Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 801 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zombies are invading your home, and the only defense is your arsenal of plants! Armed with an alien nursery-worth of zombie-zapping plants like peashooters and cherry bombs, you'll need to think fast and plant faster to stop dozens of types of zombies dead in their tracks. Obstacles like aZombies are invading your home, and the only defense is your arsenal of plants! Armed with an alien nursery-worth of zombie-zapping plants like peashooters and cherry bombs, you'll need to think fast and plant faster to stop dozens of types of zombies dead in their tracks. Obstacles like a setting sun, creeping fog and a swimming pool add to the challenge, and with five game modes to dig into, the fun never dies! [Steam] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Plants vs Zombies is what casual gaming is really all about; it's intuitive, easy to start and stop at any time, and has a tremendous variety of gameplay modes.
  2. 92
    Plants Vs Zombies is clearly a labour of love and on top of that it's what you might call the perfection of simplistic budget gaming. The game stimulates the emotional mind from start to finish, providing the kind of spontaneous quick-fire stimulation that our minds have come to expect from 21st century lifestyles.
  3. With a main game mode that spans 50 levels, numerous unlockable modes that extend the lifespan significantly, stupidly addictive gameplay and fun-infused presentation you'd be a fool to pass up Plants Vs Zombies.
  4. Plants vs. Zombies is not just one of the best tower defense games out there, it also gives you a tremendous value for the mere 10 euro you pay for it. PopCap has really surpassed anything they have done before with this game’s beautiful graphics, depth and modes that will keep you busy for months. You’ll love every minute of it.
  5. Plants vs. Zombies is not as complex as classic titles of this genre, GemCraft and Protector, but then again, it doesn't want to be hardcore. Its graphics are nice despite the minuscule 800x600 resolution, voice-overs make you smile, and there are many ways to entertain yourself (even more than in Space Rangers 2).
  6. PopCap at its finest. [July 2009, p.95]
  7. This game masters all aspects of a good tower defense game and comes along with a lot levels and many items to unlock. Recommendation alert.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 193
  1. JosephS.
    May 6, 2009
    10
    It's a fun game, does what it's ment to do, and does it well. It has personality and it has style. I loved the zombie bowling It's a fun game, does what it's ment to do, and does it well. It has personality and it has style. I loved the zombie bowling minigame, as well as the the overall art direction. It's definitly worth the $10 on steam, and with the amout of actual content is worth the $20 if you want a boxed copy. Collapse
  2. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Plants vs Zombies is a true classic in the making, Its a no brainer that this game is amazing and fun to play all the way to the end, it hasPlants vs Zombies is a true classic in the making, Its a no brainer that this game is amazing and fun to play all the way to the end, it has many mini games and then the campaign mode, this is a casual game that re-imagines the tower defense games. Build plants, stop zombies from eating your brains,and meet a crazy man? The game shows you which zombies you will face before you pick your plants, so you can make the wise choice. There is an amazing amount of plants to use, a ton of zombies to use them all on with their unique abilities and usage. As the game progresses it gets harder to decide which plants to pick for the onslaught of zombies to come. It actually does bring out a bit of hardcore gaming, but it is aimed at the whole family. This game won a Game Of The Year award and deserves it too, it truly a amazing game with little to no flaws, lots of humor and references to other real life material. It's worth your money by a long shot. Expand
  3. RyanS
    May 6, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, high replay ability, very affordable. For 10 bucks you get a greater sense of satisfaction then most 60 dollar games.
  4. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    A fun classic tower defence game. I love the music and sound effects. And the other game modes are fun too, definitely worth buying and worth playing.
  5. KennyT
    May 12, 2009
    9
    This is another winner from Popcaps. A really fun and addictive game. Hours will pass by without you noticing. I have a top of the line This is another winner from Popcaps. A really fun and addictive game. Hours will pass by without you noticing. I have a top of the line computer (i7 920, Gforce 280 GTX) and I knew what this game was before I bought it. I thoroughly enjoy games like this along with the top graphic candy games. There is nothing at all wrong with these types of games. Last time I checked, nobody is forcing anyone to purchase this title. Great game. Worth every penny. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    very fun game! I was glued to my pc for a week setting up my plants in different defensive formations on Survival: Endless... very much worthvery fun game! I was glued to my pc for a week setting up my plants in different defensive formations on Survival: Endless... very much worth the few bucks it costs on Steam, not a lot of long-term playability (hence my 9 rating instead of 10) but worth every penny for a few weeks of entertainment. Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2013
    0
    Horrible! i have no clue why anyone would like it!my brother bought and sunk 150 hours on PC and 200 on his IPad!i played it and i must say toHorrible! i have no clue why anyone would like it!my brother bought and sunk 150 hours on PC and 200 on his IPad!i played it and i must say to take your $10 and i dont care what you buy as long as its not this game! Expand

See all 193 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.