Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. May 24, 2012
    30
    The most recent installment in the Port Royale series has been flushed down the drain. A few cool ideas drowned in the Great Sea of Fail. The developers have managed to break almost everything there was to break. The magic of a sea merchant adventure is gone forever.
  2. May 11, 2012
    30
    I occasionally caught glimpses of a competent simulation underneath the bugs, poor instruction, and rage-inducing interface, but not even the best of today's strategy games would be tolerable to play if subject to the malfunctioning saves, crashes, and sloppy presentation of Port Royale 3.
  3. Jul 12, 2012
    41
    Unintuitive, uninvolving and overpriced. Not even its satisfying trading system can put the wind in Port Royale 3's sails. [Sept 2012, p.66]
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    30
    A complex strategy game from the Wild West Indies that's looking absolutely stunning at first glance. However, the game fails completely in many regards. Its controls are overly complicated, the game's mechanics are rather dull and the battles are quite annoying. In the end you are supposed to stare at numbers and drink your real rum, which is a need.
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    30
    The mechanics are competent but in no way fun. [July 2012, p.67]
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. May 7, 2012
    5
    This game has a lot of potential-- and for about 10 hours it's a lot of fun. However, you start to run into disheartening shortfalls (can't defend towns, clunky combat, tedious micromanagement to get around simple flaws) and you have to cut your losses and stop playing. I played for 15 hours before realizing my experience had peaked. There is a lot of potential if only the developers had been given a month or two to finish smoothing out the rough spots. Maybe an expansion pack will clear up these issues? Full Review »
  2. May 6, 2012
    4
    Game would have good review from me even its simpler than Port Royale 1-2 if not gamebreaking lack of town defense.Thats right you cant defend your own towns even you have HUGE own fleet insde ... tiny hostile fleet will go inside and just take it. This is the point i said (insert long line with random insults). Its not bug just game lack of mechanics to defend towns...I mean really did they release not beta but alpha game?? Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2012
    1
    If you ever played Port Royale 2 (PR2), you will find the 3rd installment stripped most of the best parts of PR2 from PR3. Artifacts, sword fighting, special finds (steam powered sailing ship), loan sharks, character avatars, even the wealth of flags and the option to import your own flag, are all gone. You can't even defend towns you conquer, even with a huge fleet and crew in town. See Kalypso forum entry: http://forum.kalypsomedia.com/showthread.php?tid=14838 There is not even a paper or down loadable map that comes with the US game version, only the German release. Kalypso rudely REFUSED to add one in their forum post, and basically told players to make their own. So many bugs! All of which could have easily been beta tester identified, and corrected prior to release. This game honestly feels like it is still in Alpha! Today's game developer mentality of Release Now, and then try to patch fix lazy programming is inexcusable and a Pre-order ripoff.

    Keep the new graphics upgrades and give me More options, not Less than the last game in the series! Building wealth is so tedious, it hurts to play. Trade, Trade, Trade, Trade, small amounts for hours trying to acquire enough revenue to buy and outfit a fleet, that will end up half in ruins if you attempt to manually fight a sea battle. Mechanics are very poor. I was really looking forward to the PR3 release after reading so many deeply positive pre-reviews. This was one of the few times I have ever pre-ordered a game, and the taste of bile at wasting my money doesn't seem to be fading. Sad release Kalypso. Makes me sick.
    Full Review »