEEPS YOU GOING! Everything has a perfect balance in terms of cost and cooldown time. The only one thing that might have made it better is online, but even then, it doesn't harm or hinder the game itself, so I still call this game a masterpiece of this genre of games.
  70. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Plants vs Zombies is a true classic in the making, Its a no brainer that this game is amazing and fun to play all the way to the end, it has many mini games and then the campaign mode, this is a casual game that re-imagines the tower defense games. Build plants, stop zombies from eating your brains,and meet a crazy man? The game shows you which zombies you will face before you pick yourPlants vs Zombies is a true classic in the making, Its a no brainer that this game is amazing and fun to play all the way to the end, it has many mini games and then the campaign mode, this is a casual game that re-imagines the tower defense games. Build plants, stop zombies from eating your brains,and meet a crazy man? The game shows you which zombies you will face before you pick your plants, so you can make the wise choice. There is an amazing amount of plants to use, a ton of zombies to use them all on with their unique abilities and usage. As the game progresses it gets harder to decide which plants to pick for the onslaught of zombies to come. It actually does bring out a bit of hardcore gaming, but it is aimed at the whole family. This game won a Game Of The Year award and deserves it too, it truly a amazing game with little to no flaws, lots of humor and references to other real life material. It's worth your money by a long shot. Expand
  71. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    Amazingly fun playing. The story starts out as a zombies come on your property, all you have to defend yourself is a gattling pea. Zombies come in all sizes. Some even ride vechiles. They all have one destination, your house. The game has the best playback value I have ever seen. I still am trying to beat the game after a whole year.
  72. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    The only reason I would have for telling you NOT to play this game is because once you start, you WILL NOT stop! It is very addictive (like...Peggle) and an absolute delight. The different zombie categories are hilarious, and the strategy needed to protect your house makes this game all the more exciting.
  73. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This is it. The absolute Peak of Casual Game which enthralls the hardcore gamer as well. Simply because its so damn addictive. While it would be easy to describe it as a glorified Defend Your Castle against multiple versions of Zombies, its only once you get into the game that you realise that if this is what Defend the Castle can become, then BRING IT ON. The absolute test of a good gameThis is it. The absolute Peak of Casual Game which enthralls the hardcore gamer as well. Simply because its so damn addictive. While it would be easy to describe it as a glorified Defend Your Castle against multiple versions of Zombies, its only once you get into the game that you realise that if this is what Defend the Castle can become, then BRING IT ON. The absolute test of a good game is that the moment you finish it once(I have finished it around half a dozen times so far, all modes and all minigames) you wish you could somehow strike yourself with game-amnesia so you could play it all over again as if its for the 1st time. This is just such a game. I think it will not be too high a praise to say that today the gaming community stands divided between those that have played PVZ and those that havent. And the ones who have(the large majority) are looking at the not-yet-played group and wondering what is wrong with them. Expand
  74. May 5, 2011
    10
    If you don't like tower defense style games, then just skip this one. If you think the art direction is going to put you off, then again, skip it. Otherwise, it's a very fun and enjoyable time sink for 30 hours (and counting, according to my steam account) for just about everyone else. The main game you can beat within a couple hours, but it has extra modes and challenges you might feelIf you don't like tower defense style games, then just skip this one. If you think the art direction is going to put you off, then again, skip it. Otherwise, it's a very fun and enjoyable time sink for 30 hours (and counting, according to my steam account) for just about everyone else. The main game you can beat within a couple hours, but it has extra modes and challenges you might feel inclined to do. At any rate, this game is always going on sale, and it's at least worth the $10 the devs made it for. One of my favorite tower D games out there (and to be honest, I was never a really big fan of tower D ;P). Expand
  75. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    I hate casual games because I'm hardcore to the bone. However, PvZ is so, SO GOOD that I've become obsessed with it. This is basically a perfect game: simple yet deep, fun yet challenging. What won me over was the charm. This game oozes charm: the graphics, animations, music, and brilliantly written almanac entries. It's all so well-done. The game is a bit too easy, but the joy of it allI hate casual games because I'm hardcore to the bone. However, PvZ is so, SO GOOD that I've become obsessed with it. This is basically a perfect game: simple yet deep, fun yet challenging. What won me over was the charm. This game oozes charm: the graphics, animations, music, and brilliantly written almanac entries. It's all so well-done. The game is a bit too easy, but the joy of it all makes up for that. One of the greatest games ever created! A must-play for all gamers! Expand
  76. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a game both you and your mother will love, created by Popcap games, renowned for being one of the biggest timesink and puzzle game creators. There is a story mode with 60 levels which will keep you occupied for hours. Other than the main campaign there are mini-games and survival mode, and a mode called "Zen Garden" in which you water and grow plants. This game is suited for anyone and really pays for itself. Expand
  77. Feb 3, 2011
    10
    Lots of fun game. It is totally worth it's price as it has each unique style and personality. This is a must buy especially if you love tower defense games. There are lots of ingame modes like adventure, survival, mini games etc so this game will keep you going for a while. Highly recommended!
  78. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    It really bothers me that there are so many people giving this game bad ratings just because it uses low quality 2D graphics. If anything the low graphics prove just how good of a game this really is. The developers are able to create a game that is fun and entertaining but they don't have to rely of full 3D rendered graphics to make it fun. If games were judged solely on how good theirIt really bothers me that there are so many people giving this game bad ratings just because it uses low quality 2D graphics. If anything the low graphics prove just how good of a game this really is. The developers are able to create a game that is fun and entertaining but they don't have to rely of full 3D rendered graphics to make it fun. If games were judged solely on how good their graphics are, and how powerful of a computer you need to play them, then all games would be exactly like Crysis, and that would be boring. Plants vs. Zombies is a fun and clever game, and if you are too embarrassed to play it because it doesn't look cool enough, then you are stupid. Expand
  79. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    After being ported to most major platforms, Plants vs Zombies (PvZ) is a title that has been met with almost universal positive reception. Regardless of the kind of gamer you may consider yourself, PvZ is a must-have for casual, yet still thought-provoking, game play.

    PvZ gives players a fairly simple objective. Stop zombies from turning your brains into their lunch. You do this by
    After being ported to most major platforms, Plants vs Zombies (PvZ) is a title that has been met with almost universal positive reception. Regardless of the kind of gamer you may consider yourself, PvZ is a must-have for casual, yet still thought-provoking, game play.

    PvZ gives players a fairly simple objective. Stop zombies from turning your brains into their lunch. You do this by strategically planting various flora and fungi throughout your yard to stop waves of zombies of varying shapes and sizes. PvZ has a well-implemented learning curve, where new zombies and plants are introduced to diversify the game play experience. To some more serious gamers, the game may start out a bit too easy, but I assure you that PvZ has plenty of difficult content to offer that will challenge even the most seasoned gamer. After completing the game, you will be able to play a multitude of additional mini-games with plenty of additional unlockable content. Needless to say, PvZ is a game that has something to offer to players of all ages and experience levels.

    PvZ provides the perfect visual and audio experience to complement the
    Expand
  80. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    It is fun and has a lot of play time especially for a cheap casual game. There are various modes - Adventure, Puzzle, Mini-Games, Survival and Zen Garden which have 3 endless modes between them. In the Game Of The Year Edition there are achievements too.
  81. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The best game in the PopCap family. It is really just a fun game . Even for people that are over 10 years old, it is still a very good game. Right after you play that demo, why don't you go right ahead and but it, for it is currently the best PopCap game to exist other than Peggle.
  82. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    The very first time I played PvZ, it didn't grab me. The second time, I was hooked. I have since played it all the way through, multiple times! It definitely deserves its Game of the Year title.
  83. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Finally went and bought Plants vs. Zombies from steam's summer sale 2012. Cost only 2-3 euros, and especially with that kind of price, this game gets a full 10 points from me. There's nothing really to complain about this game. Lots of content, and you'll even want to play the adventure mode at least two times (I know I did!). There are lots of minigames which are well done and thought,Finally went and bought Plants vs. Zombies from steam's summer sale 2012. Cost only 2-3 euros, and especially with that kind of price, this game gets a full 10 points from me. There's nothing really to complain about this game. Lots of content, and you'll even want to play the adventure mode at least two times (I know I did!). There are lots of minigames which are well done and thought, there are puzzles, there are even gardening aspect to the game - you can grow the plants you find during the game, and do business with them. One word for this great little indie game; Content. Expand
  84. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    I can't believe I only paid $5 for this. I've spent less time playing $50 blockbuster game titles. This game is fun as hell. I've even beat it TWICE..
  85. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Massively addictive - not just me, but my girlfriend, nice and nephew alike. Can't think of another game that has this much fun wrapped into a small-budget game. The only downside though is that you can't really play through it again, as doing the easy levels all over is boring after you've become an expert at arranging deadly flowerpots etc .. Sequel plz.
  86. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    Plants vs. Zombies
    cool game because it plants and zombies dada a lot of zombies and lots of plants and lots of plants zombi.Bezuny Dave and mini-games and puzzles and achivki Survival and Zen Garden and much more drugoe.Kartinki.
  87. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    I'm not really a person who is into these types of games, but to my surprise I actually got pretty addicted to this one. The game is really smooth and polished and the game play is fun. After nearly each level in the campaign, you get a new plant to use, which can give you more choices on the tactics to use, etc. Also, this game has quite a lot of content aside from the campaign, such as aI'm not really a person who is into these types of games, but to my surprise I actually got pretty addicted to this one. The game is really smooth and polished and the game play is fun. After nearly each level in the campaign, you get a new plant to use, which can give you more choices on the tactics to use, etc. Also, this game has quite a lot of content aside from the campaign, such as a lot of different mini games, puzzle games, and survival mode. Even after you beat the campaign, if you choose to do it again, it gets more difficult, so there's definitely a lot of replay value. Overall it's a great game, but I definitely wouldn't recommend buying it for 10$, that's way too expensive. Just wait for it to be on sale on Steam for about 2.50$ or 5$. Expand
  88. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    It's rare you come across a genuinely funny game that forces you to think and think fast throughout the campaign. The humour and overall execution is outstanding. Pretty much everything about it has been crafted to make you smile and have a good time. And it's one big hidden advertisement for vegetables!
  89. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Popcap Games always had a unique charm when it came to games, and PvZ is the culmination of their creations. It is difficult to make a game that's cute but not obnoxious, easy to play yet difficult to master, familiar yet completely original, and a joy to play time and time again. PvZ manages to pull this off with a Tower Defense spin so unique it deserves it's own new genre. Just makePopcap Games always had a unique charm when it came to games, and PvZ is the culmination of their creations. It is difficult to make a game that's cute but not obnoxious, easy to play yet difficult to master, familiar yet completely original, and a joy to play time and time again. PvZ manages to pull this off with a Tower Defense spin so unique it deserves it's own new genre. Just make sure the zombies don't eat your brains! Expand
  90. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    The best indie casual game ever for me.
    Almost every aspect of Tower Defence type game is embedded. Fun animation, fun sound, fun gameplay with many unlockable features. Awesome.
  91. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. Long story line and just plain addictive. I love the comedy put into this game. As for those negative comments over this game, well, all I gotta say is haters gonna hate. This game has great potential. $10 is a fair price for this game, If your looking for a casual night on your PC, this would be the right game for you. ALSO half the people below are probably used to those action "gotta'kill'em'all" game. They only played the demo as well. Take it from me, I bought the game. You constantly get introduced to another plant after every level. You also change scenery from Front yard at day, Front yard at night, your backyard at day, your back yard at night, and your roof at day, I recommend this game to EVERYONE that likes casual laid-back games. Thanks for reading my review! Expand
  92. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    The game is PERFECT. It reinvented a genre. Castle Defense was never so addictive, so fun to play ! People that don´t like PvZ, don´t like gaming at all....
  93. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    A fantastic specimen of the always fun tower defense genera. The gameplay is simple, yet lends itself to complex strategies and the graphics are colorful and full of personality. The game avoids becoming stale by constantly varying the challenges that it throws at the player and throwing in a few minigames to break up the normal levels.
  94. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Es un juego muy,muy bueno su trama,graficos,movilidad son exelentes,es un juego divertido su critica se merece un 10 de 10,100 de 100,yo lo recomiendo.
  95. Jun 15, 2016
    10
    Congratulations to the developper of this great game: It looks not only funny and creative, but also intelligent and gives you an interesting gameplay with many possibilities.
  96. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    A fun classic tower defence game. I love the music and sound effects. And the other game modes are fun too, definitely worth buying and worth playing.
  97. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    this is a good game at core, too good so good its impossible. With fun addicting and simple tower defense game play, and a fun lore and universe with likeable characters etc. You WILL have fun, and a bit too much as this game has a bit too much replay ability with things like minigames.

    10/10 I LOVE THIS GAME TOO MUCH
  98. Jul 6, 2016
    10
    Gameplay : 10
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 8
    Sound : 9
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 10
  99. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    By far the best "casual tower defense" on mobile. If you love this genre, don't miss this game. The replay value is also big, there is no in app, a lot of game mode. The game is original, hail to the dev !
  100. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    This keeps the autenticity of a funny game, really addictive and challengful. I really like it, even there is no more updates, like the 2nd game in the series, which is not like this one.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Hardcore Gamer
    80
    Plants vs. Zombies is a huge game with a great sense of humor, and while it tends to play itself once a strategy is completed and the field of fire constructed, putting it all together and experimenting with the possibilities stays fun for a long, long time. [Summer 2009]
  2. AceGamez
    100
    Plants vs Zombies is what casual gaming is really all about; it's intuitive, easy to start and stop at any time, and has a tremendous variety of gameplay modes.
  3. Pop Cap realizes another masterpiece. Plants Vs. Zombies re-invents tower defense game and offer a great number of minigames and other activities.