User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5088 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2011
    10
    Reasons to not to buy this game: NONE!!! (unless your husband or wife has recently warned you not to spend too much time on your PC or console playing games.) I have written several reviews on this Forum. But i have never been so enthusiastic about a game like this one. It is fascinating in many ways and great fun to play. Another game completely developed with the player in mind. Excellent value for money. Out of the box innovative, atmospheric puzzling game-play. I have played and enjoyed many good games in my life since the commodore 64 bit pc but this is one i will remember. I think that every year we find about 3 to 5 good games that are really worth buying. This one comes on top of my list list containing: World of goo, ME 3, Crysis 2, Dirt 2 and the Halflife series. Please do not let negative user reviews influence you on not buying this game. It is about 40-50 hours of fun and action on the single player campaign. (I haven't started the coöp mode yet.) Please give me a mark if you find this useful info. ps: There are a few easter eggs hidden in this game, check google if you wish to find them. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Complain all you want about paying $60 for a mini game, you should have shopped around and gotten it for $35 - $45 without ever leaving your couch by pre-ordering. It's freaking awesome, funny, challenging and great looking.

    If you're complaining about the potato sac deal, get over it. You bought a cool collection of games cheap and played them for a few hours. "OH GOD, I HAD TO PLAY
    SUPER MEAT BOY" --- boo-hoo.

    The game is plenty long for the single player and co-op extends the play time out even more. If you rated it a 1 or 0, then go crawl back under your hole and play minecraft. It's free and you can play it forever.
    Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Valve releases another winner with Portal 2. Every puzzle is challenging without being frustrating; every joke and voice-over is laugh-out-loud funny. The backstory of Aperture Science is also approached in an interesting way. Those who are complaining that they beat the game in a half-hour, rating it a 2 and asking for their money back need to stop it...no one's impressed. Because in the end, those people aren't playing games for the right reason anyway. Just go out and buy Portal 2 now...well worth it. Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    For me best game of the year up to now. Im not one of those people that give a 10 if they like a game and a 0 if they dont , that is why the user score is not that good , but im giving it a 10 because i think it deserves it. The writing was EXCELLENT being one of the most funny games i have ever played , the music was OMG if your in to that type and the puzzles where not to difficult but well enough made to make you use your brain , which is fine with me . The major complaints about this game is about its day 1 dlc and its length. First of all you should not rate a game by its dlc but what comes in the package. What if the best game in the world for you comes out and the next day dlc comes out for it ? Whould your opinion about the game change in any way ? The correct answer is NO so stop reading reviews from people that gave the game a 2 because it dint have some hats ( wtf ? ) in it for free . Now about the time that it takes you to complete this game i can understand people complaining especially if they rarely buy a game . Thow this game is not short by any means ( about 12-18 hours with coop ) for a game at this age , its probably not enough for some people . If a game has just got single player it should last 60 hours or if it has multiplayer it should last someone a whole year . For me i believe that that VALVe has chosen quality over quantity ( as i said thow its not that short as people keep saying ) so i dont think i should reduct points from it. Before i finish i want to say that this is the ps3 version so you also get steam on your console which gives you steam achievements cross platform coop with the pc and mac steam cloud which allows you to save your ps3 progress and continue on your pc . Oh dint i mention ? if you puy the game for the ps3 you also get a code to download it for free on steam . FOR FREE PEOPLE so its not a complete waste of money is it ? VALVe i Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I really don't know what is up with the negative reviews. Yes, it's more expensive. But I played this last night and it was awesome fun since the last one in 2007. I was skeptical at first as well, but the great voice acting once again and the new game mechanics proved me wrong.
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    SPROGGER you're an idiot. Nothing to add. What a retarded. I don't understand useless idiots like you, stop bashing great game you retarded. I'm glad that you aren't a professional reviewer because you don't have the intelligence.
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is almost outstanding with some crucial technical flaws that gave this game rating a four for me. First, the game rating would have been retained as "T for Teen" since adventure and violence are too intense for young children. Second, one level in one map loading at a time makes a lot of players knew it was a ported PC game from the video console. Third, the story is great with some laughs, but redundant drama isn't making a good sense of keeping up the gameplay. Fourth, the SP game campaign is as long as any recent Call of Duty game with a "not-so-worth it" regular price. The co-op campaign was a great addition but having 100+ levels of puzzles and having additional DLC and MP features would have secured a outstanding deal out of this game. I loved the graphics with its recent engine but overall the best game by Valve is always the first Half-Life game, period. Expand
  8. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Unfortunately a number of small minded, petty people have become blinded by anger at the decisions of valve and seem to be unaware that they are supposed to be rating and reviewing the game, not the developer or distributor. In short, simply disregard any zero reviews. But I digress, Portal 2 is an excellent game. The graphics have undergone a huge improvement since the origional with greatly improved gameplay. One of the greatest carry-overs from the origional is the fantastic writing, I was genuinely laughing throughout and the performaces behind the voices were amongst the best I have ever heard. Portal 2 is a serious contender for many gaming awards and well deserving of its praising reviews. Expand
  9. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    After seeing so many bad reviews lowering Portal 2's score, I felt compelled to write one review myself. In a nutshell, Portal 2 is a great game, definitely better than the original. It is probably three times longer, the single-player campaign is really funny and well designed. You will feel like a genius after solving many of the test chambers. The only difference between this game and the original Portal is that while the original game came out as an unexpected pleasant surprise, this one was preceded by insane levels of hype (particularly after being preceded by the mind boggling Valve ARG). In my opinion, this is the only reason this game is getting somewhat lower scores than the original Portal. There are many people that cannot make an objective review of something after so many hype, they will always feel letdown, no matter how great the game is. Expand
  10. BMF
    Apr 21, 2011
    10
    All the people who gave negative reviews dont know what they are talking about. With portal 2 Valve showed they are still the number one gaming company on the planet and I cant wait to see what Half Life 3 and source engine 2 will bring to the table. Portal 2 shows that puzzle games can also be story driven epics with highly detailed environments and characters that you wish you could meet in real life. Coop and single player combined took around 13 hours to complete and I will definitely be jumping back in game for more. Collapse
  11. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    If you disregard all of the user reviews that have egregiously bad spelling and grammar (not knowing the diference between there/they're/their, spelling 'paid' as 'pay'd', for example) then only positive reviews are left for this game. Which is as it should be, this game is deserving of all the superlatives being tossed at it. So do yourself a favor and ignore all the idiocy going on in this user review section, and get this game now. Expand
  12. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    some people are complaining about Portal's transformation into half life episode 3. this game rocks. its a good portal game. it has superb mind blowing puzzles. narration is incredible. Glados' passive-aggressive dialogues are super funny! Go buy it, work on puzzles achievements when you are done with the game find a friend and play multi-player. and get over with it. ITS A VALVE GAME. VALVE ROCKS! Expand
  13. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the of the finest games I've played in a long time. Funny, inventive, challenging, memorable, great voice acting, and striking level design. Game of the year for sure.
  14. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Brilliant. An example of gaming done right, without resorting to violence yet still exciting. Imaginative and intelligent plot, music and gameplay with equal parts drama, introspection, loneliness and action. And comedy, of course!
  15. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game is a **** piece of art (look here, Mr. Ebert). It continuosly surprises you and pushes the limits, it's full of humor, the production values are outstanding.

    At a normal pace and looking around, it took me 9 hours to finish it. The coop is also excellent, I haven't finished it yet and I've played 4 hours already. Given today's standard length for games, that's very good,
    especially thinking that there's no filling here. Every single minute is excellent.

    The first thing I did when I finished the game was start again. This is game of the year, probably game of the decade.

    Any user that gives this less than a 9 because they didn't get to play it days earlier, or because Valve somehow put a gun in their heads and forced them to play some of the best indies out there at a fantastic price, is a **** IDIOT that should sell his or her computer, and never play a game again. Write down their names, and never ever again read whatever drivel they have to say. They have no soul.

    Stop reading this already and go buy the game. It's THAT good.
    Expand
  16. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This game is nothing short of fantastic, I stood up all night waiting for it to come out, and when it released... everyone on steam went mad. All my friends quickly started up the game and played for hours straight, and I did the same. I finished the game in 10 hours and the puzzles in Portal 2 are much harder than the first Portal, and I just love it. The ending is nothing short of Jaw-dropping, since it is completely un-expected, but i wont spoil it :D. The multiplayer is very funny also if you have a great friend if you want to play with, since you are always having to deal with the urge to kill your partner :D. There is so much about this game that I love, VALVE is showing the world that PC gaming is not dead! Expand
  17. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Loving this game. 6 hours played so far and I'm failing on the white-out level due to my eyes hanging out! Beautifully polished game, with great voice acting and good humour. Was absolutely worth the wait. I've not tried cooperative yet but the single player alone has been worth the purchase and I'm not even finished yet!

    10/10 Valve - superb work.
  18. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is an improvement upon the first in every way. Funnier, better graphics, and the puzzles require greater thought to pass, especially when they add gel to the mix. It loses 1 point because I bought the PC version, and I'd have to buy another copy in order for my girlfriend to play co-op with me.
  19. May 6, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game, but not a revolutionary step forward. It takes the same gameplay as the first Portal, expands it a little bit, and stretches the game time out a little. Even with co-op, I think the content is a little weak for the $60 price tag. The puzzles seem less aggravating as the first game - I never once had to read a walk-through online. But, now that it's beaten, I really don't have any inclination to pick it up and play again. Expand
  20. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Undoubtedly the best game of the past 5 years. First I will address the trolls: I don't know why everyone throws this $60 number around, because on Steam, it's $49.99, and it's well worth the price. Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops sold for more and have DLCs that were actually necessary to the game, and I would still say "Portal 2 is better" with a straight face. Speaking of DLCs, I would appreciate it if people didn't just say "I heard Portal 2 has DLCs, that's crap!" and actually figured out that it's similar to TF2's Mann Co. Store - just hats and weapon changes (hardly upgrades). However, Portal doesn't sell any weaponry, just simple cosmetic effects (i.e. hats) that have absolutely no effect on gameplay and are 100% unnecessary. The $80 number you hear? That's just the combined value of EVERYTHING in the store, which nobody in the world would ever buy. It should not be included in the game. If people want to put a hat on a robot unnecessarily, I believe Valve can make them pay for the privilege so we don't have everyone dressed up like pimps while solving puzzles. It is not "robbery". It is not forced. It is for people who have money to blow. If you don't want to spend extra money, pay $49.99 and enjoy the game. As for the completion time, anyone that says they're completing it in under 6 hours (ESPECIALLY on their first try) is pulling your leg, possibly because they think the Steam game timer is accurate (hint: it's not). It took me approximately 9 not including my foray into the co-op, and I didn't get stuck very often. The singleplayer is memorable, entertaining, and the ending will draw tears. I can't say that for Black Ops. The whole potato ordeal - if you had played the game, you would have noticed several references to potatoes (including one that's right in front of you for the entire second half of the game!) but the entire point of the Potato Sack sale was to market indie games, NOT to cheat people out of money for worthless potatoes. If you bought the Potato Sack to earn potatoes, I'm sorry, but you're an idiot. Those who bought it to play the indie games, congratulations, you now have $120 worth of games for only $30! Cool, huh? And hey, if you managed to earn all possible potatoes, Valve did a one-up - you got the ENTIRE Valve Collection PLUS gift codes for all of your games in your ENTIRE library to give to friends PLUS a free extra copy of Portal 2! Hence, I'm not so sure why the Potato Sack sale was a bad thing. Now, onto the review: Portal 1 was an entirely new genre, which makes it fun and refreshing, but lacking on a lot of puzzle elements. Only so much one can do with two portals and some cubes. Portal 2 takes the storyline, puzzle elements, and preconceptions based off of Portal 1 and turns it on its head. Anyone that played the original MUST play this - you will be confused, lost, and bombarded with emotions, and I will say that what you came away with from Portal 1 is all wrong. The graphics are amazing, especially for a Source game. The tweaks to the facility make the storyline really start to shine, and the underground chapters blew my mind. Those saying Portal 2 didn't expand on Aperture's history obviously have not played the game, as it showed 3 decades of it quite vividly! I loved Portal, but it pales in comparison to this game. If you have any love for the Portal series, you're a puzzle gamer by any means, or you'd just like to experience GLaDOS's impeccable sense of sarcastic humor (not to mention Wheatley, Cave, the announcer, and the defective turrets!) then you must purchase this game. Expand
  21. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely wonderful. Keeps you on your toes, varies its visual style much more than the first Portal, is three times longer (it took me about 9 hours to complete not rushing), has even more easter eggs and lovely hidden things to find, doesn't stop throwing funny dialogue at you, challenges you more, offers more gameplay variety without breaking anything and everything is balanced nearly perfectly. I can't think of much at all that is at fault, and I have only played co-op for a little bit so far.

    I also started playing through with developer commentary and the opening sequence took them 92 days to complete. This is a labour of love guys, and it shows, it's non-stop hilarity and wonder throughout and has beaten Half-Life 2 to my favourite game of all time. It's gonna be a while until someone beats this in my mind.

    There are people complaining? I'm bewildered. Truly.
    Expand
  22. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The best game ever ! Beautiful, funny, and very very immersive. Just huge! I did put the max rating because the game is not perfect, but Portal 2 clearly approaching. Great gameplay , great design and graphics, a nice story, humor and a fantastic atmosphere! An intelligent game, although I find it a little too easy. As for Coop, he's amazing. What fun ! You too, enjoy yourself, and start your adventure, you will not regret it.

    Thank you so much Valve

    My score : 10

    P.S : Sorry for my poor English, I'm French.
    Expand
  23. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Let us just set the record straight, these reviews giving portal anything less than at least an 6 are just people who were fully prepared to hate the game upon release. I am by no means a Valve Fanboy, I too was upset by the marketing ploy of the Potato Sack and the false pretenses of the "release portal 2 early" but all that aside this game is by far the BEST GAME released in the last year. People who say that this game is "only 4 hours long" have to be some form of Ultra Mecha robot programmed to destroy games in the quickest way possible skipping all dialogue and ignoring any possible discovery of easter eggs. I consider myself an accomplished gamer and I wasnt even halfway through the game and I had playing for at least 4 hours. Factor in the added co-operative mode which is easily at least another 4 hours with its own unique characters and storyline, somehow the math doesnt add up.

    Portal 2 has the charm and feel of the original with better PhysX *pardon the pun* and updated graphics. Sadly I think those that say the graphics are dated honestly must be using the same Computer/Video card that they used to play the original. I personally was able to run the game at 16xMSAA and and 8xASF 1900x1200 and the game looks flawless. Sound is amazing as always *Hard Light bridges 60hz humming the theme song, what?* It almost has a feel of the music games where every action leads another piece of aural harmony. I would recommend using a headset to get the full effect however. I will say however that this is a PC game, users who got the Xbox version may be a little disappointed, the 360 is dated tech anyway. The PS3 version might be marginally better, but I know they myself personally would have a hard time trying to solve some of the puzzles using Dual Analog just for sheer reflex and accuracy alone. As I stated before I am not a MkVII Portal Puzzle Destruction Android. The puzzles are tricky, they start off slow and easy but quickly become harder and more fast paced. I found myself scratching my head in a few parts wondering not only what the point of the puzzle was but then how to solve it.

    Just to quickly touch on the "Day 1 DLC" claims... are you people retarded? They're hats and skins to make your co-op robot prettier... if you dont want a pretty robot... DONT BUY IT, IT HAS NO BEARING ON THE ACTUAL GAME! Sorry for that...

    TL;DR - Game of the Year. Red Reviews are Ignorant morons who need to go back to playing Madden. This game is art in every sense of the word, Visuals pop, Audio is aural ecstasy, story and gameplay are wedded in bliss. Stop being butthurt and allow yourself to enjoy this amazing game!
    Expand
  24. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    One of the only games I've ever played that actually met my high expectations.

    First off, the single-player mode is simply incredible. The writing is brilliant, the graphics are beautiful, and the gameplay is amazing. And the great thing is, the action and witty dialogue never stop or slow down as you play through the story. As soon as you start it, you'll want to keep on playing until
    you've finished it. As for the online co-op mode, I've yet to play it, but I hear it's just as good.

    Bottom line, buy it. The story mode alone is worth the price of admission.
    Expand
  25. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    This is a great game, valve certainly doesn't disappoint. This sequel introduces a whole LOT of more gameplay elements like light bridges, tractor beams, lasers, 3 types of gels etc.

    Overall, I give this game a 9.5 for the single player. I take off half a point because the single player campaign feels too scripted. I don't remember the original being this scripted. They literally tell
    you exactly where to put the portals to solve the puzzles. The rest of it is great: Glados is her usual awesome self :) and it feels like there is much more story this time around. I also liked the different environments, some of which are quite retro and reminded me of Fallout. I got it at 75% off on steam. I feel like i'm practically stealing the game at that price.

    The game also has a great level editor and zillions of community built maps to keep you busy for practically forever.
    Expand
  26. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is an absolutely fantastic game. Amazing level design, I have been going round and stood still many times just to marvel at the beauty of the levels. The level design really makes me feel immersed in the game and gives me the experience I was looking for, really giving the feeling of being in an immense underground complex.

    The puzzles don't feel as challenging as the previous
    title, I only got stuck twice because I either couldn't see where to go next, or took a little longer to work out how to use the new features.

    People are complaining about day one DLC and saying it is inexcusable, day one DLC is inexcusable ... WHEN it adds something to the main game/ story. Day one DLC that is just cosmetic for the co-op and does not add anything to the experience what so ever at all ... is fine. If you're not happy about the DLC, vote with your wallet and don't buy it, it adds nothing, you're not missing out!

    Portal 2, game of the year (so far).
    Expand
  27. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    this is a review of portal 2. portal 2 is amazing, it is a very very very very very good game and the only thing i want to do is to give this game 10 points because there are many strange people out there that are rating the game down and portal 2 is much better than 8.2. i don't understand people hating this title.
  28. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Easily the best game I've played so far this year. This game exceeded my expectations in almost every way (which is saying a lot, my expectations were quite high). The characters are amazing, the story equally so, and all the dark humor that made the first one so enjoyable has been absolutely perfected in the sequel. Yes, the single-player story might be a tad on the short side (I believe I finished up in 6-7 hours without rushing), but I'm a firm believer in quality of quantity. To give some comparison, I clocked in 30 hours in Dragon Age 2, and even considering that I feel as though I completely wasted my money on that game. With Portal 2, I finished feeling as though I got my money's worth and so much more. Now on to the co-op story! Expand
  29. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Better than Half-Life 2 (my opinion)! i haven't laughed so hard in any video game before. I loved the humor and the characters. The voice acting is amazing! Took me 15 hours to beat the game. I haven't tried the online co-op yet! I can't wait for Portal 3! loved it loved it loved it! Incredible game. 10/10 =)
  30. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    The sheer quality of Portal 2's content is incredible. The characters are so well written and acted, the plot for a game which has little more to its core than shooting portals is truly epic in every sense of the word, the source engine still looks incredible and in my opinion better than most newer engines currently being used. As you progress you're just drawn further and further into the plot, and the two main characters (other than yourself) really make the story, and thus the game, providing all kinds of banter, twists, reveals, and so on. The levels are always satisfying. I was never left perplexed for more than 5 or 10 minutes at what I needed to do, but then getting it done in the correct order would be another task in itself, and most of the rooms/puzzles are truly satisfying to take on. The game length is fairly short, but any longer would have left the concept to become stale - so as a one time play-through, it's about the right length. However there-in lies its downfall - it is just a one time play-through (same with co-op)and the reason why i can't give it a higher score despite very much wanting to, and everything else about the game being deserving of it. I would also liked to have seen some more complex and twitch-based or portal-loop based chambers including some of the features removed from the game during playtests, as these looked in videos, to be some of the most exciting and fast-paced - I suppose this is the other reason why I can't give it a 9. At times the lighting really wowed me, and to think this is a rather dated engine, what it can produce with a few updates is pretty amazing. To top it off, you also have a fair bit of co-op that provides a lot of fun, and no doubt many mods and content to come from valve and the community. Hopfully valve and the community will be releasing new test chambers soon.â Expand
  31. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. Only bad thing about it is the whole gesture thing. But hey it's optional right? GOTY 2011 so far for me. Also can't beat the low price
  32. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    I loved every second of it, its amazing. For all the people rating it low because it should had been added as DLC? Seriously? It may have been fairly short but it was worth it. You wouldnt had have the same expierence on the old source engine. The new one pushes everything to the max. The ending is amazing too.
  33. Jul 16, 2011
    7
    Definitely not worth the $50 that Valve's been selling it for. Glad I got it during its half-off sale. For the amount of gameplay you get (8 hours for me) and the overall quality of the game, $30 is a more reasonable price. But that's if they didn't then shake you down for co-op robot customization DLC. As others have pointed out, the polish of this game is phenomenal; the models, textures, environments, and animations are all top-notch work and quite believable. The puzzles are generally very good and I liked all the new mechanics that were added. I wish there were a few more puzzles with the gels plus some of the more traditional mechanics, though. The part that bums me out the most about Portal 2 is the story. It's very convoluted and gets rather stale towards the end. Unlike the first Portal, the story breaks into what I think is the main draw of the game, the puzzles, too much. Expand
  34. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This was a great game. Great voice work, level design, challenge, and amazing graphics for an outdated engine. It is about 6 hours for both the single player and coop story lines . While there is an in-game store, it only has different skins and gestures to customize the coop characters. There is nothing that effects the gameplay at all, it is only a cosmetic change. As with all of there other games, I'm certain Valve will release free "game changing" DLC. Also, people can also count on the community to release some crazy made stuff Expand
  35. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    The game play was excellent, top notch as expected.
    The story was lame, no mystery in it at all, blunt and crazy and somehow still in the Half-Life universe. Really lame writing, not realistic or believable in any sense. Its almost like a fan-fic a 10 year old wrote. Far too much dialog and the characters are written for fanboy's(and fangirl's).
    The graphics were great, not top notch break
    your computer amazing but it didn't disappoint.
    The load screens were frequent but short.
    The length is short, REALLY short. If you want to play co-op (I don't care about co-op) than it goes from extremely short to really short.
    The Replay value is 0. I found some invisible walls/pushing entities that just make me mad, let me play my game, if I want to die in some spectacular way, let me.

    Overall this game is like a very very delicious Filet Mignon that may have been slightly overcooked. Its delicious and I really enjoyed it, but there are better things to spend $50 on.

    At the end of the day I find myself enjoying the steak sample Ihad years ago in Portal 1 which left me salivating for me. This game left me with a strange aftertaste and a thinner wallet.
    Expand
  36. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Complaints about DLC are retarded. The "DLC" in this is entirely cosmetic. It has no impact on gameplay at all. Go read that again. It's stuff to customize how your player looks in co-op mode, and that's it. No levels. No items. No nothing of consequence. If you want a pink player in co-op, then you can go buy it. If not, forget about it and go play the game. This is not a problem.

    I'm
    deducting 1 point because the game isn't terribly long and doesn't have a lot of replay value, but it's a damn fun game while it lasts and I totally feel like I got my monies worth. Expand
  37. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    It's one of the most mediocre games I've played. The humor was fantastic, I thoroughly enjoyed that aspect, but it's not what makes the game. The puzzles were fairly dull. They through in some new gimmicks this time around, but they replaced a lot of the old ones. Puzzles involving old fashioned portal physics are minimal at best. Now, you just spread some goo around. Sure, it's a puzzle game and there were puzzles... but Portal 2 isn't a physics puzzle game. A big part of a physics based puzzle game is breaking it... You know, finding ways to complete the level or bypass content that was never intended. The game was built with so many invisible walls that it was impossible. I feel they improved upon the Portal mechanics themselves though. When you pass through a portal the transition feels much smoother (mostly referring to camera transitions). Still, my biggest complaint about Portal 2 is load times. When I die, don't waste my time at a load screen. What portal 2 truly needed was a sense of anxiety. Some sort of actual threat would have gone a long way to making things interesting... and how did they decide to release this without a map editor for the users? I'm appalled at how many people can give a game a perfect 0 or 10. The reviews doing so are rarely worth reading or even remotely helpful. A perfect score for any game is nonsense. Expand
  38. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I honestly don't know what all the fuss is about. I haven't beaten it yet...around 5 hrs in...but I'm close. The game is superb. Yes it feels similar to the first, but why mess up a broken formula? There are so many great new mechanics that keep the game fresh and exciting. The graphics are a little less than they could have been, but IMO still look fantastic especially on an older engine. Honestly the graphics don't look a whole lot weaker than some of the other subpar games released within the past year or so (looking at you CoD...). The game is very inventive...great puzzle that require thinking to solve. Portal 2 also has incredible voice acting and sounds. The story is even a thrill.

    To the people complaining I don't get it. The DLC complaint is just ridiculous. You know that it's just silly things then why buy it? Valve doesn't force you to buy the hats and gestures. Who cares if your robot can twirl or wave in coop? Seriously....if you need new ways to communicate with your partner in coop there's two programs called Ventrillo and TeamSpeak that can handle that for you.

    I'm tired of seeing good games get bad reviews cause everyone is sour on this DLC material. Yes it's annoying, but there's not much going to happen. The industry is going this way so deal with it. If you don't want the material, don't buy it. At least with Portal 2 the DLC is ridiculous things that don't matter...they didn't put part of the storyline in there or anything so people should just calm down.

    Bottom line...buy this game and fully enjoy the game of the year candidate. Honestly this is avg a 95 by critics right now?! Cmon they can't all be paid off =P. If you skip out on this cause of the ridiculous things people are throwing negative reviews at it for...then you're missing out on one of the best experiences I've ever had in gaming.
    Expand
  39. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    yea yea. We expected more from the game. But its still amazing. C'mon, is almost impossible to make something better than portal 1 and they made it! BUT LOTS OF PEOPLE dont want just a better game, they want a perfect game.
    Hatters ganna hate.
  40. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    Portal 2 is a fine game. But Valve seems to have worked on the Alternate Reality Game more than they did the actual game. It's still very short (only 6-7 hours on my first run) and very rarely did I get stuck for more than 5 minutes. Don't get me wrong, everything from gameplay to graphics has been polished to a fine shine, but that's where I start to get disappointed. It feels too familiar. Everything that happens you kind of expect to happen. No big surprises like the last game. The character wheatley feels...out of place and at times, annoying. Portal was largely an out of body experience, with a very light story on the side. With the bigger and better script, Portal 2 is lighter on the gameplay and heavier on the story. Shame. When you get to thinking about it, Portal was an accidental masterpiece, to they point where valve didn't even sell it as its own product for nearly a year. They tried replicating the experience, but ended up copying and pasting many major events of the originals story. Co-Op, so far, is a nice addition. The maps definitely have more challenge to them than the campaign and the robots are very charming to be with, almost to the point where you don't want to talk, just to see the mute bots do their job. My only major issue so far is the price point. Portal 2 is fun, but has no replay value and a very short length. It's simply not worth the price of admission. Expand
  41. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Aight. So i'm going to explain the history of the ARG to those who are thinking of buying this game. Here we go.
    First, clues were released. Some you could find in real life, some on websites, some in games. 36 potatoes were believed to be attainable for a certain 'reward' that was hinted at. A timer for a POSSIBLE early release was shown on Friday April 15th. No promises, never worded
    like "ITS RELEASING EARLY THIS FRIDAY." None of that. Being the non-idiot that I was, I anticipated an april fools joke, which it wound up being. Apparently nobody found it funny, although I found it hilarious, especially when everyone nerd raged. So then ARG became official. If you wanted to partake you either had to buy the potato pack or had to have all the indie games already. It wasn't FORCED or OBLIGATED, and yet everyone complains of course. If you didn't want to participate, didn't want the early release, THEN DON'T PARTICIPATE most of us said, but they kept whining. They even have the gall to say that every game in the pack sucked. Amnesia, Killing Floor, Audiosurf and more, in the pack, all some of my most favourite games have been heralded for being some of the best most unique indie games out there. Not my fault that you love your Black Ops or Dragon Age 2 so much you lost sight on what makes a game good, but moving on.
    Disaster happens, Portal 2 console gets leaked, spoilers are spammed all over the forums by trolls, and somehow Valve becomes responsible. Even if people don't claim they are responsible though, they still cling onto this "We are entitled to early release because at this point i'm sad and the ending is spoiled for me, please don't make me sad anymore, the damage is done now release release release!!!" Which of course is ridiculous. Games get leaked or pirated early ALL THE TIME. You are NOT entitled to anything. There was no sense in having it released this early simply because a few idiots went on the forums despite the leak being common knowledge. Those that aren't whiny emos either leave it alone or participate, or at the very least looked at all this with more of a critical eye. 60% of the profits from the potato pack was going to indie developers, which is always a good thing in my book. We were racking up the indie game hours so we could chip a few hours off the timer, and thats what we got. We had a midnight release, which was glorious. Those that collected all the potatoes(Which the whole process was actually fun by the way, was kind of like detective work) got it even earlier than the others, and also received the valve complete pack. Amazingly generous, and yet people still complain about not getting extra copies if they already had it, those that didn't complete it on time called it **** blah blah blah. So what it all was was a bunch of people being sore losers. They either couldn't afford the potato pack which is fine, it just means you don't get the perks. Don't know about you but I think the world works that way, the more you pay the more perks you get. Also those that work (for their potatoes) those that put time into it get huge perks. Simple as that. If you missed out thats entirely your fault. If you don't like it this way and you are incapable of looking at Valve as a game company, not a charity case, then your view is skewed.
    They can be generous, but there is a limit. All in all the ARG campaign was intricate and fun, and Portal 2 (As of now I have finished it) was a gorgeous gorgeous game. I have to admit with it being rated E and all I expected it to be stuffed with cheese, but it had just the right amount to make it enjoyable. The day one dlc that everyone is making a fuss about are just a few extra skins. Nothing akin to Bioware having day one dlc like an entire character that affects the story or anything. Don't want it? Don't buy it, simple. This goes for just about everything that I mentioned in this review.
    I hope this brought some perspective. If it didn't thats too bad, because you're missing out.
    Expand
  42. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is a worthy successor to the original. Sure the original had 1/10th the content and was basically bundled in with TF2 and HL2:Ep2 so you had a bunch of people thinking they got it for "free" and so they rated those 90 mins - 3 hrs as being amazing because they cost $5. Portal 2 is worth the full retail price. I pre-ordered it on Steam, got home from work today and played it for 6 hrs and still haven't finished the SP campaign but i'm well into it enough to say that it is a definite 9/10. Same great dialogue, character development, tantalising hints of a greater and much more epic story that links Aperture Science to the Half Life canon, without being too familiar. If anything this was it's biggest threat, being so familiar that people playing Portal 1 community maps would find Portal 2 disinteresting, but I personally found it refreshing at times and also very much like I was returning home at others. If you liked the Portal Universe you glimpsed previously, then you will definitely enjoy this. Steam version is the best version as always. Ignore the /v/ trolls. Runs flawlessly at 1920x1080 in vista on my q9450/260gtx. Great stuff GabeN. Cue 'jazz music' as this level is quite a challenge. Expand
  43. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Basically, as amazing as a sequel to Portal possibly could have been. Brilliant puzzles, new mechanics, new characters with new humor, the same old characters with the same old humor. And excellent co-op. There's nothing to criticize.
  44. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a 10 on the strength of the multiplayer component alone... I've honestly never had as much fun with a random person... I was literally whooping for joy on completion of some of the tougher puzzles.

    That being said, the single player campaign is absolutely perfect. A perfect gaming experience. It deserves an 11 to be honest... anyways I just finished it and I'm still
    soaking it in... All i have to say is... Great job valve. Greatest game company in the world. Expand
  45. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Games that completely stimulates your mind are a rarity these days. When Portal came out, it was unlike anything I played. Portal 2 completely realises what Portal have achieved and expanded it into a full scale, mind boggling experience. Portal 2 is a one of a kind game. The simple controls, ingenious game mechanics, humorous storyline and overall mental satisfaction makes this game one of my favourites. Expand
  46. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best game I have ever played. Don't listen to people who say its to short, or unfinished, or etc, because it is not. This game is perfect in just about every way, and worth closer to 100 dollars then 50.
  47. May 11, 2011
    9
    Great quality. Not enough really complex puzzles though. The final puzzle was great, but I wish they would have added more that were equally complex.
  48. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I had super high expectations for thing game, and it exceeded them in every way. This is why I play games. Beautiful graphics, funny dialogue, pure fun to play. In one word, amazing.
  49. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Excellent soundtrack, top notch voice work, challenging single player and coop campaign. The amount of polish that went into this product is staggering and should be seen as the gold standard that any developer should reach. Well worth playing by anyone who enjoys games and having their puzzle solving abilities tested.
  50. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Ignore the trolls trying to say lower the score.

    Words can not even describe the awesomeness of this game. It's truly a masterpiece. Valve has once again created an amazingly unique experience. The only game you can get an experience like Portal 2, would be from Portal 1.
  51. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    If you enjoyed Portal, you will enjoy Portal 2. It's funny, creative, and different. What else can you ask for in a game? I honestly don't know what people are talking about when they whine about "level design" and "art design" being bad. Also, I'm about 4 hours in right now and not near the end, and that's not counting co-op. And for what it's worth, game length isn't everything. You WILL play this more than once. If you've been wondering about it, but were dissuaded by these whiny brats on here, worry no more! Just get the game. You will like it. Expand
  52. May 3, 2011
    9
    A brilliant game made with amazing ideas, but lacking difficulty. Was I the only person that felt as if the game lacked? I felt like a little bit was missing when I completed the game. When I analyzed how the SP played, I figured out why. 1. The game is quite linear. As you progress, you begin to notice that if there is a white spot on the wall, you will more than likely have to use it to complete the puzzles. Most of them can only be done 1 way. 2. Gameplay never goes in depth. You never have to do anything nearly as difficult as the original Portal, which sometimes required quick reflexes, and double portal jumping. It seems as though the game is consolized a bit. I thought that by purchasing it on PC, I would be getting a better experience (minus graphics), but I found that to not be true because the responsiveness of a mouse and keyboard were not utilized throughout the game. You rarely have to incorporate more than 1 thing in order to solve a puzzle once you figure it out, and they begin to get easier to figure out as you progress due to the linear level design. The levels begin to lack variety and I never felt like it fully introduced me into using the gels as a way of solving levels. They felt more like they were introduced and left at that. You simply use them once a level and are done. 3. The game had too many loading screens which didn't help immerse me in the game. Sure, they were short, but very frequent, sometimes within a minute of each other. 4. Lack of Real-time destruction. The game nice scripted events that were very elaborate. Sadly, these grew tiresome to me toward the end of the game. I wanted to be able to break the glass myself (you can't). I wanted to pick up chairs and interact with broken glass shards (you can't). About the only thing you can interact with besides the main storyline things are cups.
    With the rant out of the way, I will say I was impressed with the storyline, and even the graphics in certain areas. The large scale of some of the maps were a nice change from the small rooms. The glass was the most realistic I have ever seen in a video game (sadly it is all scripted). The gels look amazing when put on high (on medium they look like floating pentagons). The vegetation looks like some of the most defined I have ever seen. The lighting and shadows were greatly improved to be close to the best I have seen (I have only played DX9 games). The ending was spectacular (although I can't remember the end-game song because I felt like it lacked a catchy tune). The coop ... well, that is interesting. It actually has some things the SP left out. When I complete a level on coop, I feel accomplished (unlike SP where I frequently said,"Is that it?"). The levels are more complex and require teamwork in order to complete them. The only problem with it is that I felt like the levels were a bit linear at times. Well, to wrap it up. I give the game a 9.3 due to the simple-minded, yet elegant SP and crisp coop. Hope you enjoyed reading and if you stayed this long I assume you agree with me.
    Expand
  53. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    A fun puzzle filled game with some of the best dialog I have ever heard in any medium to date. Great gameplay, interesting challenges, beautiful environments. If you are looking for a great game to make you laugh one minute and pull your hair out the next, look no further.
  54. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    For a lack of a better word: epic!!! Portal 2 should be on display in the Louvre. Best Valve game ever (at least until the next HL is released). I really don't understand what any of these negative score people are saying. Was there a mass escape from a mental institution somewhere? Portal 2 is art! I'm sure true gamers will agree. Oh... (looking at the reviews of real critics) I guess they have... Expand
  55. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I know this isn't technically a review, but it does serve the purpose of helping the public decide whether or not certain critical user reviews are to be believed. Many people are complaining about having to pay for the potato sack to get the game early, but last time I checked, you got 13 indie games for 75% off! I think if you had bought any games from the sack with the sole intention of trying to get Portal 2 released early, you cannot complain about the Potato Sack as you clearly are either stupid or just spend money for no reason. The games in the sack were meant to be played to be ENJOYED, not to be used as bargaining chips to get Valve to release Portal early! You should judge this game for what it is, a fiendishly difficult and clever game that is immensely enjoyable from start to finish. Please stop seeing things through your fanboy-tinted lenses. It ruins it for everyone else. Expand
  56. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I've always been a firm believer that games should last around 10 hours, unless their genre requires more. In many ways, Portal 2 didn't last 10 hours, but it wasn't as short as the first game. And you know what? Every minute of those hours was enjoyable.

    Portal 2 expands in every way with a great presentation (thanks to a menu design that's similar to the more recent Team Fortress 2
    menu), a whole range of new gameplay mechanics (Cubes that redirect laser, Light Bridges that you can expand with the use of puzzles, Gooey colors courtesy of an independent developer hired by Valve, and many others), and innocent yet very good gags. Coming from just playing Bulletstorm, it's nice to see gags like "Engaging Smooth Jazz in 3... 2... 1", which I believe can be enjoyed by everyone.

    Are there any faults with this game (specifically the PC version)? Well, you can no longer change the FOV but, to be fair, I found I didn't need to do so. It looks just as good as any other Source game does. The game tries to sell you the idea of "customization", which basically is just buying clothing for your Cooperative Robot, but it's completely optional, there's no one forcing you to "participate in this scam" (This probably coming from the same gentlemen who buy pets in World of Warcraft). Finally, an issue I've seen too much is that there are now "loading screens" (a reminder of Left4Dead, if you ask me), but those who complain about those screens probably forgot that every Source game has had loading screens in some way, even the original Portal (what do you think happens when you take an elevator in the original Portal?)

    In conclusion, Portal 2 manages to go steps beyond what the first game could do, with each chamber having a unique gag so you can laugh all you want, new gameplay mechanics which just feel fun, an impeccable presentation, and the best part? The requirements aren't that big. With the way the Source engine works, even my whiny little Laptop can play Portal 2, on the highest resolution (1337x763), and then some!

    I recommend Portal 2 to anyone, believe me, it doesn't disappoint.
    Expand
  57. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the most polished and well put together games I have ever played. It's hard to say anything about this game that hasn't been said by the critics, but the thing that struck me most about Portal 2 is how seamlessly the gameplay and story come together. In traditional Valve style, Portal 2 never interrupts the gameplay with cutscenes, instead a lot of the plot and history of Aperture lie in the little details spread throughout the game. The game allows for an element of discovery practically unheard of in first person linear games, since most developers tend to think subtlety and something as simple as reading signs is beyond the capabilities of the player. Overall I think this game is a must have, the single player is great and the co-op works better than I thought. Expand
  58. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is good, no wait, it's VERY good. It delivers on it's promise and introduces us to rich new world. I won't give away spoilers, but if you liked Portal you will LOVE the second sequel. This sets a benchmark which developers need to take note of. Sequels can be amazing. They can build on the past and make it even better. Do yourself a favour this Easter long weekend - Buy Portal 2, lock yourself away and enjoy. Expand
  59. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    A brilliant, mind-bending puzzler that improves upon the original in every way. Full of brilliant puzzles, lots of personality & hilarious writing. The co-op is also one of the best out there, and tests your ability to co-operate. Overall, the game is another Valve masterpiece.
  60. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    The negative reviews aren't even logical- an obvious console port? It's A VALVE GAME. The dialogue is excellent- you really feel for the characters. Valve took a risk at trying to put emotion into robots, and they sure as hell succeeded. I was crying at the end of this game. The storyline is really gripping and pulls you into the plot.

    Story aside, the puzzles are a lot more challenging,
    but the game eases you in really nicely- my sister had no trouble picking up the controls and mechanics right away.

    A++++++
    Expand
  61. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I hate giving games 10/10, as I usually believe a game can always be better, but for me, Portal 2 really deserves it. To all those giving negative reviews, I think it's a little unjustified (unless you despise puzzle games, but even still, surely you can still appreciate it and see that it is a good game?) It irritates me when people complain that it's too short for a $50 game, when games such as Call of Duty are double the price (at least here in Australia), and half the length. And this game has coop, plus the satisfaction of knowing that Valve are the developers, aka, future free content. Secondly, to those saying that as it was 'finished' while users were unlocking it via the potato sack, Portal 2 was still being updated as event was going on. Have you seen TF2 recently? That's still being regularly updated, and is arguable not 'finished'. And the Potato sack saga was a fantastic way of drawing users into the hype, and advertising indie developers. Win Win. I'm not a rabid fan by any means, but when gamers whinge for the sake of whinging, it annoys me. I could talk about all the things I loved about it, but there are 742 other positive reviews that'll do the job just as well. Honestly, just buy it. Fantastic job here Valve, kudos to the development team. Expand
  62. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Okay... I've already given Portal 1 10, so I will just say my score out. Portal was worth about 96% to me, and Portal 2 was just 10 times better. If you thought Portal was awesome or even only good, then this will blow your mind! This game hits every beat correctly, the gameplay is so addictive that you'll want to play the whole singleplayer again, just for the dialouge. The wit and humor of all robots has shown us what Valve are capable of. For the amount of hype is delivers and it delivers very well. Totally worth the $50.00 price tag on Steam (That's nearly half as much as a typical AAA game such as Homefront or Call of Duty: Black Ops, and it's double as good.). So to me my final verdict is 98% (not as good as HL2 but very high up.). Great game Valve! Expand
  63. gas
    Aug 6, 2012
    9
    Really a great game, one of the best games ever made in my opinion.
    Single player is great, ofc you must like puzzles to like the game, anyway the co op in my opinion is absolutely the best part, i dont remember other multiplayer games where i had more fun then this one.
    A must buy title.
  64. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    its a really good game, but its not THAT perfect as stated in the metacritic score. the 95 avg. is a hype score. it maybe deserves a 8.8 oder 9.0 but nothing higher that that. the game has a fantastic beginning and a fantasic ending, but in between it lacks a bit. its getting bored because you run from puzzle to puzzle without beeing really directed for one or two hours. that part was horrible and it was getting on my nerves. but as i mentioned.. overall a fantastisch game that deserves a 9 in my opinion (i'll give it a 9 because the beginning and the ending where one of the best things i ever saw in a video game. so the medicore part in the middle doesn't damage the game that much. with a better middlepart it would easily been a 10) Expand
  65. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Pay no attention to the negative reviews, this is still a fantastic, funny, mind-bending experience that will go down in history. It takes all the good things about the first, and multiplies them, and also adds a handful of innovations. Game of The Year so far
  66. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, a masterpiece if I ever played one. The music is superb, great story, and fun characters and classic lines. It's been a long time since I played a game as engaging as this. If i had a gripe, I can't say it lasted more then 20 hours so far doing multiplayer and singleplayer missions, I know the SDK is coming down the line soon, so we'll be seeing an influx of user generated maps soon. I still feel like I got my monies worth, Portal 2 was designed so well, I felt it was still a very satisfying experience. Expand
  67. Apr 23, 2011
    5
    imho, Portal 1 had a much better skill gameplay, and was a complete better value than Portal 2 has been. If a game is going to have HL2 era graphics, then it should be cheap. This isn't the case, and let's not even get into the cash shop bs.
  68. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    A great game, certainly one of the best games ever made up till now. The fun factor is high, lots of humor, supreme art direction, great music, movie-like storyline, great graphics and sound. Another Valvian masterpiece indeed.
  69. Apr 23, 2011
    6
    Downloaded Portal 2 48 hours ago. Played it through (not rushing - stopping now and then to look around) but did the lot in 3 hours 20 minutes.
    The puzzles have moved on a bit since Portal 1, and I know there are multiplayer options (I dislike multiplayer games) So for me (and I know this is my fault becasue of my aversion for multiplayer) £35 for less than three and a half
    hours play time is probably the worst value I've ever got out of a game. Sure it's fun. the game plays well, it's beautifully scripted, and I'm not going to give it a "h8orz" score, but over £10 per hour is worse value than Max Payne 2 was 8 years ago.
    If you think you will enjoy the multiplayer (why do I always end up with some sweary nasty little 16 year old whenever I try my hand at MP games) then this game might "just" be worth the slightly over the average price tag.
    It took me longer to complete Defense Grid than this (and that cost me £2.99 and I think I ienjoyed it more) I would have given this 8 or 9 had it cost £10 - but for £35 ($55) for a single player game most will complete well inside an afternoon, I can only give it 6
    Expand
  70. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    While improving on the length of the original game was not that difficult it also managed fairly well on producing more imaginative puzzles although this was expected. It is simply a game that did what i expected, it added more humour, became longer, had new and better puzzles, improved on the dialogue and graphics and was once again very fun as the original was but unlike the original it did nothing revolutionary. 8.5/10. Expand
  71. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Somehow Portal 2 has surpassed Portal 1 and in doing so has earned its place as one of the best games of all time. The puzzles are all great and the co-op mode is a fantastic addition to the game which brings the puzzles to an all new level. Of course it's the writing that stands out the most, almost every line spoken is hilarious and the voice-acting is incredible. If you don't like this game you're probably a bad person or just stupid. Expand
  72. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I would rather score Portal 2 a 9.5 instead of just a straight 9, but whatever. This. Game. Is. Really. Good. Period. The plot is fantastic, the characters are well done, with the exception of the dude you encounter in the second section of the game. His jokes are kind of bland, and he is not characterized very well. But GLaDOS and Wheatley totally make up for it.
    The puzzles are good,
    but frustrating in a peculiar way. You'll struggle on one puzzle for a long time, then come to the sudden realization that the solution is really quite simple and you feel like an idiot for not seeing it. The Co-Op puzzles are much more challenging, thus more satisfying.
    It looks great, plays great, and the narrative is fantastic, especially the ending. The end song isn't nearly as good as "Still Alive" but it's still pretty damn good.
    All in all, you want this game. Do it for me. Or, if not for me, do it for the science.
    Expand
  73. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Brilliant characters that shine till the very end, a story that makes you change your perspective multiple times, and fun gameplay make Portal 2 a must buy for everyone. One of the few games that feel like a work of art and love.
  74. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Why are there so many haters? Even if you did manage to complete it quickly, new players will have struggles, some puzzles will take a while, and more importantly: did you enjoy those supposed four hours? Please, don't rate a game because of its length or its completely unneccessary day-one cosmetic DLC. Most games have avatar and dashboard DLC for Xbox day-one as well, the only difference it that you can use it in-game here. Expand
  75. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Pay no attention to the bad reviews, as an avid and old gamer on lots of platforms, I have never seen more intellectual and better narrated game. It is so polished that you can't believe it has just released 3 days ago. The atmosphere makes you feel lonely, sad, always monitored and thrilled at the same time. Flawless! 10.0
  76. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game left me stunned. Its brilliant, in so many aspects, and the fact that i haven't even touched the co-op mode yet for sure makes this the so far best game of the year. Its rear with games that are so good that i give them a ten. Only one game last year, but what i know for sure is as soon as i finished a game its obvious if its a ten or not. This was no exception. Valve have done it again... Expand
  77. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    ...
    Let me preface this by saying I could give less than two **** about the DLCs. I didn't even know they existed to begin with. Since I just finished the single player campaign, I feel ready to write this review. Why? Because honestly, the single player campaign was awesome. Ridiculously varied from the first game and insanely brilliant puzzles. A lot of people are complaining about the
    "Please don't turn off your console" dialogue that shows up when you are saving. I don't understand how people can be so immature about this. The entire game feels just as PC tailored as the previous game, and any other fantastic Valve creation. If that little line of dialogue is enough to piss you off, boy you sure haven't played the other PC to console games yet. And rest assured, there is NO cliffhanger ending for Portal 2; everything wraps up perfectly, as you will experience. Honestly, you would be doing yourself an incredible injustice to yourself to dismiss this game on such trivial grounds. One thing that is true however is that the campaign is short. I finished it in 3.9 hours according to Steam (though it's strange because I started at 10:30 pm and ended at 6:00). However, just like with CoD4, this campaign is intensely satisfying, and making it longer would have definitely killed the fun. Personally Portal 2 would have been well worth $60 (I got the PS3 version for $55 with $20 Amazon credit and played the Steam version) but that's just me. Regardless of how much you are willing to pay for it, I definitely recommend that you eventually play this game if you loved the first one like I did. It is a sequel that improves upon its predecessor in every way imaginable. (P.S. This game ran full res/high textures on my Atom 330/nVidia ION netbook so it should run well in most computers) Expand
  78. cmd
    May 17, 2011
    9
    Good looking, fun and interesting story with cool twitches makes this one of the more pleasant experience this year together with Crysis 2.

    It's not far from being a 10 but drops down to 9 because of it's short single player that was a lot easier than in Portal 1 that required fast actioned portal shooting that their is none of in Portal 2.
  79. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Definitely longer than 4 hours and I'm not sure why people keep saying that. I am about 4 to 5 hours into the game and I am on Chapter 5. There are 10 chapters in this game. Now I've played the first one and that was sweet and short and probably took me 2 to 3 hours. I imagine that this one is going to be 7 to 8 hours long and thats how long all the Half Life games have been as well.

    I
    haven't even dove into the co-op too much yet but it is extra fun especially if you have a friend to play with.

    Day one DLC? Who cares its useless DLC anyway. I don't need a hat for my robot in the co-op. This game is way too hilarious, fun, and engaging to even began about crying about day one downloadable hats and shoes.
    Expand
  80. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This is the first 10 score I have given, and most likely the last. I have never played a game that is so charming, clever, humourous and engaging all at the same time. It's Portal, totally revamped and made into a true game, and is a shining example of Valve's quality. While the puzzles are a little harder, and there are more elements to work with as you progress like the repulsion gel, they don't take that long to figure out. It is a lot longer than the original, 4 hours in and it doesn't seem like the end is in sight. With twists in the plot, beautiful graphics, funny dialogue, and gameplay you won't forget, simply look no further. Ignore the moronic whinging by the trolls, you will thoroughly enjoy this game. Expand
  81. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    After completing it, thought it had plenty of content, excellent buy. Pretty damn funny in parts, I would recommend it to anyone. The only thing I detest insanely about this game is the implementation of a store and the customisation. Which no doubt the majority of which you have to purchase. I'd had enough of that rubbish from TF2. If the DLC is genuinely worth the money, like new maps with some actual new content, then great. But i'm not getting my hopes up. Expand
  82. May 12, 2011
    5
    Yes, they are right.. Nice graphics. Original ideas. Nice sound. Nice everything, just like how everyone are talking about it. It will make a great single player title. Yes, you've got it, a great single player title. But what about the multiplayer part, you may ask?
    Sorry, but the fact remains that the mutiplayer has 0 replay value. After I've gone through the multiplayer once with a
    friend, I've become somewhat a tour guide, guiding people through the multiplayer levels.
    And that's about it, there's really no point in playing the multiplayer again. Same levels, walking around doing the same stuff. Even if its with an other person, it will ge boring when the game is highly environmental based.
    Worse still, there are absolutely no storyline for the multiplayer. Its really just going through levels (and having the AI bombarding you with the same dialogue each time). Come to think of it, the single player mode has a lot more replay value than the multiplayer.

    So, yea, the multiplayer is a failure because of the absence of replay value. Since the multiplayer is half of what the game is about, that will be a 0/5 for it. As for the single player, a 5/5 for valve standard, as always.
    Expand
  83. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 has the absolute BEST single player storyline of 2011, or anything since 2008. Maybe a few frustrating things like me not catching a few places to jump or place my portal on, the game was fun, it was funny, it was challenging, and it makes dry dead humor a pleasure to hear. The awesome thing about the game is that it makes impatient and non-observant people like me suffer, but even with those traits of missing an important white space to place your portal in, the gamer no matter what personality will continue to strive, and it's not to finish the game... Or get the cake... No, but to have all ears on the next joke, no matter how dry or funny, and then laugh, or have their feelings injured, which is good. One thing I love about this game is the stupidity one of the characters display; it's funny because his funniness distracts the player from the major flaw that the user can use to escape his/her dilemma. Great game. Expand
  84. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing. I doubt even Episode 3 will beat such a masterpiece as this. Thank you, Valve, for another incredible game.

    I don't care if you're a woman, a pensioneer or a.. Baby.. This game is worth the price and more.
  85. May 16, 2011
    6
    The game is well done for what it is - if you enjoyed Portal, you'll enjoy Portal 2. I have no qualms about the game quality itself.

    The problem is that there is nowhere near $50 worth of content. For $50, I expect 20 hours of content MINIMUM, and that's really pushing it. Portal 2 is barely half that if you're being generous. I'd be more forgiving if this was an indie studio, but this is
    Valve - they'll make plenty of money on it regardless, and charging this much for comparatively little content is sleazy. Expand
  86. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game - single player and co-op. A bit short, at 8-ish hours for the single player mode, but those were a very entertaining 8 hours. I haven't beaten the co-op yet, but it's fantastic so far as well, even better than the single player.

    It was, admittedly, over all too soon for such an enjoyable game, but I trust that valve will keep up to their tradition of releasing quality
    content, for free, for all of their full-priced games. As far as the negative reviews, the number one biggest complaint is the "day 1 DLC" - Seriously? These people don't know what real day 1 DLC is - this is a couple of moustaches and hats and useless gestures that if they had not been in the game at all no one would have given the slightest **** - it's just icing on the cake that they're there at all, especially considering essentially no one will buy them, just like most of them would never be used anyway even if they were all free. Expand
  87. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This is a great game, and it is obvious that Valve put in a LOT of hard work. The effects are awesome, and the creativity is off the charts. Trolls are saying this is the same as Portal 1, and that is SO far from the truth it's unbelievable. Actually, I think that this game is not similar enough to the original. I loved this game, and basically played it straight through, but nevertheless the flaws really stood out to me. Firstly, it's WAY to goofy. The first one was funny, but it was subtle enough to not over do it. This one is in your face goofy.....to a fault. The jokes get old, and it negatively effects the main plot....since the main plot is based around the goofiness, which in my opinion is stupid. I don't like when it's hard to take a game seriously, and this game doesn't have an ounce of seriousness. Secondly, the puzzles are not as fun as in portal 1, often times being messy. I loved the streamlined clean-room puzzles in Portal 1, and there just aren't enough of them in this game. I don't want to say too much about me third problem with this game, because it has to do with the plot, but lets just say I did not like the role that GLADoS took in this game. All the being said, let me reiterate that this is a great game, and you will love it. It's just not quite what I was expecting. Oh, and multiplayer mode is AWESOME. To me, that is really where this game shines. Overall I would give this game an 8, but since all trolls early on tried to tarnish the scores, I'm going with a 10 to help balance it out. Valve is a great developer, and does not deserve this bull. Expand
  88. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I completed the co-op today and it was absolutely awesome, the game very good but not the best game Valve has made to be honest but that's a matter of taste, however a lot of people rating it as low as "Zero" and that's totally uncalled for since this game is excellent. So I'll give it a '10" to compensate.
  89. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    Another great game by valve, highly polished and the graphics are good. Singleplayer is around 6 hours long if you get the hang of it, co-op is around 3-4 hours. What I find dissapointing is the lack of a deeper concept behind portal 2; Nnither the co-op nor sngleplayer offer much replay value. As the old formula in portal 1 of solving tests and "escaping" etc. was established i expected some development into making portal into more than a puzzle game with a story like its predecessor. Sadly this was not so, though a brilliant concept and game its structure is such that once you have played through it there is not much to bring you back to play it more than a few times. Lastly portal 2 weighs in at a hefty £30 ($45) on PC more than the cost of the orange box which included 5 amazingly developed games. Portal 2 plays though like a well developed game and you'd be hard pressed to not have fun. But AAA titles at this price have an expectation to deliver a long well developed game thats fun to play. Portal 2 is fun and well developed but its a bit much to ask for £30 for a game with such little replay value. The original portal came with 4 other games and many titles such as Mass effect, Crysis 2, Fallout 3 at this price range have Mutliplayer or multiple ways of playing through the game to greatly boost their playtime beyond the 20 hour mark.

    I enjoyed portal 2, but i completed the singleplayer and the co-op in a day, (10 hours). Today i just went through the game again and did all but one of the SP achievements, but i feel a bit let down as i'm already getting bored as I've run out of interest having cleared all the content before. IMO portal 2 feels like it was rushed out of development to meet the console demand for it. Closing comments: A good game with fun gameplay, not a lot of content and no replay value, for its price tag i expected more but it's still a great game.
    Expand
  90. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    I cannot believe the people who complain about the length of Portal 2. I have played sooo many hours of the original and consider myself pretty good at thinking with portals. I timed myself and beat Portal 1 in 1 hour and 5 minutes. Portal 2's single player took me 3 nights of solid 4 hour chunks. Great content the entire time, hilarious, original, and with awesome puzzles. The new gameplay elements like the gels, light bridges, excursion funnels, aerial faith plates, etc. add a lot of cool new stuff to the puzzles. I would love to see some awesome DLC or User Created Content. The only reason I don't give this game a 10/10 is that there is a considerable amount of loading but not so much as to hinder the story and experience very much. Expand
  91. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Great game - I enjoyed this far more than the original. I'd like to say that I enjoyed every moment of it however there were two or three times that I became a little frustrated with some of the puzzles (but that's probably just me). I enjoyed the last set of puzzles in the game more than the in between bits (making your way through the environment) however I still loved playing through this game and I can't wait to replay it again in a few months time when I've forgotten what to do again. Expand
  92. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    Portal 2 is simply awesome. the graphics are great, the voice-acting is good, the story is good although i saw the plot-twists coming from miles away. the length of the game was initially a tiny bit disappointing, but if i think about it: Portal 2 relies purely on the portal-gun and i suppose that after ~8 hours that can get repetitive for most average players. the only real weak spot in portal 2 is the Co-Op mode. apparently valve believes that everybody has a friend who has portal 2 as well which isn't the case for most players. this leads to an unequal gameplay for most when being partnered with random people (if one has done the test already and knows the solution then the other player can't discover the solution on his/her own and gets it explained to.which takes the fun out of it). i had the luck to be teamed up with one who has just started to play too, but there are other who won't be that lucky.
    that aside. Portal 2 is a great game and was definitely worth my time and money and i look forward to play trough it again in a month when i forgot most of the rooms. i don't understand why people are so furious at the game. its been quite a while since valve brought out any (large) single-player games and i do think they have done quite a good job. the only thing i do hate about portal 2 is the attempt to make money on in-game apparel for a Co-op mode that can be finished in a few hours during which only your partner sees you. i find that plain ridiculous
    Expand
  93. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    Loved the first game. Loved the characters and the story. The puzzles were fun and just the right difficulty, where you might get stuck for 5-10 mins before realizing what to do. Loved this one!
  94. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Did you like Portal 1? This game takes everything great about Portal 1 and improves upon all of them. This is a must play game for any Portal fan. I can't recommend this game enough.
  95. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Very much enjoyed this game. The writing is superb and the Source engine is still a viable option in this day and age of DX11 and all those bells and whistles.
    It may not be all that long compared to say, Mass Effect 2, but not many games these days are. I never particularly felt that it was short, I just enjoyed the game and it took me about 6 hours to play through the single player. For
    £25, that's a pretty good deal considering I'm yet to play the co-op. Expand
  96. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is the all-time best puzzle game ever! It didn't take me long to finish it because I couldn't stop playing it. It is very addicting and one of the most hilarious games I can think of. I really can't think of anything bad to say about it, except it didn't really set itself up for a sequel, which would have been nice. It was a little slow, but that was only because I have Windows Vista, so that wasn't the game's fault. It had a good length, story, and had a great ending. Portal 2 is very quotable and memorable, although not very replayable. I wasn't a big fan of the online multiplayer mode, but I didn't take much time investing in it anyway. In video games, I usually get pretty irritated when I get stuck, but it wasn't like that in Portal 2 because of how interested I was in just figuring it out. This game is definitely worth buying off of Steam, because of the glory that you will eventually give it in time like I have. Expand
  97. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I don't understand all these complaints. Ungrateful, whiny, new age gamers. How our community has fallen from grace. The early leak was a privelage, and this game itself is a gift from the video game gods. The wit and humor is brilliant, and saying this game is too short is like saying chocolate cake sucks because there isn't enough of it. You love it. The next generation of gamers is here, and it is an ignorant one. Appreciate a masterpeice when you get it. Expand
  98. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    I'm shocked that there are so many bad reviews on this game. The single player is funny, and well made. I was skeptical about the multiplayer, but it works out really well. Yeah there is DLC, but it's not like they make you buy it; it's just an option for those wanting to blow there money away. As far as the length of the game, well it seems like you can beat everything in 4 hours these days. Just remember it's not about the time you put into it, it's about the quality and experience of the game. Expand
  99. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Filled with intricate puzzles, funny dialogue, an amazing story line and great music. A must for anyone who has already beaten the first Portal and looking for a challenge. Game play wise, Portal 2 friendly to those who are new to the Portal universe, easing them from simple puzzles to more complicated ones at a pace they can keep up with, but the story line may not make sense at certain points since some of it requires knowledge from the Portal 1. But then again, IT IS a sequel. What would you expect?

    Co-op is fun and keeps the player interested throughout the different chambers. With the "ping" tool players can communicate easier with each other, and the mic makes it even better. Though if players don't have access to a mic, communication can be a lot more difficult and make certain puzzles more frustrating to complete. That's only dependent on the player though, not the game, as the game provides various methods for players to "talk" to each other. Definitely impress by co-op.

    ... And the credit music is awesome too.
    Expand
  100. BMF
    Apr 21, 2011
    0
    All the people who gave negative reviews dont know what they are talking about. With portal 2 Valve showed they are still the number one gaming company on the planet and I cant wait to see what Half Life 3 and source engine 2 will bring to the table. Portal 2 shows that puzzle games can also be story driven epics with highly detailed environments and characters that you wish you could meet in real life. Coop and single player combined took around 13 hours to complete and I will definitely be jumping back in game for more. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    90
    Almost as good as the first one. Main reasons are lack of cake, unfunny Wheatley and slightly boring one-solution middle-levels. Otherwise Portal 2 is as clever as it is well written. And now Half-Life 2: Ep 3, please. [May 2011]
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    90
    The graphics may not be of the same caliber of other AAA titles, and the story may falter from time to time, but those are paltry excuses not to experience one of the best current generation games around.
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    92
    A hilarious slice of gaming glory. [July 2011, p.92]