Portal 2 PC

Portal 2 Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 6121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Valve is working on a full-length sequel to its award-winning, mind-bending puzzle action game for the Xbox 360 and PC.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Portal 2 Co-Op Trailer #2
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 25, 2011
    100
    Portal 2 is a masterpiece, a work of art that you will love for its ingenious story pop-culture, references to logical puzzles and co-op multiplayer. Definitely a candidate for game of the year. [Issue#204]
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    100
    Portal is perfect. Portal 2 is not. It's something better than that. It's human: hot-blooded, silly, poignant, irreverent, base, ingenious and loving. It's never less than a pure video game, but it's often more, and it will no doubt stand as one of the best entertainments in any medium at the end of this year. It's a masterpiece.
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    100
    Sporting some of the best writing and voice work in years (as well as some deviously designed puzzles), Portal 2's single-player campaign is superior to its predecessor in every way. It's the co-op mode, however, that makes this 2011's first must-play game -- even for those gamers that don't like first-person or puzzle games.
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    The game's quality stays consistently outstanding throughout; there isn't a minute of filler content to be found anywhere in single-player or co-op.
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    95
    Portal 2 is the best game I had the opportunity to play this year. It interests the player from the beginning and stays like that to its final minutes. It entertains with great, humorous dialogue, intrigues with compelling puzzles - as a result you keep staring at the screen and forget about the world around you. Valve's newest game is also a well-written product with great attention to detail.
  6. PC Format
    Jun 13, 2011
    92
    A hilarious slice of gaming glory. [July 2011, p.92]
  7. May 2, 2011
    70
    Emancipation complete for Portal, which gets rid of his "bonus game" condition with a second episode that is certainly no revolution but still manages to justify its new status.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    So much could've gone wrong during the development of Portal 2, yet Valve accomplishes the impossible and outdoes its predecessor in almostSo much could've gone wrong during the development of Portal 2, yet Valve accomplishes the impossible and outdoes its predecessor in almost every way without giving the feeling of deja vu. The game includes plenty of new tools to experiment with, a much more expanded world, debut characters, and a more complex storyline than the original. The biggest new assets to the series are the additions of Wheatley and Cave Johnson (voice acted by Stephen Merchant and J.K. Simmons respectively). Although I was GLaD that Ellen McLain returns in this sequel, these fresh AIs are also brilliant in their own rights. Wheatley is an energetic personality core with plenty of cleverly written and performed lines. The same can be said of Aperture boss Cave Johnson, who feels as if were born for the task. GLaDOs is charmingly evil, as in the previous installment, but more sarcastic this time around, especially when she awakens and desperately attempts to rebuild the labs. There are, according to Valve Software, about four hundred lines of dialogue in the entire game, and not one fails to entertain. But new faces aren't the only first-timers, Valve also adds in plenty of new gameplay elements to toy around with. From gels to tractor beams to light bridges to lens blocks and more, there is a ton of introductions to the game. Now, the original Portal was fairly difficult even with only buttons, cubes, and your portal gun, so it may seem overwhelming at first with all this brand new content, but Valve ushers them in slowly so you can understand their mechanics before using them in clever ways. Speaking of which, the game is challenging, but never frustrating, letting you have fun while still satisfying after solving an exceptionally hard puzzle. The environment is now much expanded, allowing you to see more than just test chambers. Also visible are the surrounding areas, overgrown with vegetation and scrambling back into place once you enter the room. The Source Engine allows for slick graphics and realistic physics, although some may consider it to be a bit of a step back from more modern video games such as Crysis, Uncharted, or Rage that look astounding. The writing is consistently funny, a nice companion to the more serious tone of the story. Just like the original, there are plenty of twists and turns in the plotline to keep you engaged. The story itself is fantastic, allowing for you to discover the past events of Aperture Laboratories and giving the characters some nice and surprising developments along the way. The soundtrack is beloved with hits like Want You Gone and Exile Vilify pleasing the ears. Portal 2 is a puzzle game, if you haven't known already, so expect to use your brain a lot. The game makes you feel incredibly smart, a reward for passing some of the more challenging but never unfair levels. The entire story is told through experience, just like the original. There are no in-game cutscenes as in Uncharted 2: Among Thieves or Red Dead Redemption. Instead, the story progresses as you go, allowing for a more personal participation in the game. Once you're done with the single player mode, there is a cooperative mode, which is, in some ways, even better. You connect online via Steam and use either voice chat or a surprisingly effective set of visual cues to inform your partner on where to place portals. Valve takes full advantage of this and creates mind-bending puzzles that require FULL teamwork. If you do not contribute, there is no way to advance the game. This mode also continues the story after the single player campaign, so if you want more of Portal, this is a great way to progress the game. There are also two DLCs to look over (Peer Review and Perpetual Testing Initiative). Peer Review is the third part of the Portal 2 storyline and continues the co-op gameplay while Perpetual Testing Initiative allows for you to create YOUR OWN PUZZLES and launch them to the world. You can also subscribe to other people's creations leading to endless replayability. The Steam Workshop allows for simple ways to build stages instead of level builders that require more time spent on experimenting to perfect it than actually making your puzzles. Each of these updates is free and adds a significant amount of replay value to an already incredible game. Portal 2 is the best game I've ever played. It may seem too much of an overstatement, but it truly is spectacular. The writing, the characters, the story, the stages, the level editor, the co-op all are put together to create a truly unique experience. This first-person puzzle game has captured my heart, just as the original did, but this time, I can truly say that this is a masterpiece. There are also fifty or so achievements to try your hand at. Each of them are fun to attempt most of them shouldn't be too difficult,. There is also the developer's commentary which brings an exciting new look at the making of the game. Portal 2 is one of those rare titles that you lose sleep over. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Simply the best Valve game ever. It took the brilliance and innovation of Portal and formed it into an actual full fledged title.

    Proof that
    Simply the best Valve game ever. It took the brilliance and innovation of Portal and formed it into an actual full fledged title.

    Proof that Valve still dominates PC gaming and knows how to bring the public high quality titles.
    Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is incredible. Whatever you have read, you will not finish Portal 2 in under 6 Hours. I have finished Portal 1 in one and a halfPortal 2 is incredible. Whatever you have read, you will not finish Portal 2 in under 6 Hours. I have finished Portal 1 in one and a half hours in my first play through and I needed 7 hours to finish Portal 2. Even if you are a genius there is still Co-Op which is at least as long as the single-player campaign.

    Apart from that, Valve's Portal 2 is a great game which is not only extremely creative (which is rare in today's jungle of Battlefield and Call of Duty) but even for advanced Portal players, it is in later stages challenging. It is one of those games that comes along only few times in many years. It is funny, makes you think (which again, is very rare in today's games) and did I mention that I had the most fun in years playing Co-Op? It is just hilarious if someone messes up and you die.

    Game of the Decade if you ask me.
    Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Its just one of the best games !
    i liked portal 1 and is just better.
    they did a great work with the new stuff. And the game was complete :)
    Its just one of the best games !
    i liked portal 1 and is just better.
    they did a great work with the new stuff.
    And the game was complete :) most of the games these times are Launched are not even finished.
    they did a great work with bringing a little portal 1 back :)
    The game also has a lot of humor :)
    And its just great ! 10/10
    There will be a lets play soon on my channel http://www.youtube.com/user/Itsgamingfriend
    Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I'm not going to go into the whole DLC stuff because I don't care. However, to all of these people that say the game is only 4 hours long.I'm not going to go into the whole DLC stuff because I don't care. However, to all of these people that say the game is only 4 hours long. Shut up. I just finished playing though just the single player and it took me about 7 hours. Add in the fact that there is a whole co-op campaign that is different from the main story, you've got way more game here than 4 hours. Again, to all the 4 hour people, shut up you stupid sheep. Expand
  6. May 1, 2011
    9
    Very fun game, I found puzzles, characters and narration to be interesting. I'm giving it 9 stars due to me not wanting to replay the game, asVery fun game, I found puzzles, characters and narration to be interesting. I'm giving it 9 stars due to me not wanting to replay the game, as I already know the solutions to puzzles. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2011
    0
    Normally I would not rate a game, any game, especially a Valve game, this low, but the crazy people rating this game a 10 need an offset.Normally I would not rate a game, any game, especially a Valve game, this low, but the crazy people rating this game a 10 need an offset. First off, let me say I LOVED the original Portal. As much as I loved my purchase of Orange Box, Portal, the little addon, was my favorite part of it. I still go back and play it now and again. Now, with this poorly executed console port known as Portal 2, I have my first ever disappointment from Valve.
    While the game was not terrible by any means, it was just... Lacking... The voice acting is ok. The characters are ok. None of it was outstanding. However, the level development is where the game really goes south. NONE of the levels took more than one or two tries to complete. At the current price point this game is a HUGE waste of money. The fact that they are on day ONE charging people for DLC just shows that Valve has succumbed to the greedy views of other game companies.
    Porting Portal 2 from the console to the PC was bad. Just bad. You now no longer need to "aim" yourself into a portal. You sorta just get auto piloted into them. The puzzles are so easy because, well, there is no where to place a portal except in the correct spot. Where there is not a correct spot, there is some of the white stuff to make the right spot. With the addition of the light bridges, blue and orange gells, there could be sooooooo much more and better level design.
    Most of the levels are simple minded click here click there win designs. You don't even get into the new gels until most of the VERY short game is over.
    I played through the entire game in half a day casually. I was expecting to get at least a couple of days of play out of it. I was sorely disappointed. The "rat in a maze" feeling I got from this game left a very sour taste in my mouth for Valve...
    The ending... wow, what a let down...
    Expand

See all 1790 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics

    The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics Image
    Published: May 4, 2011
    The release of Portal 2 exposed a divide between game critics and users. While that title's user scores have rebounded, others haven't. We take a look at the games with the biggest score differentials between professional reviewers and gamers.