Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Poker Night 2 is the sequel to Poker Night where you play poker with a bunch of "weirdos" officially licensed, triple 'A' characters such as Claptrap, Brock Samson, Ash Williams, and Sam.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 2, 2013
    90
    Even if you dislike the poker, this game is probably still worth it just for the general humor you'll get, and it helps that Telltale can keep nearly anyone laughing and coming back repeatedly.
  2. May 6, 2013
    80
    If you are fond of Telltale Games, have a minimum of familiarity with card games and want to spend an indefinite number of hours at the table with Brock Samson, Claptrap, and Sam Ash Williams, Poker Night 2 is probably the game for you.
  3. May 6, 2013
    80
    If you are looking for a good poker game, then this is a no-brainer, but even if you aren't a huge poker player don't overlook this. The witty conversations and fleshed-out characters make this a fantastic little game, with very little holding it back.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    75
    A few cute unlockable cards and tables are nice touches, but ultimately the lack of more modes, multiplayer, or anything else to substantially mix things up doesn’t give this game a lot of legs. Still, for the low ante it costs to pick it up, it’s worth it for the jokes.
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    Opponents know how to bluff, they lure the player into ‘traps’ and despite humorous presentation things at the table can get tense. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.81]
  6. May 27, 2013
    75
    Poker Night 2 is exactly the experience you'd expect if you played the first episode. There's a nice selection of characters and lots of dialogue to keep you amused.
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    60
    It's certainly fun while it lasts. [Issue#136, p.113]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 40
  2. Negative: 11 out of 40
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    A great sequel. If you played the first game, the second is better. If you didn't play the first but can get into video poker and video gameA great sequel. If you played the first game, the second is better. If you didn't play the first but can get into video poker and video game cultural references, it's a decent buy I'd buy this over the first one if you only get one. I'm a fan of Venture Bros, Evil Dead, Portal, and most recently, Borderlands so most of the characters were geared in my favor to begin with (it might not be as much fun for you if you're not familiar with any of the games/movies/TV shows involved). It's a great line-up of characters overall and is just frustrating enough to keep you wanting revenge rather than quitting.

    If you play smart and don't get yourself in a big hole early, you can usually power play your opponents by setting big bets causing them to fold or go all-in. As one of the other reviewers mentioned, it seems at times that the hand recognition system picks a screwy hand but these instances don't happen frequently enough to knock it.

    Overall, it's a fun little card game that helps teach you a little about poker and helps you build your confidence before you go lose money/beer/sexual favors to your friends on poker night.
    Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Surprisingly after about the 6th hour of gameplay they run out of original comedy. For $5, 5-6 hours is definitely worth it.

    Pro: Comedy &
    Surprisingly after about the 6th hour of gameplay they run out of original comedy. For $5, 5-6 hours is definitely worth it.

    Pro: Comedy & tons of it for $5. Claptrap & GLADDOS are HILARIOUS!!!!

    Con: The only beef with the game is that for a PC game you have a number-pad to change your bet would it been that hard to program this?!?!

    Telltale Game please make a sequel to this game for similar pricing.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Do you like Hold em? Do you play borderlands2 or team fortress? Then have I got a fresh NEW Game for you. At 5$ wow its well worth the price,Do you like Hold em? Do you play borderlands2 or team fortress? Then have I got a fresh NEW Game for you. At 5$ wow its well worth the price, for a really FUN card game. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    Hey zeig you do know that when you play Omaha(I'm sure the reason why you're saying that you lost with 100% chance of winning) that only twoHey zeig you do know that when you play Omaha(I'm sure the reason why you're saying that you lost with 100% chance of winning) that only two of the cards in your hand can be used. Don't blame the game for your own stupidity. Anyway it's a pretty glitchy and rushed game, but they definitely had some good dialog writers. The conversations are hilarious and I love the fact that the characters reference things that actually happened in their universes so there's some inside humor. For the price there is no reason why you shouldn't try this game out. Great replay ability because of the multiple inventory layouts which also effects the dialog and keeps the conversation fresh. Definitely worth it. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    It's just pocker, but the game makes it more interesting.
    Comments and players are fun to lisen to and to watch,
    for the price is a great
    It's just pocker, but the game makes it more interesting.
    Comments and players are fun to lisen to and to watch,
    for the price is a great little pocker casual game.
    it's worth every dollar.
    The only thing, is, that after a few hours, no matter the ambient, gets repetitive
    Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    5
    This is a so so poker game.
    The starting amount of chips is way too low for how quickly the blinds go up and how high the average bets are.
    This is a so so poker game.
    The starting amount of chips is way too low for how quickly the blinds go up and how high the average bets are. It should be more like 100,000 instead of 20,000, with more bets in the 2,000 to 3,000 range. There's also way too many "all ins". It's all most like the developers watched games on TV and thought that was how games went, where in fact 75% of a WSoP game is edited out because of how dull it can be at times.
    All this means you need to get out front fast and then play really tight till you get the nuts. Even then with 75% or better odds you'll still get some really really bad beats. I've not played a lot of hands over all and I've seen my 3 of kind get beat by straights 4 times out of 5. That doesn't normally happen.
    As well I was under the impression the AI players had "tells". If they do they're inconsistent and often either way too obvious or all most nothing at all, nothing in between. The humor is okay for the first little while but does get a bit repetitive.
    This game kind of reminds me of all the Monopoly video games that have been released over the years. The game looks like the real thing but when you get down to brass tacks it doesn't play like the real thing so the developers try to fix it by cooking the odds. At least that's how it feels to me. I've got a few poker video games that range from pretty awful to quite good and this one is maybe one above the worst one.
    Don't think I don't know how to play hold em either because while I'll never make a money table, I can still hold my own.
    This could of been so much better, as it stands I'll maybe play it once in a blue moon. If your looking for any resemblance to no limit hold em or want to learn the game, look else where is my advice. If you just want to goof around with video characters from other games have at it.
    Collapse
  7. Aug 5, 2013
    0
    Garbage, also does not use legit rules. Skip it, very annoying dialog ontop of that just find a simple poker game it'll be better. This gameGarbage, also does not use legit rules. Skip it, very annoying dialog ontop of that just find a simple poker game it'll be better. This game has alot of problems calling hands correctly, Glitches perhaps? Ive been using all sources for rules and i cannot find anything with rules like these... most card possibilitys are not on their "Cheat sheet" So i don't even know what planet this game is from. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews