Portal 2 PC

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5989 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 27, 2016
    9
    Прекрасная одиночная игра, забавные диалоги, красивая графика, интересный геймплей... Кампания удалась на славу. Но ко-оп - это нечто. Где вы ещё с другом сможете пораскинуть мозгами вместе, что бы решит задачку? "Ты стреляй туда, а потом туда, готов?". Главное, что это реально интересно. А подкрепляют интерес достижения, которые я не могу не отметить, хотя они и не для всех важны.Прекрасная одиночная игра, забавные диалоги, красивая графика, интересный геймплей... Кампания удалась на славу. Но ко-оп - это нечто. Где вы ещё с другом сможете пораскинуть мозгами вместе, что бы решит задачку? "Ты стреляй туда, а потом туда, готов?". Главное, что это реально интересно. А подкрепляют интерес достижения, которые я не могу не отметить, хотя они и не для всех важны. Ачивменты интересны и даже если нужно второй раз что-то пройти, то это не напрягает, а только подкрепляет интерес.
    Вообщем получилась отличная одиночка и идеальный ко-оп.
    Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GLaDOS: "Well, this is the part where he kills us."
    Wheatley: "Hello! This is the part where I kill you."
    CHAPTER 9: THE PART WHERE HE KILLS YOU.
    Achievement: The part where kills you.
    Song starts playing called "The part where he kills you"
    10/10
    Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2016
    10
    There are only 2 perfect games out of the 157 that I have played. Portal 2 is one of them. This game is absolutely legendary. It is flawless. It is a classic of our time. It is the best puzzle game ever made. It is the best story/adventure game ever made. It comes from the best games company there has ever been. Even the lore behind the game is fascinating. My favorite game? No, butThere are only 2 perfect games out of the 157 that I have played. Portal 2 is one of them. This game is absolutely legendary. It is flawless. It is a classic of our time. It is the best puzzle game ever made. It is the best story/adventure game ever made. It comes from the best games company there has ever been. Even the lore behind the game is fascinating. My favorite game? No, but almost. This game is simply perfect. Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2016
    10
    Portal 2, the successor of Portal.

    If you are coming from a non-portal experience background in which you never played the first one. I recommend playing the first one and then play the second one or else you will be lost in the storyline. But if you pick up Portal 2 just for the co-op then you won't be lost at all since you play different characters. In total the game can be beaten
    Portal 2, the successor of Portal.

    If you are coming from a non-portal experience background in which you never played the first one. I recommend playing the first one and then play the second one or else you will be lost in the storyline. But if you pick up Portal 2 just for the co-op then you won't be lost at all since you play different characters.

    In total the game can be beaten in 6.4 hours (maybe around 10 hours if you want to get all the co-op achievements), that's with all the challenging chambers. If you need a cheap single player/co-op game to play solo or with a friend but still need something addictive to play, Portal 2 is a must have game to buy.

    The cake is a lie!

    PS I feel like GLaDOS and Wheatley make a great couple. Maybe in Portal 3 they get married?
    Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    A very fun game, with some great performance by Wheatley, but the story was a tremendous disappointment. Nothing is ever explained. Why did Carolyn turn evil? What caused the apocalypse? Why was Chell in stasis?
  6. Jul 6, 2016
    8
    Gameplay : 8
    Graphics : 7
    Story : 7
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 8
  7. Jul 1, 2016
    10
    + More variety in puzzles, like the bouncy gel etc
    + Funny dialogue
    + Great backstory, mostly told through voice recordings
    + Co Op mode
    + Another great ending song
  8. Jun 25, 2016
    9
    This game is amazing (best game from Valve, even better than Half Life 2), graphics in this game is good and I think this game one of the best game of 2011, but The Elder Scrolls Skyrim, Batman Arkham City and Sonic Generations are better . Portal 2 is very atmospheric game . Amazing Game, Masterpiece .
  9. Jun 17, 2016
    9
    Portal 1 left a very good taste in my mouth, while it was short, the polished portal mechanics combined with the creative puzzles made the experience replayable and worth my money. So i was really looking forward to play Portal 2. And at last, a few weeks ago i managed to buy the sequel and i played it all week until i beat it 7 hours in, and honestly, the wait was worth it.

    STORY:
    Portal 1 left a very good taste in my mouth, while it was short, the polished portal mechanics combined with the creative puzzles made the experience replayable and worth my money. So i was really looking forward to play Portal 2. And at last, a few weeks ago i managed to buy the sequel and i played it all week until i beat it 7 hours in, and honestly, the wait was worth it.

    STORY: While in the first game it seems you managed to escape the laboratories, in this one you start in a room that seems normal, until a tiny, spherical, robot appears and gets you out of there (destroying everything in the process). He guides you to the old Glados room in where he **** up and brings the old robotic entities back to life. Then she puts you through more test chambers and the adventure starts.

    PRESENTATION: Just like the first game, Portal 2 has a very clean look. The color white is all over the place, but because it's been a long time and everything is destroyed, now we have more vegetables and darker zones, which translates to a more varied color pallet. The environments this time around are not just white testing rooms, but rather a more destroyed, old factories and caves that help the atmosphere and immersion a lot more. The frame rate rarely stutters in my case, but even with a powerless PC the options given to you to configure the graphics, resolution, etc, will definitely allow you to get a smooth experience.

    There's still anything in terms of music except for the theme song, but for a game like portal, which is all about atmosphere and ambience, i feel like it doesn't need it. Unlike other games. While in the sound department, i forgot to mention in the Portal 1 review that the voice acting for glados was hilarious and the creepy and atmospheric sounds of the game definitely enhance the experience, and i'm happy to say that the sequel follow suit. The hilarious dialog is still there and the sound design still provides more emersion.

    GAMEPLAY: Portal 2 is still and FPS with portal mechanics that are used very well in creative puzzles.

    You still use the clicky things in your mouse to shoot a blue and orange portal, plus now you can do a little zoom on things to examine the puzzles and distance a lot better, though i really used it, when it came in handy it really became in handy. You can still pick up things and interact with objects via the E button, and movement is still through the W,A,S and D keys.

    The basic mechanics remain the same, but now we have a lot more things to use in puzzles. Mid-way through the game we are introduced to the fluids, this things do all sorts of need things like make you bounce (with the blue one), go faster with the orange one) and if a zone doesn't have any place to shoot portals, the white one will allow you to do that.

    On top of that we also have things like gravity defying laser thing that pushes you forward on a certain direction, and it can also be reversed so it drags you towards it. There's also an energy barrier to block attacks and a mechanism that launches you in whatever directions is facing. The typical switches to press are still here and the turret is also back (and i forgot to mention it in the Portal 1 review). With this new features and creative thinking, you get amazing puzzles to solve, while the first game had some very unique puzzles, this...this blows everything out of the water. I can't describe how good the puzzles are, you just have to try it by yourself, they require a lot of thinking, switching things, analisis of the environments and tools at your disposal to approach react and resolve all the situations that the game throws at you. In the first game the puzzles focused on physics and the laws of motion, in here the puzzles don't use that quite as much, but everything else makes up for it.

    I won't spoil it, but the final boss also uses the mechanics a lot better than the Glados fight from the first game, although it should be said that it's actually the only boss of the game, but i don't think that more would've added anything to the experience.

    Ever since i played Portal 1 i've been looking forward to Portal 2 and the wait was totally worth it. I haven't even mentioned that you can create your own maps or that there's also co-op multiplayer, since i haven't played this modes i can't say much about, but the regular single player is something that you should play right here, right now. Please go on and buy this game, it's very cheap and it will be worth every cent you spend on it.

    I'll give it a 9/10.
    Expand
  10. Jun 9, 2016
    6
    Not as good as the original. Puzzles were too easy and cuing was too obvious. Multiplayer was amazing but way too short. Also, Wheatley is freaking annoying.

    It is still a beautiful and worth playing experience by Valve.
  11. May 28, 2016
    10
    Valve is the king of sequels. Portal 2 takes everything that made Portal great, and somehow manages to improve it with even more great Portal storytelling, hilarious voice-acting, FPS puzzle gameplay, and amazing visuals. Highly recommended.
  12. Apr 9, 2016
    7
    The portals based puzzles are both clever, challenging and fun. The puzzles are tastefully designed. The paint mechanics are particularly fun and successfully add an organic element to this otherwise slightly rigid world. Completing the many challenges was always rewarding, and never felt like a drag. The pacing is adequate. The final boss was a bit of disappointment from a creative/puzzleThe portals based puzzles are both clever, challenging and fun. The puzzles are tastefully designed. The paint mechanics are particularly fun and successfully add an organic element to this otherwise slightly rigid world. Completing the many challenges was always rewarding, and never felt like a drag. The pacing is adequate. The final boss was a bit of disappointment from a creative/puzzle standpoint. The story is serviceable and manages to keep you entertained until the end. The voice acting script of the main villain is reminiscent of the archetypal anthropomorphic feminists **** that have inundated modern society; I found in fact the humour to be uninspired, irritatingly cliche, and ultimately not funny. The audio-visual presentation is polished but lacks a bit of flair. That said, this is one of the rare puzzle games that can easily be recommended to anyone. Expand
  13. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    An absolute amazing game! Who knew combining puzzle solving, first person shooting, and humor could result in a great game. The game is full of lovable characters, mind boggling stages, and laughable crude dialogue. The game play experience is even better with a buddy in co-op mode. An absolute must play for everyone! Now if only Valve can come out with the 3rd portal game.
  14. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    If I had to summarize Portal 2 in one word, it would be intelligent. From its creative level design, expanding massively on the first Portal, as well as challenging but rewarding puzzles, Portal 2 is an absolute blast to play from start to finish.

    Some of the most hilarious voice acting I've ever heard just adds to a heart-felt and just outright brilliant game.
  15. Mar 16, 2016
    10
    dsafadfassdsfdasfasdfsadfsdafsaddfsadsasaddfdafdsadsfsfdaadsffdsadsafdsaffdsaadsfsafddsfadsfadsffdfdsafdsaafddfsadfsadsafdfsadsdsfadfsafddfsafadsfdsadfsadsf
  16. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    It's fun, challenging and mind-bending. There's not allot of games I'd put above this one, it's a flawless masterpiece. It's got a great story, fun co-op, satisfying puzzles, and memorable characters.
  17. Mar 7, 2016
    10
    If you haven't already played Portal, you really should jump in. If you have played Portal 1 and think this will be just more of the same, think again. Portal 2 is one of the best PC games I have ever had the pleasure to play. Innovative, funny, challenging, exciting - a true masterpiece of game design.
  18. Mar 6, 2016
    10
    An incredible game, even over 4 years after it's release in 2011; the graphic style stays modern enough to compliment the excellent puzzle design and the incredible gameplay mechanics.
    The storyline of Portal 2, continued from the original Portal, is emotionally attaching and very well presented, with great voice actors and outside puzzle design and mechanics.
    Even over 4 years later,
    An incredible game, even over 4 years after it's release in 2011; the graphic style stays modern enough to compliment the excellent puzzle design and the incredible gameplay mechanics.
    The storyline of Portal 2, continued from the original Portal, is emotionally attaching and very well presented, with great voice actors and outside puzzle design and mechanics.

    Even over 4 years later, Portal 2 is an exceptional puzzle game which I would still strongly recommend that anyone purchases and plays.
    Expand
  19. Feb 16, 2016
    10
    One of the best games of all time. In 20 years from now my word will stand. I have nothing to say about this game except if you've never played, go get it!!
  20. Jan 15, 2016
    10
    This game is best game ever made, if you give this to monkey, it would make it smart as low intelligent humans.
    I love it, everyone can make new content, which provides infinite levels to play.
    Where is portal 3 ?
  21. Jan 14, 2016
    10
    I loved to try the portal series it was a really good series of 2 perfectly made games the story is amazing and the cast of characters are just awesome especially GLaDOS and the ending is not bitter sweet its just a fitting ending plus the game play is also very amazing the puzzles are good but only one point i had to mention this game is good from the story and suspense perspective butI loved to try the portal series it was a really good series of 2 perfectly made games the story is amazing and the cast of characters are just awesome especially GLaDOS and the ending is not bitter sweet its just a fitting ending plus the game play is also very amazing the puzzles are good but only one point i had to mention this game is good from the story and suspense perspective but game play give it a 9/10 but still this game is good if you like challenging but not so hard puzzles try portal story and better graphics and fun puzzles portal 2 oh and there is no cake here but humor fantastic. Expand
  22. Jan 9, 2016
    9
    This is by far the best game Valve have made. This game really makes you think, opens up your mind and makes you creative. Perfect for school usage even if that never will happen. Good job Valve.
  23. Jan 3, 2016
    10
    This and portal are in my top 20 favorite games ever. I like platform and puzzles. This is both and it has co-op. .
  24. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    Very good game! Sometimes hard, but that's not very bad. When you complete the game, you can play co-op too, amazing!
    I say...
    Story: good
    Graphics: very good
  25. Dec 24, 2015
    10
    It is my favourite game of all time. Portal 2 is simply a classic. I love this game. The puzzles, the character, the humour. Everything in Portal 2 is brilliant. This is why I rate it a perfect game.
  26. Dec 24, 2015
    10
    Hell, you don't need me to recommend you this game. Go play it! Go. Play. It. GO PLAY IT! Seriously, especially if you have a friend for 2 players local coop you should already be playing it. Unless you already completed it. Then go get Steam Workshop maps.
  27. Dec 20, 2015
    9
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  28. Dec 16, 2015
    10
    Portal 2 may well be my favorite game of all time. I can't even begin to explain why I love this game so much. The dialogue is brilliant, the graphics are surprisingly good (yet my potato computer can run this game at 60FPS) and the game is roughly double the length of the first Portal. My only real criticism would be a lack of genuinely challenging maps, like the advanced chambers fromPortal 2 may well be my favorite game of all time. I can't even begin to explain why I love this game so much. The dialogue is brilliant, the graphics are surprisingly good (yet my potato computer can run this game at 60FPS) and the game is roughly double the length of the first Portal. My only real criticism would be a lack of genuinely challenging maps, like the advanced chambers from the first game. Even that can be dismissed as nitpicking though, as there is a community-made maps feature that features some fairly impressive puzzles. Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    This game is simply amazing, it has a awesome story, nice puzzles, coop levels (spiltscreen and online), workshop maps and the song from the credits S2. I love this game.
  30. Nov 19, 2015
    9
    Great puzzle game with a first person view, consisting a lot of very well-designed puzzles forming a long campaign. We also receive additional campaign content in co-op, providing several hours of extra fun. The game has massive maps made by people in the Steam Workshop.

    Score: 9/10 - I would definitely recommend!
  31. Nov 16, 2015
    8
    the original had better puzzles in my opinion, this sequel manage to expand the gameplay with slightly different game mechanics, but still i want to replay the first one more than the second one.
  32. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    i love this, it's amazing, the portals, the puzzles, all in this game. I love all of this game, the workshop is amazing, and i just say one thing for haters CHOLA MAIS
  33. Nov 12, 2015
    8
    while it couldn't have the punch of the first installment this game is still very good much better than pretty much any AAA title your likely to buy these days anyway, i was afraid the multiplayer was going to mess the game up but as usual valve steps up not only does in fix into the game nicely and feel necessary there's a lot of fun to be had when you and a mate just want to **** aboutwhile it couldn't have the punch of the first installment this game is still very good much better than pretty much any AAA title your likely to buy these days anyway, i was afraid the multiplayer was going to mess the game up but as usual valve steps up not only does in fix into the game nicely and feel necessary there's a lot of fun to be had when you and a mate just want to **** about with portal guns that you just can't have alone. the player made levels cant be very good and i believe many are made by game developers. in summary loved it would buy again just to play with new people. Expand
  34. Nov 12, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The source of "I dont want your damn lemons" instantly gets 10/10 for said quote. Very humorous
    and complex at points.The Co-op is fun and I absolutely LOVE games with a level editor.

    All I have to say is keep thinking with portals guys,
    keep thinking with portals.
    Expand
  35. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    1. cool graphics 2. cool mysterys 3. cool characters 4. unexpected end (cool) 5. cool new character 6. cool story 7. cool idea 8. cool... Glados is back !!! A total of coooooool.
  36. Nov 4, 2015
    9
    Portal 2 is the sequel to the great puzzle game, that improves on portal in many different ways and is as fun and unique as the original was, and should be played and experienced by all.
  37. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Obra maestra, brillante, increíble... Sin adjetivos. Los niveles, el ambiente, la historia... Todo conjunta un juego del cual no podrás parar hasta descubrir, que el pastel es una mentira. Expand
  38. Oct 18, 2015
    8
    This game was fantastic. 200 hrs+ MUST HAVE for strategy gamers. Valve still hasn't added the inventory, but they added that bs to Payday 2. The game is funny, and i love Wheatley constantly calling you "fat' or "adopted" (main char is neither)
  39. Oct 6, 2015
    10
    This game has one of the most funniest gaming characters in history by far, and his name is Wheatley. That in itself is enough to make this game great. As well as that, the brilliant puzzles as well as the story just makes this game a remarkable and brilliant game.
  40. Oct 4, 2015
    10
    I don't know why but the game crashes too much, but I don't care, because it's fantastic. It's a puzzle game, and I didn't expect much, but after playing for a couple of minutes I knew it will be of the most brilliant game ever. Valve again of course. The puzzles are great, the graphics, physics, everything is amazing. After finished I only want Portal 3
  41. Sep 23, 2015
    7
    Some of the puzzles in this game are nice, but usually quite simple. At least they're not too annoying. Unfortunately the game is very linear, and that is too noticeable. It feels rather empty and has annoying "characters". The plot is fairly simplistic and the only real action happens in on-rails sections where you just sit and wait for something to happen. The "special effects" are theSome of the puzzles in this game are nice, but usually quite simple. At least they're not too annoying. Unfortunately the game is very linear, and that is too noticeable. It feels rather empty and has annoying "characters". The plot is fairly simplistic and the only real action happens in on-rails sections where you just sit and wait for something to happen. The "special effects" are the standard pap that hasn't changed since Half-Life 1. The different liquids are fun, but most of all I love the hard-light bridges. Generally though, the game really lacks any life. Expand
  42. Sep 8, 2015
    10
    Everybody knows its amazing, everybody knows it's hilarious, everybody knows the co-op if WORTHLESS... with random online players, at least. This review shouldn't even exist... but it DOES, so deal with it!
  43. Aug 28, 2015
    10
    This by far is one off my favorite games. The story is great, characters are well scripted, levels are well made (it's Source Engine, what do you expect..), the puzzles do challenge you, the cooperative mode is very well planned for two players. I recommend this game.
  44. Aug 14, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The second installment is more ambitious and, unfortunately, much longer than the first. Whilst the first game had a perfect run-time, the second dragged a lot with too many puzzles. The distracted me from the progression of the plot and I felt mentally exhausted by the end of the game. The ending too doesn't work for me. I guess the ending song wasn't needed and felt like it had to be there just because Portal 1 had it. (The turret song too felt out of place)

    Fortunately, my complaints stop here. I still love and admire the simple but ingenious plot that wonderfully dives deeper into Aperture facility. It felt incredibly atmospheric, like the facility was a character itself. Like the first game, this felt really alive as well.

    I love that they only introduced one more character, Wheatley and did not complicate the plot too much. Why, it's because of him we experienced one of the greatest plot twists in gaming history, we got to share a reluctant relationship with GLaDOS and we got introduced to the man behind Aperture science. The story development is par excellence.

    The game still retains the incredible humor that made the first game so great and it goes beyond that! First, Wheatley giggles us with his nervous incessant talking. Then GLaDOS adds more sarcasm to the recipe. On top of it, the great J.K. Simmons kills it when he personifies Cave Johnson!! God, if that's not enough, GLaDOS and Wheatley's one-on-one arguments are pure gold! I was especially fond of those black defective turrets, too funny!

    With newer additions to the puzzles, they got more challenging and there were like 4-5 puzzles that really pained me but I felt smarter when I got past them! Portalling to the moon was a grand twist and I was quite over-whelmed by that scene!

    I still prefer Portal because this experience was tiring but there's still an incredible story and ton load of memorable moments to make it a worthwhile experience.
    Expand
  45. Aug 12, 2015
    10
    That awesome song from the end.

    Well here we are again It's always such a pleasure Remember when you tried to kill me twice? Oh how we laughed and laughed Except I wasn't laughing Under the circumstances I've been shockingly nice You want your freedom? Take it That's what I'm counting on I used to want you dead but Now I only want you gone She was a lot like you
    That awesome song from the end.

    Well here we are again
    It's always such a pleasure
    Remember when you tried
    to kill me twice?

    Oh how we laughed and laughed
    Except I wasn't laughing
    Under the circumstances
    I've been shockingly nice

    You want your freedom?
    Take it
    That's what I'm counting on
    I used to want you dead
    but
    Now I only want you gone

    She was a lot like you
    (Maybe not quite as heavy)
    Now little Caroline is in here too

    One day they woke me up
    So I could live forever
    It's such a shame the same
    will never happen to you

    You've got your
    short sad life left
    That's what I'm counting on
    I'll let you get right to it
    Now I only want you gone

    Goodbye my only friend
    Oh, did you think I meant you?
    That would be funny
    if it weren't so sad

    Well you have been replaced
    I don't need anyone now
    When I delete you maybe
    I'll stop feeling so bad

    Go make some new disaster
    That's what I'm counting on
    You're someone Else's problem
    Now I only want you gone
    Now I only want you gone
    Now I only want you... gone
    My own song: I give it a 10, Only because The song is great, and I mean, (NO SARCASM) the game is great, too. I'd give it a 1 Thousand But, what a Shame that I can't What a Shame that I can't What a shame, What a shame, What a... Sha-a-a-ame.
    Expand
  46. Jul 30, 2015
    9
    Portal 2
    Simpler and Better
    Portals single player has greatly improved since the original The single player mode felt much more fleshed out in terms of story to keep you going towards the end goal. Good or bad, Portal 2 takes a much simpler approach to level design this time around making this game much more casual friendly. I needed tons of help to get through the original portal, I
    Portal 2
    Simpler and Better
    Portals single player has greatly improved since the original
    The single player mode felt much more fleshed out in terms of story to keep you going towards the end goal.
    Good or bad, Portal 2 takes a much simpler approach to level design this time around making this game much more casual friendly.
    I needed tons of help to get through the original portal,
    I only got stumped in portal 2 maybe 2 or 3 times total towards the end.
    Portal 2 is even more unpredictable than the original was, there are so many twists and turns with the story and levels that you have no idea where the end of one puzzle is going to take you.
    It was a great and much needed change of pace to go back and forth between testing rooms and half life style locations
    really kept the gameplay and story moving forward, making it almost impossible to put your controller down.
    There are a few added puzzle aspects such as light bridges, anti gravity beams, gels, and being able to redirect laser beams, but if im being honest these additions felt more gimmicky to me than innovative.
    if its not broke don’t fix it.
    I feel like the developers tried to cram too much into this game too fast.
    Portal 2 also features a co op mode, unfortunately though, at least on ps3, there seems to be issues connecting to steam so you are stuck playing local co op rather than online
    this isn’t an issue if you have friends.
    but as glados will tell you
    I don’t have any friends so I couldn’t effectively get through the 6 levels or get a true co op experience.
    I did however play back and forth through a couple of levels and love the challenge added of having to actually effectively work together with now 4 portals.
    Portal 2 is the same charming and addicting puzzle game as the original with still so much added to make it a much better overall experience.
    With the puzzle solving greatly dumbed down, and the characters still hilarious, and a very worthwhile ending, you owe it to yourself to run through this amazingly charming puzzle game.
    for what it is
    First Person Puzzle Platformer:
    9.5/10

    Overall:
    9/10
    Expand
  47. Jul 21, 2015
    10
    Best puzzle game co-op is awesome , bugs can be really annoying this kind games but in portal i not see any bug. Graphics are good gameplay wiothout problem
  48. Jul 11, 2015
    10
    One of my favourite games. I love this game. Where do I begin? The story is somehow amazing. The puzzles are brilliant. I loved the voice acting, at least in Spanish is somehow good. One of the best games out now. And if you complete the game there are a bunch of great mods out in the workshop or even in the Steam market. Best puzzle game of the decade.
  49. Jun 24, 2015
    10
    Not very much to say.Oh,just one thing.I think this is one of the best,maybe even the best game in the history. Captivating story and characters,also the puzzles are really well made.
  50. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    First let me say that I liked the first Portal, a lot, and so everything that changed from how it was in there is just a regression IMHO.

    Portal 2 plot is weaker than Portal one, actually far weaker, they stretched the plot to fill in new elements for a richer gameplay (which is good) but it's definitely not as enjoyable as the first Portal because here you feel like what you're doing
    First let me say that I liked the first Portal, a lot, and so everything that changed from how it was in there is just a regression IMHO.

    Portal 2 plot is weaker than Portal one, actually far weaker, they stretched the plot to fill in new elements for a richer gameplay (which is good) but it's definitely not as enjoyable as the first Portal because here you feel like what you're doing is totally meaningless.

    So, to sum things up, Portal 2 is Portal 1 with a richer gameplay, a lot of more hours of gameplay but a weaker plot that kills the enjoyment. Still a good game but not the 10/10 of Portal 1.

    EDIT: Had a good chance to play coop mode with a bunch of friends and that gave +1 right away to my old "single player" review, not to mention workshop integration that now has got a lot of nice new maps for this game.
    Expand
  51. Jun 18, 2015
    10
    When someone says puzzle game, I guarantee this masterpiece is everyone's first thought. Not a single thing to dislike. Story is full and never feels lacking. Co-op adds hours of replayability. Fantastic.
  52. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Without a shadow of doubt a masterpiece. Incredible in everything it does. Masterful writing, unparalleled voice acting, every single character is incredibly memorable, the entire massive complex of Aperture is built and revealed perfectly, and the all-important portal based puzzle gameplay is flawless. This is Valve's magnum opus - a perfect game in every way.
  53. Jun 12, 2015
    9
    This is a FPS puzzle game that's intuitive and engaging. It expands upon the story of Portal, and if you haven't played that, you won't miss anything. The cake may be a lie, but this game delivers exactly what you would expect, and more!
  54. Jun 10, 2015
    9
    While the first Portal was funny, Portal 2 is simply hilarious in its narrative :)) I was laughing from the first seconds of the gameplay; the comedy club eases up a little further into the game, but things never take a gruesome motive, as was with the prequel. Gameplay is more polished than that of the first Portal, with several elements (such as light paths and liquid slips) added.While the first Portal was funny, Portal 2 is simply hilarious in its narrative :)) I was laughing from the first seconds of the gameplay; the comedy club eases up a little further into the game, but things never take a gruesome motive, as was with the prequel. Gameplay is more polished than that of the first Portal, with several elements (such as light paths and liquid slips) added. Solid spacial puzzle! Expand
  55. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaa aaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aa aaaaa aaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaa aaaa aaaaaaaa aaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa a aaaaaaaaaa a
  56. May 16, 2015
    8
    With double the play time as the first Portal, Portal 2 is a well developed game picking it where the first ended. There is actually a decent story through the single player mode. With much of the same game concepts they still add some different puzzles and traps along the way.
    The difficulty was increased for the testing. Plenty of times I had to just sit and think of how the hell I the
    With double the play time as the first Portal, Portal 2 is a well developed game picking it where the first ended. There is actually a decent story through the single player mode. With much of the same game concepts they still add some different puzzles and traps along the way.
    The difficulty was increased for the testing. Plenty of times I had to just sit and think of how the hell I the test was possible. I will admit I had to look up some sort of walk through for 2 tests. I was getting so annoyed my computer desk was at risk of being ripped in half.
    Waiting for a friend to purchase the game so we can try out the Co-Op story together. Overall the game is great and they did a magical job on the sequel to Portal.
    Expand
  57. Apr 9, 2015
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. This is a great example of amazingly crafted games that should set the standard. Both story and co-op are great and are very well done
  58. Apr 5, 2015
    9
    Combining the stupendous Source Engine with a superb gameplay system, Portal 2 is a mind-blowing experience that deserves the attention of all gamers who love a challenge.
  59. Mar 31, 2015
    1
    A puzzle game? No - it's something like point-and-click game as for me. There's no challenge filling at all. You complete the game very quick. The gameplay is very linear and monotonous. There's no gameplay at all!
  60. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    This game is not only the best Valve game, it is the best game on Steam as of 3-15-2015. Great voice acting, characters, graphics, game-play and story. Portal 2 has it all.
  61. Mar 9, 2015
    10
    If you liked the original 'Portal' game then there is no reason whatsoever for why you shouldn't absolutely love the sequel. It's got new obstacles like super dangerous lasers, improved graphics, a more lively atmosphere, a hilarious British tour guide, the return of that condescending GLaDOS, and hours upon hours of mind-bending new puzzles. Hell, even if you don't like the puzzles youIf you liked the original 'Portal' game then there is no reason whatsoever for why you shouldn't absolutely love the sequel. It's got new obstacles like super dangerous lasers, improved graphics, a more lively atmosphere, a hilarious British tour guide, the return of that condescending GLaDOS, and hours upon hours of mind-bending new puzzles. Hell, even if you don't like the puzzles you should get this game for GLaDOS and her bright eyed optimism alone. Because who doesn't like getting talked down to by a robot who is smarter and more accomplished than you are? I know that I sure do! Are there any puzzle games out there that are more original and entertaining than 'Portal 2'? If so, could somebody please point me in the right direction? Expand
  62. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    Awesome game. Probably best game I ever played. Co-op mode, Epic story, Cool puzzles, New features make this game really nice. Game is super mysterious, and have a lot of bigger, and smaller Easter eggs.
    I don't know what to say. I'm waiting for Portal 3
  63. Mar 3, 2015
    10
    This is the greatest game of all time.With great story and amazing voice acting this game is valves best,
    It brings so much to the story of portal and half life.
  64. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Imagine taking one of the best games ever made, and making it 3x as good. That is what they did with Portal 2. Portal 2 does everything Portal did right, and then some. I mean look at it, its the highest rated game on Steam!
  65. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    If you dont like this game then go eat a potato. Thisqs game is awesome. Beterer than half-awful-game-not-life-2 this game i like. I always watch a walkthrough i enjoy everything in this portal. Even better than poratal origunal. Go buy this game it awesome. My krabord is notbroken jhst i typereally fast so tgere are many mistakes!
  66. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This game is just another complete rip-off of angry birds. The game itself is exactly the same except the graphics quality is much lower and the gameplay is significantly less user friendly.
  67. Feb 13, 2015
    10
    There's nothing else to say about this: it's a masterpiece. There, I said it.
    Well, not like a painting or anything, but you get the idea.
    Insanely annoying, frustrating and addictive all at the same time.
  68. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    Loads of head scratching went on playing this - loved every minute of it.
    Never really been into puzzlers before, but this definitely changed my mind. A favorite game.
  69. Feb 3, 2015
    6
    It rides on the success of its predeccessor. Not nearly as much fun or unique, and the talking robot is an aannoying brit who just doesn't shut up and tells poor jokes. It ruined the game for me, I couldn't even play it more than a few minutes before uninstalling it due to that robot and the repetitive nature of the game.
  70. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    I have experienced extremely low cases when a game truly make me feel pure emotions. This is the type of games that proof that you don't need hours and hours of history, gameplay, or the greatest history to make a game that can easily touch most part of the people's heart.
  71. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    Still not found a better game than this. Requires high brain usage. I can play this game for hours/days/years. Many thanks to the players who upload millions of missions at the steam workshop. I was a bit disappointed when i finished the single player "story" but then i discovered that there are millions of extra missions. Very unique at this genre.
  72. Dec 30, 2014
    10
    Portal 2 is a FPS game tip , Launched in 2011, developed and published by Valve.Tu a control on Chell , one of the first game , care was required to undergo some tests GLaDOS , clever computer coordinates LABORATORIES Aperture Science. Chell wakes up after a coma after the events of the first port ADDRESS . She compared Meet Wheatley , care must supervise all our robot tests AperturePortal 2 is a FPS game tip , Launched in 2011, developed and published by Valve.Tu a control on Chell , one of the first game , care was required to undergo some tests GLaDOS , clever computer coordinates LABORATORIES Aperture Science. Chell wakes up after a coma after the events of the first port ADDRESS . She compared Meet Wheatley , care must supervise all our robot tests Aperture Science subjects . Before she could about the two discuss the circumstances and begin to destroy MUST get in - a safe area. GLaDOS Wheatley accidentally reactivates it and so she starts to put you in teste.Cam both story. The game brings a lot of improvements , from Gel - Links to redirect laser and others. The game graphics and sound stay tremendously - the Voice sarcastic function is simply awesome. Expand
  73. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    The amount of care put into this game is simply jaw-dropping. Comedian Stephen Merchant is hysterically funny as Wheatley, the role he was born to play, the puzzles have a gradual learning curve and range from simple to ingenious but never aggravating, the Source Engine is on full display in all its beauty, the humour is sharply-writ, and the ending stands as my favourite ending of any video game.
  74. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Pure amazing masterpiece. Make sure that you play this before you die, because it is perfectly amazing. I'm not even overreacting, IT IS THAT GOOD. The story, the characters, the humour are all amazing. The only thing that they lied about is cake
  75. Dec 15, 2014
    7
    Even though this is a very good game, it does not make much sense to figure in the top ten ever best pc games. It's entertaining and the scenarios are interesting to walk around and figure out the puzzles. But story is not so compelling and action is limited. Definitely one of the best PUZZLE games I've played.
  76. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    This is the best game i've ever played. It has no negative things. It has brilliant graphics and a good story with a plot twist. And the gameplay is really good too.
  77. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    Yes, Valve, give me more! The campaign is spot-on, has the right duration and will provide some laughs and some challenges. And the coop is amazing. And then there's the user created maps, so the fun theoretically never has to stop.

    But, to be quite sincere, I liked the first game better. The whole atmosphere of desolation and not knowing what was going on was amazing. And Aperture
    Yes, Valve, give me more! The campaign is spot-on, has the right duration and will provide some laughs and some challenges. And the coop is amazing. And then there's the user created maps, so the fun theoretically never has to stop.

    But, to be quite sincere, I liked the first game better. The whole atmosphere of desolation and not knowing what was going on was amazing. And Aperture Science seemed more interesting that first time, with all the decaying offices. And, even though I liked the campaign of Portal 2, I didn't really like its story. Wheatley isn't a great character, GLaDOS wasn't so evil as in the first game and the plot was obvious. After some minutes playing, I started figuring out what was going to happen next.

    But all the underground section when you discover the gels are amazing. It's truly worth the money and your time, even more if you have a friend to play with you. Unfortunately, I don't :c but I tried the coop with strangers, and it was nice even so.
    Expand
  78. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    A bit late to review but whatever!.... Portal 2 is a great game! The original Portal was great as well! Portal 2 was amazing with great level designs! Some levels stumped me but I finally finished them! The characters, voice acting are really good! I hope in the next Portal (if there will be one) that it would be a prequel to the first game! Overall if you want a really good puzzle gameA bit late to review but whatever!.... Portal 2 is a great game! The original Portal was great as well! Portal 2 was amazing with great level designs! Some levels stumped me but I finally finished them! The characters, voice acting are really good! I hope in the next Portal (if there will be one) that it would be a prequel to the first game! Overall if you want a really good puzzle game pick up Portal 1 and 2 because they are both really amazing puzzle adventure games to get your brain working! Its always a treat every time you finish a puzzle! Expand
  79. Dec 3, 2014
    10
    Portal 2 is a great successor to the previous game. This game is out right hilarious. The puzzles are innovated and improve upon the puzzles from the previous game. JUST BUY IT!
  80. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    Wow. I'm honestly speechless. The game's that good. I mean, like, epic storyline, amazing graphics even on a crappy computer, virtually lag and glitch-free, and somehow enough room for puzzle solving and creativity that makes you feel good in the end. All that you could ask for in a game. And the atmosphere you're playing in makes you feel like you're fighting for your life. This gameWow. I'm honestly speechless. The game's that good. I mean, like, epic storyline, amazing graphics even on a crappy computer, virtually lag and glitch-free, and somehow enough room for puzzle solving and creativity that makes you feel good in the end. All that you could ask for in a game. And the atmosphere you're playing in makes you feel like you're fighting for your life. This game reminded me that EA can't create masterpieces like the ones Valve makes. (hint hint: start making good games please.)

    I'd play this title over and over again if I were given a choice! It's that good!
    Expand
  81. Nov 18, 2014
    8
    The good:
    - top notch voice acting
    - possibly the funniest, cleverest dialogue I've ever experienced in a game - a physical world that works nearly flawlessly - nothing is dumbed down, making the more challenging puzzles incredibly gratifying when you solve them The bad: - even when you "solve" the puzzle (e.g. figure out what needs to be done), some challenges are incredibly
    The good:
    - top notch voice acting
    - possibly the funniest, cleverest dialogue I've ever experienced in a game
    - a physical world that works nearly flawlessly
    - nothing is dumbed down, making the more challenging puzzles incredibly gratifying when you solve them

    The bad:
    - even when you "solve" the puzzle (e.g. figure out what needs to be done), some challenges are incredibly finicky in terms of how precise you need to be to perform the required actions, making it frustrating. I solved the damn puzzle! Let me out!
    - puzzle after puzzle can get a bit monotonous when your companions are absent and the dialogue diminishes
    Expand
  82. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    Intriguing. Intuitive. Hilarious. These are just some of the words I'll use to describe this game. Recommend this game to anyone who has half a brain.
  83. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    What is to say about an amazing game like Portal 2? Jumping around and solving difficult but fun puzzles with a gun that shoots portals. But that is not all that goes for this game. The story is gripping and intense (really intense for a puzzle game) and even throws some unexpected twists at you. In my opinion, the story is the strongest aspect of the game, but the puzzles are fun as well.What is to say about an amazing game like Portal 2? Jumping around and solving difficult but fun puzzles with a gun that shoots portals. But that is not all that goes for this game. The story is gripping and intense (really intense for a puzzle game) and even throws some unexpected twists at you. In my opinion, the story is the strongest aspect of the game, but the puzzles are fun as well. Although the puzzles can be frustrating, Portal 2 is an amazing game with almost 0 flaws and has an amazing story, great graphics, and amazingly cool mechanics. Expand
  84. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Portal 2, the game the original portal could've been had it been more mainstream. This unique game is a game with so many unique mechanics, great story and memorable characters that I regret uninstalling it from my computer due to lack of space.

    The game works like this: You play as Chell, the main character of the story. With a portal gun, your goal is to try to escape the long
    Portal 2, the game the original portal could've been had it been more mainstream. This unique game is a game with so many unique mechanics, great story and memorable characters that I regret uninstalling it from my computer due to lack of space.

    The game works like this: You play as Chell, the main character of the story. With a portal gun, your goal is to try to escape the long abandoned Aperture Science laboratory, designed to test the infamous portal gun. While doing this, the portal gun works like this: when you shoot one portal, you shoot another portal on a designated surface, usually white. after the second portal is shot, you walk through it to get to the other portal, this mechanic is a lot more fun than it sounds.

    This game is often proclaimed to be a "masterpiece". And I agree with it, with a 9 out of 10, I will always go back to Portal 2, even if that means reinstalling it on my computer, which is almost out of space.
    Expand
  85. Oct 17, 2014
    10
    Portal 2 is THE best game I have ever played. And I've played a lot of games. It combines all the good aspects of games. When the game was over I just sat there for a while thinking about how I just played the game of the century.
  86. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a review for portal 2. it is a video game where things happen and some things that do not happen. it was okay. i would say that it was a video game. Expand
  87. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    I'm speechless. Speechless. Amazing game. Portal 1 was short, but Valve took that issue to heart and made Portal 2 5x longer. Made it funnier too. Just buy this game without thinking.
  88. Oct 2, 2014
    10
    The story and voice overs facing the silent protagonist here will keep You forcing Yourself long past midnight solving "just one more" puzzle. Very inspired work. Even the fact of it being on steam cannot justify subtracting points from such a polished product. Once done enjoying the excellent solo experience, which delivers laughter in spades and even a tear at times, You can embark onThe story and voice overs facing the silent protagonist here will keep You forcing Yourself long past midnight solving "just one more" puzzle. Very inspired work. Even the fact of it being on steam cannot justify subtracting points from such a polished product. Once done enjoying the excellent solo experience, which delivers laughter in spades and even a tear at times, You can embark on smaller separate story with a friend for a duo-romp, fun will be had as well. Expand
  89. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    "Wow" is all i've got to say about this game. If you thought the first Portal was great, you can bet every dollar you have you're going to love this! It's brilliance of it makes this game astonishing. New Character: Wheatley! One of the best puzzle games with a innovative story that will keep you up in knots!
  90. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    A much bigger, fun and brilliant game than the original. You don't have to be someone who usually gravitates towards puzzle games to enjoy this. It's one of those rare games where you actually need to stop and think. Trial, error, experimentation and imagination will get you through those expertly crafted chambers, rather than quick reflexes.

    I can't give the game full marks, however,
    A much bigger, fun and brilliant game than the original. You don't have to be someone who usually gravitates towards puzzle games to enjoy this. It's one of those rare games where you actually need to stop and think. Trial, error, experimentation and imagination will get you through those expertly crafted chambers, rather than quick reflexes.

    I can't give the game full marks, however, due to a very minor criticism. That being that as well thought-out the puzzle-based chambers were, they all had a similar look. The puzzles and tools at your disposal may evolve as you progress, but eventually my eye got a little bored looking at the same dark and dreary test chambers. Apart from that - amazing!
    Expand
  91. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    This probably has to be the best game I've ever played, from the script to the voice acting, to the graphics and the way you play the game. It is a challenging 'puzzle' game which involves going through one portal and coming out of the other one, only YOU have to chose where they go.

    The game is about a company named Aperture science who are using humans to test their latest invention,
    This probably has to be the best game I've ever played, from the script to the voice acting, to the graphics and the way you play the game. It is a challenging 'puzzle' game which involves going through one portal and coming out of the other one, only YOU have to chose where they go.

    The game is about a company named Aperture science who are using humans to test their latest invention, the portal gun. The story is about you, and a little robot named Wheatley who tries to save you from the evil robot GLaDOS, but the tables turn and GLaDOS tries to save you from Wheatley, only to find out she was a test subject too!

    Finally there is a whole new game when it comes to the co-op aspect of the game, you and your buddy are two silly robots with portal guns!

    Have fun!
    Expand
  92. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite game. My best friend got me obsessed over this one. We played multiplayer on PS3 and it is also good on PC. Plus I love the story and Wheatley! I'm happy to be the President of Still Alive Club!
  93. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    Portal 2 is on eof the best remastered games ever released
    All of its content as been remade, lots of new aesthetics, even new puzzle elements. And an exciting storyline.
    Portal 2 is one of the best games ever made, even for a "puzzle" game (running from raging snipers to raging mevious puzzles) The game as workshop, modding compatibility, its very cheap for a game of 95 meta
    Portal 2 is on eof the best remastered games ever released
    All of its content as been remade, lots of new aesthetics, even new puzzle elements. And an exciting storyline.
    Portal 2 is one of the best games ever made, even for a "puzzle" game (running from raging snipers to raging mevious puzzles)
    The game as workshop, modding compatibility, its very cheap for a game of 95 meta score(until 07 was 96), and also as a tremendous soundtrack.

    Its one of the best games ever made, and no expert critc ever hate this game.
    The game as 7 chapters, and its 150 times longer than the original portal. The game as also the Challenge mode, which very cool. There are a lot of fixed glitches, but still some remaining.

    The new coop mode was received perfectly well, since its really creative and cool.

    The humor on the game is giant, wheatley, a stupid core, and he watch all your steps, like, "the people whit brain damage are the real heroes), and GlaDOs, with her rage of you killing her, saying to you like "Your mother hates you, not because you're fat, but you really are, and the fact of you begin adopted.)

    100/100. Buy this game. If your pc run half life 2, It WILL run portal 2.
    Also if you buy the ps3 version you will win a free pc copy.
    Expand
  94. Sep 15, 2014
    7
    An enjoyable game, especially in the first half. I did feel it dragged on a bit though. Later in the game it got a little bit repetitive and boring climbing through random sites and ladders. But the majority of the rooms and puzzles are clever and rewarding. I liked the progressive difficulty and array of the puzzles too.
  95. Jul 30, 2014
    6
    From my point of view this is an extremely overrated title and especially after experiencing the amazing little gem that was first Portal, P2 is quite a disappointment for me. My guess is that all the praise is coming mostly from people who didn't play the original, because this is basically 1:1 the same thing, only 4 times longer, but while the short gameplay was perfectly effective forFrom my point of view this is an extremely overrated title and especially after experiencing the amazing little gem that was first Portal, P2 is quite a disappointment for me. My guess is that all the praise is coming mostly from people who didn't play the original, because this is basically 1:1 the same thing, only 4 times longer, but while the short gameplay was perfectly effective for the first Portal, here it's getting tedious after about 10 hours. It's still good, it kept the quality humor and the addition of multiplayer is very interesting, but I feel like all the main trump cards have already been used in the first Portal. 6/10 Expand
  96. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    By any measure, a great game.

    I finished it, and enjoyed it.

    But, it's a 9 and not a 10, because it failed to live up to the example set by Portal 1.

    Bottom line: a fun game, that is exceptionally well put together, but, unlike Portal 1, you won't be talking about it with your friends for years.
  97. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    This game is absolutely awesome! Amazing puzzles, great graphics and a lot of humor! The only thing that I see as a problem is the fact that the game is too short.
  98. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    i absolutely LOVE this game. when i play its kind of like a family thing, me my brother and my father all watching the screen having fun pointing things out and trying to figure out the puzzle. i honestly think that this is the best, there are good graphics, good plot, complex things to do, and most important, it's HILARIOUS. seriously, completely sarcastic and witty the whole time. truei absolutely LOVE this game. when i play its kind of like a family thing, me my brother and my father all watching the screen having fun pointing things out and trying to figure out the puzzle. i honestly think that this is the best, there are good graphics, good plot, complex things to do, and most important, it's HILARIOUS. seriously, completely sarcastic and witty the whole time. true some of the puzzles may be difficult, (and for those who its easy for, sucks to be you, cuz that means you had no fun) but that's part of the fun of playing it. Expand
  99. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    Portal 2 is funny fluid and .utterly replay able you need to have this fantastic wonder of a game in your life
    It is the perfect length of a game go and buy it right now
  100. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    Portal 2 is a very enjoyable, witty game. The narrative is compelling, and it proves to be a truly inventive puzzle game. I jumped into this Portal (haha, get it?) without playing its predecessor, and found no issues in understanding the plot or how the game works as such. So, if like me you haven't played Portal before, then throw away your preconceptions of what a puzzle game is rightPortal 2 is a very enjoyable, witty game. The narrative is compelling, and it proves to be a truly inventive puzzle game. I jumped into this Portal (haha, get it?) without playing its predecessor, and found no issues in understanding the plot or how the game works as such. So, if like me you haven't played Portal before, then throw away your preconceptions of what a puzzle game is right now, because Portal will smash them.
    Portal 2 offers a more hands-on puzzle experience than any other game of its genre I've played, and whilst the puzzles prove to be a challenging, they are heaps of fun to solve. Especially with the addition of GLaDOS' sarky commentary, or Wheatley's ramblings.
    That's another thing about Portal 2 - it's quirky and funny. Some moments made me laugh out loud, which is a bit of a mean feat. The characters, though you can count them on just one hand, are actually ingenious, and offer more entertainment than many games with casts of 20+ have. The game's main setting - the now rather disheveled Aperture Science Enrichment Center - is also really nicely done and just, well, cool....
    Portal 2 is just the right mix of everything - humor, puzzles and a good story. You're really missing out if you've been putting off playing it!
    Expand
  101. Oct 3, 2012
    0
    A really nice sequel to Portal. Much better graphics and gameplay. Valve took the brilliance of Portal and turned it into a full-blown title. Unlike Portal 1, where you could spawn NPCs and weapons from Halflife 2 using the command console, Portal 2 is using the newer source engine.

    The graphics are brilliant, the shading and physics were things that attracted me to get this. Good
    A really nice sequel to Portal. Much better graphics and gameplay. Valve took the brilliance of Portal and turned it into a full-blown title. Unlike Portal 1, where you could spawn NPCs and weapons from Halflife 2 using the command console, Portal 2 is using the newer source engine.

    The graphics are brilliant, the shading and physics were things that attracted me to get this.

    Good game, worth it definetely!
    Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 20, 2011
    90
    Almost as good as the first one. Main reasons are lack of cake, unfunny Wheatley and slightly boring one-solution middle-levels. Otherwise Portal 2 is as clever as it is well written. And now Half-Life 2: Ep 3, please. [May 2011]
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    90
    The graphics may not be of the same caliber of other AAA titles, and the story may falter from time to time, but those are paltry excuses not to experience one of the best current generation games around.
  3. PC Format
    Jun 13, 2011
    92
    A hilarious slice of gaming glory. [July 2011, p.92]