Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Port Royale 3, players will embark upon an epic adventure through the Caribbean during the 17th century.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    86
    Port Royale 3 is currently one of the best trading simulations on the market.
  2. May 2, 2012
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. 70
    New installment of the popular series failed to bring anything new, compared to the older titles it became lot easier with some pretty annoying controls. [July 2012]
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    65
    Well-thought-out, transparent gameplay rules make Port Royale 3 a title that can keep you entertained for hours. It's a shame that naval battles are so simplified and the story is presented so unattractively. [July 2012, p.76]
  5. Sep 13, 2012
    50
    It's been a while since the first games of the series were released, but Port Royale 3 has not improved vastly or learned from previous mistakes. In fact, the game has some serious issues that prevent it from becoming a good episode. Behind its terrible UI and its lack of dynamism you still may find many possibilities.
  6. Jul 12, 2012
    41
    Unintuitive, uninvolving and overpriced. Not even its satisfying trading system can put the wind in Port Royale 3's sails. [Sept 2012, p.66]
  7. May 11, 2012
    30
    I occasionally caught glimpses of a competent simulation underneath the bugs, poor instruction, and rage-inducing interface, but not even the best of today's strategy games would be tolerable to play if subject to the malfunctioning saves, crashes, and sloppy presentation of Port Royale 3.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. May 7, 2012
    10
    Thoroughly enjoying the sequel to Port Royale 2, The combat is a little wonky sometimes and I find myself auto resolving it a little often. This is basically PR2 with shiny new graphics, a few bugs, and a combat system that requires getting used to. The game is incredibly fun overall though, and I see myself playing it for the foreseeable future. The lack of a fleet inside a town being able to defend your property is odd, but worked around by parking your fleets outside your town on patrol. Expand
  2. May 6, 2012
    9
    As Port Royale 2, also this is a real good game! A lot of new features, the graphics are nice, every town looks different, that makes it marvellous! The creation of trading routes is much more better that in port royale 2! The campaigns are ok, but they are more to see as tutorials. The most lovely thing for me is that you can annex the towns now for you self, and the town assault is also better now as in port royale 2, where you had to destroy this stupid towers in the water. But there also a lot of features in the game that I'am missing a little bit from the second part of the game. The combat is a little bit different to port royale 2 and in the beginning a little bit confusing, but after 2-3 times it's also ok. But in whole it's the money worth! Nice remake! Expand
  3. May 17, 2012
    8
    There is something about these sorts of open trade games that appeal; being able to own and monopolise and build yourself up and dominate the world. The graphics and sound are exactly what this sort of game needed - though quests get a little repetitive. I found myself just trading non stop - setting up industries in other towns- overall a great game to fill in some time with if anything Expand
  4. May 7, 2012
    5
    This game has a lot of potential-- and for about 10 hours it's a lot of fun. However, you start to run into disheartening shortfalls (can't defend towns, clunky combat, tedious micromanagement to get around simple flaws) and you have to cut your losses and stop playing. I played for 15 hours before realizing my experience had peaked. There is a lot of potential if only the developers had been given a month or two to finish smoothing out the rough spots. Maybe an expansion pack will clear up these issues? Collapse
  5. May 6, 2012
    4
    Game would have good review from me even its simpler than Port Royale 1-2 if not gamebreaking lack of town defense.Thats right you cant defend your own towns even you have HUGE own fleet insde ... tiny hostile fleet will go inside and just take it. This is the point i said (insert long line with random insults). Its not bug just game lack of mechanics to defend towns...I mean really did they release not beta but alpha game?? Expand
  6. May 6, 2012
    3
    Given how much time has gone by, you'd think this game would have been better than Pirates! It isn't. They dumbed down a lot of the gameplay. Boarding ships is nearly impossible. There is no defending towns. The economy seems to be really imbalanced. Overall I wouldn't bother. I was dissapointed. The graphics are nice. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    I completely agree with Flastie

    I had always thought that increasing version number of games should brings to you more and more options.
    Sadly, Port Royale 3 is dumbed down to its knees. Everything I liked in PR2 is gone. And im sad because every new game follows this "fashion".
    PR2 is a much better game ...only the graphich is weaker
    In pr 3 you can set al trade automaticly to collect your profit which is senseless
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews