User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5091 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    When I first started this game I thought it was way too similar to the first one. But until you've completed it, you ain't seen nothing. New levels, gameplay elements, a new character and the actual game is quite long. To do the original Portal without cheating (looking up solutions) it took about 4 hours or less but this is 9 hours. There's AT LEAST twice, if not quadrupple the content in terms of the length, so however long it took you to complete portal 1 in first try just triple it. From start to end, the game never fails to keep you entertained and laughing all the way. Very funny humour, easy to understand, excellent voice acting. Really, the only criticism I have of this game is the highly outdated graphics, but considering it's still using the Source engine it's not bad if you think of the graphics being 2004 standard. Want to know the greatest thing? The challenge mode no longer has least steps! YES!!!! No more stupid glitching. It's just least time and least portals. Considering the number of levels in this game, and the co-op there's easily enough content here to last even the most logical gamer a fair while. A must play if you've not played the original. It's better in every possible way. I don't think this game could have done more in any area. Gameplay objects such as bridges, propulsion gels and excursion funnels as well as drastic improvements in story-telling, level design, characters and overall length make this a true sequel. What's more, the co-op challenges are much more satisfying and fun than the campaign ones because of their witty humour and difficult but not frustrating (i.e. you can finish without a guide) level design. The ability to play cross-platform with PS3 players and official split-screen support make this game even more special. Add in the very intuitive level editor and community levels and you've got a complete package. Portal 2 is one of those games that defines the medium. It is educational, fun, funny and suitable for people of all ages and genders. There really is nothing like it. It's the only game which EVERYBODY should play due to its accessibility, quality and concept. Expand
  2. AWG
    Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Portal was good but this second installment really borders on perfection. Clever, funny, interesting: it never stops to be funny. Co-Op part of the game is great too.
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    The original Portal was a great deal because even through it was short and had no multiplayer or replay value, it came bundled in the Orange Box. Portal 2 takes the game in a more comical direction with more characters and a stronger narrative, but doesn't expand much on the original's gameplay. There is a co-op mode but it's only worth playing through once, and with the main campaign clocking in at 10 hours tops, you're looking at best 20 hours of gameplay for $20. This is a good deal in my mind but others might be expecting more from Valve. Since it's release the price has dropped significantly and Workshop integration has been added resulting in easy access to thousands of custom maps. Another must-play from Valve. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Hilarious, a complete and utter work of genius. Brilliantly designed and scripted. An absolute joy to play and probably the first game that actually made me belly laugh.
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    Fundamentally more or less the same experience as the first game added stuff (co-op mode), the puzzles are lucid, compelling, and most importantly: fun. Any sense of repetition is negated by the witty, well-written dialogue.
  6. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a game that allows you to solve puzzles by defying the laws of physics using your 'portal gun'. This gun allows you to create a portal on one side of the map and instantenously teleport you to the other end of the map. You can also send objects through the portal that are often necessary to solve the intricate puzzles. It is not necessary to play Portal 1 before playing Portal 2 but it is highly recommended to better understand the storyline. Sounds, voice-acting, game-play and overall presentation are, as usual with Valve, top notch. The graphics come across as slightly dated but the large bleak walls and cartoonish models make the world of Portal what it is. To complete the package, Valve has added a very good co-operative campaign that works like clockwork. Some players might consider it 'more of the same' but when the same was a heck of a lot of fun, you won't mind more of that. Must-play for any FPS player. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Valve have done it again. It seems games that are their #1's improve when they reach #2, if only we got number 3's (Half-Life). Portal 2 takes place a good few years after Portal. Chell awakes in the dilapidated ruins of Aperture Science and is companied by a personality core named Wheatley (expertly voiced by Stephen Merchant). However things take a turn for the worst when you accidentally awake GLaDOS. After a confrontation you replace GLaDOS with Wheatley and then things get worse. You, now trapped in the ruins of Aperture Science of the 50's up till those seen in the previous game must escape with the help of GLaDOS and uncover the dark secrets to both her and Apertures past in order to defeat the power crazy Wheatley. The game looks much better than the original and now boasts a 12 hour campaign instead of a 90 minute one. It plays largely the same but includes some new components and lots of fresh ideas that keep the fun going. Expand
  8. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    Portal is one of the few games to exist in the industry that contains some genuine science fiction. There is no shortage to games set in a science fiction universe but getting to interact with a portal gun gives us a chance to interact with the science of fiction. Its such and obvious opportunity of games but sadly is missing by most popular titles in the industry whom would rather focus on the immature sensation of violence. Portal 2s focus on good design and puzzle solving rather than the immaturity of violence and 'bad-ass'ness is a big plus making it stand out as intelligent from the dumb gaming crowd. It's pacing is for the most part excellent but not better than the original. There is some filler in portal 2 and although a longer game is what fans (including myself) asked for, a longer game does not make it a better game. The visual design is terrific. The simple robot design, architecture, and visual atmosphere enhances the game play, story and brings something new and original to the bloated science fiction side of video games. A big shout out also goes to the music, its worth listening to just on its own. The character development of GlaDos is fantastic, although in the first Portal she is a simply a funnier copy of the A.I character: Dave from 2001: Space Odyssey, Valve explores GlaDos even more and in a slight different direction making her one of the best characters of video games in years and a terrific villain. Its an achievement to how much we actually CARE about the robots in Portal 2. Portal 2 does however fall into the common video game trap of spoon feeding players where to go, and almost not allowing a player to get stuck for too long and then master the gameplay. I read a lot of over praise to how flawless the puzzles are however I cant feel that they did not made them hard enough (which would have made them better) just to keep the story flowing, it is a puzzle game after all, please make some HARD puzzles. Portal 2 is a satisfying title full of memorable moments, witty laugh out loud humour and a plot with unpredictable surprises and joins the handful of must play titles of this generation. It would have been so easy for most developers to screw up, but Valve pulled it off as well as they could. Its not the perfect 10 that people keep screaming, and its not better than the original which I would almost call a masterpiece but is one of the best games this generation.â Expand
  9. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Good sequel to a great game. I can't say I was bedazzled by Portal 2 since the core fundamentals haven't changed from the original game, but there are a few new elements which introduce some cool twists to the puzzles. The ending was indeed lunacy--WOW. Without giving anything away, it is simply an ending worth experiencing. The coop is great fun too. If you enjoyed the first Portal, playing this one is a no-brainer--it is very much the same, only better. Expand
  10. Jul 30, 2014
    6
    From my point of view this is an extremely overrated title and especially after experiencing the amazing little gem that was first Portal, P2 is quite a disappointment for me. My guess is that all the praise is coming mostly from people who didn't play the original, because this is basically 1:1 the same thing, only 4 times longer, but while the short gameplay was perfectly effective for the first Portal, here it's getting tedious after about 10 hours. It's still good, it kept the quality humor and the addition of multiplayer is very interesting, but I feel like all the main trump cards have already been used in the first Portal. 6/10 Expand
  11. May 12, 2012
    7
    I have very mixed feelings about this game: I had fun playing the single player, even if flawed, and the co-op is without a doubt a great addition. But still, this is definitely the MOST overrated game of the 2011. First of all, the single player has a good plot that, unlike the predecessor, has a very good pace, it always keeps up the curiosity and has good twists now and then. However, the puzzles in the single player are just "good", mainly because MANY resembles previous puzzles just in another format, and the new ideas (like the gels, the energy tunnels, the lightways, etc) are not used at their maximum, and in the end some of the puzzles just look similar to each others. I also heard complaints about the longevity, and I'm not totally sure: it lasted about 7 hours to me, without rushing or being too slow, but since nowadays "adventure games" (or fps, or whatever works for you) don't even last over 4 hours, I say it's "good". About the co-op, I initially had doubts, but when I played I finally witnessed how good it was: the puzzles there are very good thought and actually incite team work AND team thinking...wish they were the same in the single player. These maps infact are good, a LOT, so much that I wanted them so badly in the single player: they were challenging and I had fun to do them, because they were good, and I DARE you to do it with perfect strangers: yes, it is usually better with friends, I know, but If you can't find any friends to play with, these puzzles will make be extremely hard to complete, because I tried over 6 times, with random players, and none of them lasted until the end of ONE single section, leaving me behind and almost quitting this mode ( I have to thank a friend to help me out there, or else I wouldn't be able to judge this mode). It was a mass disappointment to discover that the co-op has good maps, and not the single player. And now, if you hadn't notice, I mainly said "good" from the start, and it is because this game is just good: it's not perfect because this game adds barely much: the co-op is a good addition yes but still this game felt more like an expansion (a costy one) with very few tweaks to the gameplay, and even if the plot is good and the co-op is very fun, I don't feel it is worth the full price (even though it's cheap as hell nowadays). I'm not saying it's a bad game anyway and actually I say to give it a try, especially the first Portal, if you like puzzle games, but it's definitely NOT the best game of the year 2011. Expand
  12. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Portal 2 is an amazing successor to possibly one of the best games that were ever made in a unexpected genre. Portal 2 excels in all aspects that made the first game a success but brings it to a whole new level of quality and enjoyment. The puzzles, music and amazing gameplay will keep you hooked to your PC monitor, and if that is not enough the amazing character design and voice over work will make you coming back for more! Expand
  13. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    More puzzles, a new hilarious sidekick and more background story surrounding the enigmatic Aperture Science? It seems impossible but Portal 2 is harder, better, faster and stronger (to borrow a line from Daft Punk) than the original.
  14. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    Easily, one of the best games I have ever played. Much, much! longer than the original Portal, it will keep you entertained for the amount of hours it takes to beat it (Many hours). Portal 2 delivers more humor, more levels, more characters, more dialogue, and even chapters. And an all new multi-player mode! From the very first level, till the very last battle, it is a rare gem in the gaming world. In the end, it easily earns a 10 from me. Expand
  15. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Games that completely stimulates your mind are a rarity these days. When Portal came out, it was unlike anything I played. Portal 2 completely realises what Portal have achieved and expanded it into a full scale, mind boggling experience. Portal 2 is a one of a kind game. The simple controls, ingenious game mechanics, humorous storyline and overall mental satisfaction makes this game one of my favourites. Expand
  16. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is everything great from the original mixed with even greater stuff of its own. The puzzles are the same as always, but there are several new elements such as the repulsion and propulsion gels, the light bridge, and the funnel, that make them seem new again. It's even funnier than the original, with the Stephen Merchant-voiced Wheatley as the comic relief and GLaDOS as always providing the dark humor. The story delves into what happened before and after Portal and into the history of Aperture Science. It's still a bit short, but with a game like this who really cares? Expand
  17. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    This game was a joy to play, singleplayer as well as multiplayer, the crazy little emotes the robots do are hilarious, the puzzles are challenging and fun, definitely worth the money.
  18. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Portal 2 takes the awesome premise and gameplay of the original and incorporates it into a shiny new game, complete with a full-length singleplayer game, new co-op modes, a more developed story, and impressive new graphics and level design. It thereby answers most of the criticisms of the first game without feeling like simply a remake of it. This game has lost much of the dark humor and mystery of its predecessor in favor of a more epic journey mixed with lots of witty and absurd humor. Overall I think it did a good job of taking the original concepts of Portal to the next level and creating a game experience that felt familiar without being stale. Expand
  19. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    Portal 2 get's everything that made portal incredible, and builds upon it. Characters, the puzzles themselves, length, depth, and even originality of design. A lot of other game series do this successfully as well, however when a game based off an entirely original concept does it. It deserves even more praise. Masterpiece.
  20. Apr 21, 2011
    6
    Despite all the build up buzz... this game is mediocre for a valve game, sure they've expanded on the original, but the campaign and co-op modes wont even last a day before completion...shame but to add insult to injury they chuck a tonne of DLCs for money on day of release.... all of which should have been bundled with it in the first instance... sorry paid DLCs need to be more than cosmetic and the game is waaaaaaay to short. Expand
  21. May 14, 2013
    10
    Portal 2 is everything a video game should be. It's thrilling at times, fun and hilarious from start to finish, entertaining, the perfect balance between realism and fiction, and it's simply a work of scientific art. The only minor downsides are the frequent loadingscreens and the Advanced Testchambers that were left out, but thanks to Steam's Workshop you can create your own maps and play those of others, adding countless hours of fan dedication to both singpleplayer and coöperative experiences. Expand
  22. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    This game was amazing. It is fun, clever and beautiful. Consistently clever writing perfectly complements the onscreen action. Brilliant comedic timing. Level of difficulty of the puzzles throughout the game was amazing. Voice acting and the characters are brilliant.
  23. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    I'm speechless. Speechless. Amazing game. Portal 1 was short, but Valve took that issue to heart and made Portal 2 5x longer. Made it funnier too. Just buy this game without thinking.
  24. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This is without a doubt the best game I have ever played. I honestly cannot say one negative thing about it. The main story is absolutely fantastic. It's funny, entertaining, charming, smart, and gives a sense of intrigue. The gameplay is completely unique and far superior to any game out there. The design of using puzzles in the way it has been done is absolutely brilliant; some are challenging but it makes you never want to give up. The free downloadable content of user created maps on steam is simply the best addition to any game ever. There are hundreds of extremely high quality maps posted totally free which adds nearly infinite replay value. You can also create your own maps which is a super fun process. I still feel my time isn't wasted if I cannot come up with something I'm happy with to publish because it's so good that even just messing around for a couple hours is enjoyable. Portal 2 is best played on the PC by far and I highly recommend you pick up this game.......................... I have been playing games for 17+ years from the old NES, some great super nintendo games, awesome N64 stuff, etc but this game beats every mario, zelda, halo... you name it. As you get older it's hard to find games that really draw you in and let you have fun with it like you did when you were 10. This game accomplishes that. Portal 2 is a classic that will go down as one of the best, if not the single best game ever made. Expand
  25. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    It's basically Portal 1, but dumbed down and with no-so-good humor and a general hollywood-style feeling. Yes, the levels are now more detailed, there is much more stuff lying around and there is a dumb assistant, but overall I got a feeling that they just wanted to make the game more accessible and appealing to idiots. Unfortunately, this also made the game less appealing to guys like myself. Portal 1's setting was cool, why do you need to add this mass-culture wrapping to it? Expand
  26. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    I loved every second of it, its amazing. For all the people rating it low because it should had been added as DLC? Seriously? It may have been fairly short but it was worth it. You wouldnt had have the same expierence on the old source engine. The new one pushes everything to the max. The ending is amazing too.
  27. May 1, 2011
    9
    Very fun game, I found puzzles, characters and narration to be interesting. I'm giving it 9 stars due to me not wanting to replay the game, as I already know the solutions to puzzles.
  28. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This is my third review today and I've been quite positive as it is Christmas, but this game is without a doubt, the Best game of the year. I won't even talk about how great it is, it's simply made to perfection. Here are the top 4 games I recommend this year:

    1. Portal 2
    2. Modern Warfare 3
    3. Skyrim
    4. Battlefield 3
  29. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This is probably best puzzle game ever!! Each puzzle is really well designed which give game unique experience. As Valve started to release really bad titles like L4D didn't expect much from them anymore. I'm glad I was wrong. Portal 2 is pure awesomeness in bot singleplayer and coop modes!
  30. Sep 16, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is almost outstanding with some crucial technical flaws that gave this game rating a four for me. First, the game rating would have been retained as "T for Teen" since adventure and violence are too intense for young children. Second, one level in one map loading at a time makes a lot of players knew it was a ported PC game from the video console. Third, the story is great with some laughs, but redundant drama isn't making a good sense of keeping up the gameplay. Fourth, the SP game campaign is as long as any recent Call of Duty game with a "not-so-worth it" regular price. The co-op campaign was a great addition but having 100+ levels of puzzles and having additional DLC and MP features would have secured a outstanding deal out of this game. I loved the graphics with its recent engine but overall the best game by Valve is always the first Half-Life game, period. Expand
  31. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    This game was just pure genius. The design, the character development, it was all done beautifully. I question why this game doesn't have at LEAST a score of 96. It was different from the first game in some ways, but I liked that. Using the exact same atmosphere of the first game would've just felt like more of an unoriginal repeat. Anyone reading this that enjoys Valve games but hasn't yet played Portal 2... I beg you, buy this game, you will grin from ear to ear till it hurts.

    And even then, you'll just keep grinning anyway.
    Expand
  32. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    I knew nothing of Portal or Portal 2 until I saw the second on Steam and gave it a shot. This game sure does get a lot of acclaim, I myself won't make as much noise. I do not think Portal 2 is a bad game, the idea behind it is creative and the gameplay is innovative, but completing the puzzles weren't rewarding for me. Not only that, I got stuck numerous times for long periods and got frustrated after a while. Some may call me names, but this concept isn't for me. If you like figuring out angles and such, you most likely will love this game. Some of the levels are a definite challenge, and I will admit I needed a little advice here and there to continue. I did though, enjoy the story very much and it even made me chuckle a few times Expand
  33. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    Portal 2 is a fine game. But Valve seems to have worked on the Alternate Reality Game more than they did the actual game. It's still very short (only 6-7 hours on my first run) and very rarely did I get stuck for more than 5 minutes. Don't get me wrong, everything from gameplay to graphics has been polished to a fine shine, but that's where I start to get disappointed. It feels too familiar. Everything that happens you kind of expect to happen. No big surprises like the last game. The character wheatley feels...out of place and at times, annoying. Portal was largely an out of body experience, with a very light story on the side. With the bigger and better script, Portal 2 is lighter on the gameplay and heavier on the story. Shame. When you get to thinking about it, Portal was an accidental masterpiece, to they point where valve didn't even sell it as its own product for nearly a year. They tried replicating the experience, but ended up copying and pasting many major events of the originals story. Co-Op, so far, is a nice addition. The maps definitely have more challenge to them than the campaign and the robots are very charming to be with, almost to the point where you don't want to talk, just to see the mute bots do their job. My only major issue so far is the price point. Portal 2 is fun, but has no replay value and a very short length. It's simply not worth the price of admission. Expand
  34. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    When I first saw gameplay videos I thought it's a silly game. But when I played it I realised how silly I am. That's smart entertainment. When you finish a hard level without help tell me how do you feel. Especially after the congratulations.
  35. Apr 23, 2011
    6
    Downloaded Portal 2 48 hours ago. Played it through (not rushing - stopping now and then to look around) but did the lot in 3 hours 20 minutes.
    The puzzles have moved on a bit since Portal 1, and I know there are multiplayer options (I dislike multiplayer games) So for me (and I know this is my fault becasue of my aversion for multiplayer) £35 for less than three and a half
    hours play time is probably the worst value I've ever got out of a game. Sure it's fun. the game plays well, it's beautifully scripted, and I'm not going to give it a "h8orz" score, but over £10 per hour is worse value than Max Payne 2 was 8 years ago.
    If you think you will enjoy the multiplayer (why do I always end up with some sweary nasty little 16 year old whenever I try my hand at MP games) then this game might "just" be worth the slightly over the average price tag.
    It took me longer to complete Defense Grid than this (and that cost me £2.99 and I think I ienjoyed it more) I would have given this 8 or 9 had it cost £10 - but for £35 ($55) for a single player game most will complete well inside an afternoon, I can only give it 6
    Expand
  36. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    An already original and fantastic game got a sequel. I instantly knew that I HAD to get this game as soon as possible, because I knew I would love it, since the first one was so great. It turns out I was completely right about that. Portal 2 is much longer than its predecessor, it adds more characters, an actual plot, and it also adds many new puzzle elements to an already fun gameplay, things such as excursion funnels, repulsion and propulsion gels, aerial faith plates, etc. The game manages to keep on a similar style of addictive humour as the first one, and it has fantastic voice actors who really have done a brilliant job. This game shouldn't leave you bored, because the puzzles are much more diverse now than in the first game and there are a lot of them. Additionally the game does bring up a huge variety of emotions throughout the story, both happy and sad. Portal 2 really is a complete package, because on top of an incredibly fun single-player story mode, it manages to have gorgeous graphics, a really great in-game music, and even a co-op play. I don't mean to sound like a fanboy, but a game that can challenge you both logically and emotionally is a game really worth trying. Portal 2 gets a golden star from me, no doubt about it. Expand
  37. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This game succeeds at everything it tries to do- it creates a fantastic environment, has funny, likeable characters, presents difficult puzzles, and draws you along an interesting storyline. The only downside is that this game might be considered too short, even with the multiplayer coop (which is fantastic, by the way). However, I got the game at a discount and consider it to have been well worth my investment. I recommend the game for puzzle enthusiasts and anyone who wishes to have their brain stretched a bit. Expand
  38. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is the BEST game human mind ever created. I'm serious. This is the pearl of gamemaking it is perfect game really perfect without any flaws. Plot is simply AMAZING, such great history would make high five to any Lucas film. Gameplay is very unique and entertaining. And this graphics, this surroundings underground laboratories, it is like you really have been there. This is not even 10-10, this is beyond and mark, no game can compete with Portal 2. Expand
  39. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to admit, I didn't have the slightest interest in playing portal 2 when it came it, mostly because it is a puzzle game, which I don't seem to buy into along with RPG's. After getting the Orange Box (including the original portal) and Skyrim and being proved wrong in both areas, I got P2 anyway. This may sound a bit fanboyish, but Portal 2 is perhaps the best game I've ever played: seemlessly mixing a well-told storyline plus a meaty co-op mode, I don't think I've ever had this much fun playing a video game. The puzzles are simple, but satisfying to solve and the characters remain endearing no matter what plot twists might occur. Then I had to put it down about 6 hours later, because I had finished it: don't get me wrong though, it was a perfect length, any longer and it would've just been more flabby than meaty, and I've still got about 75% of the co-op to play through. I throughly recommend this, along with every other valve title. I guess after saying that, I'll have to go play Left 4 Dead to prove my assumptions wrong again. Expand
  40. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    While the story and puzzles are good the main success's was the co-op and humor the story is better and the new characters those robots in co-op and Wheatly are excellent characters and Wheatly's voice acting is the best ever that guy deserves a award well okay maybe Vaas actor Michael Mando is better but still this is a really good game
  41. Sep 24, 2011
    6
    Best things about this game are the atmospheric locations and monologues of the characters, but sadly not the puzzles itself. Its also too short, and lacks replayability factor. Its a game you will beat in few days, and never return to it.
  42. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  43. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    A much bigger, fun and brilliant game than the original. You don't have to be someone who usually gravitates towards puzzle games to enjoy this. It's one of those rare games where you actually need to stop and think. Trial, error, experimentation and imagination will get you through those expertly crafted chambers, rather than quick reflexes.

    I can't give the game full marks, however,
    due to a very minor criticism. That being that as well thought-out the puzzle-based chambers were, they all had a similar look. The puzzles and tools at your disposal may evolve as you progress, but eventually my eye got a little bored looking at the same dark and dreary test chambers. Apart from that - amazing! Expand
  44. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 is the sequel of Portal and much better! It has new gaming features, you can play in coop and buld and play community maps! The game has much humor and is just brilliant.
  45. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Complaints about DLC are retarded. The "DLC" in this is entirely cosmetic. It has no impact on gameplay at all. Go read that again. It's stuff to customize how your player looks in co-op mode, and that's it. No levels. No items. No nothing of consequence. If you want a pink player in co-op, then you can go buy it. If not, forget about it and go play the game. This is not a problem.

    I'm
    deducting 1 point because the game isn't terribly long and doesn't have a lot of replay value, but it's a damn fun game while it lasts and I totally feel like I got my monies worth. Expand
  46. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    ...
    Let me preface this by saying I could give less than two **** about the DLCs. I didn't even know they existed to begin with. Since I just finished the single player campaign, I feel ready to write this review. Why? Because honestly, the single player campaign was awesome. Ridiculously varied from the first game and insanely brilliant puzzles. A lot of people are complaining about the
    "Please don't turn off your console" dialogue that shows up when you are saving. I don't understand how people can be so immature about this. The entire game feels just as PC tailored as the previous game, and any other fantastic Valve creation. If that little line of dialogue is enough to piss you off, boy you sure haven't played the other PC to console games yet. And rest assured, there is NO cliffhanger ending for Portal 2; everything wraps up perfectly, as you will experience. Honestly, you would be doing yourself an incredible injustice to yourself to dismiss this game on such trivial grounds. One thing that is true however is that the campaign is short. I finished it in 3.9 hours according to Steam (though it's strange because I started at 10:30 pm and ended at 6:00). However, just like with CoD4, this campaign is intensely satisfying, and making it longer would have definitely killed the fun. Personally Portal 2 would have been well worth $60 (I got the PS3 version for $55 with $20 Amazon credit and played the Steam version) but that's just me. Regardless of how much you are willing to pay for it, I definitely recommend that you eventually play this game if you loved the first one like I did. It is a sequel that improves upon its predecessor in every way imaginable. (P.S. This game ran full res/high textures on my Atom 330/nVidia ION netbook so it should run well in most computers) Expand
  47. May 9, 2012
    10
    Portal 2 is simply the best game of the Valve, and It's the best game I ever player. It is clever, funny and a masterpiece. Following the story of the previous game, It haves even better plot than the first Portal game. And the original technology of Aperture Science is even better with some new turrets and mechanics. It haves even the Co- op mode which is even better because of the teamwork, it makes the game more fun. Expand
  48. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Portal's 2 unique design and mind blowing puzzles, are not a surprise. But the new great characters, and the spectacular story make this game a truly masterpiece. I can't say It's perfect, but I can say It's amazing. Both, single player and multi player are great. And, every moment in this game is funny, dramatic and terrific, mixed with the outstanding soundtrack and with the top notch voice acting. Sometimes co-op may be complicated, example, when you're friend makes mistakes, or something like that, but never, ever can't brake your fun, and makes your fun highly more. 98 out of 100 Expand
  49. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Portal 2 is an atomic bomb. The single player mode is 2-3 times longer than Portal and offers many new options. The story is richer too.
    Once finished, I immediately played it again!
    Potentials as a series for Portal are vast and we are far from seeing the end.
    The co-op mode is also very entertaining. Creating four portals is a good twist to pass a level!
    Also, the Steam Workshop adds
    a great value, with levels from players all around the globe.
    Portal opens your mind!
    Expand
  50. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is a great game, and will likely be the best puzzle game of the year; it will certainly be the most played one. With a much larger cast of characters than the first game, their interactions really add to the flavor of the game, and the sarcastic commentary is as great as ever.

    So why a 9 and not a 10? The truth of the matter is that Portal 2, as good as it is, is not an
    innvoative game; Portal was the innovator, and Portal 2 merely follows in its footsteps. Indeed, the game itself is essentially two Portals stuck back to back; you go through a testing facility, then you escape into the back rooms, then you do that AGAIN. The boss fight is even quite similar, and the fact that half the game is basically Portal all over again (different puzzles, but same plot) does not help.

    That being said, the game certainly is cute and is entertaining enough, and while some will complain that it is short, the truth of the matter is that it is the proper length - if the game was much longer, it would probably get wearisome, and the other problem is that, at some point, the puzzles will become too difficult for many people to solve.

    The little touches to the game - the possibility of hanging around and getting additional dialogue, as well as various posters, signs, and other things which are lying around the facility, all add to the depth of the game and make it a lot more of an experience - if it was just a straight up puzzle game, it wouldn't be very good. It is the characters and these little touches that make it.

    If there is one shortcoming of the game outside of being a rehash of Portal, it is graphics; the Source engine is old, and it shows badly in this game. Girders and similar objects are very triangular, and many of the textures are downright terrible. The character model for the main character also looks terrible, and any time you see yourself via the portals you have to wince at just how bad the model is; unlike most FPSes, in this game, you CAN see yourself, so it matters.

    All in all a good game, though whether it is worth $50 is something of an open question.
    Expand
  51. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    Good game as expected. Very worth to be played. There were only 2 personal minus points for me. The first one was that while portal 1 managed to suggest the feeling to be somehow lost in its world, leave predesigned tracks, "freely" explore its world within certain limits and solve puzzles in very different ways. In portal 2 i somehow felt to be kept on the very very short lead. Second was that i felt the architecture of the aperture science facilities to be out of touch with the half life universe. They tried to impress with ridiculous huge scales that do not seem to fit in anymore and damage its overal credibility. Expand
  52. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the all-time best puzzle game ever! It didn't take me long to finish it because I couldn't stop playing it. It is very addicting and one of the most hilarious games I can think of. I really can't think of anything bad to say about it, except it didn't really set itself up for a sequel, which would have been nice. It was a little slow, but that was only because I have Windows Vista, so that wasn't the game's fault. It had a good length, story, and had a great ending. Portal 2 is very quotable and memorable, although not very replayable. I wasn't a big fan of the online multiplayer mode, but I didn't take much time investing in it anyway. In video games, I usually get pretty irritated when I get stuck, but it wasn't like that in Portal 2 because of how interested I was in just figuring it out. This game is definitely worth buying off of Steam, because of the glory that you will eventually give it in time like I have. Expand
  53. May 22, 2011
    10
    The best game this year! It's miles away in quality from other puzzle games on the PC (exept for Braid I suppouse). What's great: story, dialogs, CHARACTER DESIGN, LEVEL DESIGN, co-op mode, music score, tutorials
    What's wrong: may be slightly too unrealistic physics for a game that bases on it so heavily...
  54. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    A worthy sequel, that sums it all up. The biggest complaint I have is the humor is more low-brow rather than dark and ironic like Portal 1 was. Still...it's a must-play. Valve has put out an incredibly polished and enjoyable game here. Oh, and Cave Johnson totally steals the show!
  55. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    The game builds onto the brilliant idea introduced in the first game, the portal gun, and finds new creative ways of using it. Instead of being as short as the original game, Portal 2 has about the same length as Half Life 2, and it is fun as hell along the whole way. An excellent game!
  56. May 18, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. This is probably the best game that Valve pulled out. A set of very sharp reflection in beautiful rooms with an atmosphere and excellent playability. I do not know what else to say about this game, except that you must have played Portal 2 at least once in his life. Portal 2 deserves the rating of 10/10 and its price.
  57. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    this game is awesome, but seems to have something missing to it compared to the original, but overall a fun experience, so buy it when you see it for 15-29.99 pounds, so... not 60 dollars....

    a fun, but somewhat emptyish experience...
    which i think is just me...

    80%
  58. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Another wonderful masterpiece brought to you by VALVe. This is A+ quality, well worth the $50 bucks.
    Everything looks so good in this game, the source engine seems to have evolved, it looks prettier than ever.
    If you liked the first installment of Portal, i'm sure you'll love Portal 2 with passion.
  59. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This one of the best games I've played in a very long time. Not only is it loads of fun, but it's interesting, funny and just a blast over all. I can't find one bad thing to say about this game other than it's very confusing at first but you get used to the entire portal system.
  60. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    Again, Portal 2 brought me experience that was so uniquely fun. I enjoyed this game from the beginning to the end and I am looking forward to Portal 3. Praise, to their creativity.
  61. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    After the great game that was Portal, Portal 2 takes the original and makes it better in almost every possible way. The single player game is much longer now, there are more challenging puzzles, and there are different types of environments. In addition to Glados, Portal 2 introduces some new characters, the most significant being Wheatley and to say the least he is annoyingly funny. Since its release, Valve have also provided a level editor as a free download so that you can make your own levels and share them on the Steam Workshop to share with others. Portal 2 is also great for multiplayer as you and a friend can play the co-op campaign and this provides some great challenges as you need to work together to solve the puzzles and reach the exit. If you haven't picked up Portal 2 yet, get it. Get your friends to pick it up too so then you can play the co-op campaign as well! Expand
  62. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Quite simply, this is one of the best shooters and first person games ever made. There are so many clever ideas as well as the already brilliant portal gun. It's probably the biggest improvement seen in a sequel to its original ever. Everything is better than portal 1, more mechanics, more stellar voice acting (particularly from the hilarious Stephen Merchant as Wheatley) and a much deeper and interesting plot. The puzzles are complex yet always possible, making you feel like a science whizz at the end of each puzzle. The co-op is also a definate plus, one of the best co-op experiences available. Quite simply, this game is a masterpiece. Expand
  63. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    What a fantastic sequel. It takes everything you liked from the first game, makes it better, and then throws in a lot more content. All without managing to ruin the spirit of the original. There's finally something to look at instead of the same dull test chamber. The story is longer and more complex, filling in a lot of the blanks from the previous game. Plus, the co-op mode is just as good, if not better, than the single player. Expand
  64. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the most polished and well put together games I have ever played. It's hard to say anything about this game that hasn't been said by the critics, but the thing that struck me most about Portal 2 is how seamlessly the gameplay and story come together. In traditional Valve style, Portal 2 never interrupts the gameplay with cutscenes, instead a lot of the plot and history of Aperture lie in the little details spread throughout the game. The game allows for an element of discovery practically unheard of in first person linear games, since most developers tend to think subtlety and something as simple as reading signs is beyond the capabilities of the player. Overall I think this game is a must have, the single player is great and the co-op works better than I thought. Expand
  65. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    What is to say about an amazing game like Portal 2? Jumping around and solving difficult but fun puzzles with a gun that shoots portals. But that is not all that goes for this game. The story is gripping and intense (really intense for a puzzle game) and even throws some unexpected twists at you. In my opinion, the story is the strongest aspect of the game, but the puzzles are fun as well. Although the puzzles can be frustrating, Portal 2 is an amazing game with almost 0 flaws and has an amazing story, great graphics, and amazingly cool mechanics. Expand
  66. Sep 13, 2011
    2
    Some people get Portal. I don't. I don't find it entertaining. It gets boring really fast. Perhaps it's the amazing start - too amazing to fit the rest of the game.
  67. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    What can I say that has not been covered already in all these reviews. A GOTY worthy title and a must have. One of my favourite games to date and probably Valves best ever title. A very enjoyable, engaging game with nice graphics , great voice-acting and great dialogue , you really can't ask for more from this gem.
  68. Feb 29, 2012
    5
    I must say I'm a bit surprised by how high the Portal games are generally rated. Portal 2 was more fun than the original, but it still only took me about 8 hours to play through the entire game, and that's with me exploring around a bit and not really hurrying. Despite 8 hours being very short for a game, it felt like a very long 8 hours (and not in a good way). Much like the original Portal, things simply get very repetitive, very quickly. Despite some fun dialogue and interesting levels, for the most part, there just isn't a whole lot of depth to the Portal series. It's just a bunch of fairly simple logic puzzles, running around to complete those puzzles, and witty dialogue. That's ok for what it is, but it's not something that I fell in love with. Expand
  69. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    Portal 2 is a lot larger than the first one. It also has a Coop mode (no challenge mode) and the puzzles are harder than in Portal. I really like how the characters change, but the atmosphere is worse than in the first game.
  70. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    This is a game that everyone can play, that everyone can enjoy. Portal 2 follows its legacy, only now you can experience the full might of it, and with your friends in co-op. Sure, it probably has half the content of other full-priced games, but it is over twice the fun. I understand that some people can be deceived, but it's really the only game I've played that has really surprised me (besides the Half-Life series and the first Portal, which you should get too). VALVe said it and VALVe did it again: when we thought we had all the fun we could get, they managed to surprise us once more. Expand
  71. May 14, 2012
    10
    Great to see the second installment of Portal became a full priced game, a great one at that. Portal 2 is simply a well executed game just like many others from Valve. The game stayed true from the first, advancing the puzzles and increasing the game life with a longer campaign and multiplayer modes. A separate Co-op campaign was another great feature. The game features great voice acting, memorable characters, the famous puzzles and great atmosphere. Portal 2 both lives up to the hype and proves itself as an amazing sequel. Expand
  72. May 2, 2011
    10
    I dont think i have ever played a game that makes me think really hard and have a blast playing it at the same time. i feel like the story is clever and the humor is a good addition to it and the gameplay is amazing i mean i know that valve is a group of smart people but there are SOOOOO MANY puzzels that are mind bending but you feel good when you finally figure it out. i would recommend this to people that are fans of valve or the first game or someone who just likes bending their wits end. This is one of the best games iv played out of the MANY MANY games i have played 10/10 Expand
  73. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    I've never been a puzzle games fun but i can say i regretted not buying it sooner, anyway as the previous Portal this game will reveal a lot of secrets hidden inside Aperture, be ready to more puzzles then you imagine !
    Also you will enjoy the amazing storyline while doing science !
  74. Apr 30, 2011
    8
    Excellent game which will keep you interested right until the end. The new resources available to you add to the already innovative first game as do the new characters (Steven Merchant is superb) - If you don't laugh your head off at some of the comments Crippen wasn't guilty.
    I have two complaints. Some of the puzzles could have been made more difficult (only two gave me any trouble at
    all) and the game is short. OK it's not that short by today's standards but add to this that the game has almost no replayabilty value and you have a few hours entertainment for £30. Valve could have easily got an extra mark from me by putting in the challenges from the first game (least portals, steps etc) - why they didn't is a mystery (DLC maybe). This would have extended the playtime significantly.

    If you like puzzles, a decent story and some excellent humour all rolled into one this is a must play. Just depends how much you want to pay for it.
    Expand
  75. May 25, 2013
    9
    greatest puzzle game to date. a brilliant game. its also the funniest game to date. its just hilarious!!!! the puzzles here are just exellent, and their just in the right place, it makes you think, but it doesnt et irritating, and its always possible to find the solution. he game is super funny!!!! there are also a lot of elements that change the puzzles and make them much better!!!
    negatives: the graphics are old!! the game look pretty old. the other problema is that some of the locations feel repetetive and bland.
    beside this little issues this is a really fun and brilliant game!!!!!!
    Expand
  76. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Pay no attention to the negative reviews, this is still a fantastic, funny, mind-bending experience that will go down in history. It takes all the good things about the first, and multiplies them, and also adds a handful of innovations. Game of The Year so far
  77. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    I just bought this game a few days ago. I haven't beaten it yet (I know its short), but so far it has won me over. This game, like the first, has such a charm to it that your left flabbergasted at how well put together it is. From the graphics to the voice acting, to the story line and the way its put together to the puzzles. I know I will end up spending hours upon end on this game, probably not only with the main storyline, but also with custom content and MP. Thank you valve, you actually managed to create a game with a proper sense of humor (the reds apparently didn't "get it"). I don't mind that it's short, aslong as those hours spent completing the game are spent with a big-ass smile on my face I am good. With this game I am smiling after I shut it down for the night. Expand
  78. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    Excellent SP story! Now.... Portal 2 is worthy, but overly simplistic due to also being available on consoles that use analogue controls. Hey, at least we have the steam workshop so we don't have to deal with the simple console based level design anymore. If you want a more challenging experience look to the portal 2 workshop on steam.
  79. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Wow, what an amazing game. And I thought that no sequel could surpass the first game. Valve really took what they had and mastered it to perfection. Portal 2 is extremely funny thanks to its great sarcastic humour, the puzzles are as always lots of fun and quite challenging (not challenging enough to annoy you and take forever to solve) and now there is even a co-op option, so one can experience this awesome game with a buddy. The player made levels are also a nice touch, providing basically unlimited content. If I were to compare this to the first Portal, the gameplay pretty much stayed the same, there are just a couple new gadgets to work with while solving puzzles. The story is now much longer though, so you're unlikely to finish it in one sitting. Graphics have also improved quite a bit, even though I think that it's running on the same engine.

    If you're not sure whether you should buy this, stop thinking and just do it, there is a 99% change that you will enjoy this more than whatever else you were planning on getting instead, I also recommend playing the first thing beforehand, if you haven't already done so, it should be no more than a couple euro on steam. Overall I'd give this game a 9, but a perfect score for GLaDOS.
    Expand
  80. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    One word: Kicka*s. Valve did good. REAL good.
  81. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    One of the best games ever made, certainly one of the best from the modern gaming era. Amazing ambiance, hilarious and sometimes deep/touching story. It has some good puzzles, but I feel like overall its an interactive story leaning more into the adventure genre.

    Portal 2 offers a lot of playtime with some replayability. Its a game you'll love and the quotes will get stuck in your head.


    It may be a little too smart or not pretentious enough for some people. I'm not really sure why anyone would give this game a negative review, except to arbitrarily counter all the positive ones.
    Expand
  82. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    While improving on the length of the original game was not that difficult it also managed fairly well on producing more imaginative puzzles although this was expected. It is simply a game that did what i expected, it added more humour, became longer, had new and better puzzles, improved on the dialogue and graphics and was once again very fun as the original was but unlike the original it did nothing revolutionary. 8.5/10. Expand
  83. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is an EXCELLENT GAME.... It starts off where portal 1 ended and the graphics are a slight improvement the game itself runs smooth, I have NOT had a single issue so far with 10 hours of game play. For those who gave this game a bad review shame on you, your style sucks anyway.
  84. May 21, 2012
    10
    This is Portal plus a 1000 awesomes. Stephen Merchant is super funny as Wheatley and made me cry in laughter quite a bit. GLaDOS is as funny as ever and there are some great ideas thrown into this sequel. The story is pristine and the 7 to 8 hours you spend playing the story make up for the price. The game has replay-ability for sure and the puzzles like the first aren't to easy but not to hard either.
    MUST BUY!
    Expand
  85. sft
    Jul 11, 2014
    10
    Great game, but still no cake

    Kudos to the guys at Valve for bettering an original yet again. Portal was a masterly work of originality and ingenuity and PORTAL 2 takes the principles laid down in the first game and develops them even further. The puzzles are even more creative and there’s a much wider variety of environments to work your way through. And these environments are often
    quite breathtaking to behold, which is in itself impressive given the age of the Source engine. Graphically it’s huge, expansive, and immersive. And then there’s the writing of course. Valve have always been at the head of the pack when it comes to the quality of the writing behind their games and P2 is no exception. The script is sharp, dry, and delivered to perfection by the cast. To top it all there is now the option to play community-created maps and coop games with others. What more could you want? Expand
  86. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    This is a great game. If you are on a Mac be aware that there are two bugs (swinging walls with no passage and portal in another wall that doesn't take) at the beginning of Chapter 5 that prevents moving forward. You need the cheat (contact Steam or get the online cheat commands because they don't know why it is happening) to move through the wall so you can progress further. If you don't know this can be very frustrating, took me 3 weeks to get past this point. Expand
  87. Aug 18, 2013
    7
    I'm not a big Valve fan, but Portal 2 is much better and than their other games. You have to go trough the first set of puzzles, then the story takes a big turn. The writing is smart, the gameplay feels very polished. The environments are mindblowing. And finally, it has a decent ending!
  88. gas
    Aug 6, 2012
    9
    Really a great game, one of the best games ever made in my opinion.
    Single player is great, ofc you must like puzzles to like the game, anyway the co op in my opinion is absolutely the best part, i dont remember other multiplayer games where i had more fun then this one.
    A must buy title.
  89. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    There is nothing more that I can ask from a single player video game then "Let me enjoy the single player experience. Valve literally did nothing wrong with this game. This game is underrated. it should have 100.
  90. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Agree @ Vescosein completely. I can't say enough how much i appreciate Valve for their innovative creativity and fair pricing system in a world of the gimmies and scam oriented marketing Valve is truly a breath of fresh air paired with unique products that stand the test of time. Thank You Valve for being my friend=] oh ya and i only just started playing Portal 2 but i already know it deserves every bit of the 10 i'm giving it! Expand
  91. May 19, 2012
    10
    The story is fun and humorous, the puzzles range from simplistic to diabolical, the characters are well fleshed-out, and the gameplay is absolutely engaging. A must-have.
  92. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    A really nice sequel to Portal. Much better graphics and gameplay. Valve took the brilliance of Portal and turned it into a full-blown title. Unlike Portal 1, where you could spawn NPCs and weapons from Halflife 2 using the command console, Portal 2 is using the newer source engine.

    The graphics are brilliant, the shading and physics were things that attracted me to get this.

    Good
    game, worth it definetely! Expand
  93. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    most the people who are voting this game down are saying the following in fancier terms "ITS A PUZZLE GAME, YOU DONT SHOOT ANYTHING, ITS STUPID, HURR DURR" Guess what folks, they have COD AIDS! IF YOU DONT LIKE A PUZZLE GAME, DONT, BUY, A, PUZZLE GAME, but guess what, this game is more of an adventure game than it is a puzzle game, the expierience that you will have when you play through this will be one that you will never forget because its that awesome. I had a friend say "Portal is stupid because it makes you feel smart" well guess what, all games are supposed to make you feel somthing, so that argument is irrelevent. Expand
  94. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    the people saying its only 2-5 hrs long have obv not played the game...the game is about 12 hrs single player and 10 hrs co op, so they have absolutely no idea what they are talking about. This is easily valves best game so far and it deserves a 9 and above....from the hilariously well written dialogue, to the awesome puzzles only console gamers cant figure out, to cross platform between the ps3 and pc, this game is marvelous. The people complaining about the potato sack sale are complete retards. you weren't forced to buy anything and the game was not delayed in any matter. So for you to be complaining for a company to do marketing, then you have some serious issues. Also, if you actually did the potato sack buy, you were rewarded, with a golden potato and the complete vale collection including PORTAL 2, so seriously, go whine somewhere else. Valve did this to support indie developers and its a shame to see the pc gaming community behave like Microsoft in this regard and not help out with what valve did. Its a sad day in pc gaming. I, however, will continue to support Valve in every single game. They have not disappointed me ever. Expand
  95. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is a worthy successor to the original. Sure the original had 1/10th the content and was basically bundled in with TF2 and HL2:Ep2 so you had a bunch of people thinking they got it for "free" and so they rated those 90 mins - 3 hrs as being amazing because they cost $5. Portal 2 is worth the full retail price. I pre-ordered it on Steam, got home from work today and played it for 6 hrs and still haven't finished the SP campaign but i'm well into it enough to say that it is a definite 9/10. Same great dialogue, character development, tantalising hints of a greater and much more epic story that links Aperture Science to the Half Life canon, without being too familiar. If anything this was it's biggest threat, being so familiar that people playing Portal 1 community maps would find Portal 2 disinteresting, but I personally found it refreshing at times and also very much like I was returning home at others. If you liked the Portal Universe you glimpsed previously, then you will definitely enjoy this. Steam version is the best version as always. Ignore the /v/ trolls. Runs flawlessly at 1920x1080 in vista on my q9450/260gtx. Great stuff GabeN. Cue 'jazz music' as this level is quite a challenge. Expand
  96. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I noticed something reading the reviews: almost every negative review (or negative portion of a review) was just typical PC gamers being whiny and entitled, and almost none of them talk about the game itself. I don't know about you but when I am getting a sequel to one of the greatest games of all time, I don't want too much change. If it aint broke, don't fix it, especially when it can be easily ruined... Otherwise this game was AMAZING and if you don't buy it you have no soul. Expand
  97. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    As perfect as it gets for a FPP (First Person PortalGun). The only flaw this has is that it isn't long enough. The Co-op playing is very good but also too short. It's beautifully design and rendered, brilliant level designs and has an excellent story with some top notch dialogue and voice-overs especially by Stephen Merchant and the great J.K. Simmons. Amazing stuff.
  98. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is just flat out fun. The single player is short (about 6-7 hours worth of play time) and isn't as challenging as Portal but it's much more creative and a joy to play. Co-op is incredibly fun and really is the best part about the game.

    The only flaws that I can find (and it's a nit pick anyway) are that like the first it is decidedly linear (but the environments are much more
    open and you don't feel as cramped) and that some of the solutions to the scripted events feel a little overly convenient.

    This is a top notch title that's simply fun to play.
    Expand
  99. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Genuine and a great successor to its predecessor. Definitely lived up to the hype although I still consider it short and may not be a fair trade, price-wise. Despite that, it was creative, intriguing, and ultimately satisfying.
  100. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Well seeing as there are already plenty of review on this game i'll be short and quick. This game is fantastic. The puzzles are hair pullers and when you figure them out you make yourself feel like your the dumbest person on the planet. Glados is back with her sarcastic and black humor. Wheatley is a great addition too, Stephen Merchant does a fantastic job on voice work. Though for me the character that shined was Cave Johnson's voice over. I was laughing so hard nearly every time a work came out his mouth. My only problem, is that there is really no replay value when finished. A puzzle is only good once. 9/10 Expand
  101. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    Portal 1 was brilliant. Short but sweet. Packed with interesting ways of using the portal gun.

    Portal 2, by comparison, is grand but bland. When i say grand, I do mean comparitively. Most will have the single player campaign finished in 4-7 hours depending on how good you are at these games. The coop will add around 2-3 hours to that. While I didn't find that an issue paticularly, what i
    did find was the really bland gameplay, despite the features. All you end up doing through most of the game is looking for the next obscure spot that you can put up the portal. You don't have to think really when doing the puzzles, more just poke around a lot. That said, there were a couple of moments where you turn around and think, "That was awesome," but it's back to the mundane from there.

    I could go on, but simply put, this game is gripping in the way that someone grabs you, pins you to a wall... and just holds you there for a few hours. Not worth the price tag unless our a dedicated portal fan.
    Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    90
    Almost as good as the first one. Main reasons are lack of cake, unfunny Wheatley and slightly boring one-solution middle-levels. Otherwise Portal 2 is as clever as it is well written. And now Half-Life 2: Ep 3, please. [May 2011]
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    90
    The graphics may not be of the same caliber of other AAA titles, and the story may falter from time to time, but those are paltry excuses not to experience one of the best current generation games around.
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    92
    A hilarious slice of gaming glory. [July 2011, p.92]